Rite Disrupting cycles of violence

Rite / Jay Pather
Rite / Jay Pather | Photo: © John Hogg

Jay Pather’s rite exploited rituals to articulate the contemporary moment, writes Same Mdluli.

Violence in South Africa has become such an intricate part of our lives that at times it appears alluring. Although this is not the main focus of Jay Pather’s piece rite, it is a an underlying theme and provides the means for the Cape Town-based choreographer to merge a traditional classic work with a contemporary edge, narrating the uneasy seductiveness of violence. Through Russian composer Igor Stranvisky’s Le Sacre du Printemps, a ballet and orchestral concert work, Pather creates a seamless dialogue between classical music, contemporary African dance and song, imagery and installations, all of which come together into a dramatic journey through episodic rituals.

Performed by the Siwela Sonke Dance Theatre, rite is a selection of the original fourteen-piece work with a cast of seventeen dancers. The opening scene is a rich display of visual references. It starts with a conversation between what are presumably lovers, physically debating a crossroad in their relationship. Next to them is a half dressed male figure standing on a table, strapped with string all around his body and a young chicken tied to one piece of string by its foot. The figure has an apple and a lit candle in his mouth and as the heat of the flame gets closer to his mouth the dialogue between the couple intensifies, drifting somewhat into a dream-like shamanic realm of a ritualistic dance, video projection and music. It ends with a violent act, a characteristic that is a motif in each scene that follows.

The audience is then led to the next scene, which starts to integrate them into the piece through interaction and confrontation. Here violence is enacted through the use of metaphors like raw cabbage, red chilli, red high heels and deodorant spray. This is carried through to the following scene, which takes this interaction further by presenting questions to the audience but also actively facilitating a conversation between the performers and their viewers. It is in these moments that the work probes larger inquiries around beliefs, memory/remembering and other philosophical themes that permeate in what is an intricate glance at the contemporary South African moment.

Besides the use of interdisciplinary modes, one of the work’s strengths is the use of space. The choice of space, Pather explains, is because “the piece is also about deconstruction”. The narration of the story is articulated via different forms from light, costumes and sound. The industrial rawness of the Museum of African Design (MOAD) was not only a strategic choice given the site specificity of the work, but it also enhanced the overall staging of the work through the use of architectural structures inside the building. The strength of the work also relied on the performance of the dancers, all whom gave an impressive interpretation of the nuances of contemporary South African life. Although it ends with somewhat of anti climax, in that there is sense of disappointment of not actually seeing the maiden finally sacrificed, there is also something revealing in this about our own desires and attraction to violence. It therefore seemed appropriate for the piece to conclude without any kind of resolution but rather with a sense of empathy and embracing of humanness.

Pather’s re-imagining of Stranvisky’s work is not only stimulating but it also shows why he is one of the stewards of contemporary dance in South Africa at the moment. While the piece draws from a particular historical reference, which may not necessarily be familiar to most South African audiences, the sensitivity and attentive detail paid to the subject matter, makes it one of the most thought-provoking pieces to show at this year’s festival.
 

Information on the Dance Writers Workshop:
Young arts writers find it increasingly difficult to find a foothold in the mainstream press. This is even more so the case when it comes to dance and performance – an area of the arts often deemed difficult to access via words.

For this reason, the Goethe-Institut, in collaboration with the Dance Forum, for the third time hosts the Dance Writing Workshop running parallel to the Dance Umbrella Festival. The aim is to nurture, discover and support new writing talent in this field, but also to get established journalists to engage with contemporary dance. Mary Corrigall facilitated the workshop.

This year’s participants shared ideas about the role of gender in contemporary choreography, a timely topic to tie in with current debates, but also with the platform for female choreographers that is part of Dance Umbrella 2015.

Rite Die Gewaltspiralen durchbrechen

Rite / Jay Pather
Rite / Jay Pather | Foto: © John Hogg

Das Stück „Rite” von Jay Pather beschäftigt sich mit Ritualen, um die gegenwärtige Situation zu beschreiben, schreibt Same Mdluli.

Gewalt in Südafrika ist ein derartig schwieriges Thema in unserem Leben geworden, dass die Gemüter sich dabei oft aufheizen. Obwohl es nicht der Hauptaspekt in Jay Pathers Stück ist, so schwingt das Thema in „Rite“ oft mit und erlaubt es dem in Kapstadt ansässigen Choreografen, aus einer traditionellen klassischen Arbeit ein Werk mit zeitgenössischem Anspruch zu machen und die bedrohliche Attraktivität des Themas Gewalt zu thematisieren. Auf der Grundlage der Ballettkomposition Le Sacre Du Printemps des russischen Komponisten Igor Stravinsky kreiert Pather einen nahtlosen Dialog aus Klassik sowie zeitgenössischem afrikanischem Tanz und Musik, Bildsprache und Installationen, die in eine dramatische Reise durch episodenhafte Rituale eingebettet sind.

