Going Past Colonialism Latitude: A return to Point Zero

Latitude: Marking the geographical latitude of zero degrees as a yellow equatorial line, equatorial monument La Mitad del Mundo (Middle of the World) in San Antonio de Pichincha, Ecuador, South America
Yellow equatorial line: marking the geographical latitude of zero degrees, equatorial monument La Mitad del Mundo (middle of the world) in San Antonio de Pichincha, Ecuador, South America | Photo (detail): Guenter Fischer © picture alliance / imageBROKER

In Yvonne Owuor’s novel “The Dragonfly Sea”, a young Kenyan student ponders on the fact that she belongs, as a citizen of one of the 13 countries across which the Equator crosses, to “the centre of the world”. That geographical reality is contradicted by her every-day experiences as a foreign student, where she is constantly reminded of how little the immensity of the history, knowledge, wisdom, and experiences of her people mean in the geo-political global hierarchies of power.

By Mshaï Mwangola

This brings to mind the definition of “latitude” in Kiswahili – “mstari wa kidhahani” (literal: imaginary line) – and the way in which lines of latitude become real through the power of our collective imagination. “Latitude” brings to mind distance, in terms of measuring how far one departs away from a central point, and from other points away from it. Not only therefore do we have “North” as opposed to “South”, we also are able to imagine distances from a middle ground – point zero - represented by the Equator. Latitude also describes the immense possibilities of the imagination – the freedom (or lack thereof) to think, and therefore to act or to be. Finally, from the perspective that is the equator, latitude focuses our minds on what it means to be centred.

These dimensions are, for me, at the core of the priorities of post-colonialism in this historical era; which I think about as the project of moving past colonialism. Moving past colonialism is about, as articulated below, expanding our imagination of the world to go beyond a world ordered in a hegemonic hierarchy; interrogating our perceptions and understandings of the familiar; and moving beyond unicentricity to a multiplicity of “point zeros”.  

In focus: Hierarchies and hegemonies

Used in relation to maps, “latitude” is used to locate oneself in the world, and metaphorically and literally, to navigate the distance between that location and others. Historically, it facilitated and undergirded the conceptualisation of the contemporary era of globalisation that bifurcated the world into roles based on a global system of imperial conquest we call colonialism.
  • Latitude: At several points in Uganda there are tourist facilities and shops along the equator. The geographical line is even drawn on the currency of the African country. For many people, however, the road to the southern hemisphere is only a normal connection that can be travelled by bicycle. Fritz Schumann © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild
    Latitude: At several points in Uganda there are tourist facilities and shops along the equator. The geographical line is even drawn on the currency of the African country. For many people, however, the road to the southern hemisphere is only a normal connection that can be travelled by bicycle.
  • Latitude: The undated archive picture shows the former Kenya-Uganda railway, which is now divided between the two countries. The rail network for the railway christened “Lunatic Express” by the colonial masters swallowed up more than five million British pounds until its completion in 1901, when 2,500 workers lost their lives. The Kenya-Uganda railway is one of the most impressive railway lines in the world. It begins at zero metres above sea level, runs through grassland and deserts, forests and highlands at 2,785 metres, only to drop back down from the equator to 1,520 metres. DB Antje Passenheim © dpa - Bildarchiv
    The undated archive picture shows the former Kenya-Uganda railway, which is now divided between the two countries. The rail network for the railway christened “Lunatic Express” by the colonial masters swallowed up more than five million British pounds until its completion in 1901, when 2,500 workers lost their lives. The Kenya-Uganda railway is one of the most impressive railway lines in the world. It begins at zero metres above sea level, runs through grassland and deserts, forests and highlands at 2,785 metres, only to drop back down from the equator to 1,520 metres.
  • Latitude: The flag of Nauru illustrates the geographical position of the island state only one degree south of the equator. Nauru is one of the smallest states in the world, consists of the coral island of the same name, which belongs to the island world of Micronesia, and lies in the Pacific Ocean. In 1888 Nauru was placed under the rule of the German Empire as a protectorate. During the First World War, Australia took control of the island and, apart from the Japanese occupation from 1942 to 1945, maintained it until the country became independent in 1968. McPHOTO/K. Steinkamp © picture alliance / blickwinkel
    The flag of Nauru illustrates the geographical position of the island state only one degree south of the equator. Nauru is one of the smallest states in the world, consists of the coral island of the same name, which belongs to the island world of Micronesia, and lies in the Pacific Ocean. In 1888 Nauru was placed under the rule of the German Empire as a protectorate. During the First World War, Australia took control of the island and, apart from the Japanese occupation from 1942 to 1945, maintained it until the country became independent in 1968.
  • Latitude: Mount Kenya in Kenya. It is the second highest mountain in East Africa and lies practically exactly on the equator.  M.Harvey/WILDLIFE © picture alliance
    Mount Kenya in Kenya. It is the second highest mountain in East Africa and lies practically exactly on the equator.
  • Latitude: Rush hour in the center of Apia, Samoa. In the background on the right is the Clock Tower. The Clock Tower is one of the landmarks of Apia and commemorates the Samoans who died on the side of the Allies in World War I. The island state of Samoa is located in the South Pacific south of the equator not far from the International Date Line, belongs to Polynesia and experienced a long colonial period under the rule of various countries (United Kingdom, German Empire, United States of America, New Zealand) Karl-Heinz Eiferle © picture alliance
    Rush hour in the center of Apia, Samoa. In the background on the right is the Clock Tower. The Clock Tower is one of the landmarks of Apia and commemorates the Samoans who died on the side of the Allies in World War I. The island state of Samoa is located in the South Pacific south of the equator not far from the International Date Line, belongs to Polynesia and experienced a long colonial period under the rule of various countries (United Kingdom, German Empire, United States of America, New Zealand)
  • Latitude: The undated photo shows the grandstand of the football stadium "Zerao" in Macapa, Brazil. The center line of the stadium runs on the equator, so one goal is in the northern hemisphere and the opposite one in the southern hemisphere. Brainpix © Picture-Alliance / ASA
    The undated photo shows the grandstand of the football stadium "Zerao" in Macapa, Brazil. The center line of the stadium runs on the equator, so one goal is in the northern hemisphere and the opposite one in the southern hemisphere.
The literal demarcation of the globe into hemispheres rationalised by geography, was translated through European imperialism into an international hierarchy that persists to the present day. Consequently, we have a dominant “Global North”, centred around the flagbearers and heirs of European colonialism; and a subservient, peripheral “Global South”, useful only to the extent that it shores up the political, economic and socio-cultural dominance of the former.

