Short stories on postcolonial world order End of the dream

Anthology “End of the Dream”
Anthology “End of the Dream” | © Goethe-Institut

The themes are diverse, but the experiences of the protagonists are comparable: Contemporary authors from Africa and South America write about the effects of colonialism on their countries, societies, cultures, religions and political systems.

Ubah Cristina Farah and José Mendonça thematize armed resistance as a natural reaction to colonial rule in The Stations of the Moon and Independence Square respectively. Both stories deal with economic and gender inequalities in Somalia and Angola, as well as the disappointment over promises made during the independence struggle but not fulfilled afterwards. One of the protagonists in Independence Square laments: “The dream of democracy (...) is over.” A statement that could come from any one of the former colonies today.

In The Strip by Luis Noriega and Thriller by Cidinha da Silva, the former colonies, Columbia and Brazil, continue to struggle with violence and instability resulting from the unequal distribution of resources and opportunities. They also highlight the widening gap between the rich and the poor and the unfavourable bilateral relations between the former colonies and the colonial powers, which have led to a new form of colonialism - neo-colonialism.

Another motif of the narratives is the interaction between Western and indigenous cultures: while in some cases indigenous and foreign cultural practices coexisted in the same communities, elsewhere the traditions were either completely suppressed by the colonial masters or labelled sinful, repulsive and immoral by the missionaries. This led to an identity crisis that is reflected in narratives such as Panashe Chigumadzi's The God of the Old Testament and Dreams and Assorted Nightmares by Abubakar Ibrahim. In The Blue Bra on the Samsonite Bag, Zukiswa Wanner narrates a story about betrayal, revenge and the courage to cross cultural boundaries in an African metropolis while Okwiri Oduor's Sunflower brings to the readers' attention the social stratification and class differences in postcolonial Kenya.

Short stories on postcolonial world order Goethe-Institut You can download the anthology “End of the Dream¨ here as PDF.




On the Latitude website you will find these short stories in the “Discourses” section and there you can also listen to all the short stories as audio.

Kurzgeschichten zur postkolonialen Weltordnung Ende des Traums

Anthologie „Ende des Traums“
Anthologie „Ende des Traums“ | © Goethe-Institut

Die Themen sind vielfältig, die Erfahrungen der Protagonist*innen jedoch vergleichbar: Zeitgenössische Autor*innen aus Afrika und Südamerika schreiben über die Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus auf ihre Länder, Gesellschaften, Kulturen, Religionen und politischen Systeme.

Von Eliphas Nyamogo

Mit bewaffnetem Widerstand als natürliche Reaktion auf koloniale Herrschaft beschäftigen sich Ubah Cristina Farah in Die Häuser des Mondes und José Mendonça in Platz der Unabhängigkeit. Beide Geschichten thematisieren wirtschaftliche und geschlechtsspezifische Ungleichheiten in Somalia und Angola sowie die Enttäuschung über nicht eingehaltene Versprechen aus den Unabhängigkeitskämpfen. Einer der Protagonisten in Platz der Unabhängigkeit beklagt: „Der Traum von der Demokratie (…) ist ausgeträumt.“ Eine Aussage, die heute aus jeder der ehemaligen Kolonien stammen könnte.

Wie diese Länder weiterhin mit Gewalt und Instabilität zu kämpfen haben, die aus der ungleichen Verteilung von Ressourcen und Chancen resultieren, erzählen Luis Noriega in Der Streifen und Cidinha da Silva in Thriller. Dort geht es auch um die immer größer werdende Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich und die ungünstigen bilateralen Beziehungen zwischen den ehemaligen Kolonien und die Kolonialmächte, die zu einer neuen Form des Kolonialismus geführt haben – dem Neokolonialismus.

Ein weiteres Motiv der Erzählungen ist die Interaktion zwischen westlichen und indigenen Kulturen: Während in einigen Fällen einheimische und fremde kulturelle Praktiken in denselben Gemeinschaften koexistierten, sind andernorts die einheimischen Kulturen entweder von den Kolonialherren vollständig unterdrückt oder von den Missionaren als sündig, abstoßend und unmoralisch abgestempelt worden. Dies führte zu einer Identitätskrise, die in den Erzählungen reflektiert wird, so in Der Gott des Alten Testaments von Panashe Chigumadzi und in Träume und sortierte Albträume von Abubakar Ibrahim. Eine Geschichte über Verrat, Rache und den Mut, kulturelle Grenzen in einer afrikanischen Metropole zu überschreiten, erzählt Zukiswa Wanner in Der blaue BH auf der Samsonite-Tasche.
 
Kurzgeschichten zur postkolonialen Weltordnung Goethe-Institut Die Anthologie „Ende des Traums“ können Sie hier als PDF downloaden.




Auf der Website Latitude finden Sie diese Kurzgeschichten in der Rubrik „Diskurse“ und können dort sämtliche Kurzgeschichten auch als Audio abrufen.