Rap and Tradition The Voice of the Oppressed Cultures

Áilu Valle in Sápmi
Áilu Valle expresses his relationship to his culture and the nature in his music. | Photo (detail): Marko Vasara

When thinking about Indigenous traditions, Rap usually is not the first thing that comes to mind. For musician Áilu Valle, it’s the perfect way to express the struggles of the Sámi and their relationship to nature. 

Music and artistry carry a profound meaning for me and my life. At the same time, I want there to be profound meaning in the content of my art – since the Sámi share the same struggle as the Indigenous Peoples around the world. that have been under colonial rule, I feel it is extremely important to bring forth the voice of the oppressed cultures, which, for me, represents the voice of nature. 

All of the people involved in the production of the album Viidon sieiddit were featured in an exhibition in the Siida Sámi Museum with our art installations and published a book about the topics and findings in the research and art process during the project. Viidon sieiddit was produced as part of the science and art collaboration project “The New Dimensions of the Sámi Relationship to Nature” (2016-2019), led by the sociology professor Jarno Valkonen and the professor, specialised in Sámi research, Sanna Valkonen from the University of Lapland. Other main members of this project were the visual artists Marja Helander and Stina Aikio. 

The album consists of nine rap songs produced by Tatu A, Uyarakq, 169 and Tumma; and eleven soundscapes produced by Sámi-Canadian violinist and sound designer Raquel Rawn. 

Cycle of the Eight Seasons 

The soundscapes on the Viidon sieiddit album were part of the Siida Sámi Museum art exhibition “The New Dimensions of the Sámi Relationship to Nature”. The storyline of them follows the cycle of the eight seasons in the North, starting with the polar night. The Sámi concept of time is based on the cycle of nature and in particular the annual behavioural patterns of the reindeer. The seasons span from spring to winter, when the pregnant deer are drawn from the forests to the calving grounds in the mountains. In the summer, the sun does not set entirely and the calves get earmarked, this season is followed by pre-autumn and autumn, when they return to their winter grounds. After pre-winter comes winter, when there is no sun to be seen anymore and the reindeer and the Sámi wait out in the forests for the next season, when the cycle will repeat itself.  

In the album, we use nature samples recorded by Niilo Rasmus from Ohcejohka. These samples are the cornerstones of the whole album since the soundscapes and the rap songs are built around them. 

Sacred Rocks 

In this essay, I would like to present the title track of the album “Viidon sieiddit – Widened Sacred Rocks”, a drum and bass influenced rap song, produced by 169 aka Mio Negga from Ubmie, the Swedish side of Sápmi. 

The name of the song refers to the present-day situation, where the Sámi are part of the modern global culture but, at the same time, still have a strong bond to the traditional way of life. Sacred rocks have had an important role in Sámi culture as places of worship They demonstrate the locality of the culture; for example, how the Sámi have been strongly connected to the local nature. However, nowadays, we are also connected to nature worldwide through the technological devices we use, whether we want it or not. 

This song is about the challenges of living in the world today as Sámi, the struggle of sustaining the traditional culture in a rapidly changing world. The saying in the chorus about “Sámi as the last to use skis and the first to use snowmobiles” is a quote by legendary Sámi linguist, professor and politician Ole Henrik Magga. This quote perfectly demonstrates the core of Sámi culture, the ability to adapt. On the album there are also songs, in which I am more impersonal, I talk about challenges in general and reflect on potential solutions, which would, of course, demand action from everyone, especially the ones who are in the position of power. 

Through my artistic expression, I have fulfilled my dreams time and time again and experienced things I could not have imagined growing up in a small reindeer herding village of Gámasmohkki. I have worked with numerous rap artists that I have looked up to at a time when I had no idea that one day, I will have a career doing what I love most: being a musician. I have collaborated with Paleface, Asa, Julma H, Mokoma and performed with Mari Boine and Sofia Jannok, just to name a few. I have had the chance to perform to presidents and ministers and gave concerts in Paris, Berlin, Seattle and Mexico City. 

Viidon sieiddit is mixed by Tatu A, Uyarakq, 169. The digital release was mastered by Uyarakq and the upcoming vinyl release is mastered by Tommi Langen. The project was funded by Koneen Säätiö and the album production costs were funded by Taike. 

