Science Film Festival

The Science Film Festival

The Science Film Festival is a celebration of science communication in Southeast Asia, South Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Latin America. In cooperation with local partners, it promotes science literacy and facilitates awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues through international films with accompanying educational activities. The event has grown considerably since its first edition in 2005, becoming the largest event of its kind worldwide. The Science Film Festival runs internationally in 30 countries from October 1 to December 20 every year with varying dates between participating countries. 
In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, in 2021 the Science Film Festival turned its focus to health and mental well-being.

For the third year, Goethe-Institut South Africa has partnered with Play Africa to bring the Science Film Festival to children in Johannesburg. Between October and December 2020, more than 300 children were part of this dynamic global film festival that is accessible, entertaining and fun. The festival took place at several locations in the inner-city, bringing the wonder and awe of science education directly to children in their own classrooms and communities. Due to Covid-19 and unlike previous years when the screenings happened at Constitution Hill, an innovative and safe solution had to be found for 2020. Therefore, Play Africa has partnered with inner-city housing companies and schools to offer relevant and meaningful educational experiences to children. For more information on Play Africa, please visit https://playafrica.org.za/

In partnership with the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), the theme for 2020 was the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Play Africa used the theme to emphasize the role of all children in society.

Play Africa Logo
© Play Africa
In 2017, the Science Film Festival came to sub-Sahara Africa for the first time and in 2021 the participating countries of the region are Angola, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Kenia, Mozambique, Mali, Namibia, Rwanda and South Africa.
The theme for 2021 'Better health through better understanding’, focuses on physical and mental health.
 
Top

Science Film Festival

Das Science Film Festival

Das Science Film Festival will Kinder und Jugendliche für Naturwissenschaften begeistern. Das Festival wird jedes Jahr zwischen dem 1. Oktober und 20. Dezember in insgesamt 30 Ländern Südostasiens, Südasiens, Afrikas, dem Nahen Osten und Lateinamerikas ausgeführt: In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern fördert es die Wissenschaftskompetenz und das Bewusstsein für aktuelle wissenschaftliche, technologische und umweltbezogene Themen. Das Festival ist seit seiner ersten Ausgabe im Jahr 2005 erheblich gewachsen und hat sich zur weltweit größten Veranstaltung seiner Art entwickelt. 
 
Bereits zum zweiten Mal hat sich das Goethe-Institut Südafrika mit Play Africa, dem Kindermuseum am Constitution Hill, zusammengetan, um das Science Film Festival in Johannesburg auszutragen. Zwischen Oktober und Dezember 2020 konnten insgesamt über 300 Kinder an verschiedenen Orten der Innenstadt eine Auswahl der Filme sehen und im Anschluss Experimente durchführen. Aufgrund von Covid-19 musste für 2020 eine innovative und sichere Lösung gefunden werden. Aus diesem Grund hat sich Play Africa mit innerstädtischen Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften und Schulen zusammengetan, um Kindern an ihren Wohnorten oder in ihren Klassenräumen die Teilnahme am Science Film Festival zu ermöglichen .
Für mehr Informationen über Play Africa, besuchen Sie bitte https://playafrica.org.za/

Play Africa Logo
© Play Africa
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) standen in 2020 die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) im Fokus. Play Africa hat dieses Thema vor allem genutzt, um die Rolle von Kindern in und für die Gesellschaft hervorzuheben. 

Im Jahr 2017 kam das Science Film Festival zum ersten Mal nach Sub-sahara Afrika und wird dieses Jahr in Äthiopien, Burkina Faso, Kenia, Namibia, Ruanda und Südafrika durchgeführt.

Das Thema für das Jahr 2021 fokussiert mit dem Titel ‚Better health through better understanding‘ Gesundheit und mentales Wohlbefinden.
 
Top