Leave comfort zone

The first task of moving past colonialism is the completion of the work of dismantling and replacing the inequitable hierarchies that it has institutionalised. This transition from deconstruction to the creation of a new reality takes us to the alternative meaning of “latitude”and its association with the notion of freedom. In its most positive iteration, it speaks to imaginative explorations beyond the boundaries of the familiar. Part of the lived reality of the “post-colonial” era of many Global South nations is assimilation into, and normalisation of, the underlying logic of colonialism; ironically deepening the rot even as independence transformed the external façade into an apparently benign shadow. This is not to blame colonialism for everything that has gone wrong in these countries, rather it is to recognise the ways in which structural inequalities, hierarchies and hegemonies have morphed over time.

Diversity of lived realities

Secondly, moving past colonialism entails interrogating limitations restricting thinking and acting, wherever or whoever we may be. Regardless of how these have been imposed and / or sustained, such limitations replicate colonialist logic, processes, institutional frameworks and privileges. Ironically, many protagonists who today embody the worst excesses of this colonialist order come from once-liberated spaces. Going past colonialism demands that we appreciate the rich, wide expanse of lived realities that preceded and extend beyond its narrow strictures. It means reacquainting ourselves with histories and collective memories that have been set aside, ignored, mis-represented or belittled.
 
We must move away from practices that privilege even as they purpose the opposite, such as unnecessarily labelling histories or discourses as pre- or post- colonial.
 

“Going past colonialism demands that we appreciate the rich, wide expanse of lived realities that preceded and extend beyond its narrow strictures.”


Moving past colonialism entails a re-estimation of the colonial moment that acknowledges without over-emphasising its historical place and influence. This invites us to nuance what we know and how we know it; enabling an acceptance of realities and possibilities defying the simplistic dualities often inherent in the notion of “latitude”. We are pushed to know for ourselves, as opposed to ceding our right to think and act to others whose experiences, perceptions and understandings may not cohere with our own. In doing so, we discover the complexity of all that is beautiful and valuable in the world that is now, once again, our Point Zero.

