Fantastic exhibition A multiverse of experiences

Fantastic Header
Fantastic © Goethe-Institut/Palesa Motsomi

Around the time of the collapse of TB Joshua’s hostel in Lagos, an event in which a supposed life restorer cheaply turned the death of more than 80 people into a conspiracy, I mulled over a phrase uttered to me by Asonzeh Ukah.

Ukah, a University of Cape Town-based historian of religion, surmised that even though Joshua could not heal the Ebola-stricken in Liberia, the man was unmistakably a manufacturer of miracles — “miracles as commodity”.

Ukah’s turn of phrase again visited me as I took in the stridency of Andrew Esiebo’s photographs at the Fantastic exhibition.

Fantastic, showing at the Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg, draws on literary references to carve “a language of subversion that de-legitimises historical narratives that flatten the depth of the lived experience”, as curators Nkule Mabaso and Nomusa Makhubu write in their statement.

The show collates the previously exhibited work of Esiebo, Aida Muluneh, Jelili Atiku, Dineo Bopape, Kudzanai Chiurai, Milumbe Haimbe, Terence Nance, Tracey Rose, Zina Saro-Wiwa and Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum into a show with a forceful grasp of its curatorial premise.

The exhibition draws primarily on photographs and video, although there are mixed-media works and a graphic novel.

In one of the photographs, Esiebo depicts a Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries scene in which a mass of worshippers are in various stages of prostration, either in voluntary supplication or having been felled by the hand of an omnipotent man of God. Who will know? Esiebo’s sense of spectacle and his framing posit him both as a dispassionate observer and a fervent objector.

His photographs, three of which are featured in Fantastic, are entitled God Is Alive, yet the pictures depict something akin to a valley of death.

Around the time of the collapse of TB Joshua’s hostel in Lagos, an event in which a supposed life restorer cheaply turned the death of more than 80 people into a conspiracy, I mulled over a phrase uttered to me by Asonzeh Ukah.

Ukah, a University of Cape Town-based historian of religion, surmised that even though Joshua could not heal the Ebola-stricken in Liberia, the man was unmistakably a manufacturer of miracles — “miracles as commodity”.

Ukah’s turn of phrase again visited me as I took in the stridency of Andrew Esiebo’s photographs at the Fantastic exhibition.

Fantastic, showing at the Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg, draws on literary references to carve “a language of subversion that de-legitimises historical narratives that flatten the depth of the lived experience”, as curators Nkule Mabaso and Nomusa Makhubu write in their statement.

The show collates the previously exhibited work of Esiebo, Aida Muluneh, Jelili Atiku, Dineo Bopape, Kudzanai Chiurai, Milumbe Haimbe, Terence Nance, Tracey Rose, Zina Saro-Wiwa and Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum into a show with a forceful grasp of its curatorial premise.

The exhibition draws primarily on photographs and video, although there are mixed-media works and a graphic novel.

In one of the photographs, Esiebo depicts a Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries scene in which a mass of worshippers are in various stages of prostration, either in voluntary supplication or having been felled by the hand of an omnipotent man of God. Who will know? Esiebo’s sense of spectacle and his framing posit him both as a dispassionate observer and a fervent objector.

His photographs, three of which are featured in Fantastic, are entitled God Is Alive, yet the pictures depict something akin to a valley of death.

Having suspended two skeletons from a tree, he performs something resembling a self-strangulation when he seemingly tries to pull himself up to join them. Atiku’s anguished growls can be read as the frustration of being unable to complete this calvarian crucifixion.

Saro-Wiwa’s work, represented by a trilogy of photographs (Phyllis: I Am Not Alone, Phyllis Phyllis and Phyllis Street Hawker) and a video entitled The Deliverance of Comfort, strikes a tone that is less grave, deriving its currency from the layering of symbols that hold contested meaning.
Portia Malatjie, Nomusa Makhubu & Nkule Mabaso Portia Malatjie, Nomusa Makhubu & Nkule Mabaso © Goethe-Institut/Palesa Motsomi
There is something quite evocative in that Comfort, the trickster “child-witch” who must be exorcised, is a girl child, restrained and sanitised by four male zealots. Comfort inhabits a post-colonial cultural milieu so tinctured with reconstituted myths that her exorcism is an Armageddon of mythologies.

Fantastic, from Chuirai’s Creation to Haimbe’s Ananuya — The Revolutionist, highlights the role of women as keepers of counterhegemonic secrets. By gathering these and other works into a cohesive whole, the curators force us to consider “contemporary complexity” in fulfilling ways.

Although the exhibition would breathe better had it been given the showroom space it deserves, Mabaso and Makhubu insist that the limits of space force interesting parallels, allowing the schematic and thematic vision to stand out.

The themes of religion and gender in relation to global capital seem more prominent in this particular iteration, says Makhubu.

Saro-Wiwa’s The Deliverance of Comfort next to Esiebo’s God Is Alive. Saro-Wiwa’s wig-peddling Phyllis sitting close to Rose’s Marie Antoinette lampoon and Haimbe’s critique of the woman-erasing corporation seem to swivel right back to 15th-century European art and to more recent African witch hunts.

Whether cornered and relegated to elevator music, Fantastic is confrontational, forcing the viewer to take note.

This article first appeared in the Mail & Guardian on 16 September 2016

Ausstellung Fantastic Eine Wunderwelt der Erfahrungen

Fantastic Header
Fantastic © Goethe-Institut/Palesa Motsomi

Als das Hostel von TB Joshua in Lagos einstürzte und ein vermeintlicher Lebensretter den Tod von mehr als 80 Menschen als Verschwörung verkaufen wollte, sinnierte ich über einen Satz nach, den Asonzeh Ukah einmal zu mir gesagt hatte.

