democraSEE

©Thandi Pinto from the series 'I love Maputo' 2300 x 1000
©Thandi Pinto

​The Regional Project democraSEE brings three photography workshops to Abidjan, Dar-es-Salaam and Maputo.

The democraSEE Workshop develops workshops across the African continent, that consider social, political and identity concerns through photography. democraSEE MAPUTO was presented from 23 November to 04 December 2020, and democraSEE ABIDJAN and democraSEE DAR-ES-SALAAM will follow in 2021.These workshops stem from democraSEE, an award and mentorship platform initiated by Photo: (Johannesburg, South Africa) and presented by John Fleetwood.

Presented with the Goethe-Institut, Photo:, and local collaborators, these workshops bring together groups of practicing photographers who are concerned with issues that have an impact on our human and social rights and how photography practice can build responses to this. The workshops are a 10-day photography encounter to encourage new photography stories and discussions on issues relating to how we understand our changing world and the shifts within photography.

Drawing on a group of 10 photographers, the workshop seeks to develop visual languages and content that open conversation about democracy and human rights, and looks at questions of representation, positionality, complicity, erasure and current positions of in/visibilities.  Participants’ admissions are based on existing work, interests and a short statement of a future proposal. The workshop also looks at how to navigate a world where artists are hindered, censored and excluded from working freely, while also reflecting on the ways in which these concerns have been further impacted in relation to the global Covid-19 pandemic. As the project develops it may lead to future possibilities including exhibitions, publications and other local collaborations.
 
The democraSEE workshops is collaborative and co-produced project between Photo:, the Goethe-Instituts in Cote d’Ivoire, Tanzania and South Africa as well as the Goethe-Zentrum in Maputo and potentially local photography institutions across the continent.

democraSEE

©Thandi Pinto from the series 'I love Maputo' 2300 x 1000
©Thandi Pinto

Das Regionalprojekt DemocraSEE bringt drei Workshops nach Abidjan, Daressalam und Maputo.

democraSEE präsentiert drei Fotografie-Workshops in Abidjan, Dar-es-Salaam und Maputo, in denen sich die Teilnehmenden mit sozialen, politischen und identitätsstiftenden Themen durch Fotografie auseinandersetzen. democraSEE MAPUTO hat vom 23. November bis 04. Dezember 2020 stattgefunden, democraSEE ABIDJAN und democraSEE DAR-ES-SALAAM werden im Jahr 2021 umgesetzt. Diese Workshops basieren auf dem Projekt democraSEE, einer Award- und Mentorenplattform, die von Photo: (Johannesburg, Südafrika) / John Fleetwood betreut wird.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut, Photo: und lokalen Partnern bringen die Workshops Gruppen von praktizierenden Fotograf*innen zusammen, die sich mit gesellschaftlichen Themen wie Menschenrechte befassen und wie ihre fotografische Praxis Antworten darauf geben kann. Die Workshops finden im Rahmen von 10-tägigen Begegnungen statt, die zu neuen Fotogeschichten und Diskussionen anregen, wie wir unsere sich verändernde Welt durch Fotografie verstehen können.   

Mit einer Gruppe von 10 Fotograf*innenen wird im Workshop versucht, visuelle Sprachen und Inhalte zu entwickeln, die eine Diskussion über Demokratie und Menschenrechte eröffnen. Die Teilnehmenden befassen sich mit Fragen der Repräsentation, Positionalität, Komplizenschaft, Auslöschung und aktuellen Positionen von Un/Sichtbarkeiten.  Die Teilnahme basiert auf bestehenden Arbeiten, Interessen und einem kurzen Statement für einen zukünftiges Portfolio. Der Workshop befasst sich auch mit der Frage, wie man sich in einer Welt zurechtfindet, in Künstler*innen behindert, zensiert und von der freien Arbeit ausgeschlossen werden, und reflektiert gleichzeitig die Art und Weise, wie diese Belange in Bezug auf die globale Covid-19-Pandemie weiter beeinflusst werden. Das Projekt kann zu Ausstellungen, Publikationen und anderen lokalen Kooperationen führen.
 
Die democraSEE-Workshops sind ein kollaboratives und koproduziertes Projekt zwischen Photo:, den Goethe-Instituten in der Cote d‘Ivoire, Tansania und Südafrika sowie dem Goethe-Zentrum in Maputo und potentiell lokalen Fotografie-Institutionen auf dem ganzen Kontinent.