Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Showcase SingaporeShowcase Singapore

Acts of Life
Showcase Singapore

What role does historical, traditional or indigenous knowledge of nature and culture play in the future of the world making and acts of life in general? How have digital technologies and internet culture shaped contemporary interpretation and translation of the nature/culture complex in the arts?

Nature and Urbanity: Acts of Life seeks to explore the relationship between environments and humankind in times of rapid urbanization and digitalization. 16 artists, writers and theorists from the region and Germany were selected by a team of curators to participate in a month-long residency in Manila and Singapore. They underwent a rigorous line-up of site visits, tours, workshops and public lectures led by esteemed scholars, artists and practitioners across diverse fields, in tune with the programme’s thematic focus on exploring the entanglements between nature and culture, art and technology.
 
After the residency in November 2018, we have invited the residents back to Singapore to showcase findings and ideas that have developed through this exchange. Over the course of two days, selected works-in-progress will be presented in an open studio with live activations and public programmes at NTU CCA Singapore. We will witness the collaboration between two residents, Ida Roscher (Germany) and Jayson Jimenez (Philippines) borne out of the residency, in an interventionist lecture-performance, Black Swans, Butterflies and Elephants (2019). Through the metaphorical use of these animals, they will explore the different modes of governance towards urban futures and risk models. Based on her time here in Singapore, resident Phuong Phan (Vietnam) extends from her research interest and questions the specificity and transferability of the Singaporean architectural paradigm in a panel discussion with scholars and architects. Through a workshop titled Sensing the World, Buen Calubayan (Philippines) invites participants to create their own visual research patterns while experiencing different world views with body exercises.
 
Residents showcasing in Singapore include:
Buen Calubayan (Philippines)
Charmaine Koh (Singapore)
Ida Roscher (Germany)
Jayson C. Jimenez (Philippines)
Stanya Kahn (USA)
Miljohn Ruperto (Philippines)
Phuong Phan (Vietnam)
Roopesh Sitharan (Malaysia)
Tromarama (Indonesia)
 

Event Programme
OPEN STUDIO

25 January 2019, 7–11pm
26 January 2019, 2–7pm
Venue: Block 38 Malan Road #01-05
 
With Buen Calubayan (Philippines), Jayson C. Jimenez (Philippines), Stanya Kahn (United States), Miljohn Ruperto, (Philippines), Charmaine Koh (Singapore), Ida Roscher (Germany), Roopesh Sitharan (Malaysia), Tromarama (Indonesia)
 
In parallel with the NTU CCA Residencies Open Studio
 

PERFORMANCE

25 January 2019, 9–10pm
Black Swans, Butterflies and Elephants
Lecture performance by Jayson C. Jimenez and Ida Roscher
Venue: Block 38 Malan Road #01-05
 

CONVERSATION

26 January 2019, 2–3pm
Go Green or Nature Sells?
With Phuong Phan, Vietnam, and guests, with reference to Quadra Medicinale Singapore by Jef Geys
Venue: Block 43 Malan Road, Exhibition Hall
 

WORKSHOP

26 January 2019, 4–6pm
Sensing the World
By Buen Calubayan in collaboration with Deo Briones, musician and facilitator, Philippines
Venue: Block 43 Malan Road, Seminar Room


For more information, please visit NTU CCA.

Back to Acts of Life

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Standort SingapurStandort Singapur

Natur & Urbanität
Standort Singapur

Welche Rolle spielt historisches, traditionelles oder regionales Wissen über Natur und Kultur für unsere Zukunftsgestaltung und unser Leben im Allgemeinen? Inwiefern haben das digitale Zeitalter und das Internet unseren heutigen Begriff vom Zusammenspiel zwischen Natur und Kultur geprägt?
 
Acts of Life: Natur und Urbanität hinterfragt das Verhältnis von Mensch und Umwelt in Zeiten rasant voranschreitender Urbanisierung und Digitalisierung. Das Goethe-Institut hat 16 Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen und Theoretiker*innen für das Residency-Programm ausgewählt. Im Rahmen des Projektes haben die Teilnehmer*innen einen Monat lang in Manila und Singapur geforscht und gearbeitet. Darüber hinaus wurde eine Vielzahl von Ortsbesichtigungen, Touren, Workshops und öffentlichen Lesungen mit renommierten Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen sowie Expert*innen aus sämtlichen Bereichen, die sich mit dem thematischen Schwerpunkten des Projekts – Natur, Kultur, Kunst und Technologie – befassen, angeboten.
 
