The fading away of the mind when learning Artucation and the art of making and storytelling

Artucation Info
Artucation participants © Miora Rajaonary

An old adage goes 'if you can walk you can dance/if you can talk you can sing'. Puleng Plessie's Artucation sets out to challenge the notion that resources are a barrier to quality art/s education.

1.
“Doornfontein carries so many Jozi (hi)stories”, I think, as I’m trying to find the corner of Jeppe and End streets to visit the high school where Puleng Plessie is doing a workshop with learners. I’m thinking of the miners’ houses; of Marabi dance parties, student housing and disappearing factories; of the repercussions of gentrification, African-American concerts, stadium stampedes…
 
Doornfontein also has many one-ways and rundown buildings. I struggle and go around and around.
 
Circles…
 
I also remember the former Graphix Express, where we used to buy cheap(er) art supplies for Fine Art when Wits Tech/University of Johannesburg Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture was here. I see a poster for an event at The Precinct, a newer “art hub” (live entertainment, carwash and mini market) extending the ever expanding gentrification of Johannesburg east. I think of “Honey”, the fantastic online Kwaito-inspired photography and graphic design storytelling collaboration that celebrated their 1st anniversary here. Two streets, turn right. Corner of August House: the Mary Sibande billboard was fading; now it’s gone. I am facing a T junction thanks to this infamous building. Its residents have been swept under the carpet. It is undergoing change: cement dust, mounds of rubble, scaffolding fragments. I turn right. I feel like I have missed the school. Hazards.
 
Pause…
 
“Abuti Ra!” greets dancer and a former Keleketla! After School Programme (K!ASP) member, Wesley Hlongwane. He points me in the direction of New Model Private High School. “It’s just back here opposite the building.”
 
Reverse…
 
“BoNtate, Thobela!” I greet the security guard and his friend. “I believe this is New Model?”
 
I am pleased to park right in front of the gate of a building currently under renovation, because … mag wheels and side mirrors.  
 
2.
After announcing that I am here for a workshop, I am directed to the reception. The three people behind the reception desk are warm and welcoming, but they don’t know Puleng, they haven’t heard about any workshop. “Is she a student?” one asks. In my head: “She is my Masters student.” But this description won’t help me. “She is also practising Freirian tests” I think to myself. But that won’t help me either. Maybe this should be where I explain what Artucation is? I am reminded of an e-mail I sent to Puleng, asking her to fill in the missing words:
 
Me: Artucation is...?
Puleng: a year-long interdisciplinary arts educational programme.
 
Me: Artucation does...?
Puleng: arts educational workshops (visual arts, music and applied drama) with learners from New Model Private College, Metropolitan College and Mahlasedi High School.
 
Me: Artucation exists because...? 
Puleng: grade 10 - 12 Further Education Training (FET) learners from schools located in the city of Johannesburg do not have access to arts education; these schools only offer Creative Arts until grade 9. At first I misinterpreted this “lack of access” as “lack of resources” and through this programme I have learned that the learners in themselves are in fact resources, as well as the environment around them. This is one of the most important aspects about the Artucation Programme, that the learning does not only impact the learner but the facilitator, school teacher, principal and myself as the director.
 
Me: Artucation in 10 years from now hopes to...?
Puleng: provide arts educational workshops to schools in every province. To impact more facilitators, learners and schools.
 
I say, “She is not a student here but she is here on a workshop with learners.” Well, nobody knows anything about this.
 
So I call Puleng and she sends a learner to collect me from reception. I recognise this boy, too. He used to participate in K!ASP at the Drill Hall. It’s been years, so it’s a pleasant surprise to be led by this young man. He looks older, calmer.
 
“Are you also in the workshop?” No, he doesn’t do art. “Why?” He doesn’t know how to draw. “Is drawing the only thing one can do in art?” The things he’s interested in are not being offered, he tells me, and leaves it there.
 
We arrive at the door to a 4m x 7m classroom, with a group of quiet learners seated at desks and Puleng sitting warm and attentive at the back of the class. I thank the boy for bringing me this far and then, nodding my appreciation to Puleng, step in to find a seat. That’s when I started writing this.
 
