Sustainable Together

Sustainable Together Logo © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

'Sustainable Together' is a regional project that focuses on sustainability and civil society initiatives that seek to make an impactful contribution to improving (local) environment. The project does this in two ways: through public engagement like webinars or a talk series and by supporting activities and initiatives that emerge from these. Besides Johannesburg, the Goethe-Instituts Addis Ababa, Kigali and Luanda are involved. In South Africa, the project is carried out in partnership with the British Council. 
The focus of the 3-part discussion series was on the concept of the circular as an alternative to the linear economy. However, discourses in the global north often do not suffice and have to be re-conceptualized for Southern Africa.
From each of the discussions, a follow-up project emerged, which for instance deals with the decolonization of the food system or the further processing of biodegradable re-sellable materials in order for marginalized groups to earn an income. 

The project is being continued in 2021.
 

Precious Waste

In Johannesburg, thousands of people sort and re-sell recyclables on a daily basis. Thanks to these reclaimers, who collect almost 90% of these materials, South Africa achieves a higher recycling rate than many European countries. However, despite these impressive numbers, municipalities and policy-makers often overlook this sector.
This conversation addresses an inclusive circular economy and how civil society can support reclaimers.

A conversation between Dr Melanie Samson (Senior Lecturer in Human Geography, Wits University) and Luyanda Hlatshwayo (African Reclaimers Organisation). Moderated by Dr Tanya Zack (Writer, Researcher, Policy Developer).
 

Planetary Design

This edition takes a closer look at the concepts of circular economy, wellbeing economy and degrowth as counter concepts to a currently linear economy. In this discourse, concepts from the global North most often don’t suffice and are reconfigured for Southern Africa. 
The speakers present alternatives to this way of consuming and producing by telling more about their projects in design, asking questions around rethinking ownership and how design can better adapt to people’s needs and local conditions.

A conversation between Naa Obeye (director of Kali Etch), Vanessa Nsona (founder of Dorovee), Matthew Edwards (designer and co-founder of Big Circle Studios) and Simon Sizwe Mayson (changemaker, PhD candidate). Moderated by Thobile Chittenden (CEO, Makers Valley Partnership).
 

Urban Farming 

The third and final edition of 2020 of the Sustainable Together talk series takes a closer look at the topics of food sovereignty and food security. 
54% of South Africans are hungry or at risk of hunger. Hunger is a violation of human rights and has an impact on health, education and not least dignity. Urban farming initiatives make a big difference in providing families with fresh produce and the skills to continue growing their own food. Yet, they cannot solve everything. 
The panellists speak about the concepts of food sovereignty and security and present (urban) farming initiatives and the role they play for civil society.  

A conversation between Dr. Brittany Kesselman (researcher, Wits University), Moleboge Lekwane (Tshadilema), Dorah Marema (Ubuntu project / Seed Community) and Tshidi Molebatsi (Tshadilema). Moderated by Kate Gardner (British Council / REEL Gardening).

Sustainable Together

Sustainable Together Logo © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Durch 'Sustainable Together' sollen vor allem jene Initiativen der Zivilgesellschaft unterstützt und gestärkt werden, die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit in den Fokus nehmen und einen wirksamen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der (lokalen) Umwelt leisten. Dies will das Projekt zum einen durch öffentliche Diskussionen und Webinare erreichen, zum anderen durch konkrete Unterstützung einzelner Maßnahmen, die aus diesen hervorgehen. Neben Südafrika sind auch die Goethe-Institute Addis Abeba, Kigali und Luanda beteiligt. In Südafrika wird das Projekt in Partnerschaft mit dem British Council durchgeführt. 
Der Fokus der 3-teiligen Gesprächsreihe lag auf dem Konzept der ‚Circular Economy‘ als Gegenentwurf zu einer linearen Ökonomie, in der man mit Ressourcen Produkte herstellt, die zu Abfall werden, sobald sie unbrauchbar sind. Jedoch greifen auch hier Diskurse des globalen Nordens oft nicht hinreichend und müssen für das südliche Afrika rekonzeptualisiert werden. 
Aus jeder der Veranstaltungen entstand ein Folgeprojekt, das sich u.a. mit so vielfältigen Themen wie der Dekolonisierung des Nahrungsmittelsystems oder auch der Weiterverarbeitung biologisch abbaubarer Materialien und der damit verbundenen möglichen Einkommensgenerierung für marginalisierte Gruppen beschäftigt.

Das Projekt wird in 2021 fortgeführt.
 

Precious Waste

Diese Veranstaltung thematisierte die Rolle informeller Recycler und Recyclerinnen in Johannesburg und stellte die Frage, wie sich jeder einzelne mehr engagieren kann. 
In Johannesburg sortieren und verkaufen täglich Tausende von Menschen Wertstoffe. Dank der Reclaimer, die fast 90% dieser Materialien sammeln, erzielt Südafrika eine höhere Recyclingrate als viele europäische Länder. Trotz dieser beeindruckenden Zahlen übersehen Kommunen und politische Entscheidungsträger diesen informellen Sektor zu oft. 
 

Ein Gespräch zwischen Dr. Melanie Samson (Humangeographie, Wits University) und Luyanda Hlatshwayo (African Reclaimers Organization). Moderiert von Dr. Tanya Zack (Autorin).
 

Planetary Design

In dieser Folge wurden die Konzepte der Kreislaufwirtschaft, Wohlstandsökonomie und des Wachstums näher betrachtet und als Gegenkonzepte zu unserer derzeit linearen Wirtschaft beleuchtet. In diesem Diskurs reichen Konzepte aus dem globalen Norden meistens nicht aus und werden daher für das südliche Afrika neu konfiguriert.
Die Referenten stellten anhand ihrer Designprojekte Alternativen zu einer herkömmlichen Art des Konsumierens und Produzierens vor und regen zum Um- oder Andersdenken von Konzepten, wie zum Beispiel Eigentum an.

Ein Gespräch zwischen Naa Obeye (Direktorin von Kali Etch), Vanessa Nsona (Gründerin von Dorovee), Matthew Edwards (Designer, Big Circle Studios) und Simon Sizwe Mayson (Changemaker). Moderiert von Thobile Chittenden (CEO, Makers Valley Partnership).
 

Urban Farming 

Die dritte und letzte Ausgabe des Jahres 2020 beschäftigte sich mit den Themen Ernährungssouveränität und Ernährungssicherung.
54% der Südafrikaner sind hungrig oder von Hunger bedroht. Diese Zahl hat während der Covid-19-Pandemie zugenommen. Hunger ist eine Verletzung der Menschenrechte und wirkt sich auf Gesundheit, Bildung und nicht zuletzt auf die Würde des Menschen aus. Städtische Landwirtschaftsinitiativen leisten einen großen Beitrag in der Bekämpfung von Nahrungsmittelknappheit, jedoch sind auch sie kein Allheilmittel.
Die Diskussionsteilnehmer sprechen über die Konzepte der Ernährungssouveränität und –sicherung und stellen (städtische) Landwirtschaftsinitiativen und ihre Rolle für die Zivilgesellschaft vor.

Ein Gespräch zwischen Dr. Brittany Kesselman (Wits University), Moleboge Lekwane (Tshadilema), Dorah Marema (Ubuntu-Projekt / Seed Community) und Tshidi Molebatsi (Tshadilema). Moderiert von Kate Gardner (British Council / REEL Gardening).