African Futures Animating culture

Loyiso Mkize was commissioned to paint a series of artworks from the Holywood movie "Momentum", whcih was shot in Cape Town, and a cover from his "Kwezi" comic book
© Esa Alexander

When were we going to get a superhero who looked like us?

VISUAL artist Loyiso Mkize’s laid-back demeanour and soft accents belie the grandeur of his project. Yet if you strain your ear to listen carefully, you will hear that with each step, the footfall of his plans is always rising to a crescendo. In our hour-long talk at Eyethu Gallery, Mofolo, Soweto, he must have mentioned Africa, South Africa, African aesthetic, no less than 10 times.

When were we going to get a superhero who looked like us?

VISUAL artist Loyiso Mkize’s laid-back demeanour and soft accents belie the grandeur of his project. Yet if you strain your ear to listen carefully, you will hear that with each step, the footfall of his plans is always rising to a crescendo. In our hour-long talk at Eyethu Gallery, Mofolo, Soweto, he must have mentioned Africa, South Africa, African aesthetic, no less than 10 times.

On that Friday afternoon, Mkize was putting the final touches to Reflections, an oil-on-canvas exhibition, his third solo show, due to open the following day. Some of his paintings and Kwezi, his comic series starring Kwezi, were showcased at the FNB Joburg Art Fair held a week later.

It is when he talks about Kwezi that Mkize is most animated. The series, now in its fifth instalment, is about a superhero named Kwezi (the word for star in Nguni languages; sometimes his full name is Kwezilokusa, the early morning star in the east that heralds dawn).

Initially Kwezi is, naturally, a reluctant South African superhero. A marketing sidekick has a grand ambition: to get Kwezi on every magazine cover and name-checked in the trendy blogosphere. Which is rather a limited mission for Kwezi, who is believed to be a “descendant of the star people”, an ancient race that came to Earth when humankind was on the verge of extinction.

They came, they saved, they have since disappeared. Now the work of the ancients is under threat as a rapacious comprador class with dreams of taking over vast swaths of the Gold City has arisen. Which makes the need for Kwezi as compelling as the last time the star people walked the earth.

The black South African superhero terrain is rather barren and Kwezi is the first flowering. Well, not really. There has been, to be sure, a black superhero who, rather ironically, met his end at the hands of other black people.

Danny Ndhlomo was Mighty Man, a short-lived 1970s hero created somewhat cynically by Richard Manville, a US marketing executive who had business connections in South Africa.

Before Ndhlomo became Mighty Man, he had been a police officer, shot and wounded in a shootout with tsotsis at a supermarket in a township not dissimilar to Soweto. He was taken care of by a race of creatures in an underground cave until he recovered his health — and assumed supernatural powers.

But Mighty Man’s work was, strangely, confined to a certain locale and, like a man with a grudge, he dealt only with petty criminals, gangsters and killers, and not the bigger crime of apartheid.

After the conflagration of June 1976, students, outraged by Mighty Man’s rather limited brief, “burned down the newsstands ... threw the things on the ground and [they] had to stop publishing them”, according to Manville.

So you can see what Mkize means when he talks about how the South African superhero is an “aspirational” figure who encourages people to “reimagine themselves”. Kwezi is crucial in the quest to “change the frame of reference”.

“I have always asked the question: when are we ever going to get a South African superhero who looks like us, who speaks like us, who shares the same environment as us? That would be a powerful thing. That jump from reading about X-Men to reading about a South African superhero brings the fantasy closer home.”

Mkize grew up in Butterworth in the Eastern Cape. From an early age, it was clear the family had an artist. “I would draw, draw and draw on a daily basis.” And his parents stoked his talent. “I can’t remember a single day I wasn’t encouraged to be an artist.”

He studied graphic art at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology and became an illustrator for Super Strikas, but has since left to concentrate on his fine art and Kwezi (there are plans to animate the comic).

At Eyethu, the works on show demonstrate Mkize’s facility with different styles: the classical portraiture and the surrealism that give his work an otherworldly Afro-futurist texture. It’s not a surprise that art historian and University of the Witwatersrand lecturer Raimi Gbadamosi is curating some of Mkize’s works in an exhibition to coincide with the Goethe Institut’s conference and festival provocatively titled African Futures.

