Pop-Up Drive-In

Pop-Up Drive-In © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

In the 20th century, the Drive-in was synonymous with Johannesburg culture. A Friday night at the flicks, either with the whole family and a picnic hamper, or on a hot date at a horror show, was an institution of Johannesburg social life that older residents on one side of the apartheid racial divide saw slip away with a sense of nostalgia. Many Johannesburgers from the other side of the divide were left with a sense of losing something which they only just started to have access to as it was disappearing. Around the time the Top Star Drive-in – perched abbove the City Centre on the massive mine dump just South of the M2 - disappeared, Johannesburgers were forced to accept that the drive-in was now a thing of the past. 

Recently, however, new technology and an appetite for unique experiences has led to a revival of the drive-in, at least in pop-up form. The Goethe-Institut is happy to play a role in this revival, and proud to use this opportunity to introduce four of the groundbreaking recent films from around the African continent that are included in the African Film Package curated by Katarina Hedren of the Goethe-Institut.

The pop-up drive-in was presented on the parking lot of Fox Junction, 1 Fox Street in Marshalltown. The area was well secured and in conformity with COVID regulations. 

The four films were: 

Frontières (2019), directed by Appoline Traoré, a road adventure film about the journey by bus of four West African women from Dakar to Lagos
 
aKasha (2018) directed by Hajooj Kuka, a Sudanese comedic film about a Sundanese soldier caught between his love for his girlfriend and his AK-47;

Rafiki (2018), directed by Wanuri Kahiu, the multi-award winning story of two young women finding friendship and love in a Nairobi housing estate. Rafiki is the first Kenyan feature film to be invited to Cannes Film Festival 2018 as part of the official Un Certain Regard selection;

Burkinabe, directed by Nthato Mokgata & Carla Fonseca, a road movie in which a young woman looking for her roots, but she finds spiritual awakening with the help of a kind stranger.

The African Film Package curated by Katarina Hedren of the Goethe-Institut was put together in 2019 with the help of Katarina Hedren of the First Wednesday Film Club, and the able team of Big World Cinema. The package made it possible for the five films in the package to be screened in Ethiopia, Angola, Eritrea, Burkina Faso; Ghana; Rwanda; Senegal; Côte D’Ivoire; the DRC; Nigeria; Cameroon; Namibia, Tanzania – and because of this project also in Johannesburg.

Due to social distancing regulations, admittance was stricly controlled, and only guests who had RSVPd and registered in advance were admitted.

Pop-Up Drive-In

Pop-Up Drive-In © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Im 20. Jahrhundert war das Autokino gleichbedeutend mit der Johannesburger Kultur. Ein Freitagabend im Autokino, entweder mit der ganzen Familie und einem Picknickkorb oder bei einem Horrorstreifen mit einem heißen Date... das war eine Institution des gesellschaftlichen Lebens in Johannesburg, welches die älteren Bewohner auf der einen Seite der Apartheid-Rassentrennung mit einem Gefühl der Nostalgie verschwinden sahen. Viele Johannesburger von der anderen Seite der Trennung hatten das Gefühl, etwas zu verlieren, zu dem sie gerade erst Zugang bekommen hatten, als es verschwand. Als dasTop Star Drive-In – welches über dem Stadtzentrum auf der riesigen Minenhalde gerade südlich der M2 thronte – verschwand, mussten die Johannesburger akzeptieren, dass das Autokino nun der Vergangenheit angehörte. 

In letzter Zeit jedoch haben neue Technologien und der Appetit auf neue Erlebnisse zu einem Aufleben des Autokinos geführt, zumindest in der Pop-up-Form. Das Goethe-Institut freut sich an dieser Neubelebung mitwirken zu können und nutzt mit Stolz diese Gelegenheit, vier der bahnbrechenden aktuellen Filme des gesamten afrikanischen Kontinents vorzustellen, die im African Film Package kuratiert von Katarina Hedren, enthalten sind. 

Das Pop-up Autokino wurde auf dem Parkplatz von Fox Junction, 1 Fox Street in Marshalltown abgehalten. Der Bereich war gut abgesichert, in Einklang mit Covid-Regulationen.

Die vier Filme waren:  

Frontières (2019), unter der Regie von Appoline Traoré, ein Road-Abenteuer-Film über die Busreise von vier westafrikanischen Frauen von Dakar nach Lagos; 

aKasha (2018), unter der Regie von Hajooj Kuka, eine sudanesische Komödie über einen Soldaten, der sich in der Zwickmühle zwischen seiner Liebe zu seiner Freundin und seiner AK-47 befindet; 

Rafiki (2018), unter der Regie von Wanuri Kahiu, die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Geschichte zwei junger Frauen, die in einer Wohnsiedlung in Nairobi Freundschaft und Liebe finden. Rafiki ist der erste kenianische Spielfilm, der im Rahmen der offiziellen „Un Certain Regard“-Auswahl zu den Filmfestspielen von Cannes 2018 eingeladen wurde; 

Burkinabe, unter der Regie von Nthato Mokgata & Carla Fonseca, ein Road-Movie, in dem eine junge Frau auf der Suche nach ihren Wurzeln ist. Stattdessen erfährt sie spirituelles Erwachen mit Hilfe eines freundlichen Fremden. 

Das African Film Package wurde 2019 mit Hilfe von Katarina Hedren vom First Wednesday Film Club und dem fähigen Team des Big World Cinema zusammengestellt. Das Paket ermöglichte es, die fünf Filme des Pakets in Äthiopien, Angola, Eritrea, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Ruanda, Senegal, der Elfenbeinküste, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Nigeria, Kamerun, Namibia, Tansania zu zeigen – und wegen dieses Projekts nun auch in Johannesburg. 

Aufgrund der Covid-Abstandsregeln wurde die Zulassung streng kontrolliert, und nur Gäste, die auf das Einladungsschreiben geantwortet und sich im Voraus registriert hatten, wurden zugelassen.