Kolonialismus überwinden Latitude: Zurück zum Punkt Null

Latitude: Markierung der geografischen Breite von null Grad als gelbe Äquatorlinie, Äquatormonument La Mitad del Mundo (Mitte der Welt) in San Antonio de Pichincha, Ecuador, Südamerika
Gelbe Äquatorlinie: Markierung der geografischen Breite von null Grad, Äquatormonument La Mitad del Mundo (Mitte der Welt) in San Antonio de Pichincha, Ecuador, Südamerika | Foto (Detail): Guenter Fischer © picture alliance / imageBROKER

In Yvonne Owuors Roman „The Dragonfly Sea“ sinniert eine junge kenianische Studentin darüber, dass sie sich als Bürgerin eines der 13 Länder, durch die der Äquator verläuft, am „Mittelpunkt der Welt“ befindet. Dieser geografischen Realität widersprechen ihre tagtäglichen Erfahrungen als ausländische Studentin, wenn sie immer wieder daran erinnert wird, welch geringe Bedeutung die Unermesslichkeit der Geschichte, des Wissens, der Weisheit und der Erfahrungen ihres Volkes innerhalb der geopolitischen Machthierarchien der Welt hat.

Von Mshaï Mwangola

Dazu passt die Definition von „Latitude“ (Breitengrad) in Kiswahili – „mstari wa kidhahani“ (wörtlich: imaginäre Linie) – und die Art und Weise, in der solche Demarkationslinien durch unsere kollektive Vorstellungskraft zur Realität werden. Bei „Latitude“ denkt man an Entfernung. Es geht darum, zu messen, wie weit man sich von einem zentralen Punkt und von anderen Punkten außerhalb dieses Punktes fortbewegt. Nicht nur dafür machen wir einen Unterschied zwischen „Nord“ und „Süd“. Wir können uns auch Entfernungen von einem durch den Äquator dargestellten Mittelpunkt – dem Punkt Null – vorstellen. Latitude beschreibt zudem die endlosen Möglichkeiten der Vorstellungskraft, die Freiheit (oder fehlende Freiheit) des Denkens und damit des Handelns und des Seins. Und schließlich regt uns Latitude aus der Perspektive des Äquators zum Nachdenken darüber an, was es bedeutet, im Mittelpunkt zu stehen.
 
Diese Dimensionen machen für mich die wesentlichen Schwerpunkte des Postkolonialismus in dieser historischen Ära aus, in der es um die Überwindung des Kolonialismus geht. Um das zu erreichen, benötigen wir unsere ganze Vorstellungskraft: uns eine Welt außerhalb der Weltordnung einer hegemonialen Hierarchie vorzustellen, unser Verständnis und unsere Wahrnehmung des Vertrauten infrage zu stellen und die Monozentralität zugunsten einer Vielzahl von „Punkten Null“ hinter uns zu lassen.

