Reuben Caluza - B-Side

Reuben T. Caluza - The B-Side © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

A new digital album celebrating the work and legacy of one of South Africa’s most accomplished composers from the 1920s and ’30s era.

This unique album features dynamic new interpretations and arrangements of songs by the prolific and popular South African composer Reuben T. Caluza (1895–1969), who was once a household name in South Africa. His music, and the messages of his songs still have strong relevance today, in the ways he innovated musical styles, and in his commentaries on everything from popular culture and topical issues of the day to workers’ and civil rights. Yet, for decades his legacy has largely become buried and forgotten in the sound archives of South Africa’s musical history.

Until now.

Over the past eighteen months, the brilliant ensemble of twelve local singers – Ayanda Eleki, Ann Masina, Bulelani Madondile, Nokuthula Magubane, Lydia Manyama, Rueben Mbonambi, Lulama Mgceleza, Zebulon Mmusi, Tshegofatso Moeng, Mapule Moloi, Lindokuhle Thabede and Lubabalo Velebayi – have collaborated with composers Philip Miller and Tshegofatso Moeng, together with accomplished jazz instrumentalists, including brass players Adam Howard and Dan Selsick, Lwanda Gogwana and bassist Thembinkosi Mavimbela, to create a new album of Caluza’s hit songs, based on his own album, The Double Quartet, recorded in London in 1930.

The project began during the first Covid-19 lockdown in 2020, when Philip Miller came across the song ‘Influenza (1918)’, that Caluza had written during the devastation of the Spanish flu pandemic. It resonated powerfully.

At a time when artists were struggling to make ends meet due to performance restrictions, Philip created a new arrangement of Caluza’s song, and invited singers and musicians with whom he has collaborated over the years to record their singing parts on their cell phones. With video designer Marcos Martins, Philip then made these into a music video of the song, and started an online campaign and artist relief fund, #MusoReliefSA.

The hugely positive reception the song received, and the fact that the singers loved making the arrangement of ‘Influenza (1918)’ so much, resulted in the ensemble continuing to learn, arrange and record more of Caluza’s incredible repertoire.

You can watch three music videos of songs from REUBEN T. CALUZA – THE B-SIDE here:
‘Umteto we Land Act’
‘Influenza (1918)’
‘AmaOxford Bags (Ubunghca)’

Through generous support from the SAMRO Foundation, Nando’s, the Goethe-Institut, Butler School of Music, University of Texas at Austin, and the many individuals who contributed to the project’s crowdfunding campaigns, this long-awaited album has finally been recorded at Flame Studios at Constitution Hill, Johannesburg, with the final mix by talented sound engineer Gavan Eckhart.

The album was launched on Heritage Day, 24 September 2021, on SAMRO’s Indigenous African Music (IAM) platform, https://iamtranscriptions.org/partners-and-supporters/samro-samro-foundation/, where it will be streamed free of charge.

Sheet music of these new arrangements will also be available on the website for other musicians and singers to access and use in their own performances.

I had the immense pleasure of listening to some of these beautiful arrangements, finding them to be a perfect example of how the rich archive of black South African musical traditions may still speak to contemporary issues and audiences.
–Prof. Veit Erlmann, Professor of Ethnomusicology and Anthropology, Butler School of Music, University of Texas at Austin.

Learning about Caluza has been a revelation to me ... [The project] speaks directly to this historical moment locally and globally, and also resonates strongly with the overdue celebration of black intellectuals' lives ... as well as paying homage ... to the history of music creation in South Africa more broadly.
–Albie Sachs, Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

Reuben Caluza - B-Side

Reuben T. Caluza - The B-Side © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Ein neues digitales Album, welches das Werk und das Erbe eines der größten südafrikanischen Komponisten der 1920er und 30er Jahre würdigt.

