Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Buen Calubayan Provided by Buen Calubayan Buen Calubayan’s (b. 1980) works investigates the uses and limits of a diagrammatic approach in understanding the world and our position in it. Using the terms and techniques of linear perspective, he examines the notions of the horizon, the vanishing point, and grounding, which constitutes the basic design that enables a bigger picture to come about. In a rhythmic process of zooming into and out of his research, installations, paintings, and conceptual works, Calubayan takes off from the autobiographical into the art historical. He then uncovers the mechanisms of perception and tracks the movement of art, history, and politics within the shifting context of the Filipino landscape.

Charmaine Koh Provided by Charmaine Koh Charmaine Koh (b. 1985) is a Singaporean artist whose video and writing practice explores the tropes and legacies that intervene in the construction of place and place-based identity. Through juxtapositions of filmed footage, personal narrative, and online imagery, she probes the disjunctures that arise from mismatched cultural frameworks, distance, urban redevelopment, and the digital realm. In parallel, her painting practice draws on tropes of landscape, literature, and design. Koh graduated in 2018 with an MFA in Fine Arts and an MA in Visual & Critical Studies from California College of the Arts, California, USA. Her work has been shown primarily in the San Francisco Bay Area, USA.

Hung Duong Provided by Hung Duong Hung Duong (b. 1991) is an independent translator/budding curator/visual researcher based in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. He has had experience translating a variety of materials (textual and oral) for art spaces and cultural centers in Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Most recently, Duong collaborated with the National Gallery Singapore to translate a series of six texts written by artists and critics of Vietnamese modern art. His current interests include, but not limited to: linguistics and comparative literature; translation as a mode of being and understanding visual and cultural production; interethnic relations in Vietnam and Southeast Asia; and historical and sociopolitical networks between Vietnam and the regions of Southeast Asia, Africa, and Latin America.

Ida Roscher Provided by Ida Roscher Ida Roscher (b. 1989) currently lives and works in Hamburg, Germany. She studied Fine Arts and International Criminology and searches for ways of translating social forms and norms. Her work oscillates between artistic practice and social science research as a critical approach to challenge widely accepted modes of  expression, representation and methodology.

 

Jayson C. Jimenez Provided by Jayson C. Jimenez Jayson C. Jimenez (b. 1993) teaches Philosophy and Literature at the Department of Philosophy and Humanities, Polytechnic University of the Philippines. He is also currently engaged in the study of the Anthropocene and Deleuze. Jimenez finished his MA in Philosophy at the Divine Word Mission Seminary (Christ the King), Quezon City, Philippines, with a focus on Marx’s 1841 Doctoral Thesis and Greek Atomism. He is interested in French contemporary philosophy with a concentrated look upon Psychoanalytic theory (Lacan) and Geophilosophy (Deleuze/Guattari).

Jennifer Katanyoutanant Provided by Jennifer Katanyoutanant Jennifer Katanyoutanant (b. 1989) is an artist, creative producer, and founder of Made in Asia, a new media consultancy and Creative Tech Lab that uses the power of storytelling and immersive media to better connect with and learn from local communities. She's interested in using social aspects of interactive art and technology to find common ground between seemingly different cultures. Most recently, Katanyoutanant collaborated with a small group of foragers, artists, hackers, and writers and conducted a series of interactive feasts in Thailand called DinnerCons. They cooked with local Thai community, foraged jungle ingredients, and exhibited the intricacies and unique flavor profiles of Thai cuisine through sculptures, design, and games. It is the group’s starting point for exploring how food crosses boundaries in unexpected ways.

Michaela Büsse Provided by Michaela Büsse Michaela Büsse (b. 1988) is a design and media scholar interested in speculative and experimental design practices, new materialism, and philosophies of technologies and ecology. She is a PhD candidate at the European Centre for Art, Design and Media based Research and a Junior Researcher at the Critical Media Lab in Basel, Switzerland. Her current practice-led research focusses on means and methods for a more-than-human-centred design approach. Büsse has an interdisciplinary background in design, media, and urban studies and obtained post-graduate degrees from Strelka Institute, Moscow, Russia (2017) and Zurich niversity of the Arts, Zurich, Switzerland (2014). She regularly lectures on critical design and media studies, is an editor at Migrant Journal, and co-founder of ^ studio for xeno-design research.

