African Futures Just don’t be so white!

AF: Sei nicht so weiß
African futures Festival © Goethe-Institut/Lerato Maduna

It is a survival strategy for many artists with African roots to revolt against traditional thought patterns and stereotype thinking. In this respect, Europe still has a lot to learn.

It’s a sunny afternoon in Southwest Soweto. Albert Ibokwe Khoza is standing right in front of me – naked. Naked and, as it seems, very angry. Just one moment ago he has burnt some dried leaves and tossed them through the impromptu performance space. Now he is staring at me and the other spectators in the front row with sparkling eyes. He is planting himself in front of us stamping his big feet. Albert is a Sangoma, a traditional healer. “Perhaps he is performing some kind of ritual”, I think to myself. But then he is grasping his hair, a long queue of 1,50 meters,whipping it onto the floor. He’s just annoyed, he says, adding that he always been given funny looks ever since he had been trained as a dancer. Then he starts to laugh and performs a few tendus.

The western festival scene is already taking notice of Albert. And I’m beginning to sense that he will be extremely successful in Europe. After all, he destroys the exotic notion we are all secretely craving. Besides, his agent lives in Berlin. However, Albert will be moving within a strictly carved out territory of a Eurocentric arts scene. He will be talking about identity und his struggle for acceptance. He will be singing, stomping his feet and charming everyone. But still I assume he will only partly succeed in illustrating the hard work behind dealing with one’s identity.

Radical exchange

For artists of African heritage, it is an everyday business to position themselves. They can only dream of differing images of Africa with ignorance prevailing in the Western world. Over here, it is still not understood that people are in fact able to switch from Yoruba and Xhosa traditions commuting between the urban chaos of cities like Lagos, London or Johannesburg. People are moving more or less smoothly between countries, cultures and continents, but still they have one thing in common: They are constantly confronted with Western stereotype regarding Africa on the one hand and social conventions on the continent on the other.

The morning before Albert’s performance artist Thenjiwe Niki Nkosi takes to the stage of the Goethe-Insititut. This year’s festival theme deals with the future of Africa, and she introduces her women’s collective. So, why has she joined hands with other black artists? “Because we purely need one another”, she says. “On our own, we would probably not succeed in an art’s world dominated by white patriarchal structures. However, as a group, we have a chance to be seen.” Slowly Thenjiwe and her colleagues are conquering South African cultural spaces calling themselves “multipliers” to emphasize the added value of their work, namely their joint efforts to reject traditional lines of thought. “To us, this is more than a rhetoric matter”, she says. “We have to overcome prevailing structures in order to be able to work”. Dealing with one’s own stereotypes is merely a strategy to survive. That’s why we’re setting up a number of projects such as a pop-up bookstore in which stories about race, class und gender are told by human beings, not by books.

Her pop-up gallery based in Soweto also aims to get close to people. It’s not by chance that Albert is shaking his big belly right in front of my nose this afternoon. Those few art spaces in Soweto reach out for tourists and white people based in Johannesburg in order to confront them with a reality they know so little about. “It’s really hard to get people from Johannesburg to come and see the shows“, says curator Zanele Matsumi. "They are still afraid of entering the townships“. It is Matsumis firm belief that such fears of contacts can and must be overcome by a radical confrontation. Otherwise, she says, the tension that still dominates her town will never be resolved.

Talking of mutual reservations: Europe is in need of new ways of dealing with Africa’s diverse societies too. A number of cultural institutions are beginning to recognize this need. So far the relation between African artists and Europe was based on financial dependence. But artists are beginning to have a determining influence on their collaborations, and Western institutions are listening. This is a chance of drawing attention form black and white, African and European perspectives to the daily life of people like Albert. In Johannesburg, a place where artists remain confronted with taboos and violations of the past, at least the Goethe-Institut is moving away from a dimensional viewpoint. Over here, Albert does not have to explain why he considers himself cosmopolitan - the city’s guests would certainly call themselves cosmopolitans too.

