ArtsWork Refiguring Women

2012
2012 | Photo: © ArtsWork: Refiguring Women 2012

Where is the voice of African women in the arts today? The Goethe-Institut invited 24 women from across Africa, practising in the arts field, to discuss issues of positioning, gender and identity at the ArtsWork workshop in Johannesburg.


In her essay Providing a Space of Freedom: Women Artists from Africa, N’Goné Fall writes: „Until the late 1980s, being a female artist was supposed to be a part-time diversion. Women were allowed to be involved in such areas as craft, home décor, fashion, and hairstyle. And when they did paint, they were supposed to produce pretty canvases to be hung in the homes of the local bourgeoisie. No questions, no provocations. They were expected to create decorative beauty, not deal with intellectual theories. By confining them in that narrow role, African societies were in effect denying that a woman could be a full-time artist who addressed challenging conceptual issues. The new generation that emerged in the late 1990s radically changed the landscape. Its members entered the scene creating art of remarkable intensity, exploring issues of race, gender, domestic or psychological violence, power, territory, postcolonialism, and democracy. They took on the challenge of questioning their society — how they fit into it as women, and how they relate to the world as Africans.”

Gender roles and identity revisited

In line with the gender and identity theme, acclaimed photographer Zanele Muholi opened her exhibition entitled Phases and Faces, a portrait series of black homosexual individuals (particularly lesbians) at the Goethe-Institut. The exhibition had previously been shown at dOCUMENTA(13) in Kassel and Oldenburg, Germany, and now returned to South Africa. The viewer is invited to contemplate questions such as: what does an African lesbian look like? Is there a lesbian aesthetic or do we express our gendered, racialised and classed selves in rich and diverse ways?

The biggest challenges are the lack of art education, mentoring, and visibility in the market

During the course of the week, the lack of art education, mentoring, visibility and research were identified as some of the most pressing challenges that women in the arts across the continent face today. Participants N’Goné Fall and Jacqueline Karuti agreed that these issues were openly discussed at the ArtsWork conference. The youngest workshop participant, visual artist Jacqueline Karuti from Nairobi, adds that she was positively surprised at how openly the women spoke about gender and sexuality issues pertaining to the arts, and she doubts that such open discussions would have been possible in her native Kenya. 

Sharing experiences and learning from each other

For young artists like Jacqueline, ArtsWork presented a much appreciated opportunity to learn from more seasoned female artists, and to make valuable connections along the way. Architect-turned-curator N’Goné Fall believes that art can positively impact society – once people understand that art is not mere decoration, but rather a medium to address serious social issues. Inspired by discussions at ArtsWork, she wants to research previous generations of female artists, to make them visible and pay them tribute.
 

This article is in context with the ArtsWork 2012: Refiguring Women conference, initiated by the Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg. This platform is aimed at reflecting on the roles of women and their spaces and artistic practices. Above all, it is a platform for networking and exchange between female African artists.

ArtsWork was first organised in 2011, when it looked at the position of women in film.

ArtsWork 2012: Refiguring Women focused on African Women in the Arts from three perspectives: Positioning, the role of women in the visual arts; The Body, current tensions around the use of the female body in visual arts; and Trans-identity, looking at transformative approaches within feminism and the concept of gender.

In November 2012, the Goethe-Institut, in co-operation with Nontobeko Ntombela and Jabu Pereira, hosted a series of talks, discussion forums, presentations and networking opportunities, bringing together a group of 24 women in the arts from various African countries, the diaspora, and Germany.

ArtsWork Refiguring Women

2012
2012 | Foto: © ArtsWork: Refiguring Women 2012

Wo ist die Stimme afrikanischer Frauen in der Kunstszene heute? Das Goethe-Institut lud 24 afrikanische Frauen aus dem Kunstsektor ein, im Rahmen der ArtsWork-Konferenz die Themen Positionierung, Gender und Identität zu diskutieren. 

