Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Report
Megagame-Workshop

Megagame-Workshop
© Kirsten Juchem

“Welcome to Africa’s Future” were the words welcoming participants from 15 African countries to a workshop at the Goethe-Institut in Addis Abeba. The ambitious goal of the week: developing a game together. The workshop is part of “Enter Africa”, a two-years project, which fosters analogue and ditital game development in Sub-Saharan Africa. 15 Goethe-Instituts thereby empower young people to actively anticipate the transformation of African megacities in the context of globalization and digitalization as well as the consequences of this development for identities and cultures. 

The workshop represents a milestone and the starting point of the second project phase of Enter Africa. During the last year, each of the teams has created a location-based app game that deals with a specific challenge of their cities. They were supported by the two experience designers Bethlehem Anteneh and Dagmawi Bedilu as well as the German gaming expert Christoph Deeg. They have accompanied the game labs in the respective countries and advised the teams on game development. Now, the countries have come together for the first time to incorporate their visions and ideas in one game.

Intercultural exchange and the search for common topics were particularly important during the workshop. An international evening, which saw the newly founded Enter Africa band perform songs from all corners of the African continent, illustrated the diversity and commonalities of the participating countries. Other examples were objects, which participants brought to present their countries: In that context, different variants of a bean game came from Ghana, Rwanda and Uganda. Overlaps also exist between the topics of the location-based games: They address challenges, such as pollution and resource management, transportation and infrastructure, identity and cultural questions, but also innovation capacity and creativity of urban African youths. 
Finding connecting elements and a common ground between them through a democratic, participatory process was a crucial step in the creation of the megagame. This process was moderated by the project leaders Julia Sattler from Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba and Stefanie Kastner from Goethe-Institut Johannesburg. At the same time, the participants were in contact with their teams at home to involve them in the decisions.
Megagame-Workshop © Bemnet Fekadu What became obvious was how much the participants feel the urge to talk about and convey African issues in a positive way – which approach would be better-suited for this than a game that involves people from so many African countries in the development process? The transnational community that has already been built through Enter Africa perceives this large-scale project as its own and is committed to take control of future topics. This cultural cooperation has been made possible through the network of the Goethe-Institut.

Towards the end of the workshop, the narrative structure of the megagame became more and more tangible: Fictional kingdoms trade with their resources. They open or enforce their borders and play out their specific powers in order to build strong cultures. Thereby, the players can find out, which forms of cooperation can lead to a livable and successful society. Valuable input on game mechanics came again from Christoph Deeg, Bethlehem Anteneh and Dagmawi Bedilu. What represents randomness, what a strategic choice for the players? What are the incentives for collaboration or competition – or even sabotage? The ideas were transferred into a first prototype with the help of Steven Tu from South Africa, who has been chosen as the designer of the megagame, and who quickly created a first version of the board and cards.
Megagame-Workshop © Bemnet Fekadu Now, apart from the location-based games, the megagame will be further developed so that it will be ready for launch at the A Maze Festival in Berlin as well as the Gamescom in Cologne in 2019. On top of that, the megagame and the 15 location-based games will be presented at different occasions across the African continent throughout the next year. Beyond that, the Enter Africa network shall grow together in the future. “I never felt more African”, said one of the participants during the workshop – summarizing what the initiators of the project wished for regarding ownership and participation.

 
Participating institutes include:
Accra/Ghana, Addis Abeba/Ethiopia, Kampala/Uganda, Daressalam/Tansania, Kigali/Rwanda, Windhoek/Namibia, Johannesburg/South Africa, Nairobi/Kenya, Ouagadougou/Burkina Faso, Kinshasa/ DRC, Lomé/Togo, Abidjan/Côte d’Ivoire, Dakar/Senegal, Yaoundé/Cameroon, Lagos/Nigeria 

Back

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nachbericht
Megagame-Workshop

Megagame-Workshop
© Kirsten Juchem

“Welcome to Africa’s Future” – mit diesen Worten begrüßte das Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba TeilnehmerInnen aus 15 afrikanischen Ländern zu einem siebentägigen Workshop mit dem ambitionierten Ziel, gemeinsam ein Spiel zu entwickeln. Im Mittelpunkt stand die Frage, wie länderübergreifende Themen mit Hilfe von Spielmechaniken erfahrbar gemacht werden können. Der Workshop ist Teil von „Enter Africa“, einem zweijährigen Projekt, das analoge und digitale Spieleentwicklung in Subsahara-Afrika fördert. 15 Goethe-Institute ermöglichen damit jungen Menschen sich durch Spiele aktiv mit der Transformation afrikanischer Megastädte auseinanderzusetzen. Welche Konsequenzen haben diese Entwicklungen im Kontext der Globalisierung und Digitalisierung für Kulturen? 

Der Megagame-Workshop ist ein Meilenstein und gleichzeitig der Start der zweiten Projektphase von Enter Africa. Nachdem die Länderteams bisher location-based Games für ihre Städte entwickelt haben, sind sie jetzt zum ersten Mal zusammengekommen, um ihre Visionen und Ideen in einem Spiel zu verbinden. Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung der location-based Games kam von den beiden Experience Designern Bethlehem Anteneh und Dagmawi Bedilu aus Äthiopien sowie von dem Gaming- Experten Christoph Deeg aus Deutschland. Sie begleiteten im letzten Jahr die Game Labs in den einzelnen Ländern und stehen den Teams bis heute bei der Spieleentwicklung zur Seite.

Der interkulturelle Austausch und die Suche nach gemeinsamen Themen waren während des Workshops besonders wichtig. Vor allem ein internationaler Abend, an dem eine neugegründete Enter Africa Band Lieder aus allen Himmelsrichtungen des afrikanischen Kontinents performte, verdeutlichte die Diversität sowie Gemeinsamkeiten der beteiligten Länder. Diese spiegelten sich auch in Objekten wider, die alle Teilnehmenden aus ihren Ländern mitgebracht hatten. Dabei wurden zum Beispiel verschiedene Varianten des Bohnenspiels sowohl aus Ghana als auch aus Ruanda und Uganda präsentiert. Weitere Überschneidungen wurden zwischen den location-based Games deutlich: Alle thematisieren Herausforderungen wie Umweltverschmutzung und Ressourcenmanagement, Verkehr und Infrastruktur, aber auch Identitätsfragen, kulturelle Aspekte und die Kreativität junger AfrikanerInnen.
Megagame-Workshop © Bemnet Fekadu Diese Ideen in einem demokratischen Prozess zu einem Narrativ für das Megagame zu vereinen, war eine der großen Herausforderungen, die die Projektleiterinnen Julia Sattler vom Goethe-Institut Addis Abeba und Stefanie Kastner vom Goethe-Institut Johannesburg meisterten. Sie moderierten die Diskussionsrunden und Gruppenarbeiten, während die TeilnehmerInnen in ständigem Kontakt mit ihren lokalen Teams standen, um alle am Entscheidungsprozess zu beteiligen. Dabei wurde besonders deutlich, wie groß das Bedürfnis der Teilnehmenden ist, afrikanische Themen auf positive Weise zu vermitteln. Und welcher Weg eignet sich dafür besser als ein Spiel, an dem Menschen aus so vielen afrikanischen Ländern zusammenarbeiten? Die länderübergreifende Community, die durch Enter Africa bereits entstanden ist, begreift dieses Großprojekt als ihr eigenes und nimmt Zukunftsthemen engagiert selbst in die Hand. Diese kulturelle Zusammenarbeit wurde durch das Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts ermöglicht.

Zum Ende des Workshops wurde die Story des Megagames immer konkreter. Fiktive Königreiche handeln in dem Spiel mit ihren Ressourcen. Sie öffnen oder verstärken ihre Grenzen, und spielen ihre besonderen Stärken aus, um starke Kulturen aufzubauen. So erproben die Spieler die Frage, welche Formen der Kooperation zu einer lebenswerten, erfolgreichen Gesellschaft führen können. Wertvolle Anstöße hinsichtlich der Spielmechaniken kamen dabei erneut von Christoph Deeg, Bethlehem Anteneh und Dagmawi Bedilu. Welche Spielzüge sind zufällig, wann können die Spieler strategisch entscheiden? Diese Mechaniken wurden von Steven Tu aus Südafrika, der als Designer des Megagames ausgewählt wurde, in einen ersten Prototyp des Spiels übersetzt – der getestet und verbessert werden konnte.
Megagame-Workshop © Bemnet Fekadu Nun wird neben den location-based Games auch das Megagame weiterentwickelt, damit es 2019 auf dem A Maze Festival in Berlin und der Gamescom in Köln vorgestellt werden kann. Außerdem werden die Spiele zu verschiedenen Festivals auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent präsentiert. Das Enter Africa Netzwerk soll darüber hinaus bestehen bleiben und weiter zusammenwachsen. „I never felt more African“ sagte einer der Teilnehmer während des Workshops – er fasste damit zusammen, was sich die Initiatorinnen des Projekts im Hinblick auf Ownership und Partizipation gewünscht haben.
 

Beteiligte Goethe-Institute sind:
Accra/Ghana, Addis Abeba/Äthiopien, Kampala/Uganda, Daressalam/Tansania, Kigali/Ruanda, Windhoek/Namibia, Johannesburg/Südafrika, Nairobi/Kenia, Ouagadougou/Burkina Faso, Kinshasa/ DRC, Lomé/Togo, Abidjan/Elfenbeinküste, Dakar/Senegal, Yaoundé/Kamerun, Lagos/Nigeria 

Zurück

Top