I am reminded of my annual teaching experience visits as a lecturer in Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) arts methodology courses at Wits. An experience preceded by a complex web of ‘community art projects’: my first collective as a student living in Joubert Park; Artist Proof Studio teaching and workshops; UJ-linked community papermaking projects across the country as Kim Berman’s research assistant; my master’s research with a papermaking collective in Welkom; Keleketla! After School Programme in Joubert Park; Freedom Community College; Constitution Hill…. It’s slightly amusing to me in its nostalgia, but still I’m nagged by the boy’s “I don’t know how to draw” and “what I’m interested in is not being offered”. So I use the quiet moment to speak to the young one, seated, as he was, outside the room.
 
“Thanks again for the escort. What’s your name again?” He tells me. I won’t disclose his real name, so let’s call him Mapula. “I am Rangoato. Ra,” I say. And then: “What is it you are interested in that’s not offered?”
 
Singing.
Dancing.
Visual art.
Poetry.
 
“What do you mean by visual art?”
 
The only thing Mapula can draw perfectly is flowers. He likes that he can colour them in. When he’s angry, looking at flowers makes him calmer.
 
“Where do you go to look at flowers? There are few attended parks in the city.”
 
Wild Waters in Sandton (isn’t it in Boksburg?): he goes there once or twice a month.
 
We discuss the cool things about flowers. We dream up an art project, like an art garden using flowers to “calm” the school. “That would be cool,” he says. I thank Mapula again and step back in.
 
3.
I’m introduced to everyone as “Ra”, and everyone is introduced to me as “learners” and they are all asked to say “Hi, Ra.” I ask to know all their names. An impromptu icebreaker activity is introduced. Its intensity grows, slowly, gaining momentum as it becomes dynamic in a circle, people saying their names with an “action feeling”. Everyone steps up. For a moment we forget everything else and we are the only group together in the world … It is so now, I’m convinced I know much more than just the names of this group at the corner of Jeppe and End streets.
 
“Nna ke Rangoato.” Action? Salute.
 
“When was the last time you (artists) went to a black school to share what you
know?” asks the late Geoff Mphakathi in the Aryan Kaganof film Blue Notes for
Bra Geoff. (2005). Artucation, the radical arts education project by Puleng
Plessie recalls this rhetorical question. In an environment where a satisfying answer to this question is still pending, it is radical for artists in South Africa to intervene in primary and high schools.
 
They say one cannot give what one doesn’t have. Many artists are struggling to practice as studio and gallery artists; many townships and rural schools don’t have conventional “arts education”. The irony is that artists have skills, including that of turning nothing into something. In other words, the question of “resources” should be the least of hindrances to a “free, quality, decolonised” education, to take a cue from the Fallists.
 
It is significant that artists are working in schools, and I recognise many others beyond Puleng Plessie and her Artucation project. I know it is easy to romanticise poverty when we speak of arts education or the lack thereof. Poor and often neglected neighbourhoods tend to be the target for artistic education, arts in education, etc. This is to say that it is easy to call any and all arts education interventions “radical” simply because they are targeting places where I fear for my car’s mag wheels. Perhaps it is unsurprising that the keywords developed by the participants of Artucation include (but are not limited to): Depression. Sadness. Sad. Horror. Evil. Witchcraft. Christian. Devils. Blood. Poverty. Scary. Complicated. Regret. Zombies. Ghosts. Blood. Sacrifice. Separation. These words were collected from discussions arising out of the learners’ critical engagement with the exhibition “Fantastic”, curated by Nomusa Makhubo and Nkule Mabaso at the Goethe-Institut in Parkhurst from 1 September to 15 December 2016).
 
I wish to stress: these keywords don’t necessarily represent the lived experiences of the learners in Artucation. What they do is take me on a journey of the imagination. I had not seen ‘Fantastic’; the learners led me through notions of art as “spiritual fighting against devil”. Issues of “a lifetime sacrifice” in which the “giving the baby to a king” leads to a “mother and father disagreement”. This disagreement ends with the mother being “chased to the forest”. Why, I wonder, do women always carry the ultimate sacrifice?
 
One of the significant interventions in Puleng’s project has to do with language. In Puleng’s teaching and learning environment, dialogue puts language to real-time use; not rooted in imported, travelling meanings. Reflecting on the printing session facilitated by the Joburg-based collective, Alphabet Zoo, one learner is searching for a word to describe a popular technique:
 
“What do they call it… this dabeit thing…?”
 
