When the Street met the Stage South Africa's New Dance Styles

Perfect Storm Pantsula
Perfect Storm Pantsula | Photo: © John Hogg

Nondumiso Msimanga reports on the new Street Beat Platform.

It seems the youth of the country are steering us into a new cultural revolution. The New School in dance is in hip hop (as in music), pantsula and iSbhujwa. iSbhujwa was cultivated in the democratic era with the development of new kwaito dances that celebrate the ability of being “young, gifted and black”, to use the famous jazz phrase.

But Street Dance is no longer only for black youth or the “street”. It is a style in collaboration with the latest of hip hop and pantsula that brings stories of what it means to be South African today.

At the Dance Umbrella’s inaugural Street Beat festival, the Wits Theatre was packed with young and old, ranging from six to 60.

It was a hesitant start, though. There were forgotten words and moves. As the dancers struggled to thrill the audience – who applauded timidly at the end of the first two pieces – it seemed that Street Beat might have been a failed experiment.

Street Beat is the brainchild of Matthews “Oupa” Manamela, a dancer turned co-ordinator. It is a forum that replaces the Stepping Stones segment of Dance Umbrella. Where Stepping Stones was a free-for-all platform for all types of community dance groups to test their pieces in front of an audience, Street Beat is specifically conceived to bring about bringing these street dance forms onto the stage for the paying theatre audience.

“One of my objectives was to create pieces that can be performed for theatre,” Manamela says passionately, his faith in the potential of this venture unshaken. He was prepared for some false starts, knowing that “with some (groups) it will be difficult to shift into the theatre”.

Sibusiso Douglas, a dancer with Vilacosta, articulates the same sentiment regarding bridging the gap between thestreets to the stage. He says: “Asikhonanga ukusebenzisa i-prop e-stage”, meaning that they did not get a chance to rehearse with the props on the stage.

From Struggle to Success was the second pantsula piece of the day, following an untitled performance by Soweto Junxion. The applause at the end of the pantsula dances was rivalled only by the cacophony of sounds during the performances.

Men whistled, women ululated, girls shouted “Ayi ayi ayi” and children jumped about on the floor, wanting to join in. It was a picture of South Africa expressing its joy. A member of the audience, Raffi Gabeyan, had a wide smile when he said “the creativity of the choreography… they are using props that we are used to everyday and it is very South African.” Gestures of reading newspapers and shaking heads, looking at the time and waiting for taxis, begging and sweeping, hands on breaking backs as the wheels of time turning were made visible to the rhythm of crates spinning on whitegloved fingers.

After the interval, Manamela’s idea truly danced. The hip hop dance by Mpho Ramogase and Siyabonga Ndaba and iSbujwa choreography of Mpho Ramarou took the best elements of Street Dance’s technical prowess and sheer entertainment value to a new height with their quirky integration of theatrical storytelling.

Manamela was particularly proud of the two groups’ growth during the process of mentorship that challenged their usual two-minute routine in the creation of 10-minute works. “You went through a journey of an interesting hip hop piece,” he says, adding: “iSbhujwa had everything you want in Afrofusion dance!”

Not only was it “a great experience”, as many dancers said, but Ramogase says this could be the turning point the country’s youth have been waiting for.

“We depend on competitions to make money so this is a stepping stone to a career.”

This article was first published in The Sunday Independent, March 8, 2015.
 

Information on the Dance Writers Workshop:
Young arts writers find it increasingly difficult to find a foothold in the mainstream press. This is even more so the case when it comes to dance and performance – an area of the arts often deemed difficult to access via words.
For this reason, the Goethe-Institut, in collaboration with the Dance Forum, for the third time hosts the Dance Writing Workshop running parallel to the Dance Umbrella Festival. The aim is to nurture, discover and support new writing talent in this field, but also to get established journalists to engage with contemporary dance. Mary Corrigall facilitated the workshop.
This year’s participants shared ideas about the role of gender in contemporary choreography, a timely topic to tie in with current debates, but also with the platform for female choreographers that is part of Dance Umbrella 2015.

Straße trifft Bühne Neue Tanzstile aus Südafrika

Perfect Storm Pantsula
Perfect Storm Pantsula | Foto: © John Hogg

Nondumiso Msimanga über die neue Plattform „Street Beat“

Die Jugend unseres Landes beschert uns offensichtlich eine neue kulturelle Revolution. Die Tänze der neuen Schule heißen Hip Hop (wie die Musik), Pantsula und iSbhujwa. iSbhujwa ist in der demokratischen Ära entstanden, man wollte neue Formen des Kwaito Tanzes erfinden, die eine Hommage an die Eigenschaften „jung, talentiert und schwarz” sein sollten, mit der man früher die Jazz-Szene beschrieb.

Der Street Dance gehört aber nicht mehr nur den Schwarzen und auch nicht mehr nur auf die Straße. Er ist vielmehr ein Stil, der die neusten Trends in Sachen Hip Hop und Pantsula mit aufnimmt und gleichzeitig ein Spiegel der südafrikanischen Identität.

Beim Eröffnungskonzert des Dance Umbrella Street Beat Festivals drängten sich im Wits Theatre Menschen von sechs bis sechzig Jahren in den Zuschauerraum.