Im Visier: Hierarchien und Hegemonien

Auf Landkarten dienen „Breiten“ dazu, sich in der Welt zu positionieren und, metaphorisch und wörtlich betrachtet, die Entfernung zwischen einem bestimmten Standort und anderen Standorten darzustellen. In der Vergangenheit war so ein klares Konzept – des  gegenwärtigen Zeitalters – der Globalisierung möglich, durch die allen Teilen der Welt auf Grundlage eines globalen Systems der imperialen Eroberung, das wir als Kolonialismus bezeichnen, bestimmte Rollen zugewiesen wurden.
  • Latitude: An mehreren Punkten in Uganda gibt es am Äquator touristische Einrichtungen und Geschäfte. Die geografische Linie ist sogar auf der Währung des afrikanischen Landes eingezeichnet. Für viele Menschen ist die Straße in die südliche Hemisphäre aber nur eine normale Verbindung, die mit dem Fahrrad befahren werden kann. Fritz Schumann © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild
    Latitude: An mehreren Punkten in Uganda gibt es am Äquator touristische Einrichtungen und Geschäfte. Die geografische Linie ist sogar auf der Währung des afrikanischen Landes eingezeichnet. Für viele Menschen ist die Straße in die südliche Hemisphäre aber nur eine normale Verbindung, die mit dem Fahrrad befahren werden kann.
  • Latitude: Das undatierte Archivbild zeigt die einstige Kenia-Uganda-Bahn, die mittlerweile auf beide Länder aufgeteilt ist. Das Schienennetz für die von den Kolonialherren „Lunatic Express“ getaufte Bahn verschlang bis zur Fertigstellung 1901, bei der 2.500 Arbeiter ihr Leben lassen mussten, mehr als fünf Millionen britische Pfund. Die Kenia-Uganda-Bahn gehört zu den beeindruckendsten Bahnlinien der Welt. Sie beginnt bei Null Meter über dem Meeresspiegel, zieht sich durch Grasland und Wüsten, Wälder und Hochland auf 2.785 Meter, um dann vom Äquator wieder auf 1.520 Meter abzufallen. DB Antje Passenheim © dpa - Bildarchiv
    Das undatierte Archivbild zeigt die einstige Kenia-Uganda-Bahn, die mittlerweile auf beide Länder aufgeteilt ist. Das Schienennetz für die von den Kolonialherren „Lunatic Express“ getaufte Bahn verschlang bis zur Fertigstellung 1901, bei der 2.500 Arbeiter ihr Leben lassen mussten, mehr als fünf Millionen britische Pfund. Die Kenia-Uganda-Bahn gehört zu den beeindruckendsten Bahnlinien der Welt. Sie beginnt bei Null Meter über dem Meeresspiegel, zieht sich durch Grasland und Wüsten, Wälder und Hochland auf 2.785 Meter, um dann vom Äquator wieder auf 1.520 Meter abzufallen.
  • Latitude: Die Flagge von Nauru veranschaulicht die geografische Lage des Inselstaates nur einen Grad südlich des Äquators. Nauru ist einer der kleinsten Staaten der Erde, besteht aus der gleichnamigen Koralleninsel, die zur Inselwelt Mikronesiens gehört, und liegt im Pazifischen Ozean. 1888 wurde Nauru als Protektorat unter die Herrschaft des Deutschen Reiches gestellt. Während des Ersten Weltkriegs übernahm Australien die Kontrolle über die Insel und behielt diese, abgesehen von der japanischen Besatzungszeit von 1942 bis 1945, bis zur Unabhängigkeit des Landes 1968 bei. McPHOTO/K. Steinkamp © picture alliance / blickwinkel
    Die Flagge von Nauru veranschaulicht die geografische Lage des Inselstaates nur einen Grad südlich des Äquators. Nauru ist einer der kleinsten Staaten der Erde, besteht aus der gleichnamigen Koralleninsel, die zur Inselwelt Mikronesiens gehört, und liegt im Pazifischen Ozean. 1888 wurde Nauru als Protektorat unter die Herrschaft des Deutschen Reiches gestellt. Während des Ersten Weltkriegs übernahm Australien die Kontrolle über die Insel und behielt diese, abgesehen von der japanischen Besatzungszeit von 1942 bis 1945, bis zur Unabhängigkeit des Landes 1968 bei.
  • Latitude: Der Mount Kenya in Kenia. Er ist der zweithöchste Berg Ostafrikas und liegt praktisch genau auf dem Äquator. M.Harvey/WILDLIFE © picture alliance
    Der Mount Kenya in Kenia. Er ist der zweithöchste Berg Ostafrikas und liegt praktisch genau auf dem Äquator.
  • Latitude: Rushhour im Zentrum von Apia, Samoa. Im Hintergrund rechts steht der Clock Tower. Der Clock Tower ist eines der Wahrzeichen von Apia und erinnert an die im Ersten Weltkrieg auf Seite der Alliierten gefallenen Samoaner. Der Inselstaat Samoa liegt im Südpazifik südlich des Äquators unweit der Datumsgrenze, gehört zu Polynesien und erlebte eine lange Kolonialzeit unter der Herrschaft verschiedener Länder (Vereinigtes Königreich, Deutsches Reich, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika, Neuseeland) Karl-Heinz Eiferle © picture alliance
    Rushhour im Zentrum von Apia, Samoa. Im Hintergrund rechts steht der Clock Tower. Der Clock Tower ist eines der Wahrzeichen von Apia und erinnert an die im Ersten Weltkrieg auf Seite der Alliierten gefallenen Samoaner. Der Inselstaat Samoa liegt im Südpazifik südlich des Äquators unweit der Datumsgrenze, gehört zu Polynesien und erlebte eine lange Kolonialzeit unter der Herrschaft verschiedener Länder (Vereinigtes Königreich, Deutsches Reich, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika, Neuseeland)
  • Latitude: Die undatierte Aufnahme zeigt die Tribüne des Fußballstadions „Zerao“ in Macapa, Brasilien. Die Mittellinie des Stadions verläuft auf dem Äquator, somit liegt ein Tor in der nördlichen und das gegenüberliegende in der südlichen Hemisphäre. Brainpix ©
    Die undatierte Aufnahme zeigt die Tribüne des Fußballstadions „Zerao“ in Macapa, Brasilien. Die Mittellinie des Stadions verläuft auf dem Äquator, somit liegt ein Tor in der nördlichen und das gegenüberliegende in der südlichen Hemisphäre.
Die buchstäbliche Demarkation des Globus in geografisch definierte Hemisphären übertrug der europäische Imperialismus in eine noch heute geltende internationale Hierarchie. Entsprechend gibt es einen dominanten „globalen Norden“, der von den Fahnenträgern und Erben des europäischen Kolonialismus bestimmt wird, und einen untergeordneten, peripheren „globalen Süden“, der nur so lange von Nutzen ist, wie er die politische, wirtschaftliche und soziokulturelle Dominanz des Nordens stützt.