Puleng intervenes. “OK, we will leave it at that (dabeit).”
 
Besides dabeit as the ubiquitous vinyl flooring in many South African homes, what is its process in the Artucation learning environment? One learner offers that Alphabet Zoo took them on a process that involves taking a piece of dabeit to:
“put it in the sun, it becomes soft and flat
draw on it
scoop onto the drawing
paint the dabeit
press paper on the painted dabeit (with a wheel of steel when available)
press – and the artwork comes out
like this…”
 
For those who have had basic art education, this technique is called linocut. For the Artucation learners, this is also “printing without electricity”. This is to say, even without the “wheel of steel”, or what we call a press. Alphabet Zoo introduced them to what one learner refers to as “the use of spoons for small masterpieces and cups for bigger masterpieces, without printing with a press”. And what about other tools? “They (Alphabet Zoo) explained that the scooping tools are shaped like the letters C, V and U”. I ask, “What happened after the dabeit process?” Zinning.
 
Zinning, otherwise known as zine-making, is the micro-publishing process that embraces the photocopier machine as a tool to duplicate print publications. When members of Alphabet Zoo were still students at Artist Proof Studio, I remember introducing zinning there because its link with print-making, particularly dabeit and screen, seemed obvious. I am pleased to see the expansion. Another learner adds: “We also spoke about the professional world of doing things, processes of newspapers and t-shirts, etc.”
 
We are coming to the end of the session. This was just one session of several in the Artucation trajectory. I think about the very first time I participated in Puleng’s project, then at the GoetheOnMain project space in 2010. I recall the dynamic debates that took place at The Bioscope, a cinema in Johannesburg’s Maboneng precinct, as part of the Film+School project that ran for many years. There’s so much more I have not experienced. My thoughts are brought back into the space when Puleng asks, “Who wants to show us their work (lino prints) from yesterday?” To induce pride of ownership, Puleng reiterates: “Who feels like a ngangara, a skhokho?” My senses explode when the work comes out.
 
One learner’s closing words were astounding to me in their aptness. I really want to say his name, especially because I borrowed his words for the title of this reflection, but … minors and ethics. Anyway, he dropped these jewels while he was reflecting on the Artucation-facilitated conversation tour of Fantastic and subsequent processes. As if distilling half a century of theory and simultaneously pointing the way beyond the horizon to unthought-of configurations, he said: “The fading away of the mind when learning … makes the exhibition more interesting.”

Artucation Das Verschwinden der Gedanken beim Lernen

Artucation Info
Artucation participants © Miora Rajaonary

Ein altes Sprichwort sagt „Wenn du laufen kannst, kannst du auch tanzen, wenn du sprechen kannst, kannst du auch singen“. Puleng Plessies Projekt Artucation stellt die gängige Meinung in Frage, dass mangelnde Ressourcen einer qualifizierten Kunsterziehung im Wege stehen.

1.
„Doornfontein erzählt so viel(e) Jozi Geschichte(n)“, denke ich, während ich das Gebäude an der Kreuzung Jeppe Street/End Street suche, um dort an der High School einen Lern-Workshop von Puleng Plessie zu besuchen. Ich denke an die Häuser der Bergarbeiter, an Marabi-Tanzpartys, Studentenwohnungen und verschwindende Fabriken, die Auswirkungen der Gentrifizierung, afro-amerikanische Konzerte, Massenansturm in Stadien.

 Doornfontein hat auch ganz schön viele Einbahnstraßen und heruntergekommene Gebäude. Ich zögere und suche immer weiter.
 
