Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Science Film Festival

Science Film Festival

Science Film Festival Website

The Science Film Festival

The Science Film Festival aims to inspire a young generation of scientists through film screenings and related play-based learning activities. It is a celebration of science communication in Southeast Asia, South Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Latin America: In cooperation with local partners, it promotes science literacy and facilitates awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through international films with accompanying educational activities. The event has grown considerably since its first edition in 2005, becoming the largest event of its kind worldwide. The Science Film Festival runs internationally in 30 countries from October 1 to December 20 every year with varying dates between participating countries. This year, the festival received 161 films from 34 countries for selection.  

For the second year, Goethe-Institut South Africa has partnered with Play Africa to bring the Science Film Festival to children in Johannesburg. More than 300 children will take part in this dynamic global film festival that aims to be accessible, entertaining and fun. The festival will take place at several locations in the inner-city, bringing the wonder and awe of scientific subjects directly to children in their own classrooms and communities. Due to Covid-19 and unlike last year, when the screenings happened at Constitution Hill, where Play Africa is based, an innovative and safe solution had to be found for 2020. Therefore, Play Africa has partnered with inner-city housing companies and schools to offer relevant and meaningful educational experiences to children in high-rise apartment buildings. 
For more information on Play Africa, please visit https://playafrica.org.za/
Play Africa Logo © Play Africa
In partnership with the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), this year’s theme is the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which were created to be a “shared vision of humanity and a social contract between the world's leaders and the people.” The ambitious goals to fix climate change, end poverty and fight inequality and injustice were designed to motivate citizens, not just policy-makers. So Play Africa will use this year’s theme to emphasize the role of all children in society. 
Play Africa, a children’s museum based at Constitution Hill, will use the film screenings and related activities to promote science literacy and build awareness of scientific, technical and environmental issues through films and hands-on educational activities. 
In 2017, the Science Film Festival cam to sub-sahara Africa for the first time and will be executed in Burkina Faso, Ethiopia,Kenia,  Namibia, Rwanda and South Africa this year.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Science Film Festival

Science Film Festival

Science Film Festival Website

Das Science Film Festival

Das Science Film Festival will Kinder und Jugendliche für Naturwissenschaften begeistern. Das Festival wird jedes Jahr zwischen dem 1. Oktober und 20. Dezember in insgesamt 30 Ländern Südostasiens, Südasiens, Afrikas, dem Nahen Osten und Lateinamerikas ausgeführt: In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern fördert es die Wissenschaftskompetenz und das Bewusstsein für aktuelle wissenschaftliche, technologische und umweltbezogene Themen. Das Festival ist seit seiner ersten Ausgabe im Jahr 2005 erheblich gewachsen und hat sich zur weltweit größten Veranstaltung seiner Art entwickelt. Dieses Jahr erhielt das Festival 161 Einreichungen aus 34 Ländern für seine Filmauswahl.

Bereits zum zweiten Mal hat sich das Goethe-Institut Südafrika mit Play Africa, dem Kindermuseum am Constitution Hill, zusammengetan, um das Science Film Festival nach Johannesburg zu bringen. Im Oktober werden mehr als 300 Kinder an verschiedenen Orten der Innenstadt eine Auswahl der Filme sehen und danach Experimente durchführen können. Aufgrund von Covid-19 musste für 2020 eine innovative und sichere Lösung gefunden werden. Aus diesem Grund hat sich Play Africa mit innerstädtischen Wohnungsunternehmen und Schulen zusammengetan, um Kindern an ihren Wohnorten oder in ihren Klassenräumen relevante und aussagekräftige Bildungserfahrungen zu bieten.
Für mehr Informationen über Play Africa, besuchen sie bitte https://playafrica.org.za/
Play Africa Logo © Play Africa
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) werden in diesem Jahr die 17 Ziele der Vereinten Nationen für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) thematisiert, die als „gemeinsame Vision der Menschheit und als sozialer Vertrag zwischen den Staats- und Regierungschefs der Welt und den Menschen“ geschaffen wurden. Die ehrgeizigen Ziele zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels, zur Beendigung der Armut und zur Bekämpfung von Ungleichheit und Ungerechtigkeit sollten die Bürger und nicht nur die politischen Entscheidungsträger motivieren. Play Africa wird das diesjährige Thema nutzen, um die Rolle von Kindern in der Gesellschaft hervorzuheben. 
Im Jahr 2017 kam das Science Film Festival zum ersten Mal nach Sub-sahara Afrika und wird dieses Jahr in Äthiopien, Burkina Faso, Kenia, Namibia, Ruanda und Südafrika durchgeführt.

Top