Moving Africa Zimbabwe's Shoko Festival a Treat for Moving Africans

South African rapper AKA performs at Shoko Festival 2016
South African rapper AKA performs at Shoko Festival 2016 © 3 Mobi

Zimbabwe's tough economic climate has not repelled arts festival punters. In fact, with more attention paid to marketing, one of its remaining festivals, Shoko, could bring in more crowds.

Zimbabwe’s ailing economy has made it extremely difficult for its arts sector to run. As a result of the economy, many festivals in the country have folded or shelved, citing heavy presence of donor and sponsorship fatigue. However, the annual Shoko festival has emerged victorious with a resilience which saw them soldiering on with the festival and taking the top festival spot in Zimbabwe in 2016, in the absence of many competitors such as the grand Harare International Festival of the Arts (HIFA).

The three-day Shoko festival ran under the theme “Come Alive” in September. It came with an intention to wake up Zimbabwe’s capital from its deep economic slumber and lived up to its bill. With the festival site located outside the Museum of Human Sciences, which is between the Harare City Library and the College of Music, the events took place within walkable distance from the central business district of the city. The festival indeed came alive with a well-balanced programme which catered for the hip-hop heads, the afro jazz fanatics and other genres of art which were represented by giants and budding artists from the respective genres.

The festival ran for two days at the venue and on the last day migrated to Chitungwiza, a high-density town located 30 kilometers south of Harare where the curtain finally came down with their iconic “Peace in the Hood” concert, which takes both budding and established artists to perform in the high-density suburbs for free concerts.

A combination of all this and marketing struck the right notes to attracting a bumper crowd of revelers who have long been yearning for festivities in the city.

The term “Shoko” means “Word” in Shona- one of Zimbabwe’s native languages. This year South African chanter AKA was the main highlight joined by Norwegian based hip-hop outfit African Sunz along with Zimbabwe’s finest Ammara Brown, Winky D and Zimbabwean man of the moment Jah Prayzah, who has been breaking into the regional audience after his hit song with Tanzania’s Diamond Platinumz.

Moving Africa Participants

To witness this Zimbabwean history were four foreign artists from across the African continent attending under the Moving Africa (MA) initiative by the Goethe-Institut. Moving Africa is a Pan African exchange programme which aims at affording African artists an unusual opportunity and experience of attending cultural festivals around the continent concurrently networking with fellow African artists. The programme has been running since 2009. Moving Africa participants that were in Zimbabwe include, Peter Komondua (Democratic Republic of Congo), Koffi Olivier Ahuié (Cote d’Ivoire), Ivan Chendjouo (Cameroon), Felisberto Moises Nguenha (Mozambique).
 
Koffi Olivier Ahuie, a poet from Cote d’Ivoire widely known as Philo tamer words says attending Shoko Festival was a rare privilege, “It was a great pleasure for me to attend the Shoko festival in Zimbabwe as part of the Moving Africa programme. This joy is even greater as Moving Africa allowed me to make my first trip by plane, to discover this beautiful city of Harare.”
 
Philo adds that he was mesmerized by the calm and clean nature of the streets complemented by the natural hospitality of the Zimbabweans which made up for an ‘enjoyable but short’ stay. Despite not having much sentiments on the festival, he acknowledges it was a great success as it featured super stars and festival organizers prioritized on public safety.
 
According to Philo, Moving Africa has been a great success as it has provided him with a rare opportunity to network with participants at the festival in Zimbabwe hence making way for possible artist collaborations in the near future. The success of Philo’s story from Moving Africa spills over to his home country given that he is currently running a social programme inspired by his travel under the Moving Africa initiative.
 
“Personally, the Moving Africa programme inspired me to start a social project that I'm currently developing within my country to enable disadvantaged people to power, also travel and discover their country” he said in conclusion.
 
Most of his thoughts have been shared by fellow MA participant Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) based Peter Komondua who is also a poet of repute who says the initiative afforded him the initial opportunity to attend a festival away from his home country.
 
“I came here to attend my first festival abroad, being an artist myself. I could get in touch with the really friendly people of Harare and also with some artists that practice the same discipline as me and even some from other countries practicing slam (poetry)."

