Library-Gamebox-Hub set for partial reopening!

From the 7th of October 2020, the library will do a partial reopening. The space will be open to the public from 11 am to 4 pm every Wednesday. 

To be able to follow safety and health regulations a prior registration is absolutely necessary. Please register by following this link: https://doodle.com/poll/b59t4kqqg5q34zfy

Library Header

Library

You can find books, audiovisual media and information about Germany here. You can do research on an iPad or computer, borrow German and English media, relax in the lounge area or use the Boothbox as your private working space.

Gamebox © Earl Abrahams

Gamebox

Games are part of our culture! Discover digital games from Germany and Sub-Sahara Africa, visit one of our induction events or come to the afternoon game sessions.  The Gamebox will also host curated gaming events.

Hub © Goethe-Institut/Benjamin Keuffel

Hub

The Goethe-Institut’s new Hub offers creative entrepreneurs the opportunity to secure a space in an inspirational environment for six months. Look out for the call for applications, which will appear regularly on our website.

What we offer

Lending

The library is open to the public and use of books and media in the library is free of charge.

eLibrary

The eLibrary is a digital service offered by the Goethe-Institut Johannesburg library for South Africa which allows you to borrow digital media.

Translation funding

Our translation funding programme supports the publication of books by German authors in another language.

Service for librarians

Events, specialist information and cooperation services for librarians.

Projects

We work in partnership with other libraries, library associations, training centres and institutions in Germany and abroad to promote professional dialogue and exchange. In South Africa we organise conferences, seminars and information exchange programmes, in partnership with library institutions LIASA (Library and Information Association of South Africa) and EIFL (Electronic Information for Libraries).

We cooperate with partners to support literary projects and publishers. In addition to the collaborative work with projects like Nal’ibali, African Storybook, FunDza or Book Dash, we support publishers in preparation for a visit to the annual Frankfurt Book Fair. We work together with Short Story Day Africa and bring authors from sub-Saharan Africa to Johannesburg and important literary festivals in South Africa as part of our Literary Crossroads series.

We place particular emphasis on supporting projects for digital inclusion and promote digital competencies, e.g. the initiative mLiteracy or the intensive collaboration with Wikipedia (Wiki Meet-ups, Wiki loves Women).

Hack UR Culture © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Hack Ur Culture - Hackathon

“Hack Ur Culture” is a platform that brings together GLAM institutions (Galleries, Libraries, Archives, Museums) with creative minds and tech enthusiasts to bring about collaborations and innovations from open cultural data.

Die A Maze Train Jam 2019 Teilnehmer vor dem Zug © Hankyeol Lee

A Maze Train Jam

A flight from Johannesburg to Cape Town takes a good two hours. A train ride? At least 27 hours, without air conditioning. Why would anyone want to do that, especially in South African summer?

Decolonise the Internet Banner © Lungi Molefe/Goethe-Institut

Decolonise the Internet

"Decolonise The Internet" questions inequality in the world wide web and highlights how algorhythms aggravate racisms. Therefore, the regional aims to increase knowledge and visibility for African and Womxn issues on the web.

Wiki Loves Women © Wiki Loves Women

Wiki Loves Women

There are countless influential women who have shaped Africa’s countries and societies. But few African women enjoy exposure on internationally relevant online databases such as Wikipedia. WikiAfrica and the Goethe-Institut intend on tackling this issue with the Wiki Loves Women project.

Literary Crossroads Literary Crossroads

Literary Crossroads

Literary Crossroads is a series of talks where South African writers meet colleagues from all over the continent and from the African diaspora to discuss trends, topics and themes prevalent in their literatures today.

Library Header

Library

Hier finden Sie Bücher, audiovisuelle Medien und Informationen über Deutschland. Recherchieren Sie am iPad oder Computer, leihen Sie sich deutsch- und englischsprachige Medien aus, entspannen Sie sich in unserem Lounge-Bereich oder nutzen Sie die „Boothbox“ als Einzelarbeitsplatz.