Ukah, Religionsforscher an der University Of Cape Town, äußerte die Vermutung, dass Joshua zwar die Ebola-Kranken in Liberia nicht heilen konnte, aber dennoch eindeutig ein Wunderheiler ist, nur dass er Wunder eben als Ware verkauft.

Diese Formulierung ist mir wieder in den Sinn gekommen, als ich in der Ausstellung Fantastic die schonungslosen Fotografien von Andrew Esiebo ansah.

Die Ausstellung Fantastic im Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg stützt sich auf literarische Referenzen, die, wie es die Kuratoren Nkule Mabaso und Nomusa Makhubu ausdrücken, eine „subversive Sprache herausarbeiten, die historische Erzählstrukturen in Frage stellt, welche real erlebten Erfahrungen nicht gleichkommen“.

Die Ausstellung vereint bereits an anderer Stelle gezeigte Arbeiten von Esiebo, Aida Muluneh, Jelili Atiku, Dineo Bopape, Kudzanai Chiurai, Milumbe Haimbe, Terence Nance, Tracey Rose, Zina Saro-Wiwa und Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum zu einer aussagekräftigen Werkschau, die den ihr zugrundeliegenden Hauptgedanken eindrucksvoll umsetzt.

Vor allem Fotografien und Videoarbeiten sind hier zu sehen, aber auch genreübergreifende Medienarbeiten sowie ein Graphic Novel werden in der Ausstellung gezeigt.

In einem seiner Bilder zeigt Esiebo eine Szene der Organisation Mountain Of Fire And Miracles Ministries, in der man auf dem Boden liegende betende Menschen sieht, entweder in freiwilliger Ergebung oder von der Hand eines allmächtigen Gottes geleitet zu Fall gebracht – wer weiß das schon? Esiebos Sinn für inszenierte Spektakel spiegelt die Haltung eines leidenschaftslosen Betrachters, aber auch eines engagierten Kämpfers gegen althergebrachte Denkweisen.

Seine Fotografien, von denen drei in der Ausstellung zu sehen sind, tragen den Titel God Is Alive („Gott lebt“), obwohl das Gezeigte eher an ein Tal des Todes erinnert.
In einem Bild sehen wir, wie er zwei Skelette in der Hand hält, die er von einem Baum abgetrennt hat. Seinen Bemühungen, sich selbst hochzuziehen und die beiden Skelette zu vereinen, erwecken den Anschein, er würde sich selbst strangulieren wollen. Atikus schmerzverzerrter Aufschrei zeugt von der Frustration, eine derartige Kreuzigung mittels Schädeln nicht bewerkstelligen zu können.

Saro-Wiwa ist mit einer Fotografie-Trilogie (Phyllis: I Am Not Alone – „Ich bin nicht allein”, Phyllis Phyllis und Phyllis Street Hawker – „Straßenhändler") sowie einem Video mit dem Titel The Deliverance Of Comfort („Comforts Erlösung“) vertreten. Die Werke schlagen einen weniger düsteren Ton an, der aktuelle Bezug wird hier durch Symbole hergestellt, deren Bedeutung als durchaus zweifelhaft gelten darf.
Portia Malatjie, Nomusa Makhubu & Nkule Mabaso Portia Malatjie, Nomusa Makhubu & Nkule Mabaso © Goethe-Institut/Palesa Motsomi
Das Bewegende ist, dass Comfort, das hexenartige Gaunerkind, dem man die Geister durch Exorzismus austreiben will, ein Mädchen ist, das von vier männlichen Fanatikern wieder vom Bösen befreit werden soll. Comfort kommt aus einem post-kolonialen Milieu, das derart durchtränkt von wiederhergestellten Mythen ist, dass der an ihr verübte Exorzismus einem Armageddon der Mythologien gleichkommt.

Von Chuirais Creation („Schöpfung“) bis zu Haimbes Ananuya - The Revolutionist („Der Revolutionär”), die Ausstellung Fantastic befasst sich mit der Rolle der Frau als Hüterin von anti-hegemonischen Geheimnissen. Indem sie diese und andere Werke zu einem großen Ganzen vereinen, lassen uns die Kuratoren die Komplexität unserer heutigen Zeit hautnah spüren – und das ist eine äußerst lohnende Erfahrung.

Sicher, die Werkschau könnte noch wirkungsvoller sein, wenn ihr auch der Ausstellungsraum zuteil käme, den sie verdient. Mabaso and Makhubu sind jedoch überzeugt, dass ein begrenzter Raum interessante Parallelen entstehen lässt, in denen die schematischen und thematischen Visionen besonders gut erkennbar werden.
Themen wie Religion und Gender, so Makhubu, kommen im Zusammenhang mit globalem Kapitalismus noch besser zur Geltung.

Saro-Wiwa The Deliverance Of Comfort ist gleich neben Esiebos God Is Alive zu sehen. Saro-Wiwas Perücken feilbietende Phyllis sehen wir neben Rose‘s Karikatur von Marie Antoinette und Haimbes Kritik an einer Praxis, die Frauen einfach aus der Geschichte auslöscht. Somit wird ein direkter Bezug zur europäischen Kunst des 15. Jahrhunderts sowie zu den Hexenverfolgungen in Afrika in jüngster Vergangenheit erkennbar.

Wenn auch auf engem Raum und verdrängt von Fahrstuhlmusik –  Fantastic setzt auf Konfrontation und zwingt den Zuschauer, hinzuschauen.

Die Erstveröffentlichung dieses Artikels erschien am 16. September 2015 in der Wochenzeitung Mail & Guardian