KSWE Worldwide

Interdisciplinary and diverse, the Kultursymposium Weimar reflects global discourses in all their diversity. Through the digital edition of the festival, the individual perspectives of the Goethe-Instituts worldwide become integral voices of the programme. A total of ten Goethe-Instituts in different regions of the world have each conceived their own events and thus illuminate the facets of the topic of generations in its international scope. 
Map of the Goethe-Instituts worldwide that partnered with KSWE21 © Goethe-Institut
Digital Edition | Media Library

Bogotá
The audiovisual art piece Water Lullabies, in which diverse artists reflect upon the regeneration of the social fabric, its ruptures, the intergenerational violence, and the possibility to bonding again with water and territory. Coordinated by the Goethe-Institut Bogotá.

Digital Edition | 17 June

Johannesburg
In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Johannesburg, three video works by the South African artist Zara Julius will be shown. The short films from the regional project Family Matters will be presented both in the festival programme and in an exhibition together with other artists in the Galerie Eigenheim in Weimar. 

Pre-Programme | 19 May

 Kairo & Khartum
The multimedia project Old Wishes was created in cooperation with the Goethe-Instituts Cairo and Khartoum as well as the regional magazine Perspektiven and Rift Digital Lab. The artist and initiator of the project Abdalsalam Alhaj revived Friends of Al-Sibayan, the first youth magazine in Sudan and the Arab world.

Digital Edition | 17 June

LA
The Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles examines the ongoing protests against racial discrimination in the USA. In Haircuts & Social Juctice, Madin Lopez, Reeves Gift and Karen Tongson, three generations of the queer community meet at ProjectQ, a hair salon and community centre. They talk about politics and protest, about social justice, identity and care.

Digital Edition | 17 June

London
In Foodbank for Pollinators the Scottish artist Natalie Taylor sows native wildflowers as a symbolic act in Weimar - a city famous for its parks that have been designed down to the last detail. The project is accompanied by a digital “re-wilding” in the form of a video artwork A Toothless Grin by Kristin Jakubek which visualizes our increasing alienation from nature and absorbtion by the digital world. 

Pre-Programme | 02 June

New Delhi
How do traumatic experiences affect the lives of subsequent generations and entire societies? The Goethe-Institut explored this question in Intergenerational Trauma. The Case of the Partition of India with renowned experts and activists. 

Pre-Programme | 09 June

New York
With Trauma’s Field of Distortion, the Goethe-Institut New York presents an exciting discussion on the narrative effects of trauma in collective memories and literature. In addition to this contribution to the introductory programme, there will be an additional feature Literary Ground and Legacy in the media library.

Digital Edition | 16 June

Oslo
The challenge of creating something that will still have meaning over a hundred years from now is one that Scottish artist Katie Paterson has undertaken with her Future Library project in Norway, a living work of art spanning an entire century. For the Kultursymposium Weimar 2021, artist Katie Paterson and curator Anne Beate Hovind talk about the significance of their work and the appeal of a dialogue with future generations. 
The Goethe-Institut Oslo also deals with the topic of generations in Generations in Dialogue, a conversation between Kristen Lindholm and Marta Norheim.

Digital Edition | 16 June

Shanghai
In this video work, the Chinese media artist Li Hanwei deals with the question how banks will do their future investments. Imitating the existing Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), he creates the fictional SIB, the so-called Subculture Investment Bank that invests is pixels. Subculture Investment Bank - Shrine to Review the Universe of Images is a project in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Shanghai.

Pre-Programme | 26 May

Warschau
The Goethe-Institut Warsaw explored the question of how the most Polish of all dishes, the pierogi, connects generations. The result is food:generations, a touching contribution about five families, five places and five steps to the perfect pierogi.

KSWE weltweit

Interdisziplinär und divers spiegelt das Kultursymposium Weimar globale Diskurse in all ihrer Vielfalt wider. Durch die digitale Edition des Festivals werden die je eigenen Perspektiven der Goethe-Institute weltweit integrale Stimmen des Programms. Insgesamt zehn Goethe-Institute in verschiedenen Regionen der Welt haben je eigene Veranstaltungen konzipiert und beleuchten so die Facetten des Themas Generationen in seiner internationalen Tragweite. 
Weltkarte mit den Partnerinstituten der KSWE21 © Goethe-Institut
Digitale Edition | Mediathek

Bogotá
Die kollektive künstlerische Videoarbeit Wasserwiegenlieder über die Regeneration des sozialen Gefüges, die Brüche und Gewalt zwischen den Generationen und das Wiederaufnehmen einer engeren Beziehung zu Wasser und Territorium, geschaffen von mehreren Künstler*innen und koordiniert vom Goethe-Institut Bogotá.