The signature work, in the classical style, is that of a regal, buxom woman, staff in left hand, head bedecked in a doek, seeming to ascend into the clouds. This romanticised piece, Mkize explains, is about “unlearning certain notions of beauty,” about “devising an African aesthetic that is unique and authentic”.

For me, it is his surreal portraits that come alive in a vivid and declamatory visual vocabulary. Superimposing heady symbols and bewitching metaphors onto standard stylised portraits, Mkize is able to come up with searing commentaries of the here and now.

Nelson Mandela, Robert Sobukwe, Lilian Ngoyi and other superhumans are gone; we are left with Jacob Zuma, Robert Mugabe and other midgets.
Maybe we do need a Kwezi.

This article was first published in The Sunday Times on 27 September, 2015. Mkize's work appeared as part of the They came from outer space exhibition.

African Futures Kultur neu beleben

Loyiso Mkize was commissioned to paint a series of artworks from the Holywood movie "Momentum", whcih was shot in Cape Town, and a cover from his "Kwezi" comic book
© Esa Alexander

Wann würden wir endlich einen südafrikanischen Superhelden bekommen, der auch aussieht wie wir?

Das lässige Auftreten und der weiche Akzent des Bildkünstlers Loyiso Mkize lassen zunächst nicht vermuten, dass er ein groß angelegtes Projekt vorhat. Wenn man jedoch aufmerksam zuhört, merkt man, dass er wirklich Großes plant. In unserem einstündigen Gespräch in der Eyethu Gallery in Mofolo/Soweto sind die Begriffe Afrika, Südafrika oder afrikanische Ästhetik sicher ein Dutzend Mal gefallen.

An diesem Freitagnachmittag hat Mkize gerade die letzten Handgriffe für seine dritte Einzelausstellung Reflections vorgenommen. Sie zeigt verschiedene Leinwandbilder und soll am folgenden Tag eröffnet werden. Einige seiner Bilder und Kwezi, eine Comicserie um den gleichnamigen Helden, wurden eine Woche später bei der FNB Joburg Art Fair gezeigt.

Wenn Mkize von Kwezi erzählt, sprüht er förmlich vor Begeisterung. Star der Serie, die bereits in der fünften Staffel läuft, ist der Superheld Kwezi, was in den Nguni Sprachen so viel bedeutet wie „Stern“ (manchmal wird er auch mit dem vollständigen Namen Kwezilokusa angeredet, der den früh in der Dämmerung erscheinenden Morgenstern bezeichnet).

Zunächst ist Kwezi natürlich nur ein kleiner südafrikanischer Superheld. Ein Marketing-Kumpel hat jedoch Großes mit ihm vor: Kwezi soll auf jedem Magazintitelblatt zu finden sein und auch in trendigen Blogs auftauchen. Nur eine kleine Mission für Kwezi, der angeblich ein „Nachfahre des Sternenvolks ist”, ein uraltes Volk, das auf die Erde kam, als die Menschheit kurz vor der Auslöschung stand.

Sie kamen, sie retteten – aber seither sind sie verschwunden. Nun ist das Erbe der Vorfahren bedroht, weil ein habgieriger Feind die Herrschaft über Gold City an sich reißen will. Kurz, Kwezi wird wieder so nötig gebraucht wie damals, als das Sternenvolk auf die Erde kam.

Bislang war das Terrain für südafrikanische Superhelden sehr überschaubar; Kwezi ist sozusagen der erste seiner Art. Obwohl, nicht ganz. Es gab schon einmal einen schwarzen Superhelden, der allerdings ironischerweise durch seine eigenen Leute zu Tode kam.

Danny Ndhlomo war der Mighty Man, ein Held, der in den 1970er Jahren kurzen Ruhm erfuhr. Erschaffen wurde er ausgerechnet von Richard Manville, einem US-Marketing-Chef, der Geschäftsbeziehungen nach Südafrika hatte.

