What is “sub-Saharan Africa”? Geopolitics or blatant sophistry?

Latitude – Morocco, Taouz, Merzouga, Erg Chebbi, signpost to Sahara desert
Morocco, Taouz, Merzouga, Erg Chebbi, signpost to Sahara desert | Photo (detail): Petra Stockhausen © picture alliance / Westend61

The reference to all of Africa except the predominantly Arab North as “sub-Sahara” not only defies the fundamentals of geography but also smacks of stereotypical racist labelling, according to Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe. An Essay by the late historian and political scientist.

By Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe

It appears increasingly fashionable for a number of international broadcasters, news agencies, newspapers and magazines, the United Nations and its allied agencies, as well as some governments, writers and academics to use the term “sub-Saharan Africa” to refer to all of Africa (54 countries) except the 5 predominantly Arab states of North Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt) and the Sudan, a north-central African country. Even though its territory is mostly located south of the Sahara Desert, the Sudan is excluded from the “sub-Saharan Africa” tagging by those who promote the use of the epithet because the regime in power in Khartoum describes the country as “Arab” despite its majority African population.

Which science?

But the concept “sub-Saharan Africa” is absurd and misleading, if not a meaningless classificatory schema. Its use not only defies the fundamentals of geography but also smacks of stereotypical, racist labelling. It is not obvious, on the face of it, which of the four possible meanings of the prefix “sub” its users attach to the “sub-Saharan Africa” labelling. Is it “under” the Sahara Desert or “part of”/“partly” the Sahara Desert? Or, presumably, “partially”/“nearly” the Sahara Desert or even the very unlikely (hopefully?) application of “in the style of, but inferior to” the Sahara Desert, especially considering that there is an Arab people sandwiched between Morocco and Mauritania (Northwest Africa) called Saharan?
 
The example of South Africa is appropriate here. Crucially, this is a reference underlined in the relevant literature of the era especially those emanating from the West, the United Nations (principally UNDP, FAO, WHO, UNCTAD), the World Bank and IMF, the so-called NGOs/“aid” groups, and some in academia who all are variously responsible for initiating and sustaining the operationalisation of this “sub-Saharan Africa” dogma. The point is that prior to the formal restoration of African majority government in 1994, South Africa was never designated as part of “sub-Saharan Africa” by anyone in this portrait, unlike the rest of the 13 African-led states in southern Africa. The latter were often referred to, at the time, as the “frontline states” in reference to their strategic support for the historic African liberation movement across their borders in South Africa. South Africa then was either termed “white South Africa” or the “South Africa sub-continent” (as in the “India sub-continent” usage, for instance), meaning “almost” or “partially” a continent – quite clearly a usage of “admiration” or “compliment” employed by its subscribers to essentially project and valorize the perceived geostrategic potentials or capabilities of the erstwhile European-minority-led country. But soon after the triumph of the African freedom movement there, South Africa became part of “sub-Saharan Africa” in the quickly adjusted schema of this representation! What happened suddenly to South Africa’s geography for it to be so differently classified? Is it African liberation or rule that renders an African state “sub-Saharan”? Does this post-1994 West-inflected classification of South Africa make “sub-Saharan Africa” any more intelligible?
  • Latitude – In this photo taken Sunday, May 28, 2017, members of the Biafran separatist movement gathered during an event in Umuahia, Nigeria. The members are commemorating their fallen heroes 50 years after Nigeria's civil war saw more than 1 million die to create the state for the Igbo people. Lekan Oyekanmi © picture alliance/AP Photo
    In this photo taken Sunday, May 28, 2017, members of the Biafran separatist movement gathered during an event in Umuahia, Nigeria. The members are commemorating their fallen heroes 50 years after Nigeria's civil war saw more than 1 million die to create the state for the Igbo people.
  • Latitude – November 16, 2019, Madrid, Spain: Saharawis shouting slogans during the demonstration..Thousands of Saharawis arrive from all over Spain to demand the end of Morocco's occupation in Western Sahara, the freedom of political prisoners, in support of the Polisario Front and to demand solutions from the Spanish government..Western Sahara was a Spanish colony until 1976 where Spain left the territory. Later Morocco occupied part of Western Sahara and still part of the Saharawi population lives in refugee camps in the desert in Algeria and in Spain. Lito Lizana © SOPA Images via ZUMA Wire
    November 16, 2019, Madrid, Spain: Saharawis shouting slogans during the demonstration..Thousands of Saharawis arrive from all over Spain to demand the end of Morocco's occupation in Western Sahara, the freedom of political prisoners, in support of the Polisario Front and to demand solutions from the Spanish government..Western Sahara was a Spanish colony until 1976 where Spain left the territory. Later Morocco occupied part of Western Sahara and still part of the Saharawi population lives in refugee camps in the desert in Algeria and in Spain.
  • Latitude – A woman carries a sack of relief supplies - lentils and beans - on her head, taken on 24 March 2017 in the village of Ganyliel in Unity State, the region most affected by hunger in South Sudan at the time. Jürgen Bätz © dpa
    A woman carries a sack of relief supplies - lentils and beans - on her head, taken on 24 March 2017 in the village of Ganyliel in Unity State, the region most affected by hunger in South Sudan at the time.
  • Latitude – Nomadic Fulani and Tuareg families near InGall in Niger. Many Tuareg, Fulani and Arabs (comprising about 22% of Niger's population) live in the Sahel or Sahara regions. Christine Nesbitt Hills © picture alliance / africamediaonline
    Nomadic Fulani and Tuareg families near InGall in Niger. Many Tuareg, Fulani and Arabs (comprising about 22% of Niger's population) live in the Sahel or Sahara regions.
  • Latitude – Bedouin men loading a jeep with firewood in the Sahara desert, Libya Fischer © picture alliance / Bildagentur-online
    Bedouin men loading a jeep with firewood in the Sahara desert, Libya
  • Latitude – Street Scene at Dakhla Oasis, Libyan Desert, Egypt Reinhard Dirscherl © picture alliance / Reinhard Dirscherl
    Street Scene at Dakhla Oasis, Libyan Desert, Egypt
Interestingly, just as in the South Africa “sub-continent” example, the application of the “almost” or “partially”, or indeed “part of” or “partly” meaning of the prefix “sub-” to “Sahara Africa” focuses unambiguously on the following countries of Africa: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt, each of which has 25-75 per cent of its territory (especially to the South) covered by the Sahara Desert. It also focuses on Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad and the Sudan, which variously have 25-75 per cent of their territories (to the North) covered by the same desert. In effect, these ten states would make up “sub-Saharan Africa”.
 
Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt, the five Arab North Africa countries, do not, correctly, describe themselves as Africans even though they unquestionably habituate African geography, the African continent, since the Arab conquest and occupation of this Northern one-third of African territory in the 7th century CE. The Western governments, media and the transnational bodies, which are led predominantly by Western personnel and interests, have consistently “conceded” to this Arab cultural insistence on racial identity. Presumably, this accounts for the West’s non-designation of its “sub-Saharan Africa” dogma to these countries as well as the Sudan, whose successive Arab-minority regimes since January 1956 have claimed, but incorrectly, that the Sudan “belongs” to the Arab World. On this subject, the West does no doubt know that what it has been engaged in, all along, is blatant sophistry and not science.
 
It would appear that we still don’t seem to be any closer at establishing, conclusively, what its users mean by “sub-Saharan Africa”. Could it, perhaps, just be a benign reference to all the countries “under” the Sahara, regardless of their distances from this desert? Presently, there are 54 so-called sovereign states in Africa. If the 5 Arab states of North Africa are said to be located “above” the Sahara, then 49 are positioned “under”. The latter would therefore include all the 5 countries mentioned above whose north frontiers incorporate the southern stretches of the desert (namely, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad and the Sudan), countries in central Africa (the Congos, Rwanda, Burundi, etc.), for instance, despite being 2000-2500 miles away, and even the southern African states situated 3000-3500 miles away! In fact, all these 49 countries, except the Sudan, which is clearly “under” the Sahara and situated within the same latitudes as Mali, Niger and Chad (i.e., between 10 and 20 degrees North of the equator), are all categorised by the “sub-Saharan Africa” users as “sub-Saharan Africa”. “sub-”s of the world?

New classificatory schema?

