5 Questions for Christian Nerf

Christian Nerf
Christian Nerf | Christian Nerf. © Goethe-Institut. Photo: Miriam Daepp

Christian Nerf’s open studio at GoetheonMain, entitled „Things Are Odd“, gives visitors a glimpse of the artist’s creative process. We spoke to him about life and art.

Your artistic practice has been described as “maverick, absurdist, astute, playful, and serious.” With which of these do you agree most, and with which ones least?

I neither agree nor disagree with any of them. I am inclined to think that I am just a person who knows how to do things without money. I want to investigate the world and what makes us human or inhuman. It is fortunate that there is a category called art; I am not quite sure what I would be if I couldn’t be an artist. I try to be very agile and go into each experiment with as little baggage as possible, so I may be very conservative in one instance and entirely flexible in another.

You say you strive to create works that encourage not only the art community but the public at large to think. Is art only for a handful of insiders; in other words: is art elitist?

Some of my projects are activated on the street, for instance The Polite Force. The people who encounter it don’t even know it is art. Without that baggage they don’t freak out and think they don’t understand the language of art. Artworks that wouldn’t survive well outside of “the white cube” are elitist to me. I try to avoid this type of art and instead make my work inclusive by using methods to make complex concepts accessible. Talking to people in the art realm or intellectuals is very different to talking to everyday people.

One way I engage with people in the street is by handing them signed and numbered one-dollar-notes or asking them for some of their waste (empty soft drink cans or similar), in order to start a conversation. Not a conversation about art however, but about the economy or the system of voting in a political party or a president for instance. I am intrigued by the idea of everyday people giving away their right to have a say by voting someone else, in other words: to choose a boss. I believe we are each our own boss.

You say what you bring to a collaboration is nothing, which allows for anything to happen. What did you bring to Goethe on Main, and what emerged in these three weeks at the open studio?

I am post-collaborative, I no longer collaborate. Collaboration was a kind of education for me. Part of my work here at GoetheonMain is a reflection on my old projects, which makes it difficult to bring nothing. Bringing nothing in this context is more about not bringing preconceived ideas. When I came to the GoetheonMain studio I had some ideas about what I wanted to do and how to install things, but then I ended up rearranging these ideas and objects in different ways. I travelled from Cape Town to Johannesburg by bus with very light baggage, carrying all of the exhibition objects along. The bicycle, the flag, and the table you see in this exhibition are all foldable.

In my earlier years I used to be an avid collector of things, and then I realised that these things were weighing me down. Consequently, I either gave or threw away almost everything so that I could be open to new possibilities. I found that if I have a studio full of objects they start talking to me, asking me how I am going to install them and balance them with other objects in the exhibition. I want to avoid this so I try to be light in every way.

I also incorporate some of my ongoing work into this exhibition, for instance the plant sculpture, through which I explore the concept of being somebody’s boss, of manipulating another being. Throughout the past eleven years, I have been subjecting the plant to alternating cycles of deprivation of soil and light and observing the resulting growth patterns. The plant sculpture is an experiment in manipulation.

I would describe my work as portable, agile, humorous. While trying to find your way through life is very serious business one needs to find ways to engage with it in a humorous way.

As part of “Things are Odd”, you hosted a braai lunch on a Wednesday noon every week. Who attended the “braai club lunch for the unemployed” as you named it and what is the aim of the project?

A few freelancers attended and people who took half a day of leave. The braai lunch club is about the idea of free time. I want to raise questions like: how much time do we sell and how much of our lifetime is actually ours. The braai lunch club is a reminder for people to reflect on the use of their time and their life. A huge majority of the population cannot attend an event that is happening on a Wednesday noon because they are not in a position to dispose freely of their own time.

You say for you, working through art is a way of interrogating and revealing the idea of truth. What is The Truth?

I have honestly no idea. My life’s work revolves around finding the truth, pinpointing the idea of the truth. I think there is a general consensus that the truth comes in many forms. It’s a bit like it is with belief systems: people agree to disagree. The truth should be quite a definitive concept, but it’s not, it is very slippery. My personal truth, at least for now, is to spend my time wisely. Time is not flexible; we are born and we die. So the question is: what are we going to do with the time in between.

5 Fragen an Christian Nerf

Christian Nerf
Christian Nerf | Christian Nerf. © Goethe-Institut. Foto: Miriam Daepp

Mit „Things Are Odd“ gewährte Christian Nerf Besuchern in GoetheonMain Einblick in den Entstehungsprozess von Kunst. Wir haben uns mit ihm über das Leben und die Kunst unterhalten.

Christian Nerf, Ihre künstlerische Praxis wurde als “querdenkerisch, absurd, scharfsinnig, verspielt und ernsthaft” bezeichnet. Welchen dieser Beschreibungen stimmen Sie zu, und welchen weniger?

Ich stimme weder zu noch widerspreche ich allen diesen Beschreibungen. Ich sehe mich vielmehr als jemanden der weiß wie man ohne Geld Dinge tun kann. Ich will die Welt erforschen und herausfinden was uns menschlich oder unmenschlich macht. Zum Glück gibt es Kunst; ich weiß nicht was aus mir geworden wäre wenn ich kein Künstler sein könnte. Ich versuche, sehr beweglich zu sein und jedes Experiment mit möglichst wenig Ballast anzugehen. Dadurch kann ich einerseits sehr konservativ und andererseits total flexibel sein.