 
Audio wird geladen

Viidon sieiddit – Widened Sacred Rocks

[Verse 1] 
 
Herding, herding the herd 
Following the weather, following the soul 
Balancing the numbers, protecting from the predators 
And carnivores, in the goahti sharing the info 
While cooking, telling stories 
Taking care of things humbly 
By the campfire, narrating 
With yoiks (form of song in Sámi music) saving, reminiscing 
Taking care of the environment, the family 
Relatives, siidas, diligently, firmly 
Communicating with the air, water and earth 
Asking the hunting luck from the sacrifice stones 
Learning the seasons, favorable locations 
Over nights, days, months, years 
Springs, summers, autumns, winters 
With patience the strength and vigor increases 
 
[Chorus] 
 
The last who were on skis 
- adjusting, adapting 
The first who started working with snowmobiles 
- siidas (village units) reflecting/ answering the fjelds 
Do we really long for the past 
- adjusting, adapting 
When times change, the sacred rocks widen 
- the villages adapting in the new situations 
 
[Verse 2] 
 
Oh we should return to the past 
There was no time to enjoy actually 
To have time to rest you had to be 
Constantly searching for ways to survive 
Now it's much easier, weather the weather 
Snowmobile, engine, ordering a ride 
It's possible to save a life no matter is it 
Storm or still 
Well of course we survive without them 
Or can we anymore 
Do we fend anymore 
Did you sell again, buy again, fly again 
But what about the outside forces 
Denouncing, condemning 
Bringing death, building barrages 
Attacking by day, attacking in the dusk 
Restrictions, regulations 
Laws, poisons, pollution 
Dining space from nearby lands 
And at the same time from distant traditions 
 
[Chorus] 
 
The last who were on skis 
- adjusting, adapting 
The first who started working with snowmobiles 
- siidas (village units) reflecting/ answering the fjelds 
Do we really long for the past 
- adjusting, adapting 
When times change, the sacred rocks widen 
- the villages adapting in the new situations 

 
[Verse 3] 
 
Today’s situation must be taken into account more extensively 
That's what the criticizer forgot 
How is it so difficult to see 
That we only let the nature colour our opinions 
Blind ones trust the individuals 
And the pyramids of power 
When the only functional way is to return the authority to local regimes 
We have the power when we dare 
To fight together against the big devils 
For the sake of life, this is everyone's responsibility 
Our things are governed by nature 
Our things are governed by the reindeer 
We ourselves know how to determine these lands 
Not the one who is separated from nature

Rap und Tradition Die Stimme der unterdrückten Kulturen 

Áilu Valle in Sápmi
In seiner Musik drückt Áilu Valle sein Verhältnis zu seiner Kultur und der Natur aus.  | Foto (Detail): Marko Vasara

Wenn von Indigenen Völkern und ihren Traditionen die Rede ist, denkt man nicht als Erstes an Rap. Doch für den Musiker Áilu Valle ist er der perfekte Weg, um den Kampf der Sámi und ihr Verhältnis zur Natur auszudrücken. 

Von Áilu Valle

Musik und künstlerisches Schaffen haben für mich und mein Leben eine tiefgreifende Bedeutung. Gleichzeitig möchte ich, dass der Inhalt meiner Kunst auch eine tiefgreifende Bedeutung hat – denn die Sámi bestreiten den gleichen Kampf wie die Indigenen Völker auf der ganzen Welt, die unter Kolonialherrschaft gelitten haben. Ich empfinde es als extrem wichtig, die Stimme der unterdrückten Kulturen zu stärken, die für mich die Stimme der Natur darstellt.
 
Alle Beteiligten an der Produktion des Albums Viidon sieiddit wirkten auch bei unseren Kunstinstallationen innerhalb einerAusstellung im Siida Sámi Museum mit und veröffentlichten ein Buch über die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse des Forschungs- und Kunstprozesses während des Projekts. Viidon sieiddit wurde als Teil des wissenschaftlich-künstlerischen Projekts „Die neue Dimension des Verhältnisses der Sámi zur Natur“ (2016–2019) produziert, unter Leitung des Soziologen Prof. Jarno Valkonen, und Prof. Sanna Valkonen von der University of Lapland, die sich auf Sámi-Forschung spezialisiert hat. Außerdem wirkten Marja Helanderund Stina Aikio als bildende Künstlerinnen mit. 

