Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Unleash

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
© K15 Photos on Unsplash

This game will encourage you to grow as a person, while teaching you about the rich history of the city of Dar Es Salaam.

POTENTIAL OF YOUNG PEOPLE

Of the approximately 50 million Tanzanians, almost half is under 15 years old – a statistic which mirrors the demographic situations in most African countries. According to Rahma Suleymane, member of the Enter Africa team in Dar Es Salaam, there is a lot of potential in these young people, but not enough opportunities.

Rahma Suleiman Jumanne © Rahma Suleiman Jumanne “Youth engagement is a very big issue in Tanzania. A lot of people think that young people cannot do things. Which is really not realistic – because even if you are young, there is a very high possibility for you to do things than other people
who are older” says Rahma. 



UNLEASH! 

Therefore, the name of the location-based game from Dar Es Salaam perfectly describes what it aims to  [Unleash Poster] do: “Unleash”! Players have to overcome certain tasks in different locations, helping them to challenge their notions of not amounting to much and unleashing their inner potential. For example, in one place you will have to overcome fear by finishing a list of taskswhereas in another place it is about a fixed mindset, where you will be challenged to have an open mind and a positive attitude.

Why should I play unleash?

By doing all of this, you will learn a lot about the city of Dar Es Salaam itself but also about broader issues that Tanzanians are facing. From the famous Askari monument to topics such as resources and the environment, after playing Unleash one truly will have learned a lot about the city also known as “the House of Peace”. Finally, you don't only learn practical information, you also grow as a person.

“We try to teach player that for change to happen, you need a positive attitude – that’s when we try to remove the fixed mindset. In the whole game, you need to overcome tasks and this will automatically help you to unleash your inner potential. You will be challenged to create opportunities for yourself, for example in Kisutu Market you will have to sell something – that means you are creating resources for yourself. Also, determination and commitment are big parts of the game. You will learn that you need to commit yourself to achieve something.”

The Team from Dar es Salaam

Shakila Mpomo, Christine Gimonge, Alfred Mote, Rahma Seleman Jumanne, Frank John Magulyati, Mussa Awadh, Hasheem Kareem, Haroun Mafuru, Enrica John
Team Dar es Salaam© Rahma Seleman Jumanne

The game

Unleash © Steven Tu

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Dar es Salaam, Tansania
Unleash

Dar es Salaam
© K15 Photos on Unsplash

Dieses Spiel wird dich dazu inspirieren, als Person zu wachsen und dich gleichzeitig über die reiche Geschichte der Stadt Dar Es Salaam zu informieren.

POTENZIAL DER JUNGEND

Von den rund 50 Millionen Tansanianern ist fast die Hälfte unter 15 Jahre alt - eine Statistik, die die demografische Situation in den meisten afrikanischen Ländern widerspiegelt. Laut Rahma Seleman, Mitglied des Enter Africa-Teams in Dar Es Salaam, gibt es bei diesen jungen Menschen viel Potenzial, aber nicht genug Perspektiven.

Rahma Seleman Jumanne © Rahma Seleman Jumanne "Die Einbeziehung der Jugend ist ein sehr großes Thema in Tansania. Viele Leute denken, dass junge Menschen nichts erreichen können. Das ist wirklich nicht realistisch - denn besonders wenn man jung ist, ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit groß, dass man Dinge anders angeht und macht, als ältere Personen es tun würden", erklärt Rahma. 


ENTFESSELN!

Der Name des location-based games von Dar Es Salaam beschreibt daher perfekt, was es zu erreichen versucht: " Entfesseln"! Die Spieler müssen bestimmte Aufgaben an verschiedenen Orten bewältigen und dabei ihre Auffassung, nicht viel erreichen zu können, in Frage stellen und ihr inneres Potenzial entfalten. Zum Beispiel musst du an einem Ort deine Angst überwinden, indem du eine Reihe von Aufgaben bewältigst, während es an einem anderen Ort um eine festgefahrene Denkweise geht, bei der du aufgefordert wirst, einen aufgeschlossenen Verstand und eine positive Einstellung zu haben.

DIE SPIELORTE

Auf diese Weise erfahren die Spieler viel über die Stadt Dar Es Salaam selbst, aber auch über breitere Themen, mit denen die Tansanier konfrontiert sind. Vom berühmten Askari-Denkmal bis hin zu Themen wie Ressourcen und Umwelt, nach dem Spielen von Unleash wird man wahrlich viel über die Stadt gelernt haben, die auch als "Haus des Friedens" bekannt ist.

CHANCEN ERSCHAFFEN

Schließlich lernt man nicht nur praktische Dinge, sondern wächst auch als Mensch. Rahma erklärt: "Wir versuchen, dem Spieler beizubringen, dass man für Veränderungen eine positive Einstellung braucht - dann versuchen wir, die feste Einstellung zu überwinden. Im gesamten Spiel musst du Aufgaben bewältigen, und das wird dir automatisch helfen, dein inneres Potenzial zu entfalten. Du wirst herausgefordert, Chancen für dich selbst zu schaffen, z.B. im Kisutu-Markt musst du etwas verkaufen - das heißt, du schaffst dir eigene Ressourcen. Auch Entschlossenheit und Engagement sind große Bestandteile des Spiels. Du wirst lernen, dass du dich einsetzen musst, um etwas zu erreichen."

DAS TEAM VON DAR ES SALAAM

Shakila Mpomo, Christine Gimonge, Alfred Mote, Rahma Seleman Jumanne, Frank John Magulyati, Mussa Awadh, Hasheem Kareem, Haroun Mafuru, Enrica John
Das Team aus Dar es Salaam© Rahma Seleman Jumanne

 



 

Top