Film Screening: German Movie Nights: Western - Goethe-Institut
Film Screening

German Movie Nights: Western

Western
© Cinema Guild

03/12-03/14/2021

Online

Details

Language: German, Bulgarian, and English with English subtitles
Price: Free
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Registration required

Related links

Register
The German Film Office is pleased to present Western by Valeska Grisebach as part of its monthly German Movie Nights series. The film will be available to viewers across the United States. 
 
An intense, slow-burning thriller, Western follows a group of German construction workers installing a hydroelectric plant in remote rural Bulgaria. The foreign land awakens the men’s sense of adventure, but tensions mount when Meinhard, the strong, silent newcomer to the group, starts mixing with the local villagers. The two sides speak different languages and share a troubled history. Can they learn to trust each other—or is the stage being set for a showdown?
 
With sweeping cinematography and tightly modulated pacing, Western tells a universal story of masculinity and xenophobia on the contemporary frontier of Eastern Europe. Drawing remarkably nuanced performances from a cast of non-professionals, Valeska Grisebach uses the trappings of the western genre to poke and prod at current anxieties about borders and our relationships with our neighbors.
 
Critic’s Pick! “Beautifully complicated, rigorously straightforward. There is no doubting Ms. Grisebach’s filmmaking... WESTERN is as precise as a dropped pin on a GPS map, which makes its sense of mystery all the more powerful.” – A.O. Scott, The New York Times
 
“A story that can feel as familiar as a John Ford movie, if one attuned to dislocation and discontent in contemporary Europe. Ms. Grisebach has a feel for mood, place and real, lived-in faces.” – Manohla Dargis, The New York Times
 
Western
Dir. Valeska Grisebach
With Meinhard Neumann, Reinhardt Wetrek, Vincent Syuleyman Alilov Lefitov, Veneta Frangova, Vyara Borisova, Kevin Bashev
Germany/Bulgaria, 2017

Filmvorführung: German Movie Nights: Western - Goethe-Institut
Filmvorführung

German Movie Nights: Western

Western
© Cinema Guild

12.-14.03.2021

Online

Details

Sprache: Deutsch, Bulgarisch und Englisch mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kostenlos
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
Das German Film Office freut sich, den Film Western von Valeska Grisebach im Rahmen seiner monatlichen Reihe German Movie Nights zu präsentieren. Der Film ist für Zuschauer*innen in den gesamten USA zugänglich.

Ein intensiver, sich schleichend entwickelnder Thriller: Western folgt einer Gruppe von deutschen Bauarbeitern, die eine hydroelektrische Fabrik im ländlichen Bulgarien bauen sollen. Das fremde Land weckt die Abenteuerlust der Männer, doch es bauen sich schnell Spannungen auf, als Meinhard, der starke, schweigsame Neue in der Gruppe, anfängt, sich mit den Einwohnern des Dorfes anzufreunden. Beide Seiten sprechen unterschiedliche Sprachen, haben aber eine schwierige Vergangenheit gemeinsam. Können sie lernen, einander zu vertrauen, oder läuft es am Ende auf einen großen Showdown hinaus? 

Mit weitschweifender Kamera und eng ausgespieltem Tempo erzählt Western eine universelle Geschichte von Maskulinität und Xenophobie im zeitgenössischen, unerforschten Grenzgebiet Osteuropas. Valeska Grisebach entlockt ihrem Laienensemble beeindruckend nuancierte Darstellungen und benutzt die Formen des Western-Genres, um aktuellen Ängsten vor Grenz- und Nachbarschaftsbeziehungen auf den Leib zu rücken.      

„Atemberaubend kompliziert, rigoros geradeaus. Es gibt keinen Zweifel, an Frau Grisebachs Fähigkeit, Filme zu machen… WESTERN ist so präzise wie eine Stecknadel auf einer GPS-Karte, was seine geheimnisvolle Aura umso beeindruckender macht.“ – A.O. Scott, The New York Times

„Eine Geschichte, die sich so familiär wie ein Film von John Ford anfühlen kann, wenn man sich nur auf die Deplatzierung und das Unbehagen im aktuellen Europa einstellt. Frau Grisebach hat ein untrügliches Gefühl für Stimmung, Ort und echte, verlebte Gesichter.“  – Manohla Dargis, The New York Times

Western
Regie: Valeska Grisebach
Mit Meinhard Neumann, Reinhardt Wetrek, Vincent Syuleyman Alilov Lefitov, Veneta Frangova, Vyara Borisova, Kevin Bashev
Deutschland/Bulgarien 2017