Honourable Court Let the Mountains Live!

Demonstration against wind power
‘Let the mountains live’: From a demonstration march against the wind power project at Stokkfjellet in Saalpove (Selbu) municipality in 2017. | Photo (detail): © Ingrid Fadnes

For the Sámi and their reindeer husbandry, wind power is neither green nor progress. It is just another industry that is gradually fragmenting the Sami cultural landscape, writes Eva Maria Fjellheim, PhD candidate at the Center for Sami Studies at UiT's, in this article.
 


 

By Eva Maria Fjellheim

Beating drums and distant shouts make up the soundscape in the Frostating Court of Appeal on a grey December morning in Tråante (Trondheim) in 2019, the ‘capital’ of the Southern Sámi on the Norwegian side of Saepmie. A group of protesters have gathered outside the main entrance to manifest their discontent with Norway’s ‘green’ energy politics and the violation of Indigenous peoples’ rights when large scale wind power plants are constructed on Sámi land. They are shouting what has become a repeated slogan of the Southern Sámi movement against ‘green colonialism’, while the called parties settle down in their assigned seats on either side of the courtroom. The drums continue to beat, disrupting the formal entrance of the three judges and four lay judges who represent authority and order in this particular space. All rise. From now on, the rule of Law and its language prevails.

Honourable Court,

I address you from a rather empty back row. As audience members, we do not have the right, nor duty, to give an opinion of the case during the court hearing. We remain silent. Nevertheless, after two weeks, we have observed power dynamics through interactions, subtle gestures and insinuations; listened to monologues, questionings, affirmations and, not least, we have felt the tense silence that speaks its own language. We reflect on the issues debated. But more importantly, on those who are absent. Now, I am borrowing your language, but I might break some rules. This is, you could say, a closing argument from the back row of the courtroom.

For the sake of good order: the case concerns the partly state-owned wind power company Fosen Vind DA and the fully state-owned power system operator Statnett, facing the Southern Sámi reindeer-herding communities in Fovsen Njaarke Sijte. Fosen Vind DA and Statnett own 52,1 percent, the regional power company Trønder Energi 7,9 percent and the European investment consortium Nordic Wind Power, established by Credit Suisse Energy Infrastructure and the Swiss power company BKW, owns 40 percent of the project.

Following the law of expropriation, the Court will have to decide on compensation for disadvantages and negative impacts for the already vulnerable reindeer-herding community on the Fosen peninsula in Trøøndelage (Trøndelag) County. Fosen Vind is developing a cluster of six large wind power plants with extensive infrastructure. Four of them will affect the practice of reindeer herding in Fovsen Njaarke Sijte, interrupting migration routes, calving areas and crucial winter pastures. The project’s total production capacity of 1057 MW makes the Fosen project the largest intervention on Sámi reindeer-herding lands in history. One third of the estimated production has already been sold to supply the Norwegian company Hydro with energy for fifteen years enabling it to brand its production as ‘green aluminium’.

Honourable Court,

It appears to be a paradox, but the Court is also committed to consider whether Fosen Vind DA and Statnett are violating international law by denying the Fosen Sámis’ right to continue practising their culture, worldview and way of life through reindeer herding. The legality of the license is still unresolved, while the construction is nearly finished.

A retrospective view: in 2016, Fosen Vind DA acquired prior authorisation for construction, despite the fact that the compensation measures and legality question had not yet been settled in the court system. In December 2018, the Norwegian government ignored the request from the Committee for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) to halt the construction of the largest of the plants, at Storheia, until they had reviewed the human-rights complaints by the Sámi Council on behalf of Åarjel Fovsen Njaarke Sijte, the family group practising reindeer herding in the southern part of the Fosen Peninsula. In January 2020, the Swiss civil organisation Society of Threatened Peoples (STP) filed a complaint against the Swiss investor bank BKW to the Swiss Contact Point for violations of the OECD's guidelines for responsible business.

