Opinions and Outlook Culture, development, human rights and democracy in Africa: joining the dots

In 2000, leaders of 170 countries met at the United Nations and agreed on 8 development goals to be achieved by 2015. Given the conditions in Africa, the millennium development goals are most relevant to this continent.  

This is a shortened version of the original article. To read the full article, download the Goethe-Institut magazine, issue 2/2012 (in German) 

What is “Development”?

The 1998 UNESCO report on Culture and Development provides two views of “development”. a. development as a process of economic growth. b. development as ‘a process that enhances the effective freedom of the people involved to pursue whatever they value’. The second definition is based on the United Nations Development Programme’s (UNDP) understanding of development as “human development”. The aim of development should be human development, and with it, the realisation and practice of human rights and freedoms as contained in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted in 1948.

Economic growth as a measure of development
Traditional development wisdom is that countries need to grow their economies in order to have the means to engage in social and human development. According to the International Monetary Fund, 7 of the 10 fastest growing economies in the world from 2001-2010 were African. It is not that economic growth is not taking place in Africa, it is a case of what kind of growth and who its chief beneficiaries are.

The gap is widening

According to the African Development Bank, the countries with the largest economies in terms of Gross Domestic Product are South Africa, Egypt, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, Libya, Angola, Sudan, Tunisia and Ethiopia. In South Africa’s case, while there has been significant economic growth over the last 17 years since the advent of democracy, we have also seen a huge rise in unemployment, the gap between rich and poor has increased to one of the largest in the world. One may conclude then, that economic growth is not necessarily a precursor to social and human development.

Development and the interests it serves

Development is not necessarily driven primarily by the needs and interests of its supposed beneficiaries; it takes place in the context of a world order with huge structural wealth divides. Development then, is not a neutral activity. It is, in fact, both a political act and an act of culture. Through the development process, the values, beliefs and ideas of the intended beneficiaries, are acted upon and change; and/or these values, beliefs and ideas obstruct the development action, so that development and culture co-exist in a dynamic and creative tension. Historically, the links between culture and development have almost been always considered in terms of the culture of the supposed beneficiaries. It is equally important to turn the looking glass the other way to consider the extent to which the values, ideology, beliefs, customs, ideas and morals i.e. the culture of the west or global north and their economic and security interests, pose obstacles to real development and/or dictate, define or place pressure for certain kinds of development to take place.

Human rights and freedom for all

South Africa has held four free and fair elections since 1994 and is seen as a beacon of democracy on the African continent, yet since 1994, the gap between rich and poor has widened. Just as economic growth does not necessarily lead to development in the interests of the majority, so democracy does not necessarily lead to development, respect for human rights and changes in the lives of the majority of people. For these reasons, Arterial Network defined development as “the ongoing generation and application of resources (financial, human, infrastructural and other) to create the optimal conditions (political, cultural, social, economic and other) in which human beings may enjoy the full range of human rights and freedoms enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights”. For us, the end of development is fundamental human rights and freedoms for all, and development must then integrate social, economic, political and other strategies to create the conditions in which such freedoms and rights are enjoyed.

Culture and Development

What does all this have to do with culture? UNESCO declared 1988-1997 the World Decade for Cultural Development revealing the limitations of a development concept based primarily on quantitative and material growth. The two principal objectives of the World Decade for Cultural Development- greater emphasis on the cultural dimension in the developmental process and the stimulation of creative skills and cultural life in general – reflect an awareness of the need to respond to the major challenges which shape the horizon of the twenty-first century.

Development strategies are not transferable

Culture is hardly considered in contemporary development strategies; development tends to be imposed to meet particular ends. More recently, the cultural dimension has largely referred to the potential importance of the creative industries as economic drivers of development. The lessons of post-colonial development have not been learned i.e. that economic models and strategies that might have worked in the global north, may not work in the global south because of cultural and other factors. The arts are reduced to their economic value and their broader value to society is compromised as investments and subsidies are made primarily to those disciplines and cultural activities that yield the best economic return.