Das Album besteht aus neun Rap-Songs, produziert von Tatu A, Uyarakq, 169 und Tumma. Die weiteren elf Soundscapes stammen von der samisch-kanadischen Geigerin und Sounddesigerin Raquel Rawn. 

Zyklus der acht Jahreszeiten 

Diese Soundscapes aus Viidon sieiddit waren ebenfalls Teil der oben genannten Kunstausstellung im Siida Sámi Museum. Ihre Handlung folgt dem Zyklus der acht Jahreszeiten im Norden, beginnend mit der Polarnacht. Die Zeitrechnung der Sámi basiert auf dem Zyklus der Natur, insbesondere den jahreszeitlichen Verhaltensweisen der Rentiere. Der Bogen der Jahreszeiten spannt sich vom Frühling bis zum Winter und beginnt, wenn die trächtigen Rentierkühe vom Wald zu den Kalbungsgebieten in die Berge gebracht werden. Wenn im Sommer die Sonne nicht untergeht, werden die Kälber gekennzeichnet. An diese Jahreszeit schließen sich Frühherbst und Herbst an, wenn die Rentiere wieder zu ihren Winterweiden zurückkehren. Nach dem Frühwinter kommt der Winter, wenn die Sonne gar nicht mehr zu sehen ist. Die Rentiere und die Sámi warten dann draußen in den Wäldern auf die nächste Jahreszeit und der Zyklus beginn aufs Neue. 

In dem Album verwenden wir Klangmuster aus der Natur, die Niilo Rasmus von Ohcejohka aufgezeichnet hat. Diese Klangmuster sind die Ecksteine des ganzen Albums, um die wir die Soundscapes und die Raps herumgebaut haben.  

Heilige Felsen 

In diesem Essay möchte ich gern den Titelsong des Albums „Viidon sieiddit – Widened Sacred Rocks” (Weite Heilige Felsen) vorstellen, einen durch Trommel und Bass beeinflussten Rap-Song, der von dem DJ 169 aka Mio Negga aus Ubmie (schwedisch:Umeå) produziert wurde, das zu dem schwedischen Gebiet von Sápmi zählt. 

Der Titel des Songs bezieht sich auf die gegenwärtige Situation der Sámi: Sie sind zwar Teil der modernen globalen Kultur, haben aber auch gleichzeitig noch immer eine starke Bindung an ihre traditionelle Lebensweise. „Sacred rocks“, heilige Felsen, spielen in der Sámi-Kultur als Orte der Verehrung eine wichtige Rolle. Sie zeigen die Verwurzelung der Kultur beispielsweise in der starken regionalen Naturverbundenheit der Sámi. Dennoch sind wir heutzutage auch der Natur weltweit über die von uns genutzten technischen Geräte verbunden, ob wir es wollen oder nicht. 

Der Song erzählt von den Herausforderungen, die das Leben in unserer heutigen Welt an uns Sámi stellt, der Kampf um das Bewahren der traditionellen Kultur in der sich rapide verändernden Welt. Die Aussage im Refrain „Sámi, die als letzte die Skier benutzten und die ersten, die Schneemobile verwendeten“ ist ein Zitat des legendären Ole Henrik Magga, einem Linguistik-Professor und Sámi-Politiker. Das Zitat demonstriert perfekt den Kern der Sámi-Kultur, die Fähigkeit, sich anzupassen. In dem Album finden sich auch Songs, in denen ich distanzierter über Herausforderungen allgemein rede und mögliche Lösungen andenke, die natürlich von jedem eine Handlung erfordern, insbesondere von denjenigen in Machtpositionen. 

Durch mein künstlerisches Wirken habe ich immer wieder meine Träume erfüllen können und konnte mit Dingen experimentieren, die ich mir nie hätte vorstellen können, als ich in der kleinen Rentierzüchtersiedlung Gámasmohkki aufgewachsen bin. Ich habe mit einer Reihe von Rap-Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, zu denen ich früher aufgeschaut habe, als ich noch nicht davon zu träumen wagte, dass ich eines Tages mit dem Karriere machen würde, was ich am liebsten mache: ein Musiker sein. Ich habe mit Paleface, Asa, Julma H, Mokoma zusammengearbeitet, bin mit Mari Boine und Sofia Jannok aufgetreten, um nur einige zu nennen. Ich durfte vor Präsident*innen und Minister*innen auftreten und in Paris, Berlin, Seattle und Mexiko-Stadt Konzerte geben. 