Aufgeführt wird Rite vom Siwela Sonke Dance Theatre mit einem 17-köpfigen Ensemble anhand einer Auswahl aus den 14 Originalstücken. Die Eröffnungsszene weist eine opulente Bildsprache auf. Wir hören eine Unterhaltung zwischen zwei Menschen (offenbar ein Paar), die mit viel Körpereinsatz einen Wendepunkt in ihrem Leben diskutieren. Neben den beiden sieht man einen halb angezogenen Mann auf einem Tisch stehen. Sein gesamter Körper ist mit Schnüren umwickelt, am Ende des Bandes an seinem Fuß ist ein junges Huhn festgebunden. Der Mann hat einen Apfel und eine brennende Kerze im Mund, und während die Hitze der Flamme seinem Mund immer nähert kommt, wird auch der Dialog des Paares lautstarker und gleitet in eine traumähnliche schamanische Szenerie aus rituellem Tanz, Videoprojektion und Musik ab. Am Ende erleben wir einen gewalttätigen Akt, der auch in den folgenden Szenen immer wieder als Motiv auftaucht.

In der zweiten Szene wird das Publikum mit Hilfe von Interaktion und Konfrontation noch mehr in das Stück integriert. Das Thema Gewalt taucht hier durch Metaphern wie roher Kohl, roter Chili, rote High Heels oder Deodorantspray immer wieder auf. Dies zieht sich bis in die nächste Szene, die die Interaktion mit Hilfe von Fragen an das Publikum bzw. einem echten Dialog zwischen Darstellern und Zuschauern noch erhöht. Mit solchen Momenten erörtert das Stück Fragen rund um Glauben, Gedächtniskultur und andere philosophische Themen und wirft einen vielschichtigen Blick auf Südafrika im Hier und Jetzt.

Obwohl das Stück interdisziplinäre Mittel einsetzt, ist eine seiner klaren Stärken die Nutzung des Raumes. Laut Pather liegt dies daran, „dass es hier auch um Dekonstruktion geht.“ Die Geschichte wird durch verschiedene Formen von Licht, Kostüm und Ton erzählt. Die kühle Industriekulisse des Museum Of African Design (MOAD) wurde dabei nicht nur bewusst gewählt, um das Raumgefühl des Stücks widerzuspiegeln, sondern konnte die Intention noch verstärken, indem man die architektonischen Besonderheiten des Raumes mit in die Inszenierung einfließen ließ. Auch die Leistung der Tänzer, die es schafften, diverse Aspekte des Lebens in Südafrika eindrucksvoll zu interpretieren, war herausragend. Obwohl das Stück mit einer Art Anti-Klimax endet – manch einer mochte enttäuscht gewesen sein, dass die am Ende geopferte Jungfrau selbst nicht zu sehen war – verrät genau dieser Umstand etwas über unsere eigenen Sehnsüchte und Hinwendung zur Gewalt. So erschien es angemessen, dass es am Ende keine Auflösung gab und stattdessen nur Empathie und Akzeptanz des Menschlichen im Raum standen.

Pathers Neuinterpretation von Stravinskys Arbeit ist nicht nur spannend, sie zeigt auch, warum der Choreograf derzeit für die Contemporary Szene in Südafrika so wichtig ist. Sein Stück bezieht sich auf einen bestimmten historischen Kontext, der vielen Zuschauern in Südafrika vielleicht gar nicht bewusst ist. Sein Einfühlungsvermögen und seine detailgenaue Kenntnis des Themas machen das Werk zu einem der am meisten nachdenklich machenden Programmpunkte des diesjährigen Festivals.
 

Informationen über den Dance Writers Workshop:
Junge Autoren, die sich mit der Kunstszene beschäftigen, haben es immer schwerer, ihre Texte in den etablierten Medien zu platzieren. Besonders schwierig ist es in den Bereichen Tanz und Performancekunst, da sich hier das Dargestellte oftmals nur schwer in Worte fassen lässt.

Darum veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit dem Dance Forum bereits zum dritten Mal parallel zum Dance Umbrella Festival den Dance Writing Workshop. Die Veranstaltung möchte nicht nur neue Schreibtalente in diesem Bereich aufspüren, unterstützen und aufbauen, sondern gleichzeitig etablierte Journalisten für den Bereich Contemporary Dance interessieren. Gefördert wird der Workshop von Mary Corrigall.

Die diesjährigen Workshop-Teilnehmer diskutierten etwa die Rolle von Mann und Frau in der Contemporary Choreografie – ein Thema, über das derzeit viel debattiert wird und das ebenfalls einen Bezug zur Plattform für Choreografinnen aufweist, der Teil des Dance Umbrella Festivals 2015 war.