The First World War in the colonies Africa has a past too

Ascari faithfulness in German East Africa. (German Schutztruppen with native teams in the defense against an attack). Picture postcard after watercolour, 1918, by Fritz Grotemeyer
Ascari faithfulness in German East Africa. (German Schutztruppen with native teams in the defense against an attack). Picture postcard after watercolour, 1918, by Fritz Grotemeyer | Photo (detail): akg-images © picture alliance

For Europe, 1914 was the start of an era described by Eric Hobsbawm as the “short 20th century”, the “Age of Extremes”. Yet few people are aware that the First World War also caused untold damage in many different African countries. Over the past few years, Tanzanian artist Kathleen Bomani has highlighted the East African perspective on that war in her “World War I in Africa Project”. She talks to “Latitude” about why so little is known about the acts of war on the continent – in Germany as well as in Tanzania. And how denial perpetuates mechanisms of repression.

By Elisabeth Wellershaus

Up to now, the history of the First World War is still mainly told from a European perspective. Little is known about the far-reaching effects of this war, for instance in African countries. As an artist, how do you address the collective memory loss?

I myself only knew a little about the actual extent of the war until a few years ago. That was when the French geographer Jacques Enaudeau approached me and asked whether I wanted to do a project about WWI in Africa with him. It coincided with that time of year when France is preparing to mourn collectively for the fallen soldiers, and Jacques asked me: ‘Do you realise what effects the war had in Africa?’ I little to no idea.
 
So we began to trawl through the archives in Germany, the UK, France and the USA. We gathered together everything that seemed relevant, from propaganda posters to tape recordings. We put together a timeline of our findings and posted it on Twitter to reach as many young people as possible. Even the photos of African soldiers in a historical context were a break from the usual narratives. Reports usually cover civil wars or coups on the continent, but they are rarely about African military history.

And yet we wanted to convey the brutality and effects of precisely this war. A war that wasn’t even supposed to take place in the colonies. It was only through the actions of Paul von Lettow, who became commander of the “protection force” for German East Africa in 1914, that the bloodiest battles over colonial territory in the First World War happened a short time after he took up office. Ultimately they only represent one aspect of German tyranny. The first revolt against the colonial power had already taken place at the end of the 19th century. Since then, there has always been resistance in the various colonies, until finally in 1905 various ethnic groups in today’s Tanzania united against the Germans in the Maji Maji War. When the battles of the First World War shifted onto East African soil years later, it was nothing other than a continuation of previously experienced violence. It is clear from testimonies after the war that many people in the region simply viewed it as another European catastrophe on their own doorstep.

In your exhibition “WHAT HAPPENED HERE” you underlay video images of Lake Victoria and rock formations in Tanzanian Mwanza with 100 year-old labourers’ songs from the Sukuma people. How do they provide insight into the war?

I came upon these songs via an unusual route. Originally I had wanted to do a project about my grandfather, who belongs to the Sukuma people in Northern Tanzania. So I contacted a musicologist who was familiar with their culture. I was particularly interested in the Sukuma labour songs. My grandfather had initiated a union of the farmers in that region during the 40s and 50s – against the exploitative British colonial government. But then I found out a lot more during the course of my research – specifically that the Sukuma were already singing about the First World War 100 years ago in their songs. When I listened to them I was in Tanzania to look at old trenches from the wartime. And when I heard how one of the songs referred to my home city, Mwanza, I immediately went home. In this song, the Sukuma sing about the immovable rocks in the Northern Tanzanian landscape, huge boulders that they compare with the British and the Germans. In these lines you can hear unmistakeably how clear they are about their inferior position. But equally you can hear their resistance as well. In another song they sing that they would rather die under gunfire than be forced to labour in support of a colonial system that kills their fellow countrymen.
 
Africans are frequently described as passive in both historical and contemporary contexts. In Sukuma songs, by contrast, an absolutely self-empowering attitude comes across. “All because of cows,” goes one song, which ostensibly tells a story of cattle as the ultimate symbol of wealth. But in fact it suggests the motives behind this war: ownership and expansion. Among other things, the First World War was an opportunity to continue what had started with the “Scramble for Africa”. And the European exploitation would continue for a long time to come.

You once said that Europe’s interest in the past was downright excessive, while Africa was exclusively associated with the future. What does that mean with regard to the current migration from Africa to Europe, which you claim is directly linked with earlier migration movements?