Kreise …
 
Ich erinnere mich auch noch an den ehemaligen Graphix Express, wo wir günstige Materialien für den Kunstunterricht gekauft haben, als die Wits Tech/University Of Johannesburg Faculty Of Art, Design And Architecture noch hier war. Ich sehe ein Plakat, das Werbung für eine Veranstaltung im The Precinct macht, einem relativen neuen Kunst-Hot-Spot mit Live-Veranstaltungen, Autowaschanlage und Mini-Markt, der die ohnehin schon ausgeprägte Gentrifizierung im Osten Johannesburgs noch weiter vorantreibt. Ich denke an Honey, ein fantastisches vom Musikstil Kwaito inspiriertes Online-Projekt, einem Mix aus Fotografie, Grafik Design und Storytelling, das hier sein einjähriges Jubiläum feierte. Noch zwei Straßen und dann rechts. An der Ecke das August House. Die Veranstaltungswerbung der Künstlerin Mary Sibande war damals schon abgeblättert, jetzt ist sie ganz verschwunden. An diesem berühmt-berüchtigten Gebäude stehe ich nun an einer T-Kreuzung. Die Bewohner sind längst vertrieben worden. Alles befindet sich im Wandel: Zementstaub, Schuttberge, einzelne Gerüstteile. Ich biege rechts ab und habe das Gefühl, als hätte ich die Schule verfehlt. Irgendwie liegt etwas Bedrohliches in der Luft.

 
Pause…
 
„Abuti Ra!” begrüßt mich der Tänzer Wesley Hlongwane, ein ehemaliges Mitglied des Keleketla! After School Programme (K!ASP). Er zeigt mir den Weg zur New Model Private High School. „Es ist gleich dahinten, gegenüber von diesem Gebäude da.“
 
Also zurück …
 
„BoNtate, Thobela!”, begrüße ich den Sicherheitsmann und seinen Kollegen. „Ist das hier die New Model School?”
 
Zum Glück bekomme ich einen Parkplatz direkt vor dem Eingang eines Hauses, das gerade renoviert wird. Dort sind meine Seitenspiegel und Felgen halbwegs in Sicherheit …
 
2.
Nachdem ich ihnen mitgeteilt habe, dass ich an einem Workshop teilnehmen möchte, schickt man mich zur Rezeption. Die Leute hier sind sehr freundlich, aber der Name Puleng sagt ihnen nichts, und von einem Workshop wissen sie auch nichts. „Studiert sie hier?“, fragt einer von ihnen. „Sie ist meine Master-Studentin“, geht es mir durch den Kopf. Aber diese Beschreibung ist hier wohl wenig hilfreich. „Sie führt auch an Paulo Freire angelehnte Tests durch“, denke ich mir. Aber das hilft wohl genauso wenig weiter. Vielleicht sollte ich an dieser Stelle erklären, was Artucation ist? Ich muss an die E-Mail denken, in der ich Puleng gebeten hatte, die folgenden Sätze zu ergänzen:
 
Ich: Artucation ist ...?
Puleng: … ein einjähriges interdisziplinäres Bildungsprogramm.
 
Ich: Artucation beinhaltet ...?
Puleng: … Workshops zum Thema Kunsterziehung (bildende Kunst, Musik und angewandte Schauspielkunst) mit Schülern des New Model Private College, dem Metropolitan College und der Mahlasedi High School.
 
Ich: Artucation wurde ins Leben gerufen, weil ...? 
Puleng: … die Teilnehmer des Further Education Training (FET) der Klassen 10 bis 12 in der Stadt Johannesburg ansonsten keinen Zugang zur Kunsterziehung haben – hier gibt es nur kreative Kunstkurse bis zur Klasse 9. Zunächst schrieb ich diesen mangelnden Bildungszugang fälschlicherweise auf fehlende Ressourcen zurück. Durch dieses Programm habe ich jedoch festgestellt, dass die Lernenden selbst Ressourcen sind, genauso wie ihre gesamte Umgebung. Dies ist einer der wichtigsten Aspekte des Artucation Programms: Die Erkenntnis, dass Lernen nicht nur den Lernenden beeinflusst, sondern auch den Förderer, den Lehrer, den Schulleiter und schließlich auch mich als Projektleiterin.

Ich: Artucation möchte in 10 Jahren bewirkt haben, dass ...?
Puleng: … es in jeder Provinz in den Schulen Workshops zur Kunsterziehung gibt und wir damit mehr Förderer, Lernende und Schulen erreichen.
 
„Sie studiert hier nicht, sondern veranstaltet einen Lern-Workshop”, sage ich. Anscheinend weiß hier jedoch niemand etwas darüber.
 