Miljohn Ruperto Provided by Miljohn Ruperto Miljohn Ruperto (b. 1971) was born in Manila, Philippines, and currently lives and works in Los Angeles, USA. He received his MFA from Yale University, Connecticut, USA (2002) and his BA in Studio Art from University of California, Berkeley, California, USA (1999). Recent exhibitions featuring his work include: On the Shoulders of Fallen Giants, 2nd Industrial Art Biennial, Croatia; Stories of Almost Everyone, The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA; Geomancies, REDCAT Gallery, Los Angeles, USA; Nervous Systems, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, Germany; Afterwork, Para-Site, Hong Kong; The As-if Principle., Magazin4 Bregenzer Kunstverein, Austria; 2014 Whitney Biennial, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, USA; Ulrik Heltoft and Miljohn Ruperto, Voynich Botanical Studies, Thomas Solomon Gallery, Los Angeles, USA; Made in L.A., The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA.

Nuriye Tohermes Provided by Nuriye Tohermes Nuriye Tohermes (b. 1989) lives and works as an artist in Hamburg, Germany. As critical spatial practice she conceptualizes and realizes participatory, collective, and site-specific projects worldwide. Among other works she realized the project There Is No Time, a 48-hour livestream of critical panel talks on digitalization, work, and finance system in 2017. She is the co-initiator of Das Archipel, a floating platform and a Network that forms autonomous, communal organized spaces since 2015. Das Archipel had a residency at Cemeti Institute for Art and Society in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, where they created a participatory piece on the gab of local community structures and neoliberal state. Since 2018, Tohermes programs and runs ZOLLO a space for art and discourse as part of the ZOLLO:Group in Hamburg, Germany. In her work she deals with political demands, societal structures, and implications of collective and experimental spaces.

Phuong Phan Provided by Phuong Phan Phuong Phan (b. 1988) studied European art & architectural history and Asian studies in Hamburg, Germany, Paris, France and Berlin, Germany. Her research focuses on European Modern architecture; art and architecture theories; histories of French colonial; and post-colonial architecture and urbanism. Currently, she is working on the history and typology of Chinese shophouses in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam during the French colonization and on the aesthetics and visual narratives of real-estate advertising in Southeast Asia.

Roopesh Sitharan Provided by Roopesh Sitharan Roopesh Sitharan (b. 1979) is an educator, researcher, curator, and an artist. His area of specialization is Malaysian contemporary art, New Media cultures, and curatorial practice. He often examines the boundaries of meaning and value in the production and interpretation of art and new media practice. Sitharan has been actively involved in several national and international projects and showcases such as APICTA, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia; Gwangju Biennale, Gwangju, South Korea; ISEA 2009, Singapore; and Siggraph 2005, California, USA. His writings have been published in several local and international journals and magazines such as Learnardo Electronic Almanac (LEA), “CTRL+P” Contemporary Art Journal from Philippines, Dokumenta 12, “Sentap” magazine, and many others.

Stanya Kahn Provided by Stanya Kahn Stanya Kahn (b. 1968) is an interdisciplinary artist working primarily in video with a practice that includes drawing, sound, writing, performance, and sculpture/installation. Humor, pathos, and the uncanny emerge as central modes in a hybrid media practice that seeks to re-work relationships between fiction and document, the real and the hyper-real, and narrative time and the synchronic time of impulse. In a long-term investigation of how rhetoric gains and loses power, Kahn’s projects often situate language in the foreground of works that are dialectically driven by the demands of the body. Recent solo exhibitions include shows at the New Museum, New York, USA; Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, Marlborough Chelsea, New York, USA; Weiss Berlin, Berlin, Germany; and Cornerhouse, Manchester, UK.

Stefan Römer Provided by Stefan Römer Stefan Römer (b. 1960) is based in Berlin, Germany and works as an artist, photographer, and filmmaker in the field of de- conceptual art; his works and essays are widely published. Römer is the founder of the interdisciplinary activist group, FrischmacherInnen (Cologne, Germany), which organises demonstrations, film series, and discussion panels on critical urbanism, critique of cultural politics and art. He teaches as a professor for art and art-theory and received the Award for Art Criticism by the Working Commitee of German Kunstvereine (AdKV), 2000.

Tromarama Provided by Tromarama Tromarama is an Indonesian art collective founded in 2006 by Febie Babyrose (b. 1985), Herbert Hans (b. 1984), and Ruddy Hatumena (b. 1984). Engaging with the notion of hyperreality in the digital age, their projects explore the interrelationship between the virtual and the physical world. Their works often combine video, installations, computer programming, and public participation depicting the influence of digital media on the  society perception towards their surroundings. Their work has been exhibited at National Gallery of Indonesia, Jakarta, Indonesia (2018); Open Eye Gallery, Liverpool, UK (2016); Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt, Germany (2015); the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands (2015), National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia (2015); and Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, Japan (2010), amongst other locations.

