KSWE worldwide

In the run up to this event, twelve Goethe-Institutes abroad explored the issues posed by this year’s conference against the backdrop of their respective cultures. The preparatory events provided not just insight into academic, social, and artistic approaches and initiatives, but enrich the symposium by adding international perspectives.

Riga

In Riga, in October 2018 media experts explored in a round of conversation with the title “On the Internet, Nobody Knows You’re A Dog” the phenomenon of the post-factual and the resulting responsibility of each individual. A brief performance by Ģertrūdes ielas teātris took an artistic look at the issue.
 

Bogotá

Together with the international journal for literary culture ARCADIA and Instituto Distrital de las Artes – Idartes, Goethe-Institut in Bogotá held a so-called “Hacktividad” in November last year. Under the title “Digital Mutants: Democracy in the Digital Age” it dealt with the influence of digital developments on democracy and civic participation.
 

Dakar

While information is traditionally transmitted orally in Senegal, young people are now using the social media as their primary means of communication. But problems involved in the new media are not discussed, neither at school nor at home. Together with the association of German language instructors APAS, the Goethe-Institut organized workshops at schools in February to sensitize schoolchildren to critically approach fake news and the digital media.
 

Ramallah

Goethe-Insitut-Ramallah set off in search of parallels to New Objectivity and the New Architecture in the Palestinian territories. At issue was the central question: how can the architectural heritage in Ramallah be rediscovered and reanimated in a way that looks toward the future? In exchange with Palestinian architects, experts, and scholars, in February questions on the architectural legacy have been discussed and made available to experience.
 

London

Under direction of digital specialist Emma McFarland, Goethe-Institut London invited experts at the end of March like the author, social critic, and psychoanalyst Susie Orbach to development new perspectives on Brexit. Brief mini-lectures drew links between the relationship of Brexit to feminism, technology, psychology, or the environment.
 

Athens

In Greece, the artists and curator group Most Mechanics Are Crooks transformed GoetheInstitut in Athens this March into a laboratory of post-digital art. With the title “Weasel Dance: Imitation in Postdigital Contingency” the visitors were able to learn about the various ways in which artists engage with self-representation in the digital media. In Weimar, Most Mechanics Are Crooks will continue their project with a lecture performance.
 

Sydney

The cultural framing conditions for the development of artificial intelligence were the focus at Goethe-Institut Sydney this past March. In The Relevance of Culture in the Age of AI, discussants included the artificial intelligence expert Toby Walsh and the start-up founder Angie Abdilla on the question of what influence cultural context has on the development of intelligent algorithms and vice-versa. Both Tony Walsh and Angie Abdilla will be sharing their expertise at Kultursymposium Weimar.
 

Washington

Lost your way? With the title “WANDER”, Goethe-Institut Washington invited participants in early April to a performative walk through the city, where the feeling of disorientation was to be the focus. Afterwards, the audience discussed their experiences on the tour together with experts.
 

Amsterdam

Jointly organized by Goethe-Institut Amsterdam and Debattenzentrum De Balie, in April the Dutch writer Connie Palmen and the German author Simon Strauß met for a conversation. As a representative of two different generations, they took a look at romanticism in Europe. Are histories of romanticism feeding anti-liberal movements? Or can romanticism in turbulent times offer solutions for Europe?
 

Beijing/Seoul

In their event series “Staging the Digital Age” this April, Goethe-Institut Beijing and GoetheInstitut Seoul brought together German, Chinese, and Korean directors, performers, and gaming experts to engage in dialogue and performative exchange on the potential of combining theatre and technology. At Kultursymposium Weimar, performers and directors from all three countries will explore this subject.
 

Johannesburg

In May, Goethe-Institut Johannesburg together with African and European artists and cultural producers explored the role of European cultural institutions and the power relationships that emerge in intercultural collaboration.

KSWE weltweit

Goethe-Institut Johannesburg // Power Talks
© Masimba Sasa

Zwölf Goethe-Institute im Ausland haben sich bereits im Vorfeld mit Fragestellungen des diesjährigen Kultursymposiums vor dem Hintergrund ihrer jeweiligen Kulturen befasst. Die vorbereitenden Veranstaltungen geben nicht nur Einblick in wissenschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und künstlerische Ansätze und Initiativen, sondern bereichern das Kultursymposium um internationale Perspektiven. 

Riga

In Riga beleuchteten im Oktober 2018 Medienexpertinnen und -experten in einer Gesprächsrunde mit dem Titel „On the Internet, nobody knows you‘re a dog“ das Phänomen des Postfaktischen und die daraus resultierende Verantwortung jedes Einzelnen. Eine Kurzperformance des Ģertrūdes ielas teātris nahm das Thema künstlerisch in den Blick.
 