Honourable Court,

To be frank: For some, the shades of grey and formal order of the courtroom is just business as usual. Their job is to ensure the best financial outcome and reputation for their employees. For others, it is an unsettling domain, filled with uncertainty and worries. It is a place where you have everything to lose.
That reindeer herders are experts on reindeer herding and the cultural landscape in which herding is practised would be hard to dispute. They move with the reindeer, think with the reindeer, feel with the reindeer and know with the reindeer. They carry with them centuries of observations, analysis and knowledge of how the landscape laid the foundation for coexistence, survival, continuation. There is an old (Northern) Sámi saying that illustrates well the almost impossible challenge of reducing the use of the land to a single square: ‘Jahki ii leat jagi viellja’ (No year is the other year’s brother). This is even more true with the climate changing faster than before. Winters with rapid temperature shifts block access to pastures locked by ice. Some summers are unusually hot and dry, making it impossible to gather the herd. The wind power installations are additional obstacles that fragment and disrupt the necessary free movement of animals and humans, the reindeer and the herders. The flexibility on which sustainable reindeer herding depends is gradually reduced.

In the courtroom, facts, legal precedence and tough rhetoric make up the rules of the game. Emotions and human reactions are given little space. In order to follow these rules, someone speaks on your behalf.

Fosen Vind DA and Statnett’s lawyers stress the duty of reindeer herding to adapt to the development of the larger society. Any financial loss must be proved by cause and effect in order to be compensated. They try their best to prove that the effects of their operations are insignificant, and that negative impact on reindeer herding is provoked by other interventions and causes. The approach is instrumental, and the logic is financial. They assume that reindeers will avoid the area during construction, but gradually return and adapt to the new installations. Negative effects can be avoided through practical mitigating measures. The territory of Fovsen Njaarke Sijte is vast and the herders control the reindeer. Herding is thus an industry, they claim. Reindeer can be transported in trucks. They can be fed supply forage. This logic is far from a Sámi understanding of the relationship between humans, reindeer and the landscape.

The premises for the debate are set, and the reindeer herders’ lawyers respond. The principles of Compensation Law constitute a limited framework, which twists around numbers and calculation models: the weight of the reindeer, the total number of the herd, investment in workload and equipment. Comparing reindeer herding with any other occupation or industry is a near-impossible task. Nevertheless, it is the logic of the case. When determining the compensation amount, knowledge about land use, the living landscape and the consequences of the wind-power industry are disputed. Expert witnesses are called, according to their profession and competence: ecologists, biologists, economists, engineers and natural resource managers. How many kilometres will the reindeer lose in order to avoid the turbines and power lines, and how can this loss of pasture be calculated and measured? They fundamentally disagree.

Honourable Court,

An important question remains: whose knowledge counts when millions have already been invested, and when the construction of the project is nearly finished?

There is another pressing question that is impossible to avoid, and seems to be the elephant in the room: how can Sámi culture and livelihood be measured in money?

Hohes Gericht „Lasst das Fjell leben! Lasst das Fjell leben!“

Demonstration gegen Windkraft
“Lasst die Berge leben”: Foto von einem Demonstrationsmarsch gegen das Windkraftprojekt auf dem Stokkfjellet in der Gemeinde Saalpove (Selbu) im Jahr 2017. | Foto (Detail): © Ingrid Fadnes

Für die Sámi und ihre Rentierzucht ist Windkraft weder grün noch ein Fortschritt. Es ist nur eine weitere Branche, die Stück für Stück die samische Kulturlandschaft fragmentiert, schreibt Eva Maria Fjellheim, Doktorandin am Center for Sami Studies der UiT, in diesem Artikel. 

Von Eva Maria Fjellheim

Rhythmisches Trommeln und Kampfrufe aus der Ferne malen an einem grauen Dezembermorgen das Klangbild am norwegischen Oberlandesgericht Frostating in Tråante (Trondheim), der „Hauptstadt” des südsamischen Gebietes auf der norwegischen Seite von Saepmie. Eine Gruppe von Demonstranten hat sich draußen vor dem Haupteingang versammelt, um ihre Unzufriedenheit gegenüber Norwegens „grüner” Energiepolitik zu demonstrieren, die gegen die Rechte der Urbevölkerung verstößt, indem große Windkraftwerke in der samischen Kulturlandschaft errichtet werden. Sie skandieren das Schlagwort der südsamischen Bewegung, die gegen den „grünen Kolonialismus” kämpft, während die Parteien ihre zugewiesenen Plätze auf der jeweiligen Seite im Gerichtssaal einnehmen. Die Trommeln schlagen weiter und brechen mit dem formellen Einzug der fünf Richter ab, die in diesem Raum Recht und Ordnung repräsentieren. Alle erheben sich. Ab jetzt gelten die Regeln und die Sprache des Gerichts.