N’Goné Fall schreibt in ihrem Artikel Providing a Space of Freedom: Women Artists from Africa: „Bis in die späten 1980er-Jahre wurden Künstlerinnen in Afrika eher als Freizeitkünstler angesehen, die sich mit Kunsthandwerk, Inneneinrichtung, Mode und Haarkunst zu beschäftigen hatten. Von ihnen wurde erwartet, Dinge zu verschönern, und nicht sich mit intellektuellen Theorien auseinander zu setzen. Keine Fragen, keine Provokation. In afrikanischen Gesellschaften wurden Frauen in dieses enge Rollenbild gedrängt und entsprechend nicht als professionelle Künstlerinnen wahrgenommen, die mit ihrer Kunst gesellschaftliche Themen hinterfragten. Dies änderte sich mit einer neuen Generation die in den späten 1990er-Jahren die Szene betrat. Diese Frauen befassten sich in ihrem Kunstschaffen mit Rasse, Geschlecht, Macht, Gewalt, Postkolonialismus und Demokratie. Sie nahmen die Herausforderung an, die Gesellschaft kritisch zu betrachten. Doch wie fügen sich diese Künstlerinnen in die Gesellschaft ein, und wie beziehen sie sich als Frauen aus Afrika auf die Welt?”

Geschlechterrollen und Körperidentität neu betrachtet

Passend zum Thema Körperidentität eröffnete die gefeierte südafrikanische Fotografin Zanele Muholi ihre Ausstellung Phases and Faces am Goethe-Institut, eine Serie von Porträts schwarzer Homosexueller (insbesondere Lesben) in der südafrikanischen Gesellschaft. Die Ausstellung war im Rahmen der dOCUMENTA(13) in Kassel und Oldenburg gezeigt worden und kehrte nun nach Südafrika zurück. Der Betrachter ist dazu eingeladen Fragen aufzuwerfen wie etwa: Wie sieht eine afrikanische Lesbe aus? Gibt es eine lesbische Ästhetik oder drücken wir unser auf Geschlecht, Rasse und Klasse reduziertes Selbst auf eine vielfältige und verschiedene Weise aus?

Großer Bedarf an Kunsterziehung, Mentoring und Sichtbarkeit im Markt

Im Verlauf des Workshops wurde eines klar: Künstlerinnen aus Afrika haben vor allem mit dem Problem des Mangels zu kämpfen – Mangel an Kunsterziehung, Mentoring, Präsenz im Markt sowie akademischer Forschung. Die Teilnehmerinnen N’Goné Fall und Jacqueline Karuti waren sich einig, dass diese Themen im Workshop offen diskutiert wurden. Jacqueline Karuti, bildende Künstlerin aus Nairobi und jüngste Teilnehmerin, war vom offenen Gesprächsklima positiv überrascht und bezweifelt, dass Themen wie Gender und Sexualität in ihrem Heimatland Kenia in dieser Form diskutiert worden wären.

Wertvoller Erfahrungsaustausch

Für junge Künstlerinnen wie Jacqueline Karuti ist ArtsWork eine willkommene Gelegenheit, von erfahrenen Kolleginnen zu lernen und dabei auch noch wertvolle Kontakte zu knüpfen. Die ehemalige Architektin und jetzige Kuratorin N’Goné Fall glaubt, dass Kunst einen Beitrag zu gesellschaftlichem Wandel leisten kann – vorausgesetzt, sie wird nicht als reine Dekoration verstanden, sondern als Mittel zum sozialen Wandel. Angeregt durch ArtsWork will N’Goné vorherige Generationen weiblicher Künstler recherchieren, um sie sichtbar zu machen und ihnen Tribut zu zollen.
 

Dieser Artikel entstand anlässlich des Workshops ArtsWork 2012: Refiguring Women, einer Initiative des Goethe-Instituts in Johannesburg. Das Format reflektiert die Rolle von Künstlerinnen aus Afrika, deren Räume und künstlerische Praxis, sowie Genderfragen. Vor allem aber ist es eine Plattform zum Netzwerken und Austausch.

2011 fand ArtsWork erstmals statt, unter dem Thema Frauen im Film.

ArtsWork 2012: Refiguring Women fokussierte das Thema afrikanische Frauen in der Kunst aus drei Perspektiven: Positionierung, die Rolle von Frauen in der bildenden Kunst; der Körper, aktuelle Spannungen bezüglich der Darstellung des weiblichen Körpers in der Kunst; und Transidentität, eine Auseinandersetzung mit transformativen Ansätzen in Feminismus und Gender-Konzepten.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Nontobeko Ntombela und Jabu Pereira wurden Ende November 2012 eine Reihe von Gesprächen, Diskussionsforen, Präsentationen und Networking Events mit einer Gruppe von 24 Frauen in der bildenden Kunst aus verschiedenen afrikanischen Ländern, der Diaspora, und Deutschland durchgeführt.