To replicate this obvious farce of a classification elsewhere in the world, the following random exercise is not such an indistinct scenario for universal, everyday, referencing:
 
  • Australia hence becomes “sub-Great Sandy Australia” after the hot deserts that cover much of west and central Australia.
  • East Russia, east of the Urals, becomes “sub-Siberia Asia”.
  • China, Japan and Indonesia are reclassified “sub-Gobi Asia”.
  • Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam become “sub-Himalaya Asia
  • All of Europe is “sub-Arctic Europe”.
  • Most of England, central and southern counties, is renamed “sub-Pennines Europe”.
  • East/southeast France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia are “sub-Alps Europe
  • The Americas become “sub-Arctic Americas”.
  • All of South America, south of the Amazon, is proclaimed “sub-Amazon South America”; Chile could be “sub-Atacama South America”.
  • Most of New Zealand’s South Island is renamed “sub-Southern Alps New Zealand”.
  • Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama become “sub-Rocky North America”.
  • The entire Caribbean becomes “sub-Appalachian Americas”.            

Racist geopolitical signature

So, rather than some benign construct, “sub-Saharan Africa” is, in the end, an outlandish nomenclatural code that its users employ to depict an African-led “sovereign” state – anywhere in Africa, as distinct from an Arab-led one. It is the users’ non-inclusion of the Sudan in this grouping (despite its majority African population and geographical location) but its inclusion of South Africa only after the latter’s 1994 liberation that gives the game away! More seriously to the point, “sub-Saharan Africa” is employed to create the stunning effect of a supposedly shrinking African geographical landmass in the popular imagination, coupled with the continent’s supposedly attendant geostrategic global “irrelevance”.

“sub-Saharan Africa” is undoubtedly a racist geopolitical signature in which its users aim repeatedly to present the imagery of the desolation, aridity, and “hopelessness” of a desert environment. This is despite the fact that the overwhelming majority of 1 billion Africans do not live anywhere close to the Sahara, nor are their lives so affected by the implied impact of the very loaded meaning that this dogma intends to convey. Unless this steadily pervasive use of “sub-Saharan Africa” is robustly challenged by rigorous African-centred scholarship and publicity work, its proponents will succeed, eventually, in substituting the name of the continent “Africa” with “sub-Saharan Africa” and the name of its peoples, “Africans”, with “sub-Saharan Africans” or, worse still, “sub-Saharans” in the realm of public memory and reckoning.
 
 
This essay is a slightly updated version of a paper entitled “What is ‘sub-Saharan Africa’?” read by the late Professor Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe at the IDeoGRAMS Conference, University of Leicester, on 14 September 2007.

Was ist „Subsahara-Afrika“? Geopolitik oder pure Wortklauberei?

Latitude – Marokko, Taouz, Merzouga, Erg Chebbi, Wegweiser zur Wüste Sahara
Marokko, Taouz, Merzouga, Erg Chebbi, Wegweiser zur Wüste Sahara | Foto (Detail): Petra Stockhausen © picture alliance / Westend61

Die Bezeichnung „Subsahara-Afrika“ für den gesamten afrikanischen Kontinent, mit Ausnahme des vorwiegend arabisch geprägten Nordens, entbehrt Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe zufolge nicht nur jeglicher geografischen Grundlage, sie hat zudem auch den Beigeschmack einer stereotypen rassistischen Zuordnung. Ein Essay des verstorbenen Historikers und Politikwissenschaftlers.

Von Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe

Bei gewissen internationalen Rundfunkanstalten, Nachrichtenagenturen, Zeitungen und Magazinen, bei den Vereinten Nationen und ihren angeschlossenen Agenturen sowie bei einigen Regierungen, Schriftsteller*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen kommt es offenbar zunehmend in Mode, alle Länder Afrikas (54 Staaten) – mit Ausnahme der fünf vorwiegend arabisch geprägten Staaten Nordafrikas (Marokko, Algerien, Tunesien, Libyen, Ägypten) und des Sudan in Nordzentralafrika – als „Subsahara-Afrika“ zu bezeichnen. Und das, obwohl das Gebiet des Sudan zum überwiegenden Teil südlich der Sahara liegt. Trotzdem wird das Land von denjenigen, die eine Verwendung dieser Benennung unterstützen, nicht in die Kategorie „Subsahara-Afrika“ eingeordnet, weil es nach Meinung der Machthabenden in Khartum ungeachtet seiner afrikanischen Bevölkerungsmehrheit ein „arabisches“ Land ist.

