Panel Discussion Re-imagining the game cycle: Representation in game content and content creators

Every Gamer Counts © Goethe-Institut

Fri, 16.09.2022

18:00 - 19:30

Online

The panel discussions aim to explore diversity and inclusion in the gaming industry and seek to cater for people interested in e-sport, game development, and game like applications.

This panel discussion seeks to explore the challenges and struggles faced in making diverse content in gaming.

Moderation

Sithe Ncube has been a part of the African game development scene since 2013 beginning with small community events in her hometown Lusaka, Zambia. Her participation grew locally as a regional organiser for Global Game Jam in Sub-Saharan Africa, various talks and events focused on game development in Africa. She is currently an Associate Producer at Nyamakop and a strategic advisor for Humble Games' Black Game Developer Fund. Sithe also documents African Women in Games through her website.
Website

Panelists

Aluta Null is a digital artist and game developer. Born and raised in Johannesburg, much of their work has been influenced by the abundance of contrast that is found in Joburg and the tension that arises when these opposing elements interact. They work in a variety of mediums including extended reality, videos, and games to create interactive art that is both personal and political. Null’s work deals with politics, perception, and emotions.
Twitter Instagram

Wendi Ndaki is passionate about the fusion of art and technology and is the founder of Wendi Art IT. She is a writer and a visual artist with a Bachelor’s degree in Information Systems Technology from the United States International University- Africa. She has worked in the gaming industry as a writer for 4 years now and she aims to demystify the rising gaming industry one story at a time. She is currently doing so through articles for clients such as Games Industry Africa, PreMortem Games and Jiwe Studios as well as through engaging educational animated content on her company’s YouTube channel.
Linktr.ee

Eduardo Cachucho is the Creative Director for the Fak'ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival. He is a programme consultant, artist and ex-architect. He has worked in digital innovation in the creative sector for over a decade both locally and internationally, believing that digital creative practices are the key to sustainable empowerment in South Africa and across the countries of Africa.

Alice Seremane has always been playful... but games just allowed her to unlock a new level to her persona and creativity. She started playing at a young age; from board games to keyboard to console. Her passion for games propelled her to study and obtain her qualification in game design from the University of Witwatersrand. Her interest is on making difficult subject matters into playable material for subconscious learning. This led her to becoming a lecturer at Vega School as well as the University of Witwatersrand for game design. She continues to research further on how to make games for learning more accessible and fun as she believes it is a fundamental part of learning often overlooked.

Register to attend the Re-Imagining the Game Cycle - Representation in Game Content and Content creators here.

About the project

#EveryGamerCounts aims to strengthen the inclusion, networking and visibility of underrepresented groups in the South African gaming scene and creates platforms that put the issue of diversity up for discussion.

By organising game jams and panel discussions, where experts from all over the world discuss current issues in e-sports and the gaming community, it seeks to challenge existing stereotypes and raise awareness of obstacles faced by women, minorities and people with disabilities in the industry.

Together, we are thus working for more equal opportunities to contribute to a higher proportion of women, minorities and underrepresented groups in the computer games industry and to more diversity in computer games in the medium term.

Back

Panel Diskussion Spielkreisläufe neu denken: Repräsentation in Spielinhalten und Inhaltserstellern

Fr, 16.09.2022

18:00 – 19:30

Online

Die Diskussionsreihe befasst sich mit Vielfalt und Inklusion in der Spieleindustrie. Die Veranstaltungen richten sich an Personen, die sich für e-sport, Spiele und spielähnliche Anwendungen interessieren.

Bei dieser Podiumsdiskussion geht es um die Herausforderungen und Schwierigkeiten, die sich bei der Erstellung vielfältiger Inhalte in der Spielebranche ergeben.