Viidon sieiddit wurde von Tatu A, Uyarakq und 169 gemixt. Die Digitalversion stammt von Uyarakq und die demnächst erscheinende Vinylversion bearbeitete Tommi Langen. Das Projekt wurde von Koneen Säätiö finanziert, die Kosten für die Produktion des Albums übernahm Taike. 
 
Audio wird geladen

Viidon sieiddit – Widened Sacred Rocks

[1. Strophe]  
 
Hüten, die Herde hüten  
Dem Wetter folgen, der Seele folgen  
Die Zahlen ausgleichen, vor den Feinden schützen  
Und den Raubtieren, in der „Goathi“ (Torfhütte, Kote) die Info weitergeben  
Beim Kochen Geschichten erzählen  
Bescheiden sich um Dinge kümmern  
Am Lagerfeuer erzählen  
Mit Joiks (nordsamischer Gesang) retten, erinnern  
Sich um die Umwelt kümmern, die Familie  
Verwandte, die Siida-Gemeinschaften, eifrig, entschieden   

Mit Luft, Wasser und Erde kommunizieren  
Das Jagdglück von den Opfersteinen erbitten
Jahreszeiten lernen, günstige Standorte  
Über Nächte, Tage, Monate, Jahre  
Frühling, Sommer, Herbst, Winter  
Mit Geduld an Kraft und Elan zunehmen  

[Refrain]  

Die letzten, die auf Skiern waren  
- sich arrangieren, anpassen  
Die ersten, die mit Schneemobilen arbeiteten  
die Siida-Gemeinschaften bewegen es und antworten den Fjälls  
Sehnen wir uns wirklich nach der Vergangenheit  
- sich arrangieren, anpassen  
Wenn sich die Zeiten ändern, weiten sich die heiligen Felsen  
- die Siidas passen sich den neuen Situationen an  
 
[2. Strophe]  
 
Oh, sollten wir in die Vergangenheit zurückkehren  
Eigentlich war es keine Zeit zum Vergnügen  
Um Zeit zum Ausruhen zu haben, musste man  
Ständig auf der Suche nach Überlebensmöglichkeiten sein  
Jetzt ist es viel einfacher, das Wetter zu überstehen  
Schneemobil, Motor, einen Transport bestellen  
Es ist möglich, ein Leben zu retten  
egal ob Sturm oder (Wind)-Stille  
Natürlich überleben wir ohne sie  
Oder können wir noch  
Wissen wir uns noch zu helfen  
Hast du wieder verkauft, wieder gekauft, bist du wieder geflogen  
Aber was ist mit den äußeren Kräften  
Denunzieren, verurteilen  
Den Tod bringen, Absperrungen bauen  
Bei Tag angreifen, in der Dämmerung angreifen  
Einschränkungen, Vorschriften  
Gesetze, Gifte, Umweltverschmutzung  
Speisen in Räumen aus der Nähe 
Und gleichzeitig aus fernen Traditionen  
 
[Refrain]  
 
Die letzten, die auf Skiern waren  
- sich arrangieren, anpassen  
Die ersten, die mit Schneemobilen arbeiteten  
die Siida-Gemeinschaften bewegen es und antworten den Fjälls  
Sehnen wir uns wirklich nach der Vergangenheit?  
- sich arrangieren, anpassen  
Wenn sich die Zeiten ändern, weiten/verbreitern sich die heiligen Felsen  
- die Siidas passen sich den neuen Situationen an  

[3. Strophe]  

Die heutige Situation muss eingehend unter die Lupe genommen werden  
das vergessen die Kritiker  
Warum ist es so schwer zu sehen  
dass wir allein die Natur unsere Meinung prägen lassen  
Blinde vertrauen den Einzelnen  
Und den Pyramiden der Macht  
Wenn es der einzig gangbare Weg ist, lokalen „Regimen“ die Autorität zurückzugeben  
Wir haben die Kraft, wenn wir es riskieren  
Gemeinsam gegen die großen Teufel zu kämpfen  
Um des Lebens willen ist es jedermanns Verantwortung  
Unsere Dinge werden von der Natur regiert  
Unsere Dinge werden von den Rentieren regiert  
Wir selbst wissen, wie diese Länder bestimmt werden müssen  
Nicht diejenigen, die von der Natur getrennt sind