Reinterpreted The Gospel According to Chris Hani

Gabi Ngcobo
Gabi Ngcobo | Gabi Ngcobo © Palesa Motsomi

An art exhibition at GoetheonMain saw young artists responding artistically to an interview with anti-Apartheid martyr and South African Communist Party leader Chris Hani. Marelise van der Merwe spoke to curator its curator Gabi Ngcobo.

Artist Gabi Ngcobo, despite having a number of collaborative and individual projects under her belt, is more recently known for founding the Johannesburg-based independent collective platform, the Centre for Historical Reenactments. The centre, in her words, is “a platform that I founded with two other collaborators who are artists, a kind of an alternative platform to think about history, and how we revisit historical material”.

“It is an intervention into the memory mandate, so that we can really think about the visual language we use to talk about the past,” she says. “It’s very experimental and we did a lot of things in Johannesburg and internationally, writing texts and making events.”

This interest in reimagining and reinterpreting history led her, more recently, to a collaborative project with a group of young artists she teaches at the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), an exhibition which opened at Goethe on Main on Thursday 3 September.

The exhibition, entitled No Other Country: The Gospel According to Chris Hani, comprises eight contemporary responses to a 1993 interview with Hani, which were created following a series of workshops in which the artists got to grips with the content.

Ngcobo, one gets the impression, is first and foremost a teacher and mentor, wanting to draw out the voices of others. “The interview itself is not surprising if we know Hani and his ideas. But it’s the idea that we now have the interview – that it’s been given to us – and we are the first ones to respond to it. The responses are interesting,” she says.

Goethe, Ngcobo explains, approached her wishing to collaborate. At the same time, the historic interview between photographer Reiner Leist – whose book Another Country was launched last year – was made publicly available for the first time. (If you are in Johannesburg you may visit Wits' historical papers archive to access it.) After conducting the interview, Leist published his famous Blue Portraits (1993), which reflected on early 1990s South Africa through images of, and conversations with, both ordinary and extraordinary South Africans. Another Country was the follow-up that sought to trace some of the people in Blue Portraits two decades on.

Ngcobo, having accessed the interview, believed it would make a valuable “teaching tool”, as she puts it. She played it to the group of young artists as a creative stimulus, followed by a biography of Marx and Lenin. After that, she distilled the material further, extracting key words. The responses which later formed the exhibition are largely in response to these. The artists were introduced to a number of guests too, who could give them some insight into the content of the interview as well as the context of the time: these included eminent artist Helen Sebidi, whose home they visited, and Simon Gush, whose exhibitions frequently centre around the theme of work.

Asked about the content of the exhibition, Ngcobo is hesitant to give too much detail. The works include the formation of an assembly line, portraits of dictators, ropes woven from workers’ uniforms, a number of pieces that explore the concept of work itself, a guerrilla radio station, and one artist’s union installation. “One created a number of membership forms, T-shirts, cups and other paraphernalia that he could sell at exorbitant prices … a comment on the capitalism that happens here?” Ngcobo says drily.

More seriously, Ngcobo describes an installation of uniforms that have been laid on the ground. “It’s quite an evocative installation,” she says. “The air that blows under the door lifts them up and they look ghostly. It evokes the worker. But it could also be Marikana…”

The featured piece is a sonic/ lecture item called ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’, which will be performed on Sunday 13 September. “It activates the exhibition after it has been opened,” says Ngcobo. ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ is the handiwork of Athi Mongezeleli Joja and Sinethemba Twalo. Joja and Twalo share Ngcobo’s interest in the exhibition and narration of history; they are both completing their Master of Arts degrees in "The Curatorial as an Artistic Practice" under Ngcobo’s leadership.

For most of the young artists, this is their first exhibition. “It’s a big deal,” says Ngcobo. “It’s also important that it’s coming alongside Johannesburg Art Week and the Art Fair.”

Asked whether she herself wanted to participate in the exhibition, Ngobo is clear that she did not. Just curating then? No, not that either. “Teaching as a curatorial intervention,” she says.

