Mentorship programme Creating a new generation of African entrepreneurs

Hub@Goethe Lego Workshop 2018
Jonas Radunz © Goethe-Institut

We are always happy about new faces at the Goethe-Institut, so the month of September was particularly exciting for us: twelve Hub@Goethe participants have just moved into the Library-Gamebox-Hub, ready to work and fine-tune their business ideas under the mentorship programme that Hub@Goethe offers.

The Hub@Goethe is a mentorship programme for cultural and social entrepreneurs who have great ideas with a lot of potential, but are lacking the hands-on entrepreneurial skills to get their business off the ground. After going through a careful selection process, our Library-Gamebox-Hub team chose twelve individuals who will now go through a rigorous training program in the next months.

Vernon Scholtz, community manager of the hub, explains the vision behind the ambitious project: “Hub@Goethe is a platform where failure culture is the norm for young, daring social and cultural entrepreneurs who are set on taking their businesses to the next level. We encourage them to do so through discovering their potential by creating a community of creatives for a positive African future.”

The six month programme, which is run in cooperation with Karani Leadership, focuses on the real-life development of a business from envisioning to pivoting. It includes different formats of learning: the one-week Business Bootcamp makes sure that even the last creative gets his numbers in order, the Feedback Fridays create a space for honest, constructive feedback and the Strength Coachings help the participants to develop and grow their personalities in areas most beneficial for their business. Next to the skills training, Hub@Goethe offers a physical office space situated in our Library, where the participants have access to uncapped Internet, printing facilities as well as meeting rooms. The programme follows a “Hot-Desk” model, whereby the Hubbers (our affectionate name for the participants) are encouraged to make use of the whole library space, in an effort to create a “living” library.
Hub@Goethe Logo Jonas Radunz © Goethe-Institut “With this second Hub turn, I am really excited to see how the different Hubbers will be growing into a group and if they are able to generate synergies between their projects”, says Stefanie Kastner, Head of Information and Library at the Goethe-Institute. “Additionally, it will be interesting to see how the Hub activities will influence the Goethe-Institut and if we can learn from it”, she adds.

The sentiments of community voiced by Scholtz and Kastner are shared by Hubber Kim Robinson, who is looking forward to share experiences with her fellow Hub participants: „I look forward to being in a collaborative space“, she says, “Being an entrepreneur, you often feel isolated, so I’m looking forward to having a community, a network”.

For further information on Hub@Goethe and the new Hubbers, please click here or attend one of our Imagination Nights events, where the public is invited to interact and give feedback on the different projects. The first Imagination Nights, titled “The Market of Ideas” will be held on 26 September in the Library-Gamebox-Hub at the Goethe-Institut.

Hub@Goethe is part of The Cultural Entrepreneurship Hub project, a collaborative project with the Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship (SCE), funded by the German Federal Foreign Office. It is supported by the network of public funding agencies for the cultural and creative industries in Germany (Promoting Creative Industries - PCI) and Kreative Deutschland.

Mentorenprogramm Der Beginn einer neuen Generation afrikanischer Unternehmer

Hub@Goethe Lego Workshop 2018
Jonas Radunz © Goethe-Institut

Wir freuen uns immer über neue Gesichter im Goethe-Institut und deswegen war der September für uns ein toller Monat: elf neue Hub@Goethe-Teilnehmer sind in den „Library-Gamebox-Hub“ eingezogen und brennen darauf, ihre Ideen in erfolgreiche Unternehmen umzusetzen.
 

Hub@Goethe ist ein Mentoren-Programm für Unternehmer in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, die auf der einen Seite innovative Ideen haben, denen aber auf der anderen Seite unternehmerische Fähigkeiten und Wissen fehlt, um diese Ideen auch erfolgreich umzusetzen. Nach einem detaillierten Auswahlprozess konnte das Library-Gamebox-Hub-Team zehn Start-Ups auswählen, die in den nächsten sechs Monaten ein intensives Businesstraining durchlaufen werden.

Vernon Scholtz, der Community Manager des Hubs, erklärt die Vision hinter diesem ambitionierten Projekt: „Hub@Goethe ist ein Ort, an dem „Failure culture“ die Norm ist. Wir ermutigen junge Unternehmer im kulturellen und sozialen Bereich, ihre Geschäftsidee auf die nächste Stufe zu heben, indem sie gemeinschaftlich an einer positiven afrikanischen Zukunft arbeiten.“

Das sechs-monatige Training, welches in Zusammenarbeit mit Karani Leadership verwirklicht wird, führt die Teilnehmer Schritt für Schritt durch die Entwicklung eines Unternehmens: von der Idee über Markforschung hin zur Durchführung lernen die Hubber alles, was für ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen notwendig ist. Dabei kommen unterschiedliche Formate und Inhalte zur Geltung: Das Business Bootcamp bringt innerhalb einer Woche noch jedem zahlenscheuen Kreativen BWL-Grundkenntnisse bei, die Feedback Fridays sorgen für kritische, konstruktive Rückmeldung der Gruppe zum eigenen Projekt und die Strength Coachings stellen die Weiterentwicklung auf persönlicher und Führungsebene sicher, um nur einige Beispiele zu nennen. Neben dem eigentlichen Training bietet Hub@Goethe den Teilnehmern auch einen physischen Arbeitsplatz in der neugestalteten Bibliothek „Library-Gamebox-Hub“, welcher den Hubbern Internetzugang, Drucker und Besprechungsräume zur Verfügung stellt.

Hub@Goethe Logo Jonas Radunz © Goethe-Institut „Beim zweiten Hub-Turn bin ich am meisten gespannt auf das Zusammenwachsen der Gruppe, wie sich die einzelnen Business-Ideen entwickeln und welche Fortschritte die einzelnen Teilnehmer machen werden“, sagt Stefanie Kastner, Leiterin für Information am Goethe-Institut, und fügt hinzu: „Darüber hinaus ist sehr spannend, wie sich dieser Hub-Turn auf uns als Institution auswirken wird und was wir als Goethe-Institut von den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern lernen können.“

Diese geäußerten Hoffnungen auf ein erfolgreiches gemeinsames Arbeiten spiegeln sich auch in den Aussagen der Hub-Teilnehmer wieder. Kim Robinson, die mit ihrem Projekt „Renaissance Strategic Solutions“ Teil von Hub@Goethe ist, unterstreicht noch einmal die Bedeutung des Arbeitens in einer Gruppe von Gleichgesinnten: „Als selbstständiger Unternehmer fühlt man sich oft isoliert, deswegen freue ich mich sehr darauf, eine Gemeinschaft und ein Netzwerk aufzubauen.“

In den monatlich am Institut stattfindenden Imagination Nights, der öffentlichen Networking-Veranstaltung des Hubs, sind die Besucher eingeladen, mit den Hub-Teilnehmern zu interagieren und zu den vorgestellten Geschäftsideen Feedback zu geben. Die erste Veranstaltung findet am 26. September im Library-Gamebox-Hub im Goethe-Institut statt.

Weitere Informationen zum Hub@Goethe und den neuen Hubbern finden Sie hier.
 
Hub@Goethe ist Teil der Cultural Entrepreneurship Hubs, ein Kooperationsprojekt mit dem Strascheg Center for Entrepreneurship (SCE), finanziert durch das Auswärtige Amt. Es wird unterstützt durch das Netzwerk öffentlicher Fördereinrichtungen für die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft in Deutschland (Promoting Creative Industries – PCI) und den Kreativen Deutschland.