Outreach Foundation 2020 © Earl Abrahams

Outreach Foundation Manual realised through
the International Relief Fund

In 2020, the Outreach Foundation, based in Hillbrow, Johannesburg, received a grant from the International Relief Fund of the Goethe-Institut, the German Federal Foreign Office and other foundations and cultural intermediary organisations. The grant made it possible to continue an intergenerational theatre project that had already been running for five years but would not have been possible in that year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the five years leading up to the 2020 crisis, facilitator Gcebile Dlamini created intergenerational theatre works in which school-going children and youth at the Outreach Foundation Performing Arts Programme collaborated with older persons and people with disabilities at the Tswelopele Frail Care Centre. Each year, this intergenerational collaboration would result in a theatre work.



Because of the restrictions brought about by the COVID-19 lockdown, the project would have been cancelled in 2020, but with the aid of the Relief Fund Grant, it could be reformatted as a participatory film programme. While Gcebile Dlamini continued to lead the creative workshop process, the children in the after-school project and one of the auxiliary social workers from Tswelopele Frail Care Centre received training in filmmaking with cell phones. They were then mentored for eight weeks while they created films about their experiences during the lockdown. 

The outcomes of this process are twofold: firstly, a film was put together from material submitted by the participants in the After School Programme and at Tswelopele. You can view the film here:


The second outcome is a handbook for practitioners of theatre: directors, facilitators, Applied Theatre students and professionals and others interested in advocating for, or engaging in, intergenerational performance practice. The manual is available for download here.

Outreach Foundation Manual 2020

More about the Hillbrow Theatre Project

Hillbrow Theatre on CGTN © CGTN

Hillbrow Theatre on CGTN

As CGTN's Julie Scheier reports, the residents' production based on their stories gives a picture of a true home. Take a look.

Hillbrow Theatre Project © Hillbrow Theatre Project

young@home by Hillbrow Theatre Project

An inter-generational production that brings together the youth and elderly residents of Hillbrow, young@home is a presentation of personal stories of Hillbrow as home.

Outreach Foundation 2020 © Earl Abrahams

Outreach Foundation Manual realised through
the International Relief Fund

Im Jahr 2020 erhielt die Outreach Foundation in Hillbrow, Johannesburg eine Bezuschussung des Internationalen Hilfsfond des Goethe-Instituts, des Deutschen Auswärtigen Amtes sowie weiterer Stiftungen und kulturen Mittlerorganisationen. Diese Bezuschussung machte es möglich, ein generationenüberspannendes Theaterprojekt, welches bereits fünf Jahre in Folge realisiert wurde, das aber das in diesem Jahr aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie nicht hätte stattfinden können.

In den fünf Jahren vor der Krise im Jahr 2020, kreierte Veranstalter Gcebile Dlamini generationenüberspannendes Theaterstücke in dem Schulkinder und Jugendliche aus dem Outreach Foundation Performing Arts Programme mit älteren Menschen und mit Menschen mit einer Behinderung aus dem Tswelopele Frail Care Centre. Jedes Jahr resultierte diese Zusammenarbeit in einem Theaterstück.


Aufgrund der Einschränkungen die von COVID-19 verursacht wurden, wäre das Projekt im Jahr 2020 abgesagt worden, aber mit der Unterstützung des Hilfsfonds konnte es als ein Filmprogramm in einem anderen Format stattfinden. Während Gcebile Dlamini weiterhin den kreativen Workshop leitete, erhielten die Kinder im After School Programme und einer der helfenden Sozialarbeiter des Tswelopele Frail Care Centre Unterricht darin, Filme mit Handys zu drehen. Anschließend erhielten sie acht Wochen lang beraten, während sie Filme über ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen im Lockdown erstellten.

Die Ergebnisse dieses Prozesses sind zweifach: Zunächst wurde ein Film aus dem Material des After School Programme und in Tswelopele zusammengestellt. 
Den Film können Sie hier sehen:

Das zweite Ergebnis ist ein Handbuch für Theaterpraktizierende: Regisseure, Veranstalter, Theaterstudenten und Professionelle sowie andere Interessierte.
Das Handbuch steht hier zum Download bereit. 

Outreach Foundation Manual 2020

Mehr über das Hillbrow Theatre Project

Hillbrow Theatre on CGTN © CGTN

Das Hillbrow Theatre auf CGTN

Julie Scheier von CGTN berichtet, zeichnet das Theaterstück basierend auf den Lebensgeschichten von Bewohnern der Gegend das Bild einer wahren Heimat.

Hillbrow Theatre Project © Hillbrow Theatre Project

young@home produziert vom Hillbrow Theatre Project

Als eine intergenerationale Theaterproduktion, die jung und alt zusammenbringt, ist young@home eine Repräsentation persönlicher Geschichten aus Hillbrow.