The No Other Country: The Gospel According to Chris Hani exhibition took place at GoetheonMain between 03 September 2015 and 20 September 2015.


This article was first published in The Daily Maverick on 04 September, 2015.

Neu interpretiert Der Gospel, wie Chris Hani ihn sah

Gabi Ngcobo
Gabi Ngcobo | Gabi Ngcobo © Palesa Motsomi

Bei GoetheonMain in Johannesburg hat eine neue Kunstausstellung begonnen, in der junge Künstler sich mit einem wegweisenden Interview mit dem ermordeten Anti-Apartheid-Aktivisten und Parteivorsitzenden der südafrikanischen Kommunistischen Partei Chris Hani auseinandergesetzt haben. Das Interview wurde nur ein paar Monate vor dem Attentat auf Hani am 10. April 1993 aufgenommen und ist erst vor kurzem erstmals der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht worden. Marelise van der Merwe sprach mit der Kuratorin der Ausstellung Gabi Ngcobo.
 

Die Künstlerin Gabi Ngcobo hat bereits diverse Einzel- und Gruppenarbeiten veröffentlicht, bekannt wurde sie jedoch in jüngster Zeit vor allem durch die Gründung einer unabhängigen Kollektivplattform in Johannesburg, dem Centre For Historical Reenactments („Zentrum für historische Nachstellung“). „Ich habe das Zentrum mit zwei anderen Künstlern als eine Plattform gegründet, die alternative Formen anbieten möchte, Geschichte aufzuarbeiten und historisches Material darzustellen“, so Ngcobo.

Ihr Interesse an einer Neukonzipierung und Neuinterpretation der Geschichte hat sie in jüngster Zeit zu einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit jungen Künstlern gebracht, die sie an der University Of The Witwatersrand (Wits) unterrichtet. Die Ausstellung wurde am Donnerstag, 3. September 2015 bei GoetheonMain eröffnet.

Die Ausstellung mit dem Titel No Other Country: The Gospel According To Chris Hani („Kein anderes Land: Der Gospel, wie Chris Hani ihn sah“) zeigt acht zeitgenössische Reaktionen auf ein Interview mit Hani aus dem Jahr 1993, die im Anschluss an einen Workshop entstanden sind, in dem die Künstler sich mit dem Inhalt auseinandergesetzt hatten.

Ngcobo ist offenbar vor allem eine Lehrerin und Mentorin, die anderen eine Stimme geben will. „Das Interview ist an sich nichts Überraschendes, wenn man Hani und seine Vorstellungen kennt. Es geht vielmehr darum, dass wir jetzt das Interview vorliegen haben, weil man uns es gegeben hat und wir die ersten sind, die darauf reagieren können. Und die Reaktionen sind, wie sie erklärt, „sehr interessant“.

Sie sei vom Goethe-Institut im Hinblick auf eine mögliche Zusammenarbeit angesprochen worden, erzählt Ngcobo. Zur gleichen Zeit wurde das historische Interview mit dem Fotografen Reiner Leist, dessen Buch Another Country („Ein anderes Land“) im letzten Jahr erschein, erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt (wer in Johannesburg ist, kann dies übrigens im Archiv historischer Schriftstücke an der Wits nachlesen). Nachdem er das Interview geführt hatte, veröffentlichte Leist seine berühmten Blue Portraits (1993), die anhand von Bildern von und Gesprächen mit bekannten und unbekannten Südafrikanern ein Bild des Landes in den frühen 1990er Jahren zeichnen. Another Country war gewissermaßen der Nachfolger dieses Werkes, für das Leist zwei Jahrzehnte später einige der in den Blue Portraits vorgestellten Menschen noch einmal besuchte.

