About Ecologues

What will the earth look like 50 years from now? The north and south poles, the forests and deserts? The fate of the planet is being decided right now because human impact on the environment has never been as far-reaching as it is today. Even if global temperatures increase only 1.5 degrees Celsius by the year 2100 compared to pre-industrial levels, the effects of climate change will still be felt all too clearly. The Amazon rainforest in South America is currently being slashed and burned, whilst the permafrost is likely to (continue to) thaw, both of which will release enormous quantities of CO2 into the atmosphere. Besides the consequences for the earth’s flora and fauna, global warming poses very real dangers to us human beings, many of whom will have no choice but to leave their native countries.   

The effects of climate change vary widely from one region to another, and people in different regions of the world have very different carbon footprints: as it happens, those who cause the most global warming are not the ones who suffer the most from its effects. Given the existential imperative to develop strategies to combat the real dangers in their countries, people around the world, especially in the Global South, have come up with a great many projects and innovative ideas to fight climate change. Whole communities whose way of life is heavily dependent on local natural conditions are already suffering more from the climate crisis, but they’re also in many cases finding more coherent methods to ward off the repercussions. Projects, measures and initiatives like these are often ignored, however, due to the global imbalance of power. This is where Ecologues, an online magazine focusing on sustainability and the environment, comes in. 

What’s in the Name?

Ecologues is a portmanteau of “ecology” and “dialogues”. Which points up the magazine’s subject matter and editorial approach: namely, hosting global debates about the challenges posed by climate change. What can and must be done about it now? Which existing initiatives in various countries around the world could be representative of the kind of the complex solution we need? How do we create a world of climate justice in which we will all be able to lead decent lives in future? These are the questions Ecologues has been addressing since October 2020, along the lines of the magazine's subtitle: “How we survive the Anthropocene”.

Global View

The diversity of perspectives included enables us to take a global view of this multi-faceted issue. Because climate change is a global issue that can only be tackled through international innovation and worldwide cooperation. So the magazine’s contents are not only to zero in on problems and analyse their social and cultural repercussions, but also to pursue a constructive approach to the challenges that lie ahead. And this goal is to be achieved by engaging in a big conversation. So, in this magazine, the Goethe-Institut engages in an ongoing discussion with experts and victims of climate change all over the world about sustainability and new forms of environmentalism as well as the social and cultural aspects of climate change.

Über Ecologues

Wie wird die Welt in 50 Jahren aussehen? Wie die Pole, die Wälder und die Wüsten? Genau das entscheidet sich gerade, denn nie war die Umweltbelastung durch den Menschen so hoch wie heute. Bereits bei einem weltweiten Temperaturanstieg um 1,5 Grad – im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit und bis zum Jahr 2100 – sind die Folgen des Klimawandels deutlich zu spüren. Aktuell wird in Südamerika der Amazonasregenwald aktiv abgebrannt; es besteht die Gefahr, dass die Permafrostböden (noch weiter) auftauen könnten – beides setzt Unmengen an CO2 frei. Abgesehen von den Konsequenzen für die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt, wachsen daraus ganz reale Gefahren für die Menschen. Viele könnten gezwungen sein, aufgrund des Klimawandels ihre Heimat zu verlassen.

Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels sind regional sehr unterschiedlich. Gleichzeitig tragen Menschen in unterschiedlichen Regionen verschieden stark zum Klimawandel bei – und meist sind diejenigen, die die Erderwärmung befördern, nicht diejenigen, die am stärksten unter ihr zu leiden haben. Aufgrund der existenziellen Notwendigkeit, Strategien zu entwickeln, um die realen Gefahren in ihren Heimatländern zu bekämpfen, haben Menschen, vor allem im Globalen Süden, viele Projekte und innovative Ideen hervorgebracht, um dem Klimawandel aktiv zu begegnen. Gerade Bevölkerungsgruppen, in deren Alltag und Lebensweise, die lokale Natur eine große Rolle spielt, leiden stärker unter der Klimakrise, finden aber auch häufig konsequentere Mittel gegen die Auswirkungen. Doch nicht selten werden solche Initiativen, Maßnahmen und Projekte im globalen Machtgefälle ignoriert.Hier setzt das Magazin Ecologues zu Nachhaltigkeit und Ökologie an.

Der Begriff „Ecologues“

Ecologues ist ein Kofferwort aus „Ecology“ und „Dialogues”. Dies verweist bereits auf den inhaltlichen und redaktionellen Ansatz des Magazins: globale Debatten über die Herausforderungen, vor die uns der Klimawandel stellt. Was kann, was muss jetzt getan werden? Welche Initiativen gibt es in verschiedenen Ländern auf der Welt, die stellvertretend für einen komplexen Lösungsansatz stehen könnten? Wie schaffen wir eine klimagerechte Welt, in der wir alle in Zukunft gut leben können? Das sind die Fragen, denen sich Ecologues seit Oktober 2020 widmet, frei nach dem Untertitel des Magazins: „Wie wir das Zeitalter des Menschen überleben“. 

Globaler Blick

Durch die verschiedenen Perspektiven wird ein globaler Blick auf diesen Themenkomplex geworfen. Denn auch das ist der Klimawandel: eine globale Angelegenheit, der nur durch Innovation und Kooperation aus allen Teilen der Erde begegnet werden kann. Die Inhalte des Magazins sollen daher nicht nur Probleme aufzeigen und ihre sozialen und kulturellen Ebenen analysieren, sondern verfolgen einen konstruktiven Ansatz. Erreicht wird dieses Ziel durch ein dialogisches Miteinander. Mit Betroffenen und Expert*innen weltweit tritt das Goethe-Institut über dieses Magazin in einen Austausch über Nachhaltigkeit, neue Formen der Ökologie, sowie die sozialen und kulturellen Aspekte des Klimawandels.