Moderation

Sithe Ncube ist seit 2013 Teil der afrikanischen Spieleentwicklungsszene und begann mit kleinen Gemeinschaftsveranstaltungen in ihrer Heimatstadt Lusaka, Sambia. Ihre Beteiligung wuchs auf lokaler Ebene als regionale Organisatorin des Global Game Jam in Subsahara-Afrika sowie bei verschiedenen Vorträgen und Veranstaltungen zum Thema Spieleentwicklung in Afrika. Derzeit ist sie Associate Producer bei Nyamakop und strategische Beraterin für den Black Game Developer Fund von Humble Games. Sithe dokumentiert auch African Women in Games auf ihrer Website.
Website

Expert*innen

Aluta Null ist eine digitale Künstlerin und Spieleentwicklerin. Geboren und aufgewachsen in Johannesburg, wurde ein Großteil ihrer Arbeit von der Fülle der Kontraste in Joburg und der Spannung beeinflusst, die entsteht, wenn gegensätzlichen Elemente aufeinander treffen. Sie arbeitet mit einer Vielzahl von Medien, darunter extended reality, Videos und Spiele, um interaktive Kunst zu schaffen, die sowohl persönlich als auch politisch ist. Nulls Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit Politik, Wahrnehmung und Emotionen.
Twitter Instagram

Wendi Ndaki ist an der Verschmelzung von Kunst und Technologie interessiert und ist die Gründerin von Wendi Art IT. Sie ist Schriftstellerin und bildende Künstlerin und hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Information Systems Technology von der United States International University - Africa. Sie arbeitet seit 4 Jahren als Autorin in der Spieleindustrie und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt die aufstrebende Spieleindustrie zu entmystifizieren, eine Geschichte nach der anderen. Zurzeit tut sie dies durch Artikel für Kunden wie Games Industry Africa, PreMortem Games und Jiwe Studios sowie durch ansprechende animierte Inhalte auf dem YouTube-Kanal ihres Unternehmens.
Linktr.ee

Eduardo Cachucho ist kreativer Direktor des Fak'ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival. Er ist Programmberater, Künstler und Ex-Architekt. Seit über einem Jahrzehnt arbeitet er im Bereich der digitalen Innovation im Kreativsektor, sowohl auf lokaler als auch auf internationaler Ebene. Er ist davon überzeugt, dass digitale kreative Praktiken der Schlüssel zu nachhaltigem Empowerment in Südafrika und in allen Ländern Afrikas sind.

Alice Seremane war schon immer verspielt... aber Spiele haben es ihr ermöglicht, eine neue Ebene ihrer Persönlichkeit und Kreativität zu erschließen. Sie begann schon in jungen Jahren zu spielen; von Brettspielen über Keyboard bis zur Konsole. Ihre Leidenschaft für Spiele trieb sie dazu an, an der University of Witwatersrand zu studieren und ihre Qualifikation in Game Design zu erwerben. Ihr Interesse gilt der Umsetzung schwieriger Themen in spielbares Material für unterbewusstes Lernen zu verwandeln. Dies führte dazu, dass sie als Dozentin an der Vega School sowie an der University of Witwatersrand für Spieldesign lehrt. Sie erforscht, wie Spiele für das Lernen zugänglicher und unterhaltsamer werden, ein grundlegender Teil des Lernens, der oft übersehen wird.

Registrieren Sie sich für die Teilnahme an der Spielkreisläufe neu denken: Repräsentation in Spielinhalten und Inhaltserstellern
hier.

Über das Projekt

#EveryGamerCounts will die Einbindung, Vernetzung und Sichtbarmachung von unterrepräsentierten Gruppen in der südafrikanischen Gaming-Szene stärken und schafft Plattformen, die das Thema Diversität zur Diskussion stellen.

Durch die Organisation von Game Jams und Podiumsdiskussionen, bei denen Expert*innen aus der ganzen Welt über aktuelle Themen im E-Sport und in der Gaming-Community diskutieren, sollen bestehende Stereotypen in Frage gestellt und das Bewusstsein für die Hindernisse geschärft werden, mit denen Frauen, Minderheiten und Menschen mit Behinderungen in der Gaming-Branche konfrontiert sind.

Gemeinsam setzen wir uns so für mehr Chancengleichheit ein, um mittelfristig zu einem höheren Anteil an Frauen, Minderheiten und unterrepräsentierten Gruppen in der Computerspielbranche und zu mehr Diversität in Computerspielen beizutragen.

Zurück