He recalls his major challenge upon arriving in Harare was to make as much contacts as he could during their short stay and he says he came and conquered.

Shoko Festival 2016 was part of the Goethe-Institut’s Moving Africa programme. Moving Africa is the Goethe-Institut's pan African exchange Programme which gives artists the opportunity to travel to selected cultural festivals on the continent. Launched in 2009, the programme's aim is to foster exchange and networking amongst African artists. More information

Moving Africa: Das Shoko Festival in Simbabwe Ein Muss für bewegungsfreudige Afrikaner

Der Südafrikanische Rapper AKA war Headliner beim Shoko Festival 2016
Der Südafrikanische Rapper AKA war Headliner beim Shoko Festival 2016 © 3 Mobi

Das dreitägige Shoko Festival im September stand unter dem Motto "Come Alive" („Zum Leben erwachen“). Das erklärte Ziel, die Hauptstadt Simbabwes aus ihrem tiefen wirtschaftlichen Dornröschenschlaf aufzuwecken, ist dabei auf jeden Fall erreicht worden.Trotz des rauen wirtschaftlichen Klimas in Simbabwe hat die Veranstaltung viele Kunstfreunde auf den Plan gerufen. Dank des guten Marketings konnte das Shoko Festival als eins der letzten seiner Art sogar Besuchermassen anziehen.

Die kränkelnde Wirtschaft in Simbabwe hat auch den dortigen Kunstbetrieb nahezu lahmgelegt. Das Programm vieler Festivals im Land ist stark gekürzt, einige sind sogar ganz eingestellt worden – offenbar die Folge eines deutlichen Mangels an Förderern und Spendern. Diesen Widrigkeiten hat sich das jährlich stattfindende Shoko Festival jedoch eindrucksvoll widersetzt. Es hat nicht nur weitergemacht wie bisher, sondern war ohne solche Mitbewerber wie das große Harare International Festival Of The Arts (HIFA) sogar zum größten Festival des Jahres 2016 in Simbabwe geworden.

Das dreitägige Shoko Festival im September stand unter dem Motto Come Alive. Das erklärte Ziel, die Hauptstad Simbabwes aus ihrem tiefen wirtschaftlichen Dornröschenschlaf aufzuwecken, ist dabei auf jeden Fall erreicht worden. Das Festival fand auf dem Außengelände des Museum Of Human Sciences statt, das zwischen der Harare City Library und dem College Of Music liegt – also nur ein paar Schritte vom geschäftlichen Zentrum der Stadt entfernt. Auf dem Programm stand eine bunte Mischung verschiedenster Bands von Hip Hop über Afro-Jazz bis hin zu diversen anderen Stilrichtungen. Auf der Bühne standen dabei sowohl Newcomer als auch renommierte Namen des jeweiligen Genres.

Zwei Tage lang lief das Festival dort, am letzten Tag fanden die Shows in Chitungwiza statt, einer dicht besiedelten Stadt 30 Kilometer südlich von Harare, wo zum großen Abschluss das sagenumwobene Peace In The Hood („Frieden in der Nachbarschaft”) Konzert stattfand. Das Konzept: Nachwuchstalente und bekannte Musiker geben in den bevölkerungsreichen Vororten kostenlos Konzerte.

In Verbindung mit einem guten Marketingkonzept konnten die Macher mit dieser Mischung viele zusätzliche Zuschauer anlocken, die sich schon lange mehr Festivals in ihrer Stadt gewünscht hatten.

Der Begriff Shoko bedeutet auf Shona, einer der einheimischen Sprachen in Simbabwe, „Wort“. In diesem Jahr war der südafrikanische Rapper AKA der Haupt-Act des Festivals. Außerdem traten die norwegische Hip Hop Formation African Sunz, die in Simbabwe sehr erfolgreiche Ammara Brown, Winky D sowie Jah Prayzah auf – dieser gilt in Simbabwe gerade als Mann der Stunde, nachdem er sich mit seinem gemeinsam mit den Diamond Platinumz aus Tansania aufgenommenen Hit ein großes Publikum erspielt hat.

