Art Meets Science Weather Glass or Crystal Ball?

“Weather Glass or Crystal Ball” project image
© Goethe-Institut Glasgow/LABLAB
  • 12. November 2020 — 31. October 2021

  • Education, Climate Change

  • Glasgow (United Kingdom); Oslo (Norway); Stockholm (Sweden); Kopenhagen (Denmark)

How can art and science be combined? The project investigates the effects of human activity on the earth's ecosystems by mapping the weather in various areas.

As part of the project, the Goethe-Institutes in Glasgow, Copenhagen, Oslo and Stockholm are visualising weather data and making it the subject of an interdisciplinary and aesthetic examination of sustainability.
To this end, local weather data sets will be linked with historical weather data and insights into local urban development using AI technologies, and the project will investigate how the climate has shaped the respective region and what influence it has on the people who live there. Nature and culture are not considered as opposites. The aim is to develop an aesthetic "language" for the weather that also moves and touches a broad public.
Formally, the project consists of three parts: A hackathon, in which software on the topic is developed together, a symposium with experts from art and science on the topic of urban development and climate change, and an artistic implementation of the results, which are made available beforehand on an open source platform.
 
"Weather Glass and Crystal Ball" is a project of the Goethe-Institut Glasgow and the Goethe-Institut Sweden, curated by LABLAB Stockholm and implemented together with the participating Goethe-Institutes.

The Hackathon (12.-13.11.2020) organized by the Goethe-Institut Glasgow was supported with funds from Generation A. Generation A is a project of the Goethe-Institut, supported with special funds from the German Foreign Office for the German EU Council Presidency 2020.

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft Weather Glass or Crystal Ball?

Grafik zum Projekt „Weather Glass or Crystal Ball“
© Goethe-Institut Glasgow/LABLAB
  • 12. November 2020 — 31. Oktober 2021

  • Bildung, Klimawandel

  • Glasgow (Vereinigtes Königreich); Oslo (Norwegen); Stockholm (Schweden); Kopenhagen (Dänemark)

Wie kann Kunst und Wissenschaft verbunden werden? Das Projekt untersucht die Auswirkungen des Menschen auf die Ökosysteme der Erde mithilfe einer Kartierung des Wetters in verschiedenen Bereichen. 

Im Rahmen des Projekts visualisieren die Goethe-Institute in Glasgow, Kopenhagen, Oslo und Stockholm Wetterdaten und machen sie zum Gegenstand einer interdisziplinären und ästhetischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit.

Dazu werden lokale Wetterdatensätze mithilfe von AI-Technologien mit historischen Wetterdaten und Erkenntnissen zur lokalen Stadtentwicklung verknüpft und untersucht, wie das Klima die jeweilige Region geprägt hat und welchen Einfluss es auf die Menschen hat, die dort wohnen. Natur und Kultur werden dabei nicht als Gegensätze betrachtet. Es geht darum, eine ästhetische „Sprache“ für das Wetter zu entwickeln, die auch ein breites Publikum bewegt und berührt.

Formal besteht das Projekt aus drei Teilen: Einem Hackathon, bei dem gemeinsam Software zum Thema entwickelt wird, einem Symposium mit Expert*innen aus Kunst und Wissenschaft zum Thema Stadtentwicklung und Klimawandel sowie einer künstlerischen Umsetzung der Ergebnisse, die zuvor auf einer Open Source Plattform zur Verfügung gestellt werden.  

Weather Glass and Crystal Ball ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Glasgow und des Goethe-Instituts Schweden, das von LABLAB Stockholm kuratiert und gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Goethe-Instituten durchgeführt wird.

Der vom Goethe-Institut Glasgow organisierte Hackathon (12.-13.11.2020) wurde mit Mitteln von Generation A unterstützt. Generation A ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert mit Sondermitteln des Auswärtigen Amts zur deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2020.