Komfortzone verlassen

Der erste Schritt zur Überwindung des Kolonialismus besteht darin, die durch ihn institutionalisierten ungleichen hierarchischen Strukturen endgültig und vollständig abzubauen und zu ersetzen. Beim Übergang von der Dekonstruktion zur Schaffung einer neuen Wirklichkeit stoßen wir auf eine alternative Bedeutung des Begriffs „Latitude“ und auf seinen Zusammenhang mit dem Konzept der Freiheit. In seiner positivsten Ausprägung geht es darum, auf den Flügeln der Fantasie die Grenzen des Vertrauten zu überwinden. In vielen Nationen des globalen Südens besteht die gelebte Realität in der „postkolonialen“ Ära in Teilen darin, die dem Kolonialismus zugrunde liegende Logik zu übernehmen und zu normalisieren. Paradoxerweise hat dies eine weitere Ausbreitung des Übels zur Folge, auch wenn die Unabhängigkeit die äußere Fassade in einen vermeintlich gutartigen Schatten verwandelt hat. Damit soll nicht dem Kolonialismus die Schuld für all das gegeben werden, was in diesen Ländern schiefgelaufen ist. Vielmehr soll aufgezeigt werden, in welcher Form strukturelle Ungleichheiten, Hierarchien und Hegemonien die Zeit überdauern konnten.

Vielfalt gelebter Realitäten

Beim zweiten Schritt zur Überwindung des Kolonialismus geht es darum, die Grenzen zu hinterfragen, die unser Denken und Handeln einschränken, wo und wer auch immer wir sein mögen. Ungeachtet der Tatsache, in welcher Form diese Grenzen festgelegt und/oder beibehalten wurden, replizieren sie kolonialistische Denkmuster, Prozesse, institutionelle Rahmenbedingungen und Privilegien. Paradoxerweise stammen viele der Protagonist*innen, die heute für die schlimmsten Exzesse dieser kolonialen Ordnung stehen, aus den in die Unabhängigkeit entlassenen Gebieten. Eine Überwindung des Kolonialismus setzt voraus, dass wir die Reichhaltigkeit und Vielfalt der gelebten Realitäten anerkennen, die über seine engen Grenzen hinaus weiterbestanden und sich ausgebreitet haben. Es bedeutet, dass wir uns erneut den Geschichten und kollektiven Erinnerungen zuwenden, die vernachlässigt, ignoriert, falsch dargestellt oder heruntergespielt wurden.

Es bedeutet auch, uns von Praktiken zu verabschieden, die Privilegien begünstigen, auch wenn sie das Gegenteil bezwecken, wie die unnötige Etikettierung von geschichtlichen Ereignissen oder Diskursen als prä‑ oder postkolonial.

„Eine Überwindung des Kolonialismus setzt voraus, dass wir die Reichhaltigkeit und Vielfalt der gelebten Realitäten anerkennen, die über seine engen Grenzen hinaus weiterbestanden und sich ausgebreitet haben.“


Dafür ist es entscheidend, genauer zu definieren, was wir wissen und woher wir es wissen, und die Realitäten und Möglichkeiten zulassen, die den vereinfachenden Dualitäten trotzen, welche dem Begriff „Latitude“ häufig anhaften. Wir werden gezwungen, auf unser eigenes Wissen zurückzugreifen, anstatt das Recht auf eigenes Denken und Handeln an andere abzutreten, deren Erfahrungen, Wahrnehmungen und Auffassungen möglicherweise nicht mit unseren übereinstimmen. Auf diese Weise erkennen wir, wie komplex die schönen und wertvollen Dinge in dieser Welt sein können, die nun erneut unseren Punkt Null verkörpert.