There are three broad categories of artistic practice that have relevance to the ‘cultural dimension of development’.

  • the arts practised for their own sake and as the creative means through which a society or community reflects on itself
  • the arts utilised for overt developmental purposes such as the use of theatre to spread health messages
  • the creative industries where the primary drivers are the generation of profit
In an African context, all of these are relevant and necessary. Given the conditions on our continent, the starting point should not be economic, but rather human rights and freedom. The goal of the creative industries and development should be to serve human rights and freedom, rather than have these fundamental rights subservient to global north understandings or perspectives on economic growth and/or development.

Positionen und Perspektiven Kultur, Entwicklung, Menschenrechte und Demokratie in Afrika bedingen einander

Im Jahr 2000 trafen sich die Staats- und Regierungschefs von 170 Ländern und einigten sich auf acht Entwicklungsziele, die bis zum Jahr 2015 erreicht werden sollten. Sieht man sich die Lebensbedingungen in Afrika an, so wird deutlich, dass die Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele für den Kontinent von besonderer Brisanz sind.

Dies ist eine gekürzte Version des Originaltexts. Den ganzen Artikel lesen Sie online im Magazin des Goethe-Instituts, Ausgabe 2/2012 


Was heißt »Entwicklung«?

Im UNESCO-Bericht ‚Kultur und Entwicklung‘ von 1998 finden sich zwei Definitionen von »Entwicklung«: Einerseits als Prozess wirtschaftlichen Wachstums und andererseits als »Prozess, der die Freiheit der beteiligten Menschen fördert, sich wirksam für Ziele zu engagieren, die ihnen wertvoll erscheinen.» Letztere Definition basiert auf dem Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen, in dem die menschliche Entwicklung im Vordergrund steht. Ziel der Entwicklung sollte also diese »menschliche Entwicklung « sein und mit ihr die Erkenntnis und Umsetzung der Menschenrechte und Freiheiten, wie sie in der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte von 1948 formuliert sind.

Wirtschaftswachstum als Maß für Entwicklung

In der Entwicklungspolitik herrscht die weit verbreitete Ansicht, dass ein Land seine wirtschaftliche Entwicklung vorantreiben muss, um die Mittel für eine gesellschaftliche und menschliche Entwicklung zur Verfügung zu haben. Laut Internationalem Währungsfonds lagen von 2001 bis 2010 sieben der zehn am schnellsten wachsenden Volkswirtschaften der Welt in Afrika. Es gibt in Afrika durchaus ein beachtliches Wirtschaftswachstum; allerdings muss man fragen, um was für eine Art von Wachstum es sich handelt und wer davon hauptsächlich profitiert.

Die Kluft vertieft sich

Laut Afrikanischer Entwicklungsbank sind Südafrika, Ägypten, Nigeria, Algerien, Marokko, Libyen, Angola, Sudan, Tunesien und Äthiopien – gemessen am Bruttoinlandsprodukt – die größten Volkswirtschaften in Afrika. Südafrika hat seit der Einführung der Demokratie in den letzten siebzehn Jahren zwar ein erhebliches Wirtschaftswachstum zu verzeichnen, doch gleichzeitig stieg die Arbeitslosigkeit massiv an. Die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich hat sich deutlich vertieft und gehört heute zu den am stärksten ausgeprägten der Welt. Daraus lässt sich schließen, dass Wirtschaftswachstum nicht automatisch eine positive gesellschaftliche und menschliche Entwicklung mit sich bringt.

Welchen Interessen dient Entwicklung?