Digitale Edition | 17. Juni

Johannesburg
In Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut Johannesburg werden drei Videoarbeiten der südafrikanischen Künstlerin Zara Julius gezeigt. Die Kurzfilme aus dem Regionalprojekt Family Matters werden sowohl im Festivalprogramm als auch in einer Ausstellung zusammen mit weiteren Künstler*innen in der Weimarer Galerie Eigenheim präsentiert. 

Vorprogramm | 19. Mai

 Kairo & Khartum
In Kooperation mit den Goethe-Instituten Kairo und Khartum sowie dem Regionalmagazin Perspektiven und dem Rift Digital Lab ist das Multimediaprojekt Old Wishes entstanden. Der Künstler und Initiator des Projekts Abdalsalam Alhaj hat dafür das Friends of Al-Sibayan wiederbelebt, das erste Jugendmagazin im Sudan und der arabischen Welt.

Digitale Edition | 17. Juni

LA
Das Thomas-Mann-Haus in Los Angeles blickt auf die anhaltenden Proteste gegen Rassendiskriminierung in den USA. Im Beitrag Haircuts & Social Juctice treffen sich mit Madin Lopez, Reeves Gift und Karen Tongson drei Generationen der Queer Community im ProjectQ, einem Friseursalon und Nachbarschaftszentrum. Sie sprechen über Politik und Protest, über soziale Gerechtigkeit, Identität und Fürsorge.

Digitale Edition | 17. Juni

London
In Foodbank for Pollinators sät die schottische Künstlerin Natalie Taylor als symbolischen Akt einheimische Wildblumen in Weimar aus – eine Stadt, die berühmt ist für ihre bis ins Detail ausgestalteten Parks. Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Klassik Stiftung Weimar, der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, dem Lebenshilfe-Werk Weimar/Apolda e.V. sowie dem Goethe-Institut London. Begleitet wird das Projekt durch ein „Re-Wilding“ im digitalen Raum in Form der künstlerischen Videoarbeit A Toothless Grin von Kristin Jakubek, die unsere zunehmende Entfremdung von der Natur und Vereinnahmung durch die digitale Welt thematisiert. 

Vorprogramm | 02. Juni

Neu Delhi
Wie wirken sich traumatische Erlebnisse auf das Leben nachfolgender Generationen und ganzer Gesellschaften aus? Dieser Frage ist das Goethe-Institut in Intergenerationelles Trauma. Der Fall der Teilung Indiens mit renommierten Expert*innen und Aktivist*innen nachgegangen. 

Vorprogramm | 09. Juni

New York
Mit Das Verzerrungsfeld des Traumas präsentiert das Goethe-Institut New York eine spannende Diskussion über die narrativen Effekte von Traumata in kollektiven Erinnerungen und der Literatur. Neben dieserm Beitrag des Vorprogramms gibt es in der Mediathek mit Literarisches Terrain und Vermächtnis eine weitere Diskussion über generationsübergreifende interkulturelle Vermächtnisse im Roman. 

Digitale Edition | 16. Juni

Oslo
Von der Herausforderung, etwas zu erschaffen, das auch noch in über hundert Jahren Bedeutung hat – davon handelt das norwegische Projekt Future Library, mit dem die schottische Künstlerin Katie Paterson ein lebendiges Kunstwerk kreiert hat, das sich über ein ganzes Jahrhundert streckt. Für das Kultursymposium Weimar 2021 sprechen die Künstlerin Katie Paterson und die Kuratorin Anne Beate Hovind über die Bedeutung ihrer Arbeit und den Reiz am Dialog mit nachfolgenden Generationen. 
Das Goethe-Institut Oslo setzt sich mit dem Thema Generationen zudem in Generations in Dialogue, einem Gespräch zwischen Kristen Lindholm und Marta Norheim auseinander.

Digitale Edition | 16. Juni

Shanghai
Der chinesische Medienkünstler Li Hanwei setzt sich in dieser Videoarbeit mit der Frage auseinander, wie Banken in der Zukunft investieren werden. In Anlehnung an die reale Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) erschafft er die fiktive SIB, die so genannte Subkultur-Investmentbank, die in Pixel investiert. Subculture Investment Bank - Schrein der Einsicht in das Universum der Bilder ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Shanghai.

Vorprogramm | 26. Mai

Warschau
Das Goethe-Institut Warschau ist der Frage nachgegangen, wie das wohl polnischste aller Gerichte, die Pierogi, Generationen miteinander verbindet. Entstanden ist mit food:generations ein berührender Beitrag über fünf Familien, fünf Orte und fünf Schritte zu den perfekten Pierogi.