It is indeed interesting that Europe is in denial about the large number of people back in the First World War who were brought over from Africa and colonies on other continents to fight a foreign war. Yet by contrast countless people are drowning on the shores of Europe today because they are now seeking protection in a place where the “migration trend” once began. The connection between colonial trauma, the imbalance of power between global north and south, and the current instability of structures in many African countries still seems far-fetched to a lot of people in this country. But I don’t think the West can get away with ignoring the history of these countries any longer. When we started our “World War I in Africa Project” in 2014, everyone in Europe was still talking about “emerging Africa", about the rosy future of the continent. They referred to a growing middle class and rising GDP, saying that Africa could now contemplate the future at last. But as soon as we started looking at the past again, they became uncomfortable. People who just a moment ago had called Africa an investment paradise were quick to distance themselves again when suddenly themes like restitution were brought up. If colonial entanglements are not dealt with though, our view of the future will always remain a clouded one.

Der Erste Weltkrieg in den Kolonien Auch Afrika hat eine Vergangenheit

Askaritreue in Deutsch-Ostafrika. (Deutsche Schutztruppen mit eingeborenen Mannschaften bei der Abwehr eines Angriffes). Bildpostkarte nach Aquarell, 1918, von Fritz Grotemeyer
Askaritreue in Deutsch-Ostafrika. (Deutsche Schutztruppen mit eingeborenen Mannschaften bei der Abwehr eines Angriffes). Bildpostkarte nach Aquarell, 1918, von Fritz Grotemeyer | Foto (Detail): akg-images © picture alliance

1914 begann für Europa jene Epoche, die Eric Hobsbawm als „kurzes 20. Jahrhundert“ und „Zeitalter der Extreme“ beschrieb. Dass der Erste Weltkrieg auch in den Ländern Afrikas erheblichen Schaden anrichtete, wissen die wenigsten. Die tansanische Künstlerin Kathleen Bomani hat in vergangenen Jahren mit ihrem „World War I in Africa Project“ die ostafrikanische Perspektive jenes Krieges beleuchtet. Mit „Latitude“ spricht sie darüber, warum in Deutschland wie Tansania wenig über die Kriegshandlungen auf dem Kontinent bekannt ist. Und wie die Verdrängung Unterdrückungsmechanismen fortschreibt.

Von Elisabeth Wellershaus

Ich selbst wusste bis vor einigen Jahren nur wenig über das tatsächliche Ausmaß des Krieges. Dann kam der französische Geograf Jacques Enaudeau auf mich zu und fragte, ob ich ein Projekt über WWI [World War I] in Afrika mit ihm machen wolle. Es war genau zu der Zeit im Jahr, in der Frankreich zum kollektiven Trauern um die gefallenen Soldaten ansetzt, und Jacques fragte mich: ‚Hast du eine Ahnung, welche Auswirkungen der Krieg in Afrika hatte?’ Ich hatte keine.
 
Also begannen wir, die Archive in Deutschland, Großbritannien, Frankreich und den USA zu durchforsten. Von Propagandapostern bis zu Tonbandaufnahmen sammelten wir alles, was uns relevant erschien. Aus unseren Funden bastelten wir einen Zeitstrahl, den wir auf Twitter stellten, um möglichst viele junge Menschen zu erreichen. Schon die Bilder mit afrikanischen Soldaten in historischem Kontext waren ein Bruch mit gewohnten Narrativen. In der Regel wird über Bürgerkriege oder Coups auf dem Kontinent berichtet, selten dagegen über afrikanische Militärgeschichte.
 

Wir wollten aber die Brutalität und die Auswirkungen genau dieses Krieges vermitteln. Eines Krieges, der theoretisch gar nicht in den Kolonien hatte stattfinden sollen. Erst durch das Handeln Paul von Lettows, der 1914 Kommandeur der „Schutztruppe“ für Deutsch-Ostafrika geworden war, fanden dort bald darauf die blutigsten Kämpfe um koloniales Terrain im Ersten Weltkrieg statt. Und doch stellen sie letztlich nur eine Facette deutscher Gewaltherrschaft dar. Die erste Revolte gegenüber der Kolonialmacht hatte bereits Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts stattgefunden. Seither hatte es stets Widerstandskämpfe in den verschiedenen Kolonien gegeben, bis sich 1905 im Maji-Maji-Krieg schließlich unterschiedliche Ethnien im heutigen Tansania gegen die Deutschen zusammenschlossen. Als die Kämpfe des Ersten Weltkriegs sich dann Jahre später auf ostafrikanischen Boden verlagerten, war das schlicht eine Fortsetzung bereits erlebter Gewalt. Aus den Zeugnissen vieler Menschen aus der Region geht hervor, dass sie im Ersten Weltkrieg schlicht eine weitere europäische Katastrophe vor der eigenen Haustür sahen.
 
