Archive of Forgetfulness Website Launch

Archive of Forgetfulness
© Goethe-Institut Johannesburg

The Archive of Forgetfulness online exhibition will go live on the 12th of April 2021. The online platform is an archive of mobility and infrastructure; it holds together acts of remembering; and it is a collaborative project long in the making. Beyond the launch of the exhibition in response to the open call, 6 additional projects, produced by the regional curators will be featured throughout 2021.  

The launch will take the form of a roundtable panel discussion featuring the selection panel: Ali Al-Adawy (Egypt) / Bongani Kona (chair) (Zimbabwe/South Africa) / Eric Ngangare (Rwanda) / Huda Tayob (South Africa) / Jumoke Sanwo (Nigeria) / Omnia Shawkat (Sudan) / Princess Mhlongo (South Africa) / Zakiyyah Haffejee (South Africa)/ Zoubida Mseffer (Morocco); and with opening remarks by the Goethe-Institut regional head of cultural programmes, Dr. Asma Diakité. 

The Archive of Forgetfulness collects and gathers stories. The contributions renew lines of connection, resurface forgotten conversations, and establish the beginnings of future collaborations. The work collated on the website asks how we might engage with what exists in the failure of memory, and that which can no longer be spoken; yet also acknowledges forgetting as an active part of remembering. This project is a space for interrogating the archival gesture, from the bodily and spoken, to the written and performed.  

In the weeks following the launch, we will profile each of the exhibition participants and their work on our social media pages. Follow us at @archiveofforgetfulness (IG) and @AoForgetfulness (Twitter) as the project unfolds.  

The exhibition includes works by: Aleya Kassam (Kenya), Arafa Cynthia Hamadi (Tanzania/Kenya), Caio Simões de Araújo (South Africa), Cheriese Dilrajh (South Africa), DORMANTYOUTH (South Africa), Kamel Ghabte & Zouhair Lalaam (Morocco), Kwasi Darko (Ghana), Leandro Goddinho (Brazil), Lo-Def Film Factory (South Africa), Magolide Collective (South Africa), Malebona Maphutse (South Africa), Margarida Waco (Angola), Maria Gabriela Carrilho Aragão (Mozambique), Michael Salu (Nigeria), Moad Musbahi (Libya), Nkeiruka Oruche (Nigeria/USA), Nkgopoleng Moloi (South Africa), Nombuso Mathibela (South Africa), Princia Matungulu (Congo/South Africa), Rania Atef (Egypt), Shayna Rosendorff (South Africa), Sharief Zohairy (Egypt), Sonya Mwambu (Uganda), Hamedine Kane (Senegal/Mauritania) & Stéphane Verlet-Bottéro (France), Thelma Ndebele (South Africa), Tshifhiwa Itai Ratshiungo (South Africa), Umlilo (South Africa), and Wanjeri Gakuru (Kenya). 

Visit for the full exhibition.