Gamebox © Earl Abrahams

Gamebox

Spiele sind ein Teil der Kultur! Entdecken Sie digitale Spiele aus Deutschland und Subsahara-Afrika, besuchen Sie eine unserer Einführungsveranstaltungen oder kommen Sie zum Spielenachmittag. Die Gamebox wird auch kuratierte Sonderausstellungen verschiedener Spiele anbieten.

Hub ©

Hub

Der neue Hub des Goethe-Instituts bietet kreativen Entrepreneurs die Möglichkeit, sich für sechs Monate einen Platz in einer inspirierenden Umgebung zu sichern. Achten Sie auf den „call for applications“, der regelmäßig erscheint.

Unser Angebot

Ausleihe

Die Bibliothek ist öffentlich zugänglich und die Benutzung von Büchern und Medien in der Bibliothek ist kostenlos.

Onleihe

Die Onleihe ist ein digitales Angebot der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Johannesburg für Südafrika, das Ihnen ermöglicht, digitale Medien auszuleihen.

Übersetzungsförderung

Unser Übersetzungsförderungs-Programm unterstützt die Publikation von Büchern deutscher Autoren in eine andere Sprache.

Service für Bibliothekare

Veranstaltungen, Fachinformationen und Kooperationsangebote für Bibliothekare.

Projekte

Wir arbeiten partnerschaftlich mit anderen Bibliotheken, bibliothekarischen Verbänden, Ausbildungsstätten und Institutionen im In- und Ausland zusammen, um den fachlichen Dialog und Austausch zu fördern. In Südafrika organisieren wir gemeinsam mit bibliothekarischen Institutionen, wie z.B. LIASA (Library and Information Association of South Africa) oder EIFL (Electronic Information for Libraries) Konferenzen, Seminare und Austauschprogramme im Informationsbereich.

Wir kooperieren mit Partnern und unterstützen Literaturprojekte und Verlage.
Neben der Zusammenarbeit mit Projekten wie Nal‘ibali, African Storybook, FunDza oder Book Dash unterstützen wir Verlage zum Beispiel bei der Vorbereitung auf einen Besuch der Frankfurter Buchmesse. Wir arbeiten zusammen mit Short Story Day Africa und bringen im Rahmen unserer Reihe „Literary Crossroads“ Autoren aus Subsahara-Afrika nach Johannesburg und zu wichtigen Literaturfestivals in Südafrika.

Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt legen wir auf die Unterstützung von Projekten zur digitalen Inklusion und der Förderung digitaler Kompetenzen, z.B. durch die Initiative mLiteracy oder eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Wikipedia (Wiki Meet-ups, „Wiki loves Women“).

 

Coding Da Vinci Logo © Goethe-Institut

Coding Da Vinci

Das Goethe-Institut bietet Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen GLAM, IT und Design die Möglichkeit zur Teilnahme an einer Netzwerkreise nach Deutschland. Die Teilnehmenden werden neue Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet offener Kulturdaten kennenlernen, sich untereinander und mit Kulturinstitutionen in München vernetzen und am Kulturdatenhackathon Coding da Vinci (6. -7. April 2019) teilnehmen.

Wiki Loves Women © Wiki Loves Women

Wiki Loves Women

Es gibt zahlreiche bedeutende Frauen, die Afrikas Länder und Gesellschaften geprägt haben. Nur wenige afrikanische Frauen finden allerdings Eingang in weltweit bedeutende Wissensdatenbanken wie Wikipedia. Mit dem Projekt Wiki Loves Women  möchten WikiAfrica und das Goethe-Institut das ändern.

Literary Crossroads Literary Crossroads

Literary Crossroads

Literary Crossroads ist eine Veranstaltungsserie, in der Autoren/innen aus Südafrika mit Kollegen/innen aus anderen Ländern der Region und der Diaspora aufeinandertreffen, um aus ihren Büchern zu lesen und über Ihre Arbeit zu sprechen.