Thenjiwe Nkosi and I are standing in front of a cinema in the city’s fancy district Maboneng. We have just watched a science fiction movie about two man-eating female dissidents from Cameroon. We are talking about Audre Lorde and about how heavily the idea of black feminism has influenced both of us, amazed to find out just how much two black women, one from Europe and one from Africa, have in common. Suddenly, the film’s director is coming towards us. He has heard me saying that my father is actually from his neighboring country. "Oh, that’s nice, you are from Guinea!“, he shouts excitedly. “No, you got me wrong”, I answer instinctively, obviously a result of me having lived in Europe for 40 years. “I am German“. He’s looking at me with pity and places his hand on my shoulder. "Oh, come on girl“, he says with a fatherly tone in his voice, „just don’t be so white”.

I am so annoyed that it takes me a beer to regain my smile. I’m laughing about the fact that you can never be sure who is labelling you and how. About the absurdity of the fact that I’ve been trying for ages to convince my German home of my belonging, even though my idea of origin exceeds a nationality stamped on your passport. And I also laugh about the fact that I find it highly disturbing that a guy from Cameroon is trying to explain my own identity to me. Thenjiwe and I are looking at each other. Her mother is from Greece, mine from Hamburg. For the tourists passing by we’re all Africans anyway.

African Futures Nun sei mal nicht so weiß!

AF: Sei nicht so weiß
African futures Festival © Goethe-Institut/Lerato Maduna

Das Aufbegehren gegen alte Denkmuster und Klischees ist für viele afrikanischstämmige Künstler eine Überlebensstrategie. Auch Europa muss hier noch viel lernen.

Ein sonniger Nachmittag im Südwesten von Soweto. Albert Ibokwe Khoza steht sehr dicht vor mir, und er ist nackt. Nackt und offensichtlich wütend. Eben noch hat er ein paar getrocknete Blätter abgebrannt und sie durch den improvisierten Performance-Raum geschwenkt. Jetzt starrt er mich und die anderen Zuschauer in der ersten Reihe mit funkelnden Augen an. Er baut sich vor uns auf und stampft laut mit seinen großen Füßen. Albert ist traditioneller Heiler, ein Sangoma, vielleicht also was Rituelles, denke ich. Doch dann nimmt er seinen 1,50 Meter langen Zopf in die Hand und peitscht ihn über den Beton. Er sei einfach nur genervt, sagt er. Schon während der Tanzausbildung hätte man ihn immer so komisch angesehen. Dann lacht er und macht ein paar Tendus.

Die westliche Festivalwelt interessiert sich bereits für ihn. Und ich ahne, wie erfolgreich er in Europa sein wird. Schließlich bricht er die Exotik, nach der wir hier heimlich lechzen, gar so hübsch, außerdem lebt sein Agent in Berlin. Doch dort wird Albert sich im streng abgesteckten Rahmen einer eurozentrischen Kunstwelt bewegen. Er wird von Identität und seinem Kampf um Akzeptanz sprechen. Er wird singen, stampfen und alle bezaubern. Und vermutlich wird er doch nur in Ansätzen vermitteln können, was für ein mühsames Geschäft der Umgang mit der eigenen Identität ist.

Radikaler Austausch

Persönliche Verortung gehört zum Alltagsgeschäft vieler afrikanischstämmiger Künstler. Von differenzierten Afrika-Bildern können sie höchstens träumen, die Ignoranz ist noch immer groß im Westen. Noch immer ist hier nicht wirklich angekommen, dass Menschen zwischen Yoruba- oder Xhosa-Traditionen und dem urbanen Chaos von Städten wie Lagos, London oder Johannesburg pendeln können. Menschen, die sich mehr oder weniger geschmeidig zwischen Ländern, Kulturen und Kontinenten bewegen und dabei doch eines gemein haben: sich im Westen an Afrika-Klischees und auf dem Kontinent an gesellschaftlichen Konventionen abzuarbeiten.