Dieses einzigartige Album beinhaltet neue und dynamische Interpretationen und Arrangements von Liedern des populären südafrikanischen Komponisten Reuben T. Caluza (1895-1969). Seine Musik und die Botschaften seiner Lieder haben auch heute noch eine große Relevanz durch die Weise in der Musikstile innovativ behandelte und in seiner Kommentierung von Themen wie Popkultur und kontemporären Tagesthemen bis zu Arbeiter- und Bürgerrechten. Dennoch blieb sein Vermächtnis in den musikalischen Archiven Südafrikas Musikgeschichte begraben und vergessen.

Bis jetzt. 

In den letzten achtzehn Monaten kollaborierte ein brilliantes Ensemble von zwölf Sänger*Innen - Ayanda Eleki, Ann Masina, Bulelani Madondile, Nokuthula Magubane, Lydia Manyama, Rueben Mbonambi, Lulama Mgceleza, Zebulon Mmusi, Tshegofatso Moeng, Mapule Moloi, Lindokuhle Thabede und Lubabalo Velebayi - mit den Komponisten Philip Miller und Tshegofatso Moeng und den erfolgreichen Jazz-Musikern Adam Howard und Dan Selsick, Lwanda Gogwana und Thembinkosi Mavimbela, um ein neues Album mit Caluza's hit songs, basierend auf einem Album The Double Quartet, welches 1930 in London aufgenommen wurde.

Das Projekt begann während des ersten Covid-19 lockdown im Jahr 2020, als Philip Miller den Song ‘Influenza (1918)’ für sich entdeckte, den Caluza während der Spanischen-Grippe-Pandemie geschrieben hatte. 

Zu einer Zeit in der Künstler aufgrund von Restriktionen Schwierigkeiten hatten, einen Verdienst zu erwirtschaften, kreierte Philip neue Arrangements für Caluzas Song und lud Sänger*Innen und Musiker*Innen dazu ein, ihre Gesangsteile auf Mobiltelefonen aufzunehmen. Mit dem Video Deisgner Marcos Martins inkorpoeriete Philips diese dann in ein Musikvideo des Sogs und begann eine Onlinekampagne und den Künstlerfond #MusoReliefSA.

Das überaus positive Echo und der Fakt, dass die Sänger*Innen so viel Gefallen an ‘Influenza (1918)' fanden, resultierte darin, dass das Ensemble weiter daran arbeitete, Caluzas unglaubliches Reportoire aufzuarbeiten. 

Sie können drei Musikvideos von REUBEN T. CALUZA – THE B-SIDE hier ansehen:
‘Umteto we Land Act’
‘Influenza (1918)’
‘AmaOxford Bags (Ubunghca)’

Durch die großzügige Unterstützung der SAMRO Foundation, Nando’s, dem Goethe-Institut, der Butler School of Music, der University of Texas at Austin,und den vielen Individuen die zu den Crowdfunding-Kampagnen des Projekts beigetragen haben, wurde dieses lang erwartete Album endlich in den Flame Studios at Constitution Hill in Johannesburg aufgenommen, wobei Soundtechniker Gavan Eckhart den endgültigen Mix zusammenstellte.

Das Album wurde am Heritage Day, dem 24.09.2021, auf SAMRO’s Indigenous African Music (IAM) veröffentlicht, wo es um umsonst gestreamt werden kann.

Notenblätter dieser neuen Arrangements können zudem von der Website heruntergeladen werden, damit andere Musiker und Sänger diese in ihren eigenen Performances nutzen können.

Ich hatte das immense Vergnügen mir einige dieser wunderschönen Arrangements anzuhören und finde sie ein perfektes Beispiel dafür, wie das reiche Archiv schwarzer südafrikanischer Musiktraditionen immer noch zeitgenössische Themen und Zuhörer treffen kann.
–Prof. Veit Erlmann, Professor of Ethnomusicology and Anthropology, Butler School of Music, University of Texas in Austin.

Etwas über Caluza zu lernen war eine Offenbarung für mich... [Das Projekt] spricht diesen historischen Moment sowohl lokal als auch global an und resoniert außerdem stark mit der überfälligen Würdigung schwarzer intellektueller Leben ... und zollt zudem Tribut... der Geschichte der Musik in Südafrika im weiteren Sinne.
–Albie Sachs, Former Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa.