Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Kampala, Uganda
Revival

View of Kampala
© Christoph Deeg

Kampala, Uganda’s capital, is a city of young, innovative, energetic individuals who come from across the country with lots of different cultures. Supporting the talents of these young people is an important investment in the city’s future.

Audio wird geladen
For the Enter Africa team in Kampala, this is not enforced enough so far. They perceive that many projects are not being completed – which demotivates people to pursue their goals. 
Audio wird geladen

The Game: “Revival” 

Therefore, they have created the location-based game “Revival”. It envisions a dystopian future where all talents are lost and must be restored. The main character in the game is essentially the player who has to defeat the villain “Repo” – a metaphor for social problems – to win back the lost talents. 
 
Audio wird geladen
To achieve this, the player has to go to 10 different locations in Kampala, each of which is special. For example, places include historical sites like the Uganda National Museum or cultural places like a gallery and also a co-working space called Design Hub, which inspires you and gives you new ideas. 
 
Audio wird geladen


All these places are linked to specific tasks. Only if the player fulfills these can he prevent Repo from absorbing his abilities. He has to cooperate with other people in these places, because they have the tools or hints to solve the tasks. In the Design Hub, for example, you get a key made right in front of you with a 3D printer - a new experience for many in Kampala. At the same time, the hub is a hive – in the game, you have to fly around and collect honey that makes you invisible from Repo. 
 
Audio wird geladen

Why should I play “Revival”? 

At the end of the day, it’s all about learning - not for the game, but for yourself. The player gets to learn about Kampala and its people, about its values, visions, history and culture - because the game encourages the player to interact with people, to engage with the city and discover new, interesting places. 
 
Audio wird geladen
So, hop on one of Kampala’s motorbike taxis called Boda Bodas – and discover inspiring places to find or revive your talents!

Interviewpartner

Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa team member, entrepreneur and artist from Kampala, Uganda. Laureans works at the Design Hub Kampala and for Elupe House of Comics and Animation. In 2017, he co-founded the organization Tribe Uganda together with other illustrators and animators. They started the Digiart Fest in Kampala, which will take place for the second time this year on 14th and 15th of December. 

The team from kampala

Ssegujja Michael, Rajesh Jadhav, Kabuye Alex, Abdulmalik Dalhatu, Emanzi Kamugisha, Raymond Malinga, Lincoln Karuhanga, Babirye Hilda, Lawrence John Okot, Isaac Lugolobi, Laurean Ntaate, Kiguli Valentine Albert, Mugisha Emmanuel, Kenneth Kyamanywa, Asiimwe Samuel, Keya Nicholas Anthony, Mugibson Patrick Mugisha, Alwenyi Catherine Cassidy, Ssemakula Marvin, Tom Nelson Munghono, Anthony Thompson

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kampala, Uganda
Revival

Sicht auf Kampala
© Christoph Deeg

In Ugandas Hauptstadt Kampala kommen junge, innovative Menschen mit den verschiedensten kulturellen Hintergründen aus dem ganzen Land zusammen. Die Talente dieser jungen Leute zu unterstützen ist ein wichtiges Investment für die Zukunft der Stadt. 

Audio wird geladen
Für das Enter Africa Team in Kampala muss in dieser Richtung aber mehr passieren: Sie sehen viele Projekte, die nicht zu Ende gestellt werden, was viele davon abhält ihre Ziele wirklich energisch zu verfolgen. 
 
Audio wird geladen

Das Spiel: „Revival“ 

Deshalb haben sie das location-based game „Revival“ entwickelt. Darin entwerfen sie eine dystopische Zukunft, in der alle Talente verloren sind und gerettet werden müssen. Die Hauptfigur ist der Spieler selbst, der den Schurken „Repo“ bekämpfen muss – eine Metapher für alle sozialen Probleme – um die verlorenen Talente zurückzugewinnen. 
Locations in Kampala© Christoph Deeg
Um das zu erreichen, müssen die Spieler zehn verschiedene Orte in Kampala aufsuchen. Jeder dieser Orte ist auf seine Weise besonders: Zum Beispiel gibt es Aufgaben im Uganda National Museum oder in kulturellen Einrichtungen wie einer Galerie. Einmal besuchen die Spieler auch den Co-Working Space „Design Hub Kampala“ – also Orte, die den Spieler inspirieren und zu neuen Ideen anregen. 
 
 
Audio wird geladen
Revival © Steven Tu All diese Orte sind mit bestimmten Aufgaben verknüpft. Nur wenn der Spieler diese erfüllt, kann er verhindern, dass Repo seine Fähigkeiten aufsaugt. Dazu muss er mit anderen Menschen an diesen Orten kooperieren, denn sie haben die Werkzeuge oder Hinweise, mit denen sich die Aufgaben lösen lassen. Im Design Hub erhält man zum Beispiel einen Schlüssel, der direkt vor den eigenen Augen mit einem 3D-Drucker hergestellt wird – eine neue Erfahrung für viele in Kampala. Gleichzeitig verwandelt sich der Hub im Spiel in einen Bienenstock – der Spieler muss darin Honig sammeln, der ihn für Repo unsichtbar macht. 

 
Audio wird geladen

Warum sollte ich “Revival” spielen? 

Letztendlich geht es in „Revival“ ums Lernen – nicht für das Spiel, sondern für sich selbst. Der Spieler lernt viel über Kampala und die Menschen dort, ihre Werte, Visionen, Geschichte und Kultur, denn das Spiel ermutigt ihn mit Leuten zu interagieren und neue, interessante Orte zu entdecken. 
 
Audio wird geladen
Also: Steigt auf ein Boda Boda – ein Motorradtaxi in Kampala – und entdeckt inspirierende Orte, an denen ihr eure Talente finden oder wiederbeleben könnt!

Interviewpartner

Laurean Ntaate, Enter Africa Teilnehmer, Unternehmer und Künstler aus Kampala, Uganda. Laurean arbeitet beim Design Hub Kampala sowie für das Unternehmen Elupe House of Comics and Animation. Im Jahr 2017 gründete er gemeinsam mit anderen Illustratoren und Animationskünstlern die Organisation Tribe Uganda. Sie veranstalten das Digiart Fest in Kampala, das 2018 vom 14. – 15. Dezember zum zweiten Mal stattfindet. 

Das Team von kampala

Ssegujja Michael, Rajesh Jadhav, Kabuye Alex, Abdulmalik Dalhatu, Emanzi Kamugisha, Raymond Malinga, Lincoln Karuhanga, Babirye Hilda, Lawrence John Okot, Isaac Lugolobi, Laurean Ntaate, Kiguli Valentine Albert, Mugisha Emmanuel, Kenneth Kyamanywa, Asiimwe Samuel, Keya Nicholas Anthony, Mugibson Patrick Mugisha, Alwenyi Catherine Cassidy, Ssemakula Marvin, Tom Nelson Munghono, Anthony Thompson
The Team at the Design Hub Kampala© Christoph Deeg


 

Top