Archive of Forgetfulness © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Archive of Forgetfulness

The Archive of Forgetfulness online exhibition is live since the 12th of April 2021. We received over 300 submissions and 27 projects were selected for the online exhibition. Click here to go to the website.

Archive of Forgetfulness is an online exhibition. The Covid-19 pandemic has laid bare the frailty of basic urban infrastructure for so many. As states continue to wrestle the spread of the virus, the restrictions placed on movement, from regimented stay-at-home orders to the mass closure of borders has led to widespread immobility. Attendant as the project is, to our heightened sense of being and breathing in this world, we are also acutely aware of the longer and deeper histories of forced immobility and segregation, and of the extractive infrastructures and racial violence made material in how cities across the African continent were imagined. Drawing inspiration from Mahmoud Darwish’s prose Memory for Forgetfulness (1987), the exhibition questions how we might engage with what exists in the failure of memory, and that which can no longer be spoken; yet also acknowledges forgetting as an active part of remembering.

The Archive of Forgetfulness is an archive of mobility, infrastructure and story-telling; it holds together acts of remembering, collecting and gathering stories often untold. The contributions renew lines of connections, resurface forgotten conversations, and establish the beginnings of future collaborations. This project is a space for interrogating the archival gesture, from the bodily and spoken, to the written and performed.

The exhibition includes works by: Aleya Kassam (Kenya), Arafa Cynthia Hamadi (Tanzania/Kenya), Caio Simões de Araújo (South Africa), Cheriese Dilrajh (South Africa), DORMANTYOUTH (South Africa), Kamel Ghabte & Zouhair Lalaam (Morocco), Kwasi Darko (Ghana), Leandro Goddinho (Brazil), Lo-Def Film Factory (South Africa), Magolide Collective (South Africa), Malebona Maphutse (South Africa), Margarida Waco (Angola), Maria Gabriela Carrilho Aragão (Mozambique), Michael Salu (Nigeria), Moad Musbahi (Libya), Nkeiruka Oruche (Nigeria/USA), Nkgopoleng Moloi (South Africa), Nombuso Mathibela (South Africa), Princia Matungulu (Congo/South Africa), Rania Atef (Egypt), Shayna Rosendorff (South Africa), Sharief Zohairy (Egypt), Sonya Mwambu (Uganda), Hamedine Kane (Senegal/Mauritania) & Stéphane Verlet-Bottéro (France), Thelma Ndebele (South Africa), Tshifhiwa Itai Ratshiungo (South Africa), Umlilo (South Africa), and Wanjeri Gakuru (Kenya).

The project includes an 8-part podcast series, Conversations with Neighbours curated by Huda Tayob and Bongani Kona (September 2020- February 2021); an online exhibition in response to an open call; and a series of 6 regional projects which will unfold throughout 2021 curated by Ali Al-Adawy (Egypt), Eric Ngangare (Rwanda),  Jumoke Sanwo (Nigeria), Omnia Shawkat (Sudan), Princess Mhlongo (South Africa), and Zoubida Mseffer (Morocco). 

Follow us at @archiveofforgetfulness (IG) and @AoForgetfulness (Twitter) as the project unfolds. 
Or email us at Archiveofforgetfulness@gmail.com
Top

Archive of Forgetfulness © Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

Archive of Forgetfulness

Die Online-Ausstellung Archive of Forgetfulness ist seit dem 12.04.2021 eröffnet. Wir erhielten über 300 Einreichungen, wovon 27 Projekte für die Ausstellung erwählt wurden. Klicken sie hier, um auf die Website zu gelangen. 

Die Covid-19-Pandemie hat die Zerbrechlichkeit urbaner Infrastrukturen offengelegt. Während Staaten nach wie vor mit der Ausbreitung des Virus ringen haben die Einschränkungen der Bewegunsfreiheit, von Ausgangsbeschränkungen bis zu Grenzschließungen, habe zu weit verbreiteter Immobilität geführt. Während sich das Projekt akut der aktuellen Umstände bewusst ist, bedenkt es auch die langfristigeren und tiefgehenderen historischen Umstände der Bewegungslosigkeit und Segregation, der extraktiven Infrastrukturen und Rassengewalt welche sich in dem Design von Städten über den gesamten afrikanischen Kontinent manifestiert. Die Ausstellung bezieht Inspiration von Mahmoud Darwishs prosa Memory of Forgetfulness (1987) und stellt infrage wie wir womöglich mit dem Scheitern der Erinnerung und dem nicht länger Aussprechbaren interagieren können, erkennt aber auch das Vergessen als einen aktiven Teil des Erinnerns an. 

The Archive of Forgetfulness ist ein Archiv der Mobilität, Infrastruktur und des Erzählens. Sie umfasst Akte des Erinnerns, des Sammelns und des Erfassens oft unerzählter Geschichten. Die Beiträge erneuern Verbindungen, decken vergessene Konversationen wieder auf und etablieren den Beginn zukünftiger Kollaborationen. Das Projekt ist ein Raum zur Befragung der archivischen Geste, von dem Köprerlichen und Gesprochenen zum Geschriebenen und Aufgeführten.

Die Ausstellungen beinhalten Werke von: Aleya Kassam (Kenia), Arafa Cynthia Hamadi (Tanzania/Kenia), Caio Simões de Araújo (Südafrika), Cheriese Dilrajh (Südafrika), DORMANTYOUTH (Südafrika), Kamel Ghabte & Zouhair Lalaam (Marokko), Kwasi Darko (Ghana), Leandro Goddinho (Brasilien), Lo-Def Film Factory (Südafrika), Magolide Collective (Südafrika), Malebona Maphutse (Südafrika), Margarida Waco (Angola), Maria Gabriela Carrilho Aragão (Mozambik), Michael Salu (Nigeria), Moad Musbahi (Libyen), Nkeiruka Oruche (Nigeria/USA), Nkgopoleng Moloi (Südafrika), Nombuso Mathibela (Südafrika), Princia Matungulu (Kongo/Südafrika), Rania Atef (Ägypten), Shayna Rosendorff (Südafrika), Sharief Zohairy (Ägypten), Sonya Mwambu (Uganda), Hamedine Kane (Senegal/Mauretanien) & Stéphane Verlet-Bottéro (Frankreich), Thelma Ndebele (Südafrika), Tshifhiwa Itai Ratshiungo (Südafrika, Umlilo (Südafrika), and Wanjeri Gakuru (Kenia).

Das Projekt beinhaltet einen achtteiligen Podcast namens Conversations with Neighbours kuratiert von Huday Tayob und Bongani Kona (September 2020 - Februar 2021); eine Online-Ausstellung als folge einer Ausschreibung; sowie eine Reihe sechs regionaler Projekte, welche über das Jahr 2021 realisiert werden und welche von Ali Al-Adawy (Ägypten), Eric Ngangare (Rwanda),  Jumoke Sanwo (Nigeria), Omnia Shawkat (Sudan), Princess Mhlongo (Südafrika), und Zoubida Mseffer (Marokko) kuratiert werden. 

Folgen Sie dem Projekt unter @archiveofforgetfulness (IG) and @AoForgetfulness (Twitter), um mehr über das Projekt zu erfahren
Oder schreiben sie uns eine E-Mail unter Archiveofforgetfulness@gmail.com
Top