Photographer Rotimi Fani-Kayode It still needs saying: black men can desire each other

Rotimi Fani-Kayode
Rotimi Fani-Kayode | Photo: Rotimi Fani-Kayode

Almost three decades after photographer Rotimi Fani-Kayode’s death, Traces of Ecstasy is both a sobering reminder of socio-political inertia and what Fani-Kayode intended it to be: “an imaginative investigation of Blackness, maleness and sexuality”.

Nowadays, every time I open a newspaper or news website, tune into a radio or TV bulletin, or check my twitter feed, the title of Sipho Sepamla’s poem “Da Same, Da Same” echoes in my mind. Is it just me, or is the South African news cycle a bit “samey”?

Oscar Pistorius, Shrien Dewani, Nkandla. Throw in a ministerial gaffe, a story of government misspending, a Democratic Alliance PR blunder, a bit of Economic Freedom Fighters rhetoric, a service delivery protest, a labour dispute, an incident of police brutality, the clandestine workings of the ruling alliance ... and you’ve got yourself a front-page formula.

Indeed, it seems like we’re in a holding pattern. Certain issues come and go and return and fade: e-tolls, rhino poaching, crises in education and health. Things will develop a little more focus in the run-up to the general election next month. And then it will be more of the same.

On the surface, there’s something rather depressing in this. If South Africa were a music album, we’d be repeating the same track on a permanent loop. Alternatively, to cast it in narrative terms, one might say that the country’s story is in need of plot development.

But the fact is that epoch-defining people and events are not often discernible at the time. The “Mandela moment” was a rarity. The historians of the future may write about what happened, or didn’t happen, under Thabo Mbeki and Jacob Zuma, but these controversial presidents will probably only be casual markers in a long post-apartheid trajectory.

That doesn’t mean we should be apathetic about or indifferent to the egregious dealings of Number One. On the contrary, Zuma and his cronies should be held directly liable for their role in stalling South Africa’s revolution: they have resisted real change, denying the “sameness” that Sepamla was actually writing about (“one man no diflent to anader”, his quirky speaker intones, irrespective of race – or class, or other demographic signifiers for that matter).

Visitors to the Iziko National Gallery in Cape Town might feel a dispiriting sense of social stasis when they read the wall text introducing Rotimi Fani-Kayode’s Traces of Ecstasy, which is on display until 15th May. Fani-Kayode, who died in 1989 at the age of 34, was a Nigerian-born photographer who was based in the United States and Britain for most of his life. It is perhaps not surprising that he was preoccupied by what he saw as the tension between Western and African world views, religious practices and artistic techniques.

As a gay man, he also chose to use his photography “not just as an instrument, but as a weapon ... to resist attacks on my integrity”.

Fani-Kayode’s 1988 statement about Traces of Ecstasy is a manifesto very much of its time – a response to the Thatcherite government – and, even though a number of the works in the exhibition merge European and African iconography, he tends to reinforce a “Western versus non-Western” essentialist binary that now seems somewhat dated. But it also reads like a contemporary challenge.

“Black men from the Third World”, the artist complains, have denied “a certain shocking fact: they can desire each other”. Despite the suppression of homosexuality “by the Church and State ... it is clear that enriching sexual relationships between members of the same sex have always existed.” Sadly, this is a message that needs repeating again and again across the African continent.

Fani-Kayode also bemoans “the exploitative mythologising of Black virility” and “the vulgar objectification of Africa” in “the ‘victim’ images which appear constantly in the media”. The creativity of the Yoruba people is simultaneously “prized for its exotic appeal” and “consigned by the West to museums of ‘primitive’ art and culture”.

Yoruban belief systems are “treated as no more than a bizarre superstition”.

Here, again, is a critique that is still apposite in the twenty-first century.

Polemic and provocation aside, the photographs themselves make striking use of colour and contrast to command the viewer’s attention; there are some quite beautiful images. Almost three decades on, Traces of Ecstasy is both a sobering reminder of socio-political inertia and what Fani-Kayode intended it to be: “an imaginative investigation of Blackness, maleness and sexuality”.

The Rotimi Fani-Kayode retrospective Traces of Ecstasy was on display at the Iziko South African National Gallery in Cape Town from 12.02.2014 – 11.05.2014. The exhibition was supported by the Goethe-Institut. Nigerian-born Fani-Kayode (1955-1989) was a founding member of Autograph ABP, the London-based Association of Black Photographers.

First published in Business Day on 10.04.2014.

Fotograf Rotimi Fani-Kayode Schwarze Männer können einander begehren

Rotimi Fani-Kayode
Rotimi Fani-Kayode | Foto: Rotimi Fani-Kayode

Fast drei Jahrzehnte nach dem Tod des Fotografen Rotimi Fani-Kayode ist Traces of Ecstasy sowohl eine ernüchternde Ermahnung an die soziopolitische Trägheit als auch das, was Fani-Kayode beabsichtigte: “eine fantasievolle Untersuchung von Schwarzsein, Männlichkeit und Sexualität”. 

Jedes Mal, wenn ich heutzutage eine Zeitung oder eine News-Website öffne, mir eine Radio- oder TV-Nachrichtensendung anhöre oder meinen Twitterfeed lese, kommt mir der Titel von Sipho Sepamlas Gedicht “Da Same, Da Same” (Das Gleiche, das Gleiche) in den Sinn. Meine ich das nur, oder ist der südafrikanische Nachrichtenzyklus ein bisschen “gleich”?