Nachdem Ngcobo sich mit dem Interview befasst hatte, kam sie zu der Ansicht, dieses sei ein wertvolles „Lehrwerkzeug“. Also spielte sie es der jungen Künstlergruppe als eine Art kreative Stimulation vor, gefolgt von einer Biographie von Marx und Lenin. Im Anschluss hat sie einzelne Teile des Materials isoliert betrachtet und Schlagwörter gesammelt. Die Arbeiten, die später in der Ausstellung gezeigt werden, sind eine unmittelbare Reaktion darauf. Die Künstler hatten ebenfalls Gelegenheit, einige Zeitzeugen kennenzulernen, die ihnen mehr über die Hintergründe des Interviews und die Zeit an sich geben konnten, darunter die renommierte Künstlerin Helen Sebidi, die sie zuhause besuchten, und Simon Gush, dessen Ausstellungen sich oft mit dem gleichen Thema befassen.

Ngcobo, having accessed the interview, believed it would make a valuable “teaching tool”, as she puts it. She played it to the group of young artists as a creative stimulus, followed by a biography of Marx and Lenin. After that, she distilled the material further, extracting key words. The responses which later formed the exhibition are largely in response to these. The artists were introduced to a number of guests too, who could give them some insight into the content of the interview as well as the context of the time: these included eminent artist Helen Sebidi, whose home they visited, and Simon Gush, whose exhibitions frequently centre around the theme of work.

Befragt man Ngcobo zum Inhalt der Ausstellung, gibt sie allerdings nur zögerlich Auskunft. Gezeigt werden etwa ein Fließband, Porträts von Diktatoren, aus Arbeiteruniformen gewebte Seile sowie einige Arbeiten, die sich mit dem Thema Arbeit an sich beschäftigen, etwa ein Guerilla-Radiosender, oder eine Installation zum Thema Gewerkschaften. „Ein Teilnehmer hat sogar Mitgliedsausweise, T-Shirts, Tassen und andere Dinge entwickelt, die er teuer verkaufen konnte … vielleicht eine Reaktion auf den vorherrschenden Kapitalismus?“, kommentiert Ngcobo trocken.

Dann beschreibt sie eine vor ihr auf dem Boden liegende Installation aus Uniformen und wird wieder ernsthaft. „Das hier hat einen sehr bewegenden Hintergrund”, erklärt sie. „Die Uniformen werden von der unter der Tür hindurchblasenden Luft nach oben bewegt und erscheinen daher ganz unheimlich. Es erinnert an Arbeiter, könnte aber auch eine Anspielung auf Marikana sein … [dem Massaker, bei dem im Jahr 2012 34 streikende Minenarbeiter von der Polizei erschossen wurden, Anm. d. R.]“.

Ein wichtiges Kernstück der Ausstellung ist eine Text-Ton-Collage mit dem Titel Sunday Bloody Sunday („Sonntag, blutiger Sonntag“), die am Sonntag, den 13. September aufgeführt wird. „Mit der Arbeit wird die Ausstellung auch nach der Eröffnung noch stets im Gespräch bleiben“, so Ngcobo. Sunday Bloody Sunday ist das Werk von Athi Mongezeleli Joja und Sinethemba Twalo. Joja und Twalo teilen Ngcobos in dieser Ausstellung verfolgten Ansatz, die Geschichte zu thematisieren. Beide machen gerade unter ihrer Leitung den Master Of Arts Abschluss im Studiengang The Curatorial As An Artistic Practice („Kuratieren als künstlerische Praxis”).

Für die meisten der jungen Künstler ist es die erste Ausstellung. „Das ist für sie eine ganz große Sache“, weiß Ngcobo. „Es ist für sie auch sehr wichtig, dass das Ganze parallel zur Johannesburg Art Week und der Art Fair stattfindet.”

Auf die Frage, ob sie nicht selbst auch an der Ausstellung teilnehmen möchte, antwortet sie mit einem klaren „nein”. Sie will aber auch nicht nur als Kuratorin gesehen werden. Sondern? Ngcobo formuliert es so: „Ich unterrichte und beeinflusse damit die Programmgestaltung“.

Die Ausstellung No Other Country: The Gospel According To Chris Hani war vom 3. bis 20. September 2015 bei  GoetheonMain zu sehen.


Dieser Artikel wurde zuerst am 4. September 2015 in The Daily Maverick veröffentlicht.