Shortlisted Artists 2018

Shortlist announced for €20.000 Henrike Grohs art avard

Em’kal Eyongakpa (Cameroon), Georgina Maxim (Zimbabwe) and Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand (Togo) have been shortlisted for the first Henrike Grohs Art Award, conceived by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family. The winner will be announced on 6 March and awarded on 13 March in Abidjan.


Em’kal Eyongakpa is an intermedia artist who approaches the experienced, the unknown, as well as collective histories through a ritual use of repetition and transformation. His recent ideas draw from indigenous knowledge systems and aesthetics, ethnobotany, applied mycology as well as technology.



Georgina Maxim’s work combines weaving, stitch work and the utilisation of found textiles creating objects that evade definition. The dresses are deconstructed, and at times reconstructed to find new ways of giving tribute to and reflection upon the person that owned the original garment.
 

 
In Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand’s sculptural and performance work, he plays with borders and mixes memories, materials and cultural references. Building on traditional Mina culture, his gaze on contemporary society is unique, sometimes ironic and often moving.
 


The Henrike Grohs Art Award is a biennial prize dedicated to artists who are living and working in Africa and practicing in the field of visual arts. It recognises the lifetime achievements of the former Head of the Goethe-Institut in Abidjan, Henrike Grohs, who was killed on 13 March 2016 in a terrorist attack in Grand-Bassam, Côte d’Ivoire.
 
The prize “aims at strengthening artists and encouraging them in their quest for a world of togetherness and dialogue”, said jury members Koyo Kouoh (Artistic Director, RAW Material Company, Dakar), Laurence Bonvin (artist and representative of the Grohs family, Berlin), Raphael Chikukwa (Chief Curator, National Gallery of Zimbabwe, Harare) and Simon Njami (Curator, Paris).
 
 
 

More about the shortlisted artists:

 
Em’kal Eyongakpa
 
Em'kal Eyongakpa (born 1981 in Mamfe, Cameroon) is an intermedia artist who approaches the experienced, the unknown, as well as collective histories through a ritual use of repetition and transformation. His recent ideas increasingly draw from indigenous knowledge systems and aesthetics, ethnobotany, applied mycology as well as technology in his explorations of the personal and the universal. Eyongakpa is also known for self-organised community research projects and autonomous art hubs like KHaL!SHRINE in Yaoundé (2007-2012) and the recently launched sound art and music platform ɛfúkúyú. He holds degrees in Plant biology and Ecology from the University of Yaoundé and was a resident at the Rijksakademie in Amsterdam.
 
Eyongakpa's work has recently been exhibited at the Jakarta Biennale (2017), the 13th Sharjah Biennial (2017), La Biennale de Montreal (2016), the 32nd Bienal de São Paulo (2016), the 9th and 10th Bamako Encounters (2011, 2015), the 10th Biennale de l'art africain contemporain, Dak'art (2012) and at several international art spaces and museums around the world.
 
 
Georgina Maxim
 
Georgina Maxim was born 1980 in Harare, Zimbabwe. Maxim is known for both working as artist and curator with over a decade of arts management and curatorial practice. Maxim together with two other artists (Misheck Masamvu and Gareth Nyandoro) co-founded Village Unhu in 2012, an artist collective space that has been providing studio spaces, exhibitions, workshops and residency programs for artists – young and professional.
 
Georgina Maxim’s work combines weaving, stitch work and the utilisation of found textiles creating objects that evade definition. The dresses are deconstructed, and at times reconstructed to find new ways of giving tribute to and reflection upon the person that owned the original garment. Maxim describes it as ‘the memory of’. Currently, Maxim studies African Verbal and Visual Arts – Languages, Curation and Arts at the University of Bayreuth in Germany.
 
 
Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand
 
Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand – a student at the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris - shares his life and work between Lomé and Paris. Both his sculptural and performance work emanate from the personal experiences of the artist. He plays with borders and mixes memories, materials and cultural references. Building on traditional Mina culture, his gaze on contemporary society is unique, sometimes ironic and often moving.

He is a recipient of the Dauphine Prize for Contemporary Art, the Young Talent Revelation Prize for Plastic Arts ADAGP as well as the Aurige Finance and the Amis des Beaux-Arts et Juvenars-IESA Prize. His work will be displayed at Du Salon Du Dessin in Paris (23-25 March, 2018), as part of a group exhibition at Anne de Villepoix Gallery during the first half of 2018 and in a solo show at Vincent Sator Gallery in April and May 2019.

Shortlist Künstler

Offizielle Nominierungen für den mit 20.000 Euro dotierten Henrike Grohs-Preis für Kunst

Em’kal Eyongakpa (Kamerun), Georgina Maxim (Simbabwe) und Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand (Togo) sind für den ersten Henrike-Grohs-Preis nominiert, der vom Goethe-Institut und der Familie Grohs ins Leben gerufen wurde. Der Preisträger oder die Preisträgerin wurde am 6. März 2018 bekannt gegeben. Die Preisverleihung fand am 13. März 2018 in Abidjan statt.

Em’kal Eyongakpa ist ein intermedialer Künstler, der sich dem Erlebten, dem Unbekannten und der kollektiven Geschichte durch die rituelle Verwendung von Wiederholung und Umformung nähert. Seine jüngsten Konzepte beruhen auf den Wissenssystemen und der Ästhetik seiner Ahnen sowie auf Ethnobotanik, angewandter Mykologie und Technik.