Hohes Gericht,

ich wende mich von einer ziemlich leeren Publikumsbank an das Gericht. Als Zuhörer*innen haben wir während der Anhörung weder das Recht noch die Pflicht, uns in der Sache zu äußern. Wir bleiben still. Über zwei Wochen haben wir inzwischen Machtproportionen durch Beziehungen, subtile Körpersprache und Reaktionen beobachtet, Monologe, Verhöre, Beschuldigungen, Bestätigungen gehört. Und nicht zuletzt eine unruhige Stille gefühlt, die ihre eigene Sprache spricht. Wir denken über die diskutierten Problemstellungen nach. Aber noch wichtiger, über das, was im Diskurs abwesend ist. Jetzt borge ich mir Ihre Sprache aus, und es kann sein, dass ich gegen einige Regeln verstoße. Ich halte, so könnte man es nennen, ein Schlussplädoyer aus der hinteren Reihe.

Der Ordnung halber: Die Parteien in dieser Sache sind die Windkraftgesellschaften Fosen Vind DA und Statnett gegen die südsamischen Rentierhalter*innen der Fovsen Njaarke Sijte. Gemäß dem Enteignungsgesetz muss das Gericht Stellung beziehen zum Schadensersatz für die Nachteile und negativen Konsequenzen, die der Ausbau für die bereits gefährdete Rentierhaltung auf der Fosen-Halbinsel in Trøøndelage (Trøndelag) mit sich bringt. Fosen Vind baut ein Feld von sechs großen Windkraftwerken mit umfassender Infrastruktur. Vier von ihnen werden direkt die Ausübung der Rentierhaltung von Fovsen Njaarke Sijte beeinflussen. Die totale Produktionskapazität des Fosen-Projekts von 1.057 MW macht es zum größten Eingriff in samische Rentierhaltungsgebiete, die es jemals gab. Dem europäischen Investitionskonsortium Nordic Wind Power, von Credit Suisse Energy Infrastructure etabliert, sowie der Schweizer Energiegesellschaft BKW gehören 40 Prozent des Projektes. Ein Drittel der Energie, die produziert werden soll, ist bereits mit dem Etikett »grünes« Aluminium an Hydro verkauft worden. Das Projekt wird die Zugwege, die Abkalbungsgebiete und die Winterweiden für die Rentierhaltung maßgeblich beeinflussen.

Hohes Gericht,

es wirkt paradox, aber das Gericht ist auch verpflichtet zu beurteilen, ob Fosen Vind und Statnett gegen internationales Recht verstoßen, indem man den Fosen-Sámi das Recht verweigert, ihre Kultur und Lebensweise durch Rentierhaltung auszuüben. Die Rechtmäßigkeit der Lizenz ist noch immer ungeklärt, während die Windkraftanlagen fast fertig gebaut sind.

Ein Rückblick: 2016 verschaffte sich Fosen Vind eine Vorabgenehmigung für den Bau, noch bevor die Fragen der Entschädigung und Gültigkeit gerichtlich entschieden waren. Sie versicherten, dass eine völkerrechtliche Bewertung durchgeführt worden sei. Im Dezember 2018 ignorierte die norwegische Regierung die Aufforderung des Komitees zur Eliminierung von Rassendiskriminierung (CERD), den Bau der größten Anlage auf Storheia anzuhalten, bis sie die Angelegenheit bewertet hätten. Im Januar 2020 reichte die Schweizer Sektion der NGO „Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker” bei der Schweizer Kontaktstelle eine Klage gegen die Schweizer Investorbank BKW ein, diese hätte gegen die Richtlinien der OECD für verantwortliches Wirtschaften verstoßen.