Text by Joselina Cruz, Thea Garing, Sophie Goltz, Clifford Loh and Soh Kay Min

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Buen Calubayan ©Buen Calubayan Buen Calubayan (geb. 1980) untersucht in seinen Arbeiten die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen einer schematischen, schaubildhaften Weltbetrachtung. Mithilfe der Begriffe und Techniken der Linearperspektive befragt er unser Verständnis vom Horizont, vom Punkt des Verschwindens und von der Grundlinie, die zusammengenommen das Gerüst für die Entstehung eines Gesamtbildes bilden. Indem er rhythmisch in seine Forschung, seine Installationen, Gemälde und konzeptionelle Arbeiten hineinzoomt und dann gleich wieder hinaus, kommt er vom Autobiografischen zum Kunstgeschichtlichen. In einem nächsten Schritt deckt er die Mechanismen unserer Wahrnehmung auf und spürt nach, wie sich Kunst, Geschichte und Politik im Kontext der sich ständig wandelnden philippinischen Gegebenheiten bewegen.

Charmaine Koh ©Charmaine Koh Charmaine Koh (geb. 1985) ist eine Künstlerin aus Singapur, die sich in ihren Video- und Textarbeiten mit den sprachlichen Figuren und den historischen Gewordenheiten beschäftigt, die Einfluss nehmen auf die Konstruktion von Orten bzw. ortsgebundener Identitäten. In der Gegenüberstellung von filmischem Material, persönlicher Erzählweise und im Internet gefundenen Bildern untersucht sie die Brüche, die sich aus nicht zusammenpassenden kulturellen Kontexten, Entfernungen, Stadtsanierungsprojekten und digitalen Räumen ergeben. Parallel hierzu bedient sie sich für ihre Malerei bei Motiven aus Landschaft, Literatur und Design. 2018 hat Koh ihren Master Of Fine Arts in Kunstwissenschaft und einen Master Of Arts im Fach Visual & Critical Studies am California College Of The Arts in Kalifornien, USA, gemacht. Ihre Arbeiten hat sie bislang vor allem in der Umgebung von San Francisco gezeigt.

Hung Duong ©Hung Duong Hung Duong (geb. 1991) ist freiberuflicher Übersetzer, angehender Kurator und Bildforscher aus Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt in Vietnam. Für diverse Kunsträume und Kulturzentren in Vietnam und Südostasien hat er unterschiedlichste Textformen übersetzt und gedolmetscht. Jüngst hat er in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie in Singapur eine sechsteilige Aufsatzreihe übersetzt, mit Texten von vietnamesischen Künstler*innen und Kunstkritiker*innen. Zu seinen Interessensgebieten gehören u.a. Linguistik und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft, das Übersetzen als Seinsweise und Form des Verstehens von visueller und kultureller Produktion, interethnische Beziehungen in Vietnam und Südostasien sowie historische und soziopolitische Netzwerke zwischen Vietnam und Südostasien, Afrika und Lateinamerika.

Ida Roscher ©Ida Roscher Ida Roscher (geb. 1989) lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Hamburg. Sie hat Kunstwissenschaft und Internationale Kriminologie studiert und sucht nun nach Möglichkeiten, um soziale Normen und Normalitäten zu verschieben. In ihrer Arbeit bewegt sie sich zwischen künstlerischem Tun und sozialwissenschaftlicher Forschung, was für sie ein kritischer Ansatz ist, um gängige Ausdrucks- und Repräsentationsformen sowie Methodiken zu hinterfragen. 

 

Jayson C. Jimenez ©Jayson C. Jimenez Jayson C. Jimenez (geb. 1993) unterrichtet Philosophie und Literatur am Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften der Polytechnischen Universität der Philippinen. Zurzeit beschäftigt er sich vor allem mit dem Zeitalter des Anthropozän sowie dem Werk des Philosophen Gilles Deleuze. Jimenez hat einen M.A. in Philosophie, den er am Divine Word Mission Seminary (Christ The King) in Quezon City auf den Philippinen gemacht hat. Während des Studiums setzte er sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Marx‘ Dissertation von 1841 und dem griechischen Atomismus auseinander. Daneben interessiert er sich für zeitgenössische französische Philosophie, mit besonderem Augenmerk auf die psychoanalytische Theorie von Lacan und die Geophilosophie von Deleuze und Guattari. 