Sie sagen von sich Sie wollen mit Ihren Werken nicht nur die Kunstszene sondern auch die breite Öffentlichkeit zum Denken anregen. Ist Kunst etwas für wenige Eingeweihte; in anderen Worten: ist Kunst elitär?

Einige meiner Projekte werden im öffentlichen Raum aktiviert, zum Beispiel die “Polite Force”. Die Passanten auf der Straße wissen meist gar nicht, dass es sich um Kunst handelt. Ohne dieses Vorwissen erleben sie die künstlerische Intervention unbelastet und ohne Berührungsängste. Kunstwerke die außerhalb von Galerien kaum überleben würden empfinde ich als elitär. Ich versuche diese Art von Kunst zu vermeiden und mache meine Werke stattdessen zugänglich indem ich komplexe Ideen verständlich mache. Eine Unterhaltung mit Leuten aus der Kunstszene oder mit Intellektuellen ist ganz anders als ein Gespräch mit “gewöhnlichen” Menschen.

Um mit den Leuten auf der Straße ins Gespräch zu kommen schenke ich ihnen zum Beispiel eine nummerierte und signierte Eindollar-Note, oder ich bitte sie, mir etwas von ihrem Abfall zu geben, eine leere Cola-Dose oder ähnliches. Ich unterhalte mich mit ihnen nicht über Kunst, sondern über die Wirtschaftslage oder über das politische Wahlsystem. Ich finde es faszinierend, dass Menschen ihr Recht auf Selbstbestimmung abgeben indem sie jemand anderen zu ihrem Chef wählen. Meiner Meinung nach ist jeder sein eigener Chef.

Sie sagen, in eine Kollaboration bringen Sie nichts mit, damit alles passieren kann. Was haben Sie zu GoetheonMain gebraucht, und was ist während dem offenen Studio entstanden?

Ich kollaboriere nicht mehr. Kollaborationen waren für mich eine Art Ausbildung. Teil meiner Arbeit hier in GoetheonMain ist eine Reflektion meiner bisherigen Projekte. Das macht es schwierig, nichts mitzubringen. In diesem Kontext bedeutet „nichts einbringen“, nicht mit vorgefertigten Vorstellungen an das Projekt heranzugehen. Als ich ins GoetheonMain Studio kam hatte ich ein paar Ideen davon was ich machen wollte und wie ich Objekte installieren wollte, doch als ich hier war änderte sich dies. Ich bin mit dem Bus von Kapstadt hergereist, mit leichtem Gepäck und den Ausstellungsobjekten. Das Fahrrad, die Flagge, der Tisch – alles was Sie in der Ausstellung sehen ist faltbar.

In früheren Jahren war ich ein begeisterter Sammler von Gegenständen, bis ich begriff, dass mich diese Dinge zurück hielten. Daraufhin verschenkte ich das Meiste oder warf es weg um mich neuen Möglichkeiten zu öffnen. Wenn ich in einem Studio voller Objekte bin fangen sie an mit mir zu sprechen; sie wollen wissen wie ich sich installieren und mit anderen Objekten arrangieren werde. Um dies zu vermeiden versuche ich, mit so wenig Ballast wie möglich an neue Projekte heranzugehen.

Fortlaufende Arbeiten sind ebenfalls Teil dieser Ausstellung, zum Beispiel die Kaktusskulptur, durch die ich das Konzept von Manipulation erkunde. Während der vergangenen elf Jahre habe ich dem Kaktus abwechslungsweise die Erde und das Licht entzogen und beobachtet in welcher Form die Pflanze daraufhin weiterwächst. Der Kaktus ist ein Experiment in Manipulation.

Meine Arbeit beschreibe ich als portabel, beweglich und humorvoll. Das Leben ist eine ernste Sache - wir müssen versuchen, humorvoll damit umzugehen.

“Things are Odd” lud jeden Mittwoch zu einem Mittagessen vom Grill (in Südafrika: Braai) ein. Wer kam zum “Braaiklub für Arbeitslose”, wie Sie das Projekt genannt haben?

Es kamen einige Selbständige sowie Angestellte, die dafür einen halben Tag Urlaub bezogen hatten. Beim Braaiklub geht es um die Idee von freier Zeit. Ich will damit Fragen aufwerfen wie: Wie viel unserer Zeit verkaufen wir und wie viel unserer Lebenszeit gehört tatsächlich uns. Der Braaiklub soll als Denkanstoß dienen über die Nutzung seiner Zeit und seines Lebens nachzudenken. Ein Großteil der Bevölkerung kann nicht an einer Veranstaltung teilnehmen die wochentags zur Mittagszeit stattfindet weil die meisten Leute nicht frei über ihre Zeit verfügen können.

Sie sagen, Kunst sei für Sie ein Weg die Wahrheit zu hinterfragen und zu offenbaren. Was ist die Wahrheit?

Ehrlich gesagt habe ich keine Ahnung. Mein Lebenswerk befasst sich damit, die Idee der Wahrheit zu finden. Ich denke es gibt eine allgemeine Übereinkunft, dass die Wahrheit viele Formen annehmen kann. Mit der Wahrheit verhält es sich ein wenig wie mit dem Glauben: es lässt sich nicht über sie streiten. Sie sollte ein definitives Konzept sein, doch sie ist es nicht – die Wahrheit ist schwer fassbar. Meine persönliche Wahrheit, zumindest für den jetzigen Zeitpunkt, ist Folgende: Verwende deine Zeit weise. Zeit ist nicht flexibel; wir werden geboren und wir sterben. Die Frage ist daher: Wie verwenden wir die Zeit dazwischen?