Hohes Gericht,

für einige sind die Grauzonen und Formalitäten im Gerichtssaal lediglich „business as usual”. Es ist ihr Job, das beste ökonomische Ergebnis sowie das Ansehen ihrer Arbeitgeber zu sichern. Für andere ist es ein Raum voller Unsicherheit und Sorgen. Es ist ein Ort, an dem man alles verlieren kann.
Dass die samischen Rentierhalter*innen Expert*innen auf dem Gebiet der Rentierhaltung und der Kulturlandschaft sind, in der sie leben und arbeiten, lässt sich schwer bestreiten. Sie bewegen sich mit den Rentieren, denken und fühlen mit den Tieren. Sie tragen jahrhundertealtes Wissen mit sich, mit Analysen und Kenntnissen darüber, wie die Landschaft die Grundlage für die Koexistenz, das Überleben und Kontinuität bildet. Ein altes (nord)-samisches Sprichwort illustriert gut die fast unmögliche Herausforderung, den Gebrauch der Natur auf einen einfachen Quadratmeter zu reduzieren: „Jahki ii leat jagi viellja”, „Das eine Jahr ist nicht der Bruder des anderen Jahres”. Dies stimmt umso mehr, wenn das Klima sich in einer dramatischen Veränderung befindet. Winter mit schnellen Temperaturwechseln blockieren den Zugang zu Weideflächen, die wegen Vereisung geschlossen werden müssen. Einige Sommer sind ungewöhnlich warm und trocken, was es unmöglich macht, die Herden zusammenzutreiben. Windkraft ist nur einer von mehreren Eingriffen, die die notwendige Bewegungsfreiheit von Tier und Mensch, Rentieren und samischen Rentierhalter*innen fragmentieren und zerstören. Die Flexibilität, von der eine nachhaltige Rentierhaltung abhängig ist, wird Stück für Stück reduziert.

Im Gerichtssaal zählen Fakten, Präzedenzfälle und harte Rhetorik zu den Spielregeln. Gefühlen und menschlichen Reaktionen wird wenig Platz eingeräumt. Um diesen Regeln zu folgen, spricht jemand in deinem Namen.

Die Anwälte von Fosen Vind und Statnett haben ein Interesse daran, die Rentierhaltung zu verpflichten, sich den gesamtgesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen anzupassen. Eventuelle wirtschaftliche Verluste müssen nach dem Prinzip von Ursache und Wirkung nachgewiesen werden, um kompensiert werden zu können. Danach versuchen sie aufzuzeigen, dass die Auswirkungen der Unternehmenstätigkeit unbedeutend sind und dass andere Beeinträchtigungen die Ursache für die Herausforderungen sind, denen sich die Rentierhaltung gegenübersieht. Die Annäherung ist instrumentell und die Logik ökonomisch. Sie gehen davon aus, dass die Rentiere während der Bauzeit das Gebiet meiden, dann aber allmählich zurückkommen und sich den neuen Gegebenheiten anpassen. Negative Effekte könnten durch bestimmte Maßnahmen vermieden werden. Das Fovsen Njaarke Sijte zur Verfügung stehende Gebiet sei groß und die Hirten kontrollierten die Rentiere. Es gäbe genug, was man wegnehmen könne. Rentierhaltung sei ein Wirtschaftsbetrieb, betonen sie. Die Rentiere könnten in Lastwagen verfrachtet werden. Sie könnten mit Kraftfutter gefüttert werden. Ihre Logik ist so weit entfernt vom samischen Verständnis vom Zusammenspiel zwischen Mensch, Tier und Landschaft.

Die Entscheidungsgründe für die Anhörung sind genannt und die Anwälte der Rentierhalter*innen antworten darauf. Wenn es um Entschädigungen geht, dann stehen Zahlen und Berechnungsmodelle im Fokus. Das Gewicht des Rentiers, die Größe der Herde, Investitionen in Arbeitsmengen und Ausrüstung. Rentierhaltung mit irgendeinem anderen Job oder einer anderen Industrie vergleichen zu wollen, ist eine schier unmögliche Aufgabe. Gleichzeitig ist es von der Sache her logisch. Um die Entschädigung ermitteln zu können, streitet man um die Kompetenz. Expert*innen werden auf Grund ihrer beruflichen Kompetenz angehört: Biologen, Ökonomen, Ingenieure und Manager von Naturressourcen. Über wie viele Kilometer werden die Rentiere die Turbinen und Stromleitungen meiden, und wie kann dieser Verlust berechnet und als Geldwert beziffert werden? Darüber sind sie sich grundlegend uneinig.

Hohes Gericht,

es stellt sich nun die Frage: Wessen Kenntnisse zählen am meisten, wenn Millionen bereits investiert sind? Wenn das Bauprojekt fast abgeschlossen ist?

Eine weitere Frage drängt sich auf, um die man unmöglich herumkommt: Wie kann der Wert der samischen Kulturlandschaft in Geld beziffert werden?