Bogotá

In Zusammenarbeit mit der internationalen Zeitschrift für literarische Kultur ARCADIA und dem Instituto Distrital de las Artes – Idartes veranstaltete das Goethe-Institut in Bogotá im November vergangenen Jahres unter dem Titel „Digitale Mutanten. Demokratie im digitalen Zeitalter“ einen sogenannten „Hacktividad“ zum Einfluss digitaler Entwicklungen auf Demokratie und bürgerliche Partizipation.
 

Dakar

Während im Senegal Informationen traditionell mündlich weitergegeben werden, nutzen junge Senegalesinnen und Senegalesen zum Austausch vor allem soziale Medien. Mögliche Probleme der neuen Medien werden allerdings weder in der Schule noch im Elternhaus thematisiert. Gemeinsam mit dem Deutschlehrerverband APAS organisierte das GoetheInstitut daher im Februar Workshops an Schulen, um Schülerinnen und Schüler für den kritischen Umgang mit Fake News und digitalen Medien zu sensibilisieren.
 

Ramallah

Auf eine Spurensuche nach Parallelen zur „Neuen Sachlichkeit“ und dem „Neuen Bauen“ in den Palästinensergebieten begab sich das Goethe-Institut Ramallah. Dabei ging es um die zentrale Frage: Wie kann das architektonische Erbe in Ramallah zukunftsweisend neuentdeckt und wiederbelebt werden? Im Austausch mit palästinensischen Architektinnen, Experten und Wissenschaftlerinnen wurden im Februar Fragen zum architektonischen Erbe diskutiert und performativ erfahrbar gemacht.
 

London

Unter Leitung der Digitalspezialistin Emma McFarland lud das Goethe-Institut London Ende März Expertinnen und Experten wie die Autorin, Sozialkritikerin und Psychoanalytikerin Susie Orbach ein, neue Perspektiven auf den Brexit zu entwickeln. Kurze Impulsvorträge zogen Verbindungen zwischen der Beziehung des Brexits zu Feminismus, Technik, Psychologie oder Umwelt.
 

Athen

In Griechenland verwandelte die Künstler- und Kuratorengruppe Most Mechanics Are Crooks das Goethe-Institut Athen im März in ein Laboratorium postdigitaler Kunst. Unter dem Titel „Weasel Dance: Die Imitation in der postdigitalen Kontingenz“ konnten die Besucherinnen und Besucher erfahren, auf welche vielseitigen Arten sich Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit der Selbstdarstellung in digitalen Medien auseinandersetzen. In Weimar werden Most Mechanics Are Crooks mit einer Lecture Performance ihr Projekt fortsetzen.
 

Sydney

Die kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen für die Entwicklung Künstlicher Intelligenz standen im März im Fokus am Goethe-Institut Sydney. In „The Relevance of Culture in the Age of AI“ diskutierten unter anderem der KI-Experte Toby Walsh und die Start-Up-Gründerin Angie Abdilla über die Frage, welchen Einfluss der kulturelle Kontext auf die Entwicklung intelligenter Algorithmen hat und umgekehrt. Sowohl Toby Walsh als auch Angie Abdilla werden auch beim Kultursymposium Weimar ihre Expertise teilen.
 

Washington

Orientierung verloren? Unter dem Titel „WANDER“ lud das Goethe-Institut Washington Anfang April Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zu einem performativen Spaziergang durch die Stadt ein, bei dem das Gefühl der Desorientierung im Fokus stand. Im Anschluss diskutierte das Publikum gemeinsam mit Expertinnen und Experten seine auf der Tour gesammelten Erfahrungen.
 

Amsterdam

Gemeinsam organisiert vom Goethe-Institut Amsterdam und dem Debattenzentrum De Balie trafen sich im April die niederländische Autorin Connie Palmen und der deutsche Autor Simon Strauß zu einem Gespräch. Als Vertreter und Vertreterin zweier unterschiedlicher Generationen nahmen sie den Romantizismus in Europa in den Blick. Sind Geschichten der Romantik neues Futter für anti-liberale Bewegungen? Oder kann der Romantizismus in turbulenten Zeiten sogar Lösungen für Europa bieten?
 

Peking/Seoul

Die Goethe-Institute Peking und Seoul brachten in ihrer Veranstaltungsreihe „Staging the Digital Age“ im April deutsche, chinesische und koreanische Theatermacher sowie GamingExpertinnen zusammen, um in einen kritischen Dialog und performativen Austausch über das Potential der Verbindung von Theater und Technologie zu treten. Auch beim Kultursymposium Weimar werden sich Kulturschaffende aus allen drei Ländern diesen Themen widmen.
 

Johannesburg

Im Mai schließlich nahm das Goethe-Institut Johannesburg gemeinsam mit afrikanischen und europäischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie Kulturschaffenden die Rolle europäischer Kulturinstitutionen in den Blick und hinterfragte die Machtverhältnisse, die in der interkulturellen Zusammenarbeit entstehen.