Also rufe ich Puleng an, die sogleich einen anderen Teilnehmer zur Rezeption schickt, um mich abzuholen. Der Junge kommt mir ebenfalls bekannt vor, er war auch bei K!ASP in der Drill Hall. Das ist schon ein paar Jahre her, also freue ich mich sehr, in seine Obhut aufgenommen zu werden. Er sieht jetzt älter und ruhiger aus.
 
„Nimmst du auch an dem Workshop teil?“, frage ich. Er verneint, Kunst sei nichts für ihn. „Warum?“, will ich wissen. „Weil ich nicht malen kann“, antwortet er. „Kann man denn außer Malen nichts Künstlerisches machen?“, hake ich nach. Er sagt, hier würde nichts angeboten, was ihn interessiert, also belassen wir es dabei.
 
Wir kommen zu einem knapp 30 Quadratmeter großen Klassenraum, wo einige Schüler an Tischen sitzen und ruhig vor sich hinarbeiten. Puleng sitzt freundlich und aufmerksam hinten im Raum. Ich bedanke mich bei dem Jungen fürs Abholen, werfe Puleng einen lächelnden Blick zu und suche mir einen Platz. In diesem Moment fing ich an, das hier aufzuschreiben.
 
Die Situation erinnert mich an meine einjährige Lehrtätigkeit bei den Postgraduate Certificate In Education (PGCE) Kunstmethodik-Kursen im Wits. Um mich darauf vorzubereiten, hatte ich viele verschiedene aufwändige Bürgerprojekte im Bereich Kunst durchgeführt: Mein erstes Künstlerkollektiv, das ich noch als Student in Joubert Park durchgeführt hatte; der Unterricht und die Workshops am Artist Proof Studio; Bürgerzeitungsprojekte, die ich in Zusammenarbeit mit der UJ als Forschungsassistent von Kim Berman durchgeführt habe; meine Recherchen für den Master-Abschluss bei einer Zeitungs-AG bei Welkom; das Keleketla! After School Programme in Joubert Park; Freedom Community College; Constitution Hill … Während ich in Nostalgie schwelge, wundere ich mich, dass ich immer noch an den Satz des Jungen denken muss: „Ich kann nicht malen” bzw. „Hier wird nichts angeboten, was mich interessiert.“ Also nutze ich die Gelegenheit, ihn noch mal anzusprechen, da er gerade vor dem Raum sitzt.

„Danke noch mal fürs Abholen. Wie war doch gleich dein Name?“ Er sagt ihn mir. Ich werde ihn hier nicht preisgeben, also nennen wir ihn einfach Mapula. „Ich bin Ra,” sage ich und frage dann: „Was ist es eigentlich genau, was dich interessiert, aber hier nicht angeboten wird?”
 
Gesang.
Tanz.
Bildende Kunst.
Lyrik.

„Was verstehst du unter bildender Kunst?”
 
Das einzige, das Mapula perfekt malen kann, sind Blumen. Er malt sie gerne, weil man sie so schön bunt ausmalen kann. Wenn er mal schlechte Laune hat, schaut er sich gerne Blumen an; sie haben eine beruhigende Wirkung auf ihn.
 
„Wo schaust du dir denn gerne Blumen an?”, will ich wissen. „Es gibt in der Stadt nur wenige angelegte Parks.“
 
Er antwortet, dass er ein oder zwei Mal im Monat nach Wild Waters in Sandton fährt (ist das nicht in Boksburg?).

Wir sprechen darüber, warum Blumen cool sind. Wir stellen uns vor unserem geistigen Auge ein Kunstprojekt vor: einen Kunstgarten voller Blumen, der eine beruhigende Wirkung auf die Schüler hat. „Das wäre cool“, befindet Mapula. Ich danke ihm und gehe wieder in die Klasse.
 
3.
Ich werde allen als Ra vorgestellt, die Schüler bzw. wie es hier heißt, die Lernenden, begrüßen mich mit „Hi, Ra.” Ich frage jeden einzelnen nach seinem Namen und führe ein spontanes Spiel als Eisbrecher ein. Dies gerät immer mehr in Schwung, und es bildet sich ein dynamischer Kreis, in dem jeder seinen Namen sagt und dies mit einer bestimmten Aktivität verbindet. Jeder macht mit. Für einen kurzen Moment vergessen wir alles um uns herum, als ob wir die einzigen Menschen auf der Welt wären. In diesem Moment bin ich überzeugt, dass ich viel mehr von diesen Leuten weiß, denen ich an der Jeppe Street Ecke End Street zum ersten Mal begegne, als nur ihre Namen.

