2019 GPS Projects
Goethe-Institut Project Space (GPS)


GPS © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

The Goethe-Institut is proud to announce the six projects that have been selected for support as part of its 2019 Goethe Project Space (GPS) programme. An independent jury of arts professionals, made up of Boyzie Cekwana, Nontobeko Ntombela, Carina Truyts and Thato Mokgotsi selected the following GPS projects for 2019:
 
Thokozani Mhlambi (Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal)
Artist Talks

Artist Talks is a chance for emerging artist to interact, engage and learn from established artists the tricks of the trade. More crucially the Artist Talks are a chance to archive artistic practice as described, named & upheld by the artists themselves. 
 
Douglas Sekete (Soweto, Gauteng)
Kasi Talent: Zithande; "a cure"

A project embarking on a quest to empower township youth with the freedom to own their own choices and look beyond their present circumstances through story-telling and movement.
 
Lindiwe Matshikiza (GaMothapo, Limpopo; Johannesburg)
One Take Grace

A decade of spontaneous and imaginative archiving has led to this collection of experimental audiovisual poems documenting and interpreting the life of actor and domestic worker, Grace Mothiba Bapela. To mark the project’s transition from documentation to exhibition, the work will be unveiled for the first time in Ms Bapela’s home village of Ga Mothapo in Limpopo.
 
Julie Nxadi (Makhanda, Eastern Cape)
ZOLA: A multi-media narrative installation and performance

The installation is a multi-disciplinary narrative expression that includes but is not limited to physical theatre, choreography, photography, film, literature, and animation. The project (curated by Julie Nxadi) features a collaboration between Grahamstowns' Joza Youth Hub, dance collective Unknown Assets, and mulit-disciplinary art collective Kiosk.
 
Russel Hlongwane (Durban, KwaZulu-Natal)
The Hands that Feed you

The Hands That Feed You: Fumbatha Khangeza is and exhibition and zine-publication that reflects on the dynamics of a global dependency system, tracing maps of economic, political, social and psychological dependency through present day affairs. By using visual gestures, curatorship and design strategies, it points to the flows of waste, surplus and humanitarian “charity pornography” — through which visual hierarchies and generalized prejudice are imposed.
 
Nadine Mckenzie (Cape Town, Western Cape)
ArtsAbility Dance Residency 2019

ArtsAbility Dance Residency is South Africa’s premier Integrated dance training programme for young people living with disability who want to pursue dance as a profession.
 
The Goethe-Institut would like to congratulate the selected projects and looks forward to working with them to see works realised as part of the GPS programme in 2019!
 
We also wish to thank everyone who submitted proposals for this call. The proposals were of a very high standard, and it was not simple to make a selection of the six projects we could support. We wish every artist or collective that put in an application for GPS 2019, and wish all applicants the very best with the important work they are doing.
 
The next open call for proposals will launch in June 2019, with deadline in August 2019. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay tuned!

GPS Projekte 2019
Projekte 2019


GPS © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Das Goethe-Institut ist stolz darauf, die sechs Projekte anzukündigen, die 2019 zur Förderung im Rahmen des Goethe Project Space (GPS) Programms ausgewählt wurden. Eine unabhängige Jury von professionellen Künstlern, bestehend aus Boyzie Cekwana, Nontobeko Ntombela, Carina Truyts und Thato Mokgotsi wählten für das GPS 2019 folgende Projekte:
 
Thokozani Mhlambi (Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal)
Artist Talks

Artist Talks ist eine Chance für neue Künstler mit etabilierten Künstlern zu interagieren und von diesen einige Kniffe des Gewerbes zu lernen. Noch entscheidender ist dabei, dass die Artist Talks eine Chance sind, künstlerische Praxis wie sie von den Künstlern selbst beschrieben, benannt und hochgehalten werden zu archivieren.
 


 
Douglas Sekete (Soweto, Gauteng)
Kasi Talent: Zithande; "a cure"

Ein Projekt, dass sich dem Ziel widmet, die Jugend in Townships mittels Erzählung und Bewegung mit der Freiheit zu versehen, ihre eigenen Entscheidungen zu treffen und jenseits ihrer gegenwärtigen Umstände zu blicken.
 
Lindiwe Matshikiza (GaMothapo, Limpopo; Johannesburg)
One Take Grace

Ein Jahrzehnt spontaner und einfallsreicher Archivierung hat zu dieser Sammlung experimenteller audiovisueller Gedichte geführt, welche das Leben der Hausangestellten Grace Mothiba Bapela dokumentiert und interpretiert. Um den Übergang des Projekts von der Dokumentation zur Ausstellung zu markieren, wird diese Arbeit das erste Mal in Ms Bapelas Heimatdorf Ga Mothapo in Limpopo enthüllt.
 

 
Julie Nxadi (Makhanda, Eastern Cape)
ZOLA: A multi-media narrative installation and performance

Diese Installation ist eine interdisziplinärer erzählerischer Ausdruck, der unter anderem körperliches Theater, Choreografie, Fotografie, Film, Literatur und animation beinhalten. Das Projekt wurde von Julie Nxadi kuratiert und beinhaltet eine Zusammenarbeit des Grahamstown Joza Youth Hub, dem Tanzkollektiv Unknown Assets sowie dem interdisziplinären Künstlerkollektiv Kiosk.
 
Russel Hlongwane (Durban, KwaZulu-Natal)
The Hands that Feed you

The Hands That Feed You: Fumbatha Khangeza ist eine Ausstellung und Magazinpublikation, welche die Dynamik globaler Abhängigkeitssysteme reflektiert und Karten ökonomischer, politischer, sozialer und psychologischer Abhängigkeiten heutiger Gegebenheiten zeichnet. Durch die Verwendung visueller Gesten, Pflegschaften und Design-Strategien, deutet sie auf die Ströme von Abfall, Überfluss und humanitärem "Wohltätigkeitsporno" durch die visuelle Hierarchien und generalisierte Vorurteile auferlegt werden.
 
Nadine Mckenzie (Cape Town, Western Cape)
ArtsAbility Dance Residency 2019

ArtsAbility Dance Residency ist Südafrikas erstes integriertes Tanztrainingsprogramm für junge Menschen mit einer Behinderung, die eine Karriere im Tanz verfolgen möchten.
 
Das Goethe-Institut möchte allen ausgewählten Projekten gratulieren und freut sich darauf mit ihnen zusammen zu arbeiten, damit ihre Werke im Rahmen des GPS-Programms im Jahr 2019 realisiert werden können!
 
Wir möchten außerdem allen danken, die für diesen Aufruf Vorschläge eingereicht haben. Die Vorschläge hatten einen sehr hohen Standard und es war nicht einfach eine Auswahl für die sechs Projekte zu treffen, die wir zu unterstützen in der Lage sind. Wir wünschen allen Künstlern oder Kollektiven die eine Bewerbung für das GPS 2019 eingereicht haben das Allerbeste bei der wichtigen Arbeit, die sie verrichten.
 
Der nächste Aufruf für Vorschläge wird im Juni 2019 ausgerufen und endet im August 2019. Abonniert unseren Newsletter um immer auf dem laufenden zu bleiben!