Die Teilnehmer von „Moving Africa“

Zeugen dieses historischen Moments in der Geschichte Simbabwes waren auch vier Künstler aus dem gesamten afrikanischen Kontinent; allesamt Teilnehmer der Initiative Moving Africa (MA) des Goethe-Instituts. Moving Africa ist ein afrikaweites Austauschprogramm, das es Künstlern aus Afrika ermöglichen möchte, Kulturfestivals auf dem ganzen Kontinent zu besuchen, um ihren Erfahrungshorizont zu erweitern und anschließend mit anderen Künstlern ein Netzwerk aufzubauen. Das Programm läuft bereits seit 2009. Zu den bisherigen Moving Africa Teilnehmern, die nach Simbabwe kommen durften, zählen Peter Komondua (Demokratische Republik Kongo), Koffi Olivier Ahuié (Elfenbeinküste), Ivan Chendjouo (Kamerun) und Felisberto Moises Nguenha (Mosambik).
 
Für den aus der Elfenbeinküste stammenden Dichter Koffi Olivier Ahuie, besser bekannt als Philo, war der Besuch des Festivals ein seltenes Privileg: „ Es war ein großes Vergnügen, im Rahmen des Moving Africa Programms am Shoko Festival teilnehmen zu können“, erklärt der Wortjongleur. „Dank Moving Africa habe ich nicht nur meine erste Flugreise unternommen, sondern auch die wunderbare Stadt Harare kennen und lieben gelernt.“
 
Besonders fasziniert haben Philo die ruhigen und sauberen Straßen und die ungezwungene Gastfreundschaft der Menschen in Simbabwe, die ihm einen äußerst vergnüglichen Kurztrip beschert haben. Auch wenn das Festival ihn nicht gerade zu Begeisterungsstürmen hingerissen hat, sieht er dieses als großen Erfolg an. Schließlich, so sagt er, seien hier echte Superstars aufgetreten, und die Festivalorganisatoren hätten sich sehr um öffentliche Sicherheit bemüht.

Moving Africa habe ihm viel gebracht, erklärt Philo, er habe die seltene Chance gehabt, direkt mit den Festivalteilnehmern in Simbabwe in Kontakt zu kommen und so ein Netzwerk aufzubauen, aus dem sich später vielleicht einmal eine künstlerische Zusammenarbeit ergeben könnte. Auch in Philos Heimat hat diese Erfolgsgeschichte schon die Runde gemacht: Dort leitet er momentan ein soziales Projekt, zu dem er durch seine Reise innerhalb des Moving Africa Programms inspiriert wurde.
 
Moving Africa hat mich auf dieses Projekt gebracht, das ich gerade hier im Land auf die Beine stelle”, erzählt er. „Ich möchte benachteiligten Menschen helfen, sich ihrer Stärke bewusst zu werden, zu reisen und ihr Land zu entdecken.”
 
Auch der Teilnehmer Peter Komondua aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, ein bekannter Dichter, teilt diese Erfahrungen: Die Initiative habe ihm ermöglicht, erstmals ein Festival außerhalb seines Heimatlandes zu besuchen, so der renommierte Autor.
 
„Ich kam hierher, um als Künstler erstmals ein Festival in einem anderen Land mitzuerleben. Ich habe viele nette Leute aus Harare und einige Künstler kennengelernt, die im gleichen Bereich arbeiten wie ich, sogar ein paar Poetry Slammer aus anderen Ländern. Nach eigener Aussage war die größte Herausforderung für ihn in Harare, hier in der kurzen Zeit so viele Kontakte wie möglich zu knüpfen – mit Erfolg, denn, wie er sagt: „Ich kam und siegte!“

Das Shoko Festival 2016 lief im Rahmen des Goethe-Institut Programms Moving Africa, einem afrikaweiten Austauschprogramm, das es Künstlern ermöglicht, ausgewählte Festivals auf dem Kontinent zu besuchen. Das 2009 ins Leben gerufene Projekt möchte den Austausch und die Vernetzung innerhalb der Künstlerszene Afrikas fördern. Mehr Informationen