 
„Nna ke Rangoato.” Aktivität? Begrüßen.
 
„Wann habt ihr (Künstler) das letzte Mal eine Schule für Schwarze besucht, um hier zu unterrichten? fragt der kürzlich verstorbene Geoff Mphakathi in dem Film Blue Notes For Bra Geoff von Aryan Kaganof (2005). Pulengs radikales Kunsterziehungsprojekt Artucation setzt sich genau mit dieser rhetorischen Frage auseinander. In einer Zeit, in der eine befriedigende Antwort auf diese Frage immer noch aussteht, ist es für Künstler in Südafrika eine radikale Entscheidung, den Unterricht an Grundschulen und an High Schools mitzugestalten.
 
Was man nicht hat, kann man auch nicht weitergeben, so heißt es. Viele Künstler können es sich nicht leisten, ein Studio oder eine Galerie zu betreiben, viele Townships und ländliche Schulen haben keinen Kunstunterricht. Aber wer Künstler ist, der hat auch Talent, unter anderem auch das, etwas aus dem Nichts zu erschaffen. Mit anderen Worten, fehlende Ressourcen sollten das letzte sein, das einer „freien, qualitativ hochwertigen und dekolonisierten“ (wie es die Fallists sagen würden, deren Anhänger die Abschaffung der Wissenschaft fordern, da diese ihrer Meinung nach von Weißen geprägt wurde) Form der Bildung im Wege stehen sollte.
 
Es ist sehr wichtig, dass Künstler in Schulen arbeiten: Abgesehen von Puleng Plessie und ihrem Artucation Projekt gibt es noch viele andere, die dort tätig sind. Mir ist klar, dass man Armut leicht romantisiert, wenn man von Kunsterziehung bzw. dem Mangel derselben spricht. Kunsterziehung ist oftmals ein Vorzeigeprojekt in armen und benachteiligten Stadtteilen. Es ist also ein Leichtes, Kunstprojekte schlicht als radikal zu bezeichnen, weil sie an einem Ort stattfinden, an denen Felgen von parkenden Autos geklaut werden. So überrascht es nicht, dass die Artucation Teilnehmer (unter anderem) folgende Schlagworte festgelegt haben: Depression. Traurigkeit. Traurig. Schrecken. Böses. Hexerei. Christlich. Teufel. Blut. Armut. Beängstigend. Kompliziert. Leid. Zombies. Geister. Opfer. Trennung. Diese Begriffe stammen aus Diskussionen, in denen die Teilnehmer sich kritisch mit der von Nomusa Makhubo und Nkule Mabaso kuratierten Ausstellung Fantastic auseinandergesetzt hatten, die vom 1. September bis zum 15. Dezember im Goethe-Institut in Parkhurst zu sehen war.
 
Ich möchte betonen, dass diese Schlagwörter nicht unbedingt eins zu eins die Erfahrungen der Artucation Kursteilnehmer widerspiegeln. Vielmehr beflügeln sie einfach meine Vorstellungskraft. Ich selbst hatte die Ausstellung Fantastic nicht gesehen, die Schüler haben mir jedoch erklärt, dass hier Kunst offenbar als „Kampf des Spirituellen gegen den Teufel” gesehen wird. Offenbar geht es hier um „lebenslanges Aufopfern”, in dem „dem König ein Baby gegeben wird”, was zu einem „Konflikt zwischen Mutter und Vater” führt. Dieser Konflikt endet damit, dass die Mutter „in den Wald gejagt“ wird. Warum, so frage ich mich, müssen Frauen immer die meisten Opfer bringen?
 
Ein besonderer Aspekt in Pulengs Projekt hat mit Sprache zu tun. In ihrer Lehr- und Lernumgebung bekommt Sprache durch Dialoge einen konkreten Nutzen, der nicht in überlieferten Bedeutungen verhaftet ist. Bei dem Zeitungsdruck-Workshop von Alphabet Zoo, einem Kollektiv aus Johannesburg, war ein Teilnehmer auf der Suche nach einem Wort, um eine bekannte Technik zu beschreiben:

„Wie heißt das noch mal … dieses dabeit Ding …?“
 
Puleng geht dazwischen: „Ok, wir belassen es dabei (dabeit).”
 