Nachdem das Residency-Programm im November 2018 beendet wurde, kehren nun die Teilnehmer*innen auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts und der NTU Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA) zurück nach Singapur. Vor Ort präsentieren sie ihre Ideen und Befunde, die durch den Austausch entstanden sind. Im Rahmen der Art Week Singapore werden ausgewählte Arbeiten in einem Open Studio vorgestellt und mit einem öffentlichen Diskursprogramm ergänzt. Unter anderem werden Ida Roscher (Deutschland) und Jayson Jimenez (Philippinen) ihr Projekt Black Swans, Butterflies and Elephants vorstellen, das aus der gemeinsamen Zeit entstanden ist. Mit Hilfe von Tiermetaphern zeigen Roscher und Jimenez im Stile einer interventionistischen Vorlesungsaufführung auf, wie der Staat eine urbane Zukunft und Risikomodelle steuert. In einem anderen Projekt diskutiert Phuong Phan (Vietnam) mit Wissenschaftlern und Architekten die Genauigkeit und Übertragbarkeit des singapurischen Architekturparadigmas. Buen Calubayan (Philippinen) lädt alle Besucher*innen in seinem Workshop Sensing the World dazu ein, ihre eigenen visuellen Forschungsmuster zu gestalten, indem sie verschiedene Weltansichten durch Sportübungen erleben.
 
Folgende Teilnehmer*innen des Residency-Programms stellen ihre Ergebnisse in Singapur vor:
 
Buen Calubayan (Philippinen)
Charmaine Koh (Singapur)
Ida Roscher (Deutschland)
Jayson C. Jimenez (Philippinen)
Stanya Kahn (USA)
Miljohn Ruperto (Philippinen)
Phuong Phan (Vietnam)
Roopesh Sitharan (Malaysia)
Tromarama (Indonesien)

Kurator*innen:
Joselina Cruz, Direktorin und Kuratorin am Museum of Contemporary Art and Design (MCAD), Manila
Ute Meta Bauer,Gründungsdirektorin, NTU CCA Singapore
Patrick Flores, Professor für Art Studies at University of Philippines
Khim Ong, stellvertretende Leiterin der Abteilung "Kuratorische Programme", NTU CCA Singapore
Sophie Goltz, stellvertretende Leiterin im Bereich Forschung und Lehre, NTU CCA Singapore
 

veranstaltungen
OPEN STUDIO
25. Januar 2019, 19–23 Uhr
26. Januar 2019, 14–19 Uhr
Ort: Block 38 Malan Road #01-05
 
Mit Buen Calubayan (Philippines), Jayson C. Jimenez (Philippines), Stanya Kahn (United States), Miljohn Ruperto, (Philippines), Charmaine Koh (Singapore), Ida Roscher (Germany), Roopesh Sitharan (Malaysia), Tromarama (Indonesia)
 
Zeitgleich mit NTU CCA Residencies Open Studio

 
AUFFÜHRUNG

25. Januar 2019, 21–22 Uhr
Black Swans, Butterflies and Elephants
Vorlesungsaufführung von Jayson C. Jimenez und Ida Roscher
Ort: Block 38 Malan Road #01-05
 

DISKUSSIONSRUNDE

26. Januar 2019, 14–15 Uhr
Go Green or Nature Sells?
Mit Phuong Phan, Vietnam, und Gäste, in Bezug auf Quadra Medicinale Singapore von Jef Geys
Ort: Block 43 Malan Road, Exhibition Hall
 

WORKSHOP

26. Januar 2019, 16–18 Uhr
Sensing the World
Von Buen Calubayan in Zusammenarbeit mit Deo Briones, Musiker und Moderator, Philippines
Ort: Block 43 Malan Road, Seminar Room

ZURÜCK ZU ACTS OF LIFE