Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Acts of LifeActs of Life

Acts of Life
Curatorial Committee

The curatorial committee consists of 5 members from NTU CCA and MCAD Manila.

Back to Acts of Life
  • Joselina Cruz © Chimera Visions
    Supervision with the Curatorial Advisory Board, De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, School of Design and Arts, Manila, Philippines, 2018. From left: Joselina Cruz (Curatorial Advisory Board), Nuriye Tohermes (participant).
  • Ute Meta Bauer Courtesy of NTU CCA
    Supervision with the Curatorial Advisory Board, NTU CCA Singapore, 2018. From left: Miljohn Ruperto (participant), Ute Meta Bauer (Curatorial Advisory Board), Michaela Büsse (participant).
  • Patrick D. Flores © Chimera Visions
    Supervision with the Curatorial Advisory Board, De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, School of Design and Arts, Manila, Philippines, 2018. From left: Patrick Flores (Curatorial Advisory Board), Miljohn Ruperto (participant).
  • Khim Ong © Chimera Visions
    Supervision with the Curatorial Advisory Board, De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, School of Design and Arts, Manila, Philippines, 2018. From left: Khim Ong (Curatorial Advisory Board), Michaela Büsse (participant).
  • Sophie Goltz © Chimera Visions
    Supervision with the Curatorial Advisory Board, De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, School of Design and Arts, Manila, Philippines, 2018. From left: Phuong Phan, Charmaine Koh (participants), Sophie Goltz (Curatorial Advisory Board).

Joselina Cruz © MCAD Manila Joselina Cruz is currently Director and Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art and Design (MCAD), De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, Manila. Cruz has worked as a curator for the Lopez Memorial Museum in Manila and the Singapore Art Museum. She was a curator for the 2nd Singapore Biennale, 2008, and a networking curator for the 13th Jakarta Biennale, 2009. She worked on the Tàpies retrospective and the The Deutsche Bank Collection and Zaha Hadid while at the Singapore Art Museum, amongst others, and Creative Index, for 10th Regional Anniversary of the Nippon Foundation’s Asian Public Intellectuals Fellowship program in Manila, in 2010. From 2012 she has produced exhibitions with artists such as Michael Lin, Paul Pfeiffer, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Tiffany Chung, Michael Lee and Maria Taniguchi at MCAD in Manila (Philippines). She has curated for the Jewish Museum (2016), Sørlandets Kunstmuseum, Norway (2011) and Next Wave in Melbourne, Australia (2010). She has been invited for visitorships and residencies by Asialink, the Mondriaan Foundation, Office for Contemporary Art, (OCA) and the Center for Contemporary Art (CCA) in Singapore and is a Fellow of the Nippon Foundation’s Asian Public Intellectuals Grant. She continues to write essays, reviews, criticism and commentary on art.

Ute Meta Bauer © NTU CCA Ute Meta Bauer (Germany/Singapore) is the Founding Director of the NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore (NTU CCA Singapore), and Professor, School of Art, Design and Media, NTU. Previously, she was Associate Professor in the Department of Architecture at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Cambridge, where she also served as Founding Director of the MIT Program in Art, Culture, and Technology (2005–13). For more than three decades, Bauer has worked as curator of exhibitions and presentations, connecting contemporary art, film, video and sound through transdisciplinary formats including as co-curator of Documenta11 and the 3rd Berlin biennale for contemporary art. She also co-curated the US Pavilion for the 56th Venice Biennale featuring eminent artist Joan Jonas. She publishes regularly on artistic and curatorial practice. Bauer was an expedition leader of TBA21 The Current (2015 – 2018) exploring the Pacific Archipelago and littorals that are most impacted by climate change and human interventions in their environments.

Patrick D. Flores © Patrick Flores Patrick D. Flores is Professor of Art Studies at the Department of Art Studies at the University of the Philippines, which he chaired from 1997 to 2003, and Curator of the Vargas Museum in Manila. He was one of the curators of Under Construction: New Dimensions in Asian Art in 2000 and the Gwangju Biennale (Position Papers) in 2008. He was a Visiting Fellow at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. in 1999 and an Asian Public Intellectuals Fellow in 2004. Among his publications are Painting History: Revisions in Philippine Colonial Art (1999); Remarkable Collection: Art, History, and the National Museum (2006); and Past Peripheral: Curation in Southeast Asia (2008). He was a grantee of the Asian Cultural Council (2010) and a member of the Advisory Board of the exhibition The Global Contemporary: Art Worlds After 1989 (2011) organized by the Center for Art and Media in Karlsruhe and member of the Guggenheim Museum’s Asian Art Council (2011 and 2014). He co-edited the Southeast Asian issue with Joan Kee for Third Text (2011). He convened in 2013 on behalf of the Clark Institute and the Department of Art Studies of the University of the Philippines the conference “Histories of Art History in Southeast Asia” in Manila. He was a Guest Scholar of the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles in 2014. He curated an exhibition of contemporary art from Southeast Asia and Southeast Europe titled South by Southeast and the Philippine Pavilion at the Venice Biennale in 2015. He has been appointed the Artistic Director of Singapore Biennale 2019.