Georgina Maxim verbindet in ihrem Schaffen Web- und Stickarbeiten mit der Verwendung textiler Fundstücke. So entstehen Werke, die sich einer Definition entziehen. Kleidung wird auseinandergenommen und zuweilen neu zusammengesetzt, um innovative Ansätze bei der Würdigung und Betrachtung der Besitzer des ursprünglichen Kleidungsstücks zu finden.

 

 
Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand spielt in Skulptur und Performance mit Grenzen und mischt Erinnerungen, Materialien und kulturelle Bezüge. Aufbauend auf der traditionellen Kultur der Mina ist sein Blick auf die moderne Gesellschaft einzigartig, zuweilen ironisch und häufig berührend.
 


 
Der Henrike-Grohs-Preis für Kunst wird alle zwei Jahre an Künstler und Künstlerinnen verliehen, die in Afrika leben und arbeiten und im Bereich der Bildenden Kunst tätig sind. Er würdigt das Lebenswerk der ehemaligen Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Abidjan, Henrike Grohs, die am 13. März 2016 in Grand-Bassam (Elfenbeinküste) einem terroristischen Anschlag zum Opfer fiel.
 
Der Preis solle „Künstler und Künstlerinnen stärken und sie bei ihrem Streben nach einer Welt der Zusammengehörigkeit und des Dialogs unterstützen“, erläuterten die Jury-Mitglieder Koyo Kouoh (Künstlerische Leiterin, RAW Material Company, Dakar), Laurence Bonvin (Künstlerin und Vertreterin der Familie Grohs, Berlin), Raphael Chikukwa (Chefkurator, Nationalgalerie von Simbabwe, Harare) und Simon Njami (Kurator, Paris).
 

More about the shortlisted artists:

 
Em’kal Eyongakpa
 
Em’kal Eyongakpa (geboren 1981 in Mamfe, Kamerun) ist ein intermedialer Künstler, der sich dem Erlebten, dem Unbekannten und der kollektiven Geschichte durch die rituelle Verwendung von Wiederholung und Umformung nähert. Bei der Ergründung des Persönlichen und des Universalen beruhen seine jüngsten Konzepte zunehmend auf den Wissenssystemen und der Ästhetik seiner Ahnen sowie auf Ethnobotanik, angewandter Mykologie und Technik. Zudem führte Eyongakpa unabhängige Gemeinschafts-Forschungsprojekte durch, gründete den autonomen Kunstraum KHaL!SHRINE in Jaunde (2007–2012) und rief kürzlich die Plattform ɛfúkúyú für Klangkunst und Musik ins Leben. Er absolvierte ein Studium der Pflanzenbiologie und Ökologie an der Universität Jaunde und hatte ein Residenzstipendium an der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam inne.
Eyongakpas Werke wurden auf der Biennale in Jakarta (2017), der 13. Biennale in Schardscha (2017), der Biennale in Montréal (2016), der 32. Biennale in São Paulo (2016), der 9. und 10. Afrikanischen Fotografie-Biennale in Bamako (2011, 2015), der 10. Biennale für zeitgenössische afrikanische Kunst Dak’Art in Dakar (2012) sowie in internationalen Ausstellungsräumen und Museen gezeigt.

 
Georgina Maxim
 
Georgina Maxim wurde 1980 in Harare (Simbabwe) geboren. Maxim ist als Künstlerin und Kuratorin bekannt und verfügt über mehr als ein Jahrzehnt Erfahrung in Kunstmanagement und Kuration. Mit den Künstlern Misheck Masamvu und Gareth Nyandoro gründete sie 2012 den Kunstraum Village Unhu, der Nachwuchstalenten und professionellen Künstlern Ateliers, Ausstellungen, Workshops und Residenzprogramme bietet.
Georgina Maxim verbindet in ihrem Schaffen Web- und Stickarbeiten mit der Verwendung textiler Fundstücke. So entstehen Werke, die sich einer Definition entziehen. Kleidung wird auseinandergenommen und zuweilen neu zusammengesetzt, um innovative Ansätze bei der Würdigung und Betrachtung der Besitzer des ursprünglichen Kleidungsstücks zu finden. Maxim beschreibt diese Werke als „Andenken an“. Derzeit studiert Maxim Afrikanische Sprachen, Literatur und Kunst an der Universität Bayreuth in Deutschland.
 
 
Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand
 
Makouvia Kokou Ferdinand studiert an der École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris und lebt und arbeitet in Lomé und Paris. Sowohl seine Skulpturen als auch seine Performances speisen sich aus den persönlichen Erfahrungen als Künstler. Er spielt mit Grenzen und mischt Erinnerungen, Materialien und kulturelle Bezüge. Aufbauend auf der traditionellen Kultur der Mina ist sein Blick auf die moderne Gesellschaft einzigartig, zuweilen ironisch und häufig berührend. Er wurde mit dem Preis für zeitgenössische Kunst der Universität Paris-Dauphine, dem Nachwuchspreis in der Kategorie Plastik der ADAGP (Société des auteurs dans les arts graphiques et plastiques), dem Preis Aurige Finance der Organisation Les Amis des Beaux-Arts sowie dem Preis Juvenars-IESA ausgezeichnet. Seine Werke werden auf dem Salon Du Dessin in Paris (23.-25. März 2018), im Rahmen einer Gruppenausstellung in der Galerie Anne de Villepoix im ersten Halbjahr 2018 sowie auf einer Einzelausstellung in der Galerie Vincent Sator von April bis Mai 2019 zu sehen sein.