Bevor Ndhlomo Mighty Man wurde, war er Polizist, der bei einer Schießerei mit Gangstern in einem Supermarkt, der sich in einem Soweto ähnelndem Township befand, angeschossen und verwundet wurde. Er wurde daraufhin von einer Horde Kreaturen in einer unterirdischen Höhle gepflegt, bis er wieder gesund wurde – und übernatürliche Fähigkeiten verliehen bekam.

Allerdings richtete Mighty Man seinen Groll nur gegen Kriminelle, Gangster und Killer aus der Gegend. Mit dem größeren Verbrechen, der Apartheid, kam er niemals in Berührung.

Bei den Aufständen vom Juni 1976 brannten Studierende aus Wut über das doch recht eingeschränkte Wirken von Mighty Man „Zeitungsstände nieder … warfen alles auf den Boden und die Veröffentlichung musste eingestellt werden“, so Manville.

Daran wird klar, was Mkize meint, wenn er sagt, dass der südafrikanische Superheld jenes Wunschdenken verkörpert, das die Leute dazu bringt, sich selbst einmal ganz anders zu sehen. Kwezi ist damit ein wichtiger Helfer bei dem Versuch, „den Bezugsrahmen neu zu definieren“.

„Ich habe mich immer gefragt: Wann bekommen wir endlich einen südafrikanischen Superhelden, der auch aussieht wie wir, spricht wie wir und im gleichen Umfeld wohnt wie wir? Das wäre doch mal eine Maßnahme. Wenn man nicht mehr nur die Abenteuer von X-Men, sondern eines südafrikanischen Superhelden verfolgt, kann man diese Fantasie doch viel besser greifen.“

Mkize wuchs in Butterworth in der Ostkap-Provinz auf. Der Familie war schon früh klar, dass sie einen Künstler hervorgebracht hatte. „Ich habe jeden Tag gemalt, gemalt und noch mal gemalt.“ Seine Eltern haben ihn dabei sehr gefördert. „Ich kann mich nicht an einen einzigen Tag erinnern, an dem sie mich nicht dazu ermuntert haben, Künstler zu werden.“

Er studierte Grafik-Design an der Cape Peninsula University Of Technology und wurde Illustrator bei Super Strikas. Inzwischen konzentriert er sich jedoch auf seine eigene Kunst und Kwezi. Es gibt auch schon Pläne, den Comic als Zeichentrickserie umzusetzen.

Die in Eyethu ausgestellten Werke zeigen, dass Mkize mit Leichtigkeit verschiedene Stile bedient: Eine Mischung aus klassischem Porträt und Surrealismus verleiht seinen Werken einen schrägen afro-futuristischen Touch. Es ist also kein Zufall, dass der Kunsthistoriker und Dozent der University Of The Witwatersrand Raimi Gbadamosi einige Werke von Mkize in einer Ausstellung zeigt, die parallel zur Konferenz bzw. zum Festival des Goethe-Instituts mit dem provokativen Titel African Futures läuft.

Sein klassisches Markenzeichen ist eine königlich anmutende dralle Frau, die in der linken Hand einen Stab hält, einen auffälligen Kopfschmuck („Doek“) trägt und offenbar in den Himmel aufsteigt. Der romantisierende Entwurf soll laut Mkize „bestimmte Begriffe von Schönheit überdenken“ und „eine afrikanische Ästhetik schaffen, die einzigartig und authentisch ist.“

Mich beeindrucken vor allem seine surrealen Porträts mit ihrer lebhaften und üppigen Bildsprache. Mit spannenden Symbolen und faszinierenden Metaphern peppt er die hier üblichen stilistischen Standards ordentlich auf und hinterlässt mit seinen Portraits beißende Kommentare zum Hier und Jetzt.

Nelson Mandela, Robert Sobukwe, Lilian Ngoyi und andere Superhelden sind nicht mehr da. Wir haben nur noch Jacob Zuma, Robert Mugabe und andere kleine Lichter.

Vielleicht brauchen wir einen Kwezi.

Die Erstveröffentlichung dieses Artikels erschien am 27. September 2015 in der Sunday Times. Mkizes Arbeiten wurden im Rahmen der Ausstellung They Came From Outer Space („Sie kamen aus dem Weltraum“) präsentiert.