Am Anfang lief alles noch recht unbeholfen. Mal wurde ein Text vergessen, mal eine Bewegung. Die Tänzer gaben alles, um das Publikum zu begeistern, das nach den ersten zwei Stücken jedoch nur recht zögerlich applaudierte. Es schien bereits, als ob das Projekt Street Beat nicht aufgegangen war.

Konzipiert hat Street Beat der ehemalige Tänzer und inzwischen als Organisator tätige Matthews „Oupa” Manamela. Das Forum ersetzt den Bereich Stepping Stones innerhalb des Festivals Dance Umbrella. Während die Plattform Stepping Stones allen Tanzensembles frei zugänglich war, um ihre Stücke vor Publikum auszuprobieren, will Street Beat verschiedene Formen des Street Dance vor einem zahlenden Theaterpublikum auf die Bühne bringen.

„Ich wollte unter anderem Stücke konzipieren, die im Theater aufgeführt werden können”, erzählt Manamela begeistert, der immer noch fest an sein Projekt glaubt. Mit einigen Fehlstarts hatte er dabei schon gerechnet, denn, so Manamela, „einige Gruppen sind für die Theaterbühne nur bedingt geeignet.“

Sibusiso Douglas, Tänzer bei Vilacosta, sieht die Schwierigkeiten bei der Verbindung von Street und Bühne genauso. „Asikhonanga ukusebenzisa i-prop e-stage”, erklärt er und meint damit, dass die Tänzer keine Chance hatten, die Arbeit mit den Theaterrequisiten vorher einzuüben.

Nach einer unbetitelten Aufführung von Soweto Junxion folgte als zweite Pantsula Aufführung des Tages das Stück Struggle To Success. Der Applaus, der nach dieser Darbietung auf die Akteure hereinprasselte, war fast so donnernd wie das während der Performance hörbare Soundgewitter.

Männer pfiffen, Frauen heulten, Mädchen riefen „Ayi ayi ayi”, Kinder sprangen auf dem Boden herum und wollten am liebsten mitmachen: Ein Sinnbild der Lebensfreude in Südafrika. Mit einem breiten Grinsen im Gesicht beschreibt Zuschauer Raffi Gabeyan die originelle Choreografie: „Sie benutzen Requisiten aus dem ganz normalen Alltagsleben. Das ist typisch für Südafrika.“ Gesten wie Zeitunglesen oder Kopfschütteln, auf die Uhr schauen und auf Taxis warten, Betteln und Kehren, von harter Arbeit müde Menschen – das alles zu den sichtbar werdenden Rädern der Zeit und den Rhythmen von Getränkekisten, die sich auf weißbehandschuhten Händen drehen.

Nach der Pause ging Manamelas Konzept dann voll auf. Der Hip Hop Tanz von Mpho Ramogase und Siyabonga Ndaba und die iSbujwa Choreografie von Mpho Ramarou setzten mit einem Mix aus der technischen Raffinesse des Street Dance und sehr originell eingearbeiteten Erzählstrukturen aus dem Theater neue Maßstäbe in Sachen Unterhaltung.

Besonders stolz war Manamela darauf, wie sich die beiden Gruppen beim Mentoring-Programm weiterentwickelt hatten und auf einmal nicht mehr nur zwei-, sondern zehnminütige Choreografien konzipierten. „Dieses spannende Hip-Hop-Stück hat die Zuschauer mit auf eine Reise genommen“, erklärt er, „iSbhujwa hat alles geboten, was man von Afrofusion Dance erwartet!”

Der Auftritt war nicht nur, wie viele Tänzer bestätigten, „eine tolle Erfahrung”, sondern laut Ramogase sogar der Wendepunkt, auf den die Jugendlichen des Landes lange gewartet haben.

„Wir brauchen den Wettbewerb, um Geld zu verdienen, also ist dies ein wichtiger Karriereschritt“.

Erstveröffentlichung in The Sunday Independent, 8.3.2015
 

Informationen über den Dance Writers Workshop:
Junge Autoren, die sich mit der Kunstszene beschäftigen, haben es immer schwerer, ihre Texte in den etablierten Medien zu platzieren. Besonders schwierig ist es in den Bereichen Tanz und Performancekunst, da sich hier das Dargestellte oftmals nur schwer in Worte fassen lässt.

Darum veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit dem Dance Forum bereits zum dritten Mal parallel zum Dance Umbrella Festival den Dance Writing Workshop. Die Veranstaltung möchte nicht nur neue Schreibtalente in diesem Bereich aufspüren, unterstützen und aufbauen, sondern gleichzeitig etablierte Journalisten für den Bereich Contemporary Dance interessieren. Geleitet wird der Workshop von Mary Corrigall.

Die diesjährigen Workshop-Teilnehmer diskutierten etwa die Rolle von Mann und Frau in zeitgenössischer Choreografie – ein Thema, über das derzeit viel debattiert wird und das ebenfalls einen Bezug zur Plattform für Choreografinnen aufweist, die Teil des Dance Umbrella Festivals 2015 war.