Khim Ong © NTU CCA Khim Ong is Deputy Director, Curatorial Programmes at NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore (NTU CCA Singapore). Previously, she worked as an independent curator and held curatorial positions at the Institute of Contemporary Arts Singapore, LASALLE, and Osage Gallery, Hong Kong. Ong was Manager, Sector Development (Visual Arts) at the National Arts Council during which she contributed to conceptualising NTU CCA Singapore. At the Centre, she co-curated with Founding Director Ute Meta Bauer the exhibitions Ghosts and Spectres - Shadows of History (2017), CITIES FOR PEOPLE, NTU CCA Ideas Fest 2016/17, Incomplete Urbanism: Attempts of Critical Spatial Practice (2016), Amar Kanwar: The Sovereign Forest (2016), and Yang Fudong: Incidental Scripts (2014). Selected curatorial projects include Re|Collecting Asia (2017), the Southeast Asia Platform, Art Stage Singapore (2015), and Landscape Memories, Louis Vuitton Espace, Singapore (2013).

Sophie Goltz © Frank Egel Sophie Goltz is Deputy Director, Research and Academic Programmes at NTU CCA Singapore, and Assistant Professor at the School of Art, Design and Media, NTU. Goltz was Stadtkuratorin Hamburg (City curator) from 2013 to 2016, and worked as Curator and Head of Communications and Public Programme at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein between 2008 and 2013, becoming Senior Curator in 2014. Goltz worked as curator and art editor for various international exhibitions, including Documenta12 (2007), Project Migration (2004-06), Documenta11 (2002), 3rd Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art (2004). She has taught at the University of Arts Vienna, the Technical University Berlin, and University of Arts Berlin-Weißensee, and writes regularly for publications, including Texte zur Kunst, Art Agenda, and Springerin.

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Acts of LifeActs of Life

Natur & Urbanität
Kuratorisches Komitee

Das kuratorische Komitee setzt sich zusammen aus fünf Mitgliedern des NTU CCA sowie des MCAD Manila.

ZURÜCK ZU ACTS OF LIFE

Joselina Cruz ©MCAD Manila Joselina Cruz ist Direktorin und Kuratorin am Museum Of Contemporary Art And Design (MCAD), angesiedelt am College Of Saint Benilde’s School of Design and Arts in Manila. Von 2001 bis 2004 arbeitete sie bereits als Kuratorin am Lopez Memorial Museum in Manila und von 2005 bis 2007 am Singapore Art Museum. 2008 hat sie die 2. Singapore Biennale kuratiert, 2009 war sie als Netzwerk-Kuratorin für die 13. Jakarta Biennale tätig. Außerdem war sie 2017 bei der 57. Biennale in Venedig 2017 als Kuratorin für den philippinischen Pavillon verantwortlich. Im Singapore Art Museum arbeitete sie u.a. an der Tàpies-Retrospektive, der Deutsche Bank Kollektion sowie für Zaha Hadid, für das 10. Regional Anniversary Of The Nippon Foundation’s Asian Public Intellectuals Fellowship Program betreute sie 2010 in Manila das Projekt Creative Index. Seit 2012 organisierte sie im MCAD in Manila (Philippinen) Ausstellungen verschiedener Künstler*innen, darunter Michael Lin, Paul Pfeiffer, Lani Maestro, Manuel Ocampo, Tiffany Chung, Michael Lee und Maria Taniguchi. Auch für das Jewish Museum in New York (2016), das Sørlandets Kunstmuseum in Kristiansand, Norwegen (2011) und das Next Wave Festival in Melbourne, Australien (2010) war sie bereits als Kuratorin tätig. Darüber hinaus war sie mehrfach als Gastkuratorin und Teilnehmerin an Residency-Programmen eingeladen, u.a. bei Asialink, beim Mondriaan Fonds, dem Office For Contemporary Art (OCA) in Norwegen sowie dem NTU Center For Contemporary Art (CCA) in Singapur. Cruz ist außerdem Stipendiatin des Förderprogramms Asian Public Intellectuals Grant der Nippon Foundation. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte an der University Of The Philippines und machte am Royal College Of Art in London ihren Master im Fach Curating Contemporary Art. Sie schreibt zudem regelmäßig Essays, Kritiken und Kommentare zu Kunst und Kultur. 