Welche wissenschaftliche Grundlage?

Das Konzept eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ beruht allerdings auf einem absurden und irreführenden, wenn nicht sogar bedeutungslosen Klassifikationsschema. Seine Verwendung entbehrt nicht nur jeglicher geografischen Grundlage, sie hat zudem auch den Beigeschmack einer stereotypen rassistischen Zuordnung. Oberflächlich betrachtet ist nicht ersichtlich, welche der vier möglichen Bedeutungen der Vorsilbe „sub“ die Nutzer*innen mit der Bezeichnung „Subsahara-Afrika“ meinen. Möglicherweise wollen sie damit „unterhalb“ der Sahara oder „Teil“ / „zum Teil in“ der Sahara zum Ausdruck bringen? Vielleicht auch „teilweise“ / „fast“ die Sahara oder auch die eher unwahrscheinliche (so hoffe ich?) Bedeutung „ähnlich, aber nicht gleichwertig mit“, vor allem in Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass im Gebiet zwischen Marokko und Mauretanien (Nordwestafrika) das arabische Volk der Sahrauis lebt?
 
Südafrika ist hier ein gutes Beispiel. Die Bezeichnung ist hauptsächlich in der einschlägigen Literatur der damaligen Zeit zu finden, die insbesondere aus der westlichen Welt, von der UNO (vornehmlich UNDP, FAO, WHO, UNCTAD), der Weltbank und dem IWF, den so genannten NRO/„Hilfs“organisationen und einigen Wissenschaftler*innen stammt, die alle auf unterschiedliche Weise zur Einführung und Verbreitung des Dogma eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ beigetragen haben. Südafrika allerdings wurde vor der formalen Wiedereinsetzung einer afrikanischen Mehrheitsregierung im Jahre 1994 von keinem Mitglied dieser Gruppe als Teil eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ betrachtet – ganz im Unterschied zu den übrigen 13 afrikanisch regierten Staaten im südlichen Afrika. Letztere wurden zu dieser Zeit häufig als „Frontstaaten“ bezeichnet, um auf ihre strategische Unterstützung der historischen afrikanischen Befreiungsbewegung auf der anderen Seite ihrer Grenzen in Südafrika Bezug zu nehmen. Südafrika war im damaligen Sprachgebrauch entweder das „weiße Südafrika“ oder der „südafrikanische Subkontinent“ (unter anderem nach dem Vorbild des „indischen Subkontinents“), also „fast“ oder „teilweise“ ein Kontinent. Mit dieser Wortwahl wollten die Nutzer*innen mit Sicherheit ihre „Bewunderung“ oder „Anerkennung“ zum Ausdruck bringen, vor allem auch um die möglichen geostrategischen Potenziale oder Kapazitäten dieses einstmals von einer europäischen Minderheit regierten Landes zu betonen und zu würdigen. Doch bereits kurze Zeit nach dem Sieg der afrikanischen Freiheitsbewegung in Südafrika wurde das Land in das Darstellungsschema eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ integriert, das man schnell an den neuen Kontext angepasst hatte! Was war so plötzlich mit der Geografie Südafrikas geschehen, um eine völlig neue Einordnung dieser Art zu rechtfertigen? Fällt ein afrikanischer Staat durch seine afrikanische Befreiung oder Herrschaft in die Kategorie „Subsahara“? Lässt sich das Konzept eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ mit der Klassifizierung Südafrikas durch die westliche Welt in der Zeit nach 1994 in irgendeiner Weise besser nachvollziehen?
  • Latitude – Mitglieder der separatistischen Biafra-Bewegung gedenken während einer Veranstaltung in Umuahia, Nigeria, am 28. Mai 2017 ihrer gefallenen Helden – 50 Jahre nachdem im Bürgerkrieg in Nigeria mehr als eine Million Menschen starben, um einen Staat für das Volk der Igbo zu schaffen. Lekan Oyekanmi © picture alliance/AP Photo