In ihrer Ausstellung „WHAT HAPPENED HERE“ unterlegen Sie Videobilder vom Victoriasee und von Felsformationen aus dem tansanischen Mwanza mit 100 Jahre alten Arbeiter*innenliedern aus dem Volk der Sukuma. Wie geben diese Aufschluss über den Krieg?
 
Ich bin auf ungewöhnlichen Wegen zu diesen Liedern gekommen. Ursprünglich hatte ich ein Projekt über meinen Großvater machen wollen, der zum Volk der Sukuma in Nord-Tansania gehört. Deshalb hatte ich einen Musikologen kontaktiert, der sich mit deren Kultur beschäftigte. Vor allem die Arbeiter*innen-Lieder der Sukuma interessierten mich. Mein Großvater hatte in den 1940er- und -50er-Jahren einen Zusammenschluss der Bauern in der Region initiiert – gegen die ausbeuterische britische Kolonialregierung. Während der Recherchen erfuhr ich dann aber noch mehr: dass die Sukuma nämlich bereits vor 100 Jahren in ihren Liedern über den Ersten Weltkrieg gesungen hatten. Als ich mir die Lieder anhörte, war ich gerade in Tansania, um mir alte Schützengräben aus der Zeit des Kriegs anzusehen. Und als ich hörte, wie eines der Lieder Bezug auf meine Heimat Mwanza nahm, fuhr ich sofort nach Hause. Die Sukuma singen in diesem Lied über die unverrückbaren Felsen in der nordtansanischen Landschaft, über riesige Brocken, die sie mit den Briten und den Deutschen vergleichen. Man hört aus diesen Zeilen deutlich, wie klar sie sich über ihre unterlegene Position sind. Aber genauso hört man auch ihren Widerstand heraus. In einem anderen Lied singen sie, dass sie lieber im Kugelhagel sterben würden als in Zwangsarbeit ein koloniales System zu unterstützen, das ihre Landsleute tötet.
 
Afrikaner*innen werden in historischen wie in zeitgenössischen Kontexten häufig als passiv beschrieben. In den Liedern der Sukuma wird dagegen ein absolut selbstermächtigendes Verhalten deutlich. „Alles nur wegen des Rinds“, heißt es in einem Lied, das vordergründig von Vieh als ultimativem Symbol für Reichtum erzählt. Eigentlich aber wird darin die Motivation des Krieges gedeutet: Besitz und Expansion. Unter anderem war der Erste Weltkrieg eine Möglichkeit, das fortzuführen, was mit dem „Scramble for Africa“ in Gang gesetzt wurde. Und die europäische Ausbeutung sollte noch lange andauern.
 
Sie haben einmal gesagt, Europa sei geradezu exzessiv an der Vergangenheit interessiert, während Afrika ausschließlich mit Zukunft assoziiert würde. Was bedeutet das im Hinblick auf die gegenwärtige Migration von Afrika nach Europa, von der Sie behaupten, sie sei unmittelbar verknüpft mit früheren Migrationsbewegungen?
 
Es ist tatsächlich interessant, dass in Europa verdrängt wird, wie viele Menschen schon im Ersten Weltkrieg aus Afrika und den Kolonien anderer Kontinente hergeholt wurden, um einen fremden Krieg zu kämpfen. Wie dagegen aber heute etliche Menschen vor den Küsten Europas ertrinken, die mittlerweile dort nach Schutz suchen, wo der „Migrationstrend“ einst ausgelöst wurde. Die Verbindung zwischen kolonialem Trauma, dem unausgewogenen Kräfteverhältnis zwischen globalem Norden und Süden und den gegenwärtig instabilen Strukturen in vielen afrikanischen Ländern gilt hierzulande noch immer vielen als weit hergeholt. Aber ich glaube, dass auch der Westen an der Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte dieser Länder nicht mehr vorbeikommt. Als wir 2014 mit unserem Projekt „World War I in Africa“ anfingen, sprachen in Europa alle immer nur vom aufstrebenden Afrika, von der rosigen Zukunft des Kontinents. Die Rede war von einer wachsenden Mittelschicht, von steigendem Bruttoinlandsprodukt, davon, dass Afrika nun endlich in die Zukunft schauen könne. Sobald der Blick sich aber in die Vergangenheit richtete, wurde es ungemütlich. Wer eben noch von Afrika als Investitionsparadies gesprochen hatte, wurde schnell wieder distanziert, wenn plötzlich Themen wie Restitution im Raum standen. Ohne die kolonialen Verstrickungen aufzuarbeiten, wird der Blick in die Zukunft aber immer verstellt bleiben.