Ute Meta Bauer ©NTU CCA Ute Meta Bauer (Deutschland/Singapur) ist Gründungsdirektorin des Centre For Contemporary Art in Singapur (NTU CCA Singapore) und Professorin an der School Of Art, Design And Media. Zuvor war sie Dozentin im Fachbereich Architektur am Massachusetts Institute Of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA, wo sie von 2005 bis 2013 den Studiengang Art, Culture And Technology leitete. Seit über 30 Jahren ist sie als Ausstellungskuratorin tätig und verbindet in transdisziplinären Formaten zeitgenössische Kunst, Video und Sound. 2002 war sie Co-Kuratorin der documenta11, danach Künstlerische Leiterin der 3. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst (2003/04). Bei der 56. Biennale in Venedig co-kuratierte sie den Pavillon der USA und zeigte dort Arbeiten der Künstlerin Joan Jonas. Sie publiziert regelmäßig zu künstlerischer und kuratorischer Praxis. Von 2015 bis 2018 war sie Expeditionsleiterin beim Projekt The Current der TBA21 Academy in Wien, das die Küsten jener pazifischen Inseln untersuchte, die besonders stark vom Klimawandel und dem Eingriff des Menschen in die Natur geprägt sind.

Patrick D. Flores ©Patrick Flores Patrick D. Flores ist Professor für Art Studies am gleichnamigen Fachbereich an der University Of The Philippines, die er von 1997 bis 2003 auch leitete, sowie Kurator am Vargas Museum in Manila. Im Jahr 2000 gehörte er zu den Kuratoren der Ausstellung Under Construction: New Dimensions In Asian Art, 2008 war er Co-Kurator der Gwangju Biennale Position Papers. 1999 war er Gaststipendiat der National Gallery Of Art in Washington, D.C., und 2004 Stipendiat des Programms Asian Public Intellectuals. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen zählen die Bücher Painting History: Revisions In Philippine Colonial Art (1999); Remarkable Collection: Art, History And The National Museum (2006) und Past Peripheral: Curation In Southeast Asia (2008). 2010 bekam er ein Stipendium vom Asian Cultural Council. 2011 saß er im Beirat der vom Zentrum für Kunst und Medien (ZKM) in Karlsruhe organisierten Ausstellung The Global Contemporary: Art Worlds After 1989 und von 2011 bis 2014 im Beirat für asiatische Kunst am Guggenheim Museum. 2011 war er zusammen mit Joan Kee Herausgeber für die südostasiatische Ausgabe des Magazins Third Text. 2013 lud er im Auftrag des Clark Institute und der Fakultät für Art Studies an der University Of The Philippines zur Konferenz Histories Of Art History In Southeast Asia in Manila. 2014 war er Gastdozent am Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles. 2015 kuratierte er im Rahmen der Biennale in Venedig neben dem philippinischen Pavillon eine Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst aus Südostasien und Südosteuropa, die den Titel South By Southeast trug. Er ist designierter künstlerischer Leiter der Singapur Biennale 2019.

Khim Ong © NTU CCA Khim Ong ist am NTU Centre For Contemporary Art in Singapur (NTU CCA Singpore) stellvertretende Leiterin der Abteilung „Kuratorische Programme“. Zuvor war sie als unabhängige Kuratorin tätig, u.a. für das Institute Of Contemporary Arts in Singapur sowie am LASALLE College of Arts und bei der Osage Gallery in Hong Kong. Ong war Abteilungsleiterin im Bereich Entwicklung (Visual Arts) beim National Arts Council und arbeitete in diesem Zusammenhang mit am Konzept für das NTU CCA Singapore. Dort kuratierte sie gemeinsam mit der Gründungsdirektorin Ute Meta Bauer die Ausstellungen Ghosts And Spectres – Shadows Of History (2017), CITIES FOR PEOPLE und das NTU CCA Ideas Fest (2016/17), Incomplete Urbanism: Attempts Of Critical Spatial Practice (2016), Amar Kanwar: The Sovereign Forest (2016) und Yang Fudong: Incidental Scripts (2014). Zu ihren weiteren Projekten als Kuratorin gehören Re|Collecting Asia (2017), die Southeast Asia Platform bei der Messe Art Stage Singapore (2015) sowie Landscape Memories in der Galerie Louis Vuitton Espace, Singapur (2013).

Sophie Goltz © Frank Egel Sophie Goltz ist stellvertretende Leiterin im Bereich Forschung und Lehre am NTU CCA in Singapur sowie Assistenzprofessorin an der School Of Art, Design And Media, NTU. Von 2013 bis 2016 war sie Hamburger Stadtkuratorin und von 2008 bis 2013 Kuratorin und Leiterin der Abteilung für Kommunikation und Kunstvermittlung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein NBK, wo sie 2014 auch Kuratorin wurde. Als Kuratorin und Redakteurin war sie darüber hinaus für diverse internationale Ausstellungen tätig, darunter die documenta12 (2007), das Project Migration (2004-2006), die documenta11 (2002) sowie die 3. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst (2004). Sie hat an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, an der Technischen Universität Berlin sowie an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee unterrichtet und veröffentlicht regelmäßig in Fachzeitschriften wie Texte zur Kunst, Art Agenda und Springerin.