Welche Bedeutung hat dieses Wort, abgesehen von dabeit als dem allgegenwärtigen Vinylbodenbelag in südafrikanischen Häusern, im konkreten Lernumfeld von Artucation? Ein Schüler erzählt von einer Übung bei Alphabet Zoo, bei der man mit einem Stück dabeit verschiedene Sachen gemacht hat, etwa:

„Es in die Sonne legen, bis es weich und flach wird,
etwas darauf malen
das Gemälde mit einem Werkzeug bearbeiten
das Material anmalen
Papier auf das Bild aufdrücken (wenn möglich mit einem stählernen Rad)
Drücken – bis das Kunstwerk sich herauslöst.“

Viele kennen diese Technik des Linolschnitts aus dem Kunstunterricht. Für die Teilnehmer von Artucation ist dies eine Art „Drucken ohne Strom”, sogar ohne das „Stahlrad“ bzw. die Presse. Alphabet Zoo hat eine Technik entwickelt, die ein Teilnehmer folgendermaßen beschreibt: „Man kann mit einem Löffel kleine Meisterwerke machen und mit Tassen große Meisterwerke, und zwar ganz ohne Druckpresse”. Und wie steht es mit anderen Werkzeugen? „Sie (Alphabet Zoo) haben uns erklärt, dass die Aushöhlwerkzeuge wie die Buchstaben C, V und U geformt sind“. „Und was“, wollte ich wissen“, kam nach der Arbeit mit dem dabeit? „Wir haben Zines gemacht“.
 
Bei der Anfertigung von Zines werden Druckerzeugnisse am Fotokopierer produziert. Ich erinnere mich daran, den Teilnehmern von Alphabet Zoo diese Technik vorgestellt zu haben, als diese noch Schüler im Artist Proof Studio waren. Schließlich ist es dem Drucken, besonders in Form von dabeit und Leinwand, sehr ähnlich. Es ist schön zu sehen, wie sie diese Technik jetzt weiterentwickeln. „Wir haben auch über die professionelle Herstellung von Zeitungen, T-Shirts usw. gesprochen“, erzählt ein Schüler.
 
Langsam geht die Stunde ihrem Ende zu – nur eine von vielen in der Artucation Reihe. Ich denke daran, wie ich zum ersten Mal bei Pulengs Projekt mitgemacht habe und dann an die Veranstaltungsreihe GoetheOnMain im Jahr 2010. Ich lasse die lebhaften Diskussionen im Bioscope Revue passieren, einem Kino im Johannesburger Stadtteil Maboneng, die dort einige Jahre lang innerhalb des Film+School Projekts angeboten wurden. Es gibt noch so viele Erfahrungen, die auf mich warten. Puleng reißt mich sodann mit einer Frage wieder aus meinen Gedanken: „Wer möchte uns seine Arbeit (Linoldruck) von gestern zeigen?“ Um den Stolz des Urhebers herauszukitzeln, formuliert Puleng es so: „Wer fühlt sich wie ein ngangara, ein skhokho?” Ich fühle, wie meine Sinne förmlich explodieren, als die Arbeiten vorgezeigt werden.
 
Die Schlussbemerkung eines Schülers hat mich besonders beeindruckt. Ich würde ihn hier wirklich sehr gerne namentlich erwähnen, allein schon, weil sein Ausspruch mir den Titel für diesen Text geliefert hat, aber bei Minderjährigen sollte man bekanntlich Vorsicht walten lassen. Jedenfalls ließ er diese brillante Formulierung fallen, als er über die von Artucation veranstaltete Diskussion der Ausstellung Fantastic und nachfolgende Veranstaltungen nachdachte. Als ob er ein halbes Jahrhundert an Theorien auf einen Satz reduzieren und dabei völlig neue Gedankenzusammenhänge ersinnen würde, sagte er: „Das Verschwinden der Gedanken beim Lernen … macht die Ausstellung interessanter.“