Entwicklung orientiert sich nicht zwangsläufig an den Bedürfnissen und Interessen ihrer vermeintlichen Adressaten, denn sie erfolgt in einer Weltordnung mit massiven strukturellen Verwerfungen. Entwicklungsarbeit ist keine neutrale Tätigkeit. Sie ist sowohl politisch als auch kulturell wirksam. Im Prozess der Entwicklung wird auf die Werte, Ansichten und Ideen der Empfänger eingewirkt und sie verändern sich; sie können den Entwicklungsprozess fördern und behindern: Entwicklung und Kultur stehen damit in einem dynamischen und kreativen Spannungsverhältnis zueinander. Bislang wurden die Verbindungen zwischen Kultur und Entwicklung fast immer in Hinblick auf die Kultur der Empfänger betrachtet. Doch genauso sollte man in die umgekehrte Richtung blicken und überlegen, in welchem Ausmaß die Werte, Ideologien, Ansichten, Gebräuche, Ideen und Moralvorstellungen etwa der westlichen Kultur einschließlich ihrer wirtschaftlichen und sicherheitspolitischen Interessen eine wirkliche Entwicklung behindern und/oder eine bestimmte Form der Entwicklung diktieren.

Menschrechte und Freiheit für alle

In Südafrika haben seit 1994 vier freie und faire Wahlen stattgefunden. Die Republik ist damit ein leuchtendes Beispiel für Demokratie auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent, doch in diesem Zeitraum vertiefte sich die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich. So wie Wirtschaftswachstum nicht automatisch eine Entwicklung zum Wohl der Mehrheit bewirkt, so zieht Demokratie nicht zwangsläufig eine stärkere Achtung der Menschenrechte nach sich oder bewirkt positive Veränderungen im Leben der Mehrheit der Bevölkerung. Deshalb hat das Arterial Network Entwicklung neu definiert als » laufende Schöpfung und Anwendung von Ressourcen (finanzieller, menschlicher, infrastruktureller und anderer Art), um optimale Bedingungen (in politischer, kultureller, gesellschaftlicher und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht) zu schaffen, unter denen Menschen in den Genuss der ganzen Bandbreite der Menschenrechte und Freiheiten gemäß der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte kommen.«

Kultur und Entwicklung

Was hat das alles mit Kultur zu tun? Die UNESCO erklärte 1988 bis 1997 zur Weltdekade für kulturelle Entwicklung mit der Begründung, ein Entwicklungskonzept, das überwiegend auf quantitativem und materiellem Wachstum gründet, stoße an Grenzen. Die beiden grundlegenden Ziele der Weltdekade für kulturelle Entwicklung waren eine stärkere Betonung der kulturellen Dimension im Entwicklungsprozess und die Förderung kreativer Fähigkeiten und des Kulturlebens im Allgemeinen.

Modelle nicht transferierbar

Kultur wird in den aktuellen Entwicklungsstrategien kaum berücksichtigt: Normalerweise sollen sie ungeachtet der lokalen Gegebenheiten umgesetzt werden und einen bestimmten Zweck verfolgen. Der kulturelle Aspekt kommt dabei in jüngster Zeit höchstens zum Ausdruck, wenn es um den Kreativbereich als potenziellen Wirtschaftsfaktor geht. Investitionen gehen in der Folge in erster Linie an diejenigen kulturellen Aktivitäten mit der höchsten wirtschaftlichen Rendite. Drei Kategorien künstlerischen Schaffens sind für die kulturelle Dimension von Entwicklung relevant:

  • Kunst um ihrer selbst willen und als Anregung, über sich selbst zu reflektieren.
  • Kunst, die offen für Entwicklungszwecke eingesetzt wird – wie etwa Theaterstücke zur gesundheitlichen Aufklärung.
  • Die Produkte der Kreativindustrie, deren Hauptantrieb die wirtschaftliche Wertschöpfung ist.
Im afrikanischen Kontext sind alle drei Formen relevant und notwendig. Angesichts der Bedingungen auf unserem Kontinent sollten Entwicklungsstrategien bei Demokratie und Menschenrechten sowie bei der Bekämpfung von Armut und Ungleichheit ansetzen. Das Ziel von Kreativwirtschaft und Entwicklung sollte es sein, den Menschenrechten und der Freiheit zu dienen, anstatt zuzulassen, dass diese grundlegenden Rechte der Vorstellung der Industrieländer von Wirtschaftswachstum und Entwicklung unterworfen werden.