Jennifer Katanyoutanant ©Jennifer Katanyoutanant Jennifer Katanyoutanant (geb. 1989) ist Künstlerin, im Kreativsektor tätige Produzentin und Gründerin von „Made In Asia“, einer Beratungsagentur für Neue Medien und einem kreativem Tech-Lab, das mit Storytelling und Immersive Media arbeitet, um sich mit lokalen Communitys besser vernetzen und von diesen lernen zu können. Mithilfe des sozialen Aspekts von interaktiver Kunst und Technologie sollen Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen zunächst unterschiedlich scheinenden Kulturen herausgearbeitet werden. Katanyoutanant hat in Thailand gerade mit einer kleinen Gruppe von Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen, Hacker*innen und Autor*innen die Reihe DinnerCons veranstaltet. Bei diesen interaktiven Festmahlen wurde gemeinsam mit den Menschen vor Ort gekocht, die Zutaten wurden im Dschungel gesammelt oder erbeutet, und die Raffinesse und geschmackliche Einzigartigkeit der thailändischen Küche wurde in Skulpturen, Designobjekten und Spielen ausgestellt. Was für die Gruppe ein Ausgangspunkt war, um des Weiteren zu untersuchen, wie Essen auf unerwartete Weise Grenzen überschreiten kann. 

Michaela Büsse ©Michaela Büsse Michaela Büsse (geb. 1988) ist Design- und Medienwissenschaftlerin. Ihr Hauptaugenmerk gilt spekulativen und experimentellen Designpraktiken, Neuem Materialismus sowie Technik- und Ökologiephilosophien. Zurzeit promoviert sie am Baseler European Center For Art, Design And Media Based Research, wo sie im Critical Media Lab zudem Junior Researcher ist. Ihre aktuelle praxisorientierte Forschung beleuchtet Mittel und Methoden eines Designkonzepts, das nicht immer nur den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Büsse ist interdisziplinär in Design, Medien und Urbanismusstudien ausgebildet und hat sowohl am Strelka Institute in Moskau (2017) sowie an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (2014) ein Studium abgeschlossen. Sie hält regelmäßig Vorträge zu den Themen Critical Design und Medienwissenschaften, ist Redakteurin beim Migrant Journal und Mitbegründerin des studio for xeno-design research.

Miljohn Ruperto ©Miljohn Ruperto Miljohn Ruperto (geb. 1971) wurde in Manila (Philippinen) geboren und lebt und arbeitet heute in Los Angeles (USA). An der Yale University in Connecticut hat er 2002 seinen M.A. gemacht, davor bereits einen B.A. im Fach Studio Art an der University Of California in Berkeley, Kalifornien. Zuletzt waren seine Arbeiten in folgenden Ausstellungen zu sehen: On The Shoulders Of Fallen Giants, 2nd Industrial Art Biennial, Labin, Kroatien; Stories Of Almost Everyone, The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA; Geomancies, REDCAT Gallery, Los Angeles, USA; Nervous Systems, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, Deutschland; Afterwork, Para-Site, Hong Kong; The As-If Principle, Magazin4/Bregenzer Kunstverein, Österreich; Whitney Biennial (2014), Whitney Museum Of American Art, New York, USA; Ulrik Heltoft und Miljohn Ruperto, Voynich Botanical Studies, Thomas Solomon Gallery, Los Angeles, USA; Made in L.A., The Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA.

Nuriye Tohermes ©Nuriye Tohermes Nuriye Tohermes (geb. 1989) ist Künstlerin und lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg. Weltweit konzipiert und realisiert sie partizipative, kollektive und ortsspezifische Projekte als eine Form kritischer Raumpraxis. Unter anderem richtete sie 2017 There Is No Time ein, einen 48-stündigen Livestream mit Expert*innen-Paneldiskussionen zu den Themen Digitalisierung, Arbeit und Finanzen. Darüber hinaus ist sie Mitinitiatorin von Das Archipel, einem Netzwerk in Form einer schwimmenden Plattform, das seit 2015 an unterschiedlichen Stellen autonome, gemeinschaftlich organisierte Räume schafft. Das Archipel war vom Cemeti Institute For Art And Society in Yogyakarta, Indonesien, eingeladen; dort wurde dann ein partizipatives Theaterstück über den Gegensatz zwischen kommunalen Strukturen und neoliberalem Staat entwickelt. Seit 2018 betreibt und bespielt Tohermes den Kunst- und Diskursraum ZOLLO, der zur Hamburger ZOLLO:Group gehört. Ihre Arbeiten befassen sich mit politischen Forderungen, gesellschaftlichen Strukturen sowie den Effekten kollektiv und experimentell gestalteter Räume.