Am Morgen vor Alberts Performance steht die Künstlerin Thenjiwe Niki Nkosi auf der Bühne des Goethe-Instituts. Das aktuelle Festivalthema ist Afrikas Zukunft, und sie erzählt von ihrem Frauenkollektiv. Warum sie sich mit anderen schwarzen Künstlerinnen zusammengetan hat? "Weil wir einander schlicht  brauchen", sagt sie. "Allein hätten wir im weißen patriarchalen Kunstumfeld unseres Landes wenig Chancen. So werden wir wenigstens mal wahrgenommen." Ganz langsam erkämpfen sie und die Kolleginnen sich ihren Platz an einschlägigen Kulturorten in Südafrika. Sie nennen sich "Multiplier", um den Mehrwert ihrer Arbeit zu unterstreichen. Das gemeinsame Aufbegehren gegen Vereinnahmungen durch traditionelle Denkmuster. "Für uns ist das nicht einfach nur Rhetorik", sagt Nkosi. "Wir müssen die alten Strukturen aufbrechen, wenn wir arbeiten wollen." Die Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Stereotypisierung ist Überlebensstrategie. Unter anderem mit Projekten wie einer mobilen Buchhandlung, wo Geschichten über race, class und gender nicht in Büchern stehen, sondern von Menschen erzählt werden.

Auch ihre Pop-up-Galerie in Soweto setzt auf Nähe. Albert lässt seinen dicken Bauch dort an diesem Nachmittag nicht zufällig vor meiner Nase kreisen. Gerade Touristen und weiße Johannesburger sollen in den wenigen Kunsträumen von Soweto mit der für sie fremden Realität konfrontiert werden. "Vor allem Letztere müssen wir regelrecht herlocken", sagt die Kuratorin Zanele Matsumi. "Sie trauen sich immer noch nicht selbstverständlich in die Townships." Matsumi glaubt, dass Berührungsängste sich durch radikalen Austausch abbauen können, nein sogar müssen. Denn sonst ändere sich nichts an den noch immer großen Spannungen in ihrer Stadt.

Überhaupt, die Sache mit den Berührungsängsten. Auch in Europa bräuchte es neue Formen im Umgang mit den diversen Gesellschaften Afrikas. Und zumindest bei ein paar Kulturinstitutionen kommt das langsam an. Bislang dominierten finanzielle Abhängigkeiten das Verhältnis zwischen afrikanischen Künstlern und Europa. Mittlerweile bestimmen die Künstler die Zusammenarbeit immer stärker mit, und westliche Institutionen hören zu. Darin steckt eine Chance: dafür, den Blick aus weißer und schwarzer, afrikanischer und europäischer Perspektive auf den Alltag von Menschen wie Albert zu lenken. In Johannesburg, wo Künstler mit den noch immer so präsenten Tabus und Verletzungen der Vergangenheit konfrontiert sind, denkt man zumindest auch am Goethe-Institut nicht mehr eindimensional. Hier muss Albert niemandem erklären, warum er sich längst als Weltbürger sieht. Die anderen Gäste tun es ja auch.

Thenjiwe Nkosi und ich stehen vor einem Kino im schicken Stadtteil Maboneng. Der Science-Fiction-Film über zwei männermordende Dissidentinnen aus Kamerun ist gerade zu Ende. Wir sprechen über Audre Lorde und darüber, wie sehr die Idee des black feminism uns beide geprägt hat. Staunen darüber, was zwei schwarze Frauen aus Europa und Afrika alles verbindet. Plötzlich tritt der Regisseur des Films dazu. Er hat gehört, dass mein Vater aus seinem Nachbarland stammt. "Oh, wie schön, eine Guineanerin", ruft er begeistert. "Nein, Missverständnis", sage ich reflexartig und nach vierzig Jahren in Europa. "Ich bin deutsch." Mitleidig sieht er mich an, dann legt er seine Hand auf meine Schulter. "Ach Mädchen, komm", sagt er väterlich. "Nun sei mal nicht so weiß."

Ich bin so genervt, dass ich erst ein Bier später wieder lachen kann. Darüber, dass man sich eben nie ganz sicher sein kann, wer einen in welche Schublade steckt. Über die Absurdität, dass ich seit jeher versuche, meine deutsche Heimat von meiner Zugehörigkeit zu überzeugen, obwohl mein Verständnis von Herkunft über das bisschen Ausweis-Nationalität hinausgeht. Und dass ich nun Schnappatmung bekomme, weil ein Kameruner mir meine Identität erklärt. Thenjiwe und ich sehen uns an. Ihre Mutter kommt aus Griechenland, meine aus Hamburg. Für die vorbeilaufenden Touristen sind wir eh alle Afrikaner.