Oscar Pistorius, Shrien Dewani, Nkandla – ein Ausrutscher eines Ministers, öffentliche Misswirtschaft, ein Fauxpas in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Demokratischen Allianz, ein bisschen Rhetorik der Economic Freedom Fighters, ein Protest wegen schlechter Staatsdienste, ein Arbeitskampf, ein Fall von Polizeibrutalität, die verborgene Funktionsweise der herrschenden Parteiallianz... das ist das Material, aus dem Titelseitenschlagzeilen gemacht sind.

In der Tat scheint es, als ob wir in einer Warteschleife seien. Bestimmte Themen kommen und gehen, wiederholen sich und verschwinden: Straßenmaut, Wilderei auf Nashörner, Krisen in Bildungs- und Gesundheitswesen. Im Vorfeld der Wahlen vom Mai 2014 wurden diese Themen etwas fokussierter diskutiert. Und danach gibt es wieder mehr vom Gleichen.

Oberflächlich betrachtet erscheint dies eher deprimierend. Wenn Südafrika ein Musikalbum wäre, würden wir dasselbe Lied in ständiger Wiederholung spielen. Anders ausgedrückt könnte man sagen: das Land braucht einen neuen Erzählstrang.

Doch Tatsache ist, dass epochemachende Menschen und Ereignisse zu ihrer Zeit oft nicht erkennbar sind. Der “Mandela-Moment” war eine Seltenheit. Die Historiker der Zukunft mögen darüber schreiben, was geschehen – oder nicht geschehen – ist in der Regierungszeit von Thabo Mbeki und Jacob Zuma; doch diese umstrittenen Präsidenten werden wahrscheinlich bloß beiläufige Figuren in der Post-Apartheid-Ära sein.

Das heißt nicht, dass wir apathisch sein sollten oder unbeteiligt gegenüber den ungeheuerlichen Machenschaften des Präsidenten. Im Gegenteil, Zuma und seine Kumpanen sollten direkt verantwortlich gemacht werden für ihre Rolle in der Verzögerung von Südafrikas Revolution: sie haben sich echtem Wandel widersetzt, die “Gleichheit” über die Sepamla schrieb (“ein Mann ist nicht anders als der nächste”, unabhängig von Rasse, Klasse oder anderen demografischen Kriterien) abstreitend.

Besucher der Iziko National Gallery in Kapstadt könnten ein entmutigendes Gefühl von sozialem Stillstand bekommen, wenn sie den Wandtext lesen, der Rotimi Fani-Kayodes Ausstellung Traces of Ecstasy, die bis zum 15. Mai 2014 zu sehen ist, erläutert. Fani-Kayode, der 1989 im Alter von 34 Jahren starb, war ein in Nigeria geborener Fotograf, der den größten Teil seines Lebens in den USA und Großbritannien verbrachte. Es ist vielleicht nicht überraschend, dass ihn das, was er als Spannungen zwischen westlicher und afrikanischer Weltsicht, zwischen religiösen Praktiken und künstlerischen Techniken sah, beschäftigte.

Als schwuler Mann nutzte er seine Fotografie “nicht nur als Instrument, sondern als Waffe ... um Angriffen auf seine Integrität zu trotzen”.

Fani-Kayodes Aussage von 1988 über Traces of Ecstasy ist vor allem ein Manifest seiner Zeit – eine Antwort auf das Thatcher-Regime – und, obwohl in vielen Werken in der Ausstellung europäische und afrikanische Ikonografie verschmelzen, neigt er dazu, eine essenzielle “Westen gegen Nicht-Westen”-Dualität zu verstärken, die heutzutage etwas veraltet erscheint. Und trotzdem kann Traces of Ecstasy auch als zeitgenössische Herausforderung interpretiert werden.

“Schwarze Männer aus der dritten Welt”, beklagt sich der Künstler, “haben eine bestimmte schockierende Tatsache abgestritten: sie können einander begehren”. Trotz der Unterdrückung von Homosexualität “durch Kirche und Staat ... ist es klar, dass bereichernde sexuelle Beziehungen zwischen Mitgliedern desselben Geschlechts schon immer existiert haben.” Traurigerweise muss diese Botschaft wieder und wieder vermittelt werden auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.

Fani-Kayode bedauert ebenfalls “die ausbeuterische Mythologisierung schwarzer Männlichkeit” und “die vulgäre Vergegenständlichung Afrikas” in “Opferbildern die in den Medien ständig präsent sind”. Die Kreativität des Yoruba-Volkes wird gleichzeitig “gepriesen für ihre Exotik” und “vom Westen an Museen für primitive Kunst und Kultur übergeben”.

Auch diese Kritik ist im 21. Jahrhundert noch zutreffend.

Polemik und Provokation beiseite, die Fotografien als solche nutzen Farbe und Kontrast um die Aufmerksamkeit des Betrachters zu gewinnen; es gibt einige sehr schöne Bilder. Fast drei Jahrzehnte später ist Traces of Ecstasy sowohl eine ernüchternde Ermahnung an die soziopolitische Trägheit als auch das, was Fani-Kayode beabsichtigte: “eine fantasievolle Untersuchung von Schwarzsein, Männlichkeit und Sexualität”.

Die Rotimi Fani-Kayode Retrospektive Traces of Ecstasy war vom 12.02.2014 bis zum 11.05.2014 in der Iziko South African National Gallery in Kapstadt zu sehen. Die Ausstellung wurde vom Goethe-Institut unterstützt. Der in Nigeria geborene Fani-Kayode (1955-1989) war ein Gründungsmitglied der in London ansässigen Bildagentur Autograph ABP (Association of Black Photographers).

Dieser Artikel ist zuerst erschienen in Business Day am 10.04.2014.