Phuong Phan ©Phuong Phan Phuong Phan (geb. 1988) hat in Hamburg, Paris und Berlin Europäische Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte sowie Asian Studies studiert. Sie beschäftigt sich vor allem mit europäischer Architektur der Moderne, mit Kunst- und Architekturtheorie, französischer Kolonialarchitektur sowie postkolonialer Architektur und Stadtplanung. Derzeit forscht sie über die Geschichte und die Typologie chinesischer Ladenlokale in Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt (Vietnam) während der französischen Kolonialzeit und beschäftigt sich zudem mit der Ästhetik und den visuellen Narrativen von Immobilienanzeigen in Südostasien.

Roopesh Sitharan ©Roopesh Sitharan Roopesh Sitharan (geb. 1979) ist Pädagoge, Wissenschaftler, Kurator und Künstler. Zu seinen Spezialgebieten gehören die zeitgenössische malaysische Kunst, die Kultur der Neuen Medien und die Praxis des Kuratierens. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt den Grenzen von Bedeutung und Werthaftigkeit, sowohl bei der Produktion als auch bei der Interpretation von Kunst und Neuen Medien. Sitharan war an vielen nationalen und internationalen Projekten und Präsentationen beteiligt, darunter APICTA, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia; Gwangju Biennale, Gwangju, Südkorea; ISEA 2009, Singapur; Siggraph 2005, Kalifornien, USA. Seine Texte sind in vielen nationalen und internationalen Fachzeitschriften und Magazinen erschienen, u.a. im Leonardo Electronic Almanac (LEA), CTRL+P, einem philippinischen Magazin für zeitgenössische Kunst, der Zeitschrift Sentap und vielen anderen.

Stanya Kahn ©Stanya Kahn Stanya Kahn (geb. 1968) ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin, die sich vor allem mit dem Medium Video beschäftigt, in das sie Elemente aus Zeichnung, Sound Art, Text, Performance, Bildhauerei und Installation einfließen lässt. Humor, Pathos und das Unheimliche sind zentrale Elemente ihrer hybriden Medienkunst, mit der sie die Beziehungen zwischen Fiktion und Dokumentation, Realität und Hyperrealität sowie zwischen Erzählzeit und der synchronen Impulszeit erkundet. Als Langzeitbetrachtungen, die untersuchen, wie bestimmte Semantiken ihre Macht gewinnen und wieder verlieren, stehen bei Kahns Projekten oft unsere körperlichen Bedürfnisse und die Ebene des Sprachlichen gleichermaßen im Vordergrund. Ihre letzten Einzelausstellungen hatte sie im New Museum, New York, USA; in der Galerie Susanne Vielmetter Los Angeles Projects, Culver City, Kalifornien, USA; in der Marlborough Gallery, Chelsea, New York, USA; in der Galerie Weiss Berlin, Berlin, sowie im Cornerhouse, Manchester, GB.

Stefan Römer ©Stefan Römer Stefan Römer (geb.1960) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, wo er im Feld der dekonzeptuellen Kunst als Künstler, Fotograf und Filmemacher tätig ist. Er ist Begründer der interdisziplinären Aktivist*innengruppe FrischmacherInnen (Köln), die Demonstrationen, Filmreihen und Diskussionsrunden zu Themen wie kritischem Urbanismus sowie zu Kulturpolitik- und Kunstkritik organisiert. Er lehrt als Professor für Kunst und Kunsttheorie und wurde im Jahr 2000 vom Arbeitskreis Deutscher Kunstvereine (ADKV) mit dem Preis für Kunstkritik ausgezeichnet.

Tromarama ©Tromarama Tromarama ist ein indonesisches Künstlerkollektiv, das 2006 von Febie Babyrose (geb. 1985), Herbert Hans (geb. 1984) und Ruddy Hatumena (geb. 1984) gegründet wurde. Rund um den Begriff der Hyperrealität im digitalen Zeitalter untersuchen die Projekte des Kollektivs die Wechselbeziehung zwischen virtueller und realer Welt. Oftmals kombinieren die Arbeiten die Elemente Video, Installation, Computerprogrammierung und öffentliche Partizipation, um den Einfluss zu zeigen, den die digitalen Medien heute auf die gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmung von Umwelt haben. Die Arbeiten von Tromarama sind u.a. in der Nationalgalerie in Jakarta, Indonesien (2018), in der Open Eye Gallery, Liverpool, GB (2016), im Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt (2015), im Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, Niederlande (2015), in der National Gallery Of Victoria, Melbourne, Australien (2015) und im Mori Art Museum, Tokio, Japan (2010) zu sehen gewesen.

Text by Joselina Cruz, Thea Garing, Sophie Goltz, Clifford Loh and Soh Kay Min