Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Kinshasa, DR Congo
Lokole

Painting in Kinshasa
© Dagmawi Bedilu

QR Code for Lokole © Enter Africa LOKOLe

Be it as an environmental superhero, policeman or bonobo expert, the Kinshasa game will take you to 5 different locations in Kinshasa that will show you the true face of the city. "Lokole" sends a message to its players - a warning signal that calls for action.

Scan the QR Code with the Enter Africa App and start to play!


THE NOISY MIX OF KINSHASA

Back in the day, people from different areas of the Congo region used a traditional slit drum as a musical instrument and as a log drum. The “Lokole” drum was a means of communication between neighbors and between villages in case of trouble or dangers or it announced someone’s death. The Enter Africa team from Kinshasa chose “Lokole” to be the title of their location-based game. They want to send a message to the player, a warning sign and a call for action.

Kinshasa, the capital city of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, is an extremely busy city. Especially at night, you see all kinds of venders on the streets, selling products or food. Naturally, the vibe and liveliness of the place does not come without chaos. Many people in Kinshasa have to improvise and fight for a good life - and that leaves a trace in the city. One challenge, the Enter Africa team from Kinshasa identified, is pollution: People throw their waste in the streets and the infrastructural means are not enough to keep the city clean. Another problem is a lack of knowledge about the city itself: Many stereotypes exist about Kinshasa – but the location-based game shows its true faces and colors – so that each player can form a personal opinion.

The story of the game Lokole

This is the story of a mythical and historical character, Lumumba, who visits important places in the city of Kinshasa with the aim of introducing them to the world and to the Congolese citizens. During his journey, he solves problems and riddles of these places and he learns to preserve the resources he finds there. Most of these places are touristic and unique in the world.

Why Lumumba?

The main character refers to the hero who has changed the course of history of the DRC. He brought knowledge, a revolution, solved problems and fought to preserve the wealth of the country. But Lokole also praises the bravery of this man who brought independence to the DRC.

Description of the character

The character embodies several roles and they depend on the mission of each place. This means that the character wears a different costume in each place.

Why should I play the Game?

“Lokole” shows you the good and the bad sides of Kinshasa – it gives the player a real experience of the city – so that you can build your own idea about the city and don’t base your opinion on stereotypes. At the same time, the game brings the player to unique locations and inform about challenges in Kinshasa: Waste, chaos, a change of perspective: Hence, it’s a game for Kinshasa’s inhabitants and visitors alike who want to know more about the city and solve issues along the way.

Interview

Myra Dunoyer Vahighene is an interior architect and photographer, born and raised in Kinshasa, DRC.


The Team from Kinshasa

Myra Dunoyer Vahighene, Christian Mokuba, Tende Nzengu Emmanuel, Yannick Mubenga, Glofils Gonda, Arnold Katshinga, Andy Katambwe, Julio Luzoladio, Chadrack Itsia, Lionel Kabeya, Chris Shongo
The Team from Kinshasa, DRC© Dagmawi Bedilu

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kinshasa, DR Kongo
Lokole

Bild in Kinshasa
© Dagmawi Bedilu

Vor langer Zeit nutzten Menschen in verschiedenen Regionen des Kongo-Gebiets eine traditionelle Trommel als Musikinstrument und Kommunikationsmittel. Mit der „Lokole“ schickten sich Nachbarn Nachrichten, warnten sich Dörfer gegenseitig vor Gefahren oder kündigten an, wenn jemand verstorben war. Das Enter Africa Team aus Kinshasa hat „Lokole“ als Titel seines location-based Games ausgewählt. Sie wollen eine Nachricht an den Spieler senden – ein Warnsignal, das zum Handeln aufruft.

Der Sound von Kinshasa

Kinshasa, die Hauptstadt der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, ist eine extrem lebhafte Stadt. Besonders am Abend kann man überall die Straßenhändler beobachten, die ihre letzten Waren verkaufen wollen. In dieser geschäftigen Atmosphäre bleibt das Chaos natürlich nicht aus. Viele Menschen in Kinshasa müssen improvisieren und um ein gutes Leben kämpfen – und das hinterlässt Spuren in der Stadt. Eine besonders große Herausforderung, die das Team aus Kinshasa identifiziert hat, ist die Umweltverschmutzung: Menschen schmeißen ihren Müll achtlos auf die Straße und die Infrastruktur kommt kaum hinterher die Stadt sauber zu halten. Ein anderes Problem sieht das Team in den geringen Kenntnissen über die Stadt selbst: Es gibt viele Vorurteile über Kinshasa. Das location-based Game hingegen zeigt das wahre Gesicht der Stadt, damit sich alle SpielerInnen eine eigene Meinung bilden können.

Die Geschichte des Spiels Lokole

Dies ist die Geschichte des legendären und historischen Charakters Lumumba, der wichtige Orte in der Stadt Kinshasa besucht, um sie der Welt und den kongolesischen Bürgern vorzustellen. Während seiner Reise löst er Probleme und Rätsel an diesen Orten und lernt, die dort gefundenen Ressourcen zu schützen. Die meisten dieser Orte sind touristisch und einzigartig auf der Welt.

Warum Lumumba?

Die Hauptfigur bezieht sich auf den Helden, der den Lauf der Geschichte der DRK verändert hat. Er brachte Wissen, eine Revolution, löste Probleme und kämpfte für den Erhalt des Erbes des Landes. Lokole würdigt aber auch die Tapferkeit dieses Mannes, der der DRK die Unabhängigkeit gebracht hat.

Beschreibung des Charakters

Der Charakter verkörpert mehrere Rollen und diese hängen von der Mission des jeweiligen Ortes ab. Das bedeutet, dass der Charakter an jedem Ort ein anderes Kostüm trägt.

Warum sollte ich das Spiel spielen?

„Lokole“ zeigt dir die guten und die schlechten Seiten von Kinshasa. Es ermöglicht den Spielern eine echte Erfahrung der Stadt, damit sie sich selbst eine Meinung bilden können, die nicht auf Vorurteilen beruht. Gleichzeitig bringt dich das Spiel an einzigartige Plätze in Kinshasa und informiert über die Herausforderungen der Stadt. Ein Spiel für Bewohner und Besucherinnen, die mehr über Kinshasa lernen und dabei ein paar Herausforderungen bewältigen wollen!

Interview

Myra Dunoyer Vaighene ist Innenarchitektin und Fotografin aus Kinshasa, DRC.


Das Team aus Kinshasa

Myra Dunoyer Vahighene, Christian Mokuba, Tende Nzengu Emmanuel, Yannick Mubenga, Glofils Gonda, Arnold Katshinga, Andy Katambwe, Julio Luzoladio, Chadrack Itsia, Lionel Kabeya, Chris Shongo
Das Team aus Kinshasa, DRC© Dagmawi Bedilu

Top