    Mitglieder der separatistischen Biafra-Bewegung gedenken während einer Veranstaltung in Umuahia, Nigeria, am 28. Mai 2017 ihrer gefallenen Helden – 50 Jahre nachdem im Bürgerkrieg in Nigeria mehr als eine Million Menschen starben, um einen Staat für das Volk der Igbo zu schaffen.
  • Latitude – 16. November 2019, Madrid, Spanien: Tausende Saharauis kommen aus ganz Spanien zur Demonstration, um das Ende der marokkanischen Besetzung der Westsahara und die Freiheit der politischen Gefangenen zu fordern, die Polisario-Front zu unterstützen und von der spanischen Regierung Lösungen zu fordern. Die Westsahara war eine spanische Kolonie bis 1976, als Spanien das Gebiet verließ. Später besetzte Marokko einen Teil der Westsahara, und noch immer lebt ein Teil der saharauischen Bevölkerung in Flüchtlingslagern in der Wüste in Algerien und in Spanien. Lito Lizana © SOPA Images via ZUMA Wire
    16. November 2019, Madrid, Spanien: Tausende Saharauis kommen aus ganz Spanien zur Demonstration, um das Ende der marokkanischen Besetzung der Westsahara und die Freiheit der politischen Gefangenen zu fordern, die Polisario-Front zu unterstützen und von der spanischen Regierung Lösungen zu fordern. Die Westsahara war eine spanische Kolonie bis 1976, als Spanien das Gebiet verließ. Später besetzte Marokko einen Teil der Westsahara, und noch immer lebt ein Teil der saharauischen Bevölkerung in Flüchtlingslagern in der Wüste in Algerien und in Spanien.
  • Latitude – Eine Frau trägt auf ihrem Kopf einen Sack Hilfsgüter – Linsen und Bohnen, aufgenommen am 24. März 2017 im Ort Ganyliel im Bundesstaat Unity, dem damals am meisten vom Hunger betroffenen Gebiet im Südsudan Jürgen Bätz © dpa
    Eine Frau trägt auf ihrem Kopf einen Sack Hilfsgüter – Linsen und Bohnen, aufgenommen am 24. März 2017 im Ort Ganyliel im Bundesstaat Unity, dem damals am meisten vom Hunger betroffenen Gebiet im Südsudan
  • Latitude – Nomadische Fulani- und Tuaregfamilien in der Nähe von InGall im Niger. Viele Tuareg, Fulani und Araber (die etwa 22 Prozent der Bevölkerung im Niger ausmachen) leben in der Sahel- oder Sahara-Region. Christine Nesbitt Hills © picture alliance / africamediaonline
    Nomadische Fulani- und Tuaregfamilien in der Nähe von InGall im Niger. Viele Tuareg, Fulani und Araber (die etwa 22 Prozent der Bevölkerung im Niger ausmachen) leben in der Sahel- oder Sahara-Region.
  • Latitude – Beduinen beladen einen Jeep mit Feuerholz in der Sahara, Libyen Fischer © picture alliance / Bildagentur-online
    Beduinen beladen einen Jeep mit Feuerholz in der Sahara, Libyen
  • Latitude – Straßenszene in der Dakhla-Oase, Libysche Wüste, Ägypten Reinhard Dirscherl © picture alliance / Reinhard Dirscherl
    Straßenszene in der Dakhla-Oase, Libysche Wüste, Ägypten
Wie auch beim Beispiel des südafrikanischen „Subkontinents“ ist es interessant, dass sich die Verwendung der Vorsilbe „sub“ in „Subsahara-Afrika“ in der Bedeutung von „fast“ oder „teilweise“ oder auch „Teil von“ oder „zum Teil“ eindeutig auf folgende Länder des afrikanischen Kontinents bezieht: Marokko, Algerien, Tunesien, Libyen und Ägypten. Deren Staatsgebiete liegen zu jeweils 25 bis 75 Prozent (insbesondere im Süden) innerhalb der Sahara. Die Vorsilbe schließt zudem Mauretanien, Mali, Niger, Tschad und den Sudan mit ein, deren nördliche Territorien ebenfalls zu jeweils 25 bis 75 Prozent in dieser Wüste liegen. Tatsächlich müsste Subsahara-Afrika also aus diesen zehn Staaten bestehen.
 
Die fünf arabischen Staaten Nordafrikas – Marokko, Algerien, Tunesien, Libyen und Ägypten – bezeichnen sich seit der Eroberung und Besatzung dieses nördlichen Drittels des afrikanischen Territoriums durch die Araber im 7. Jahrhundert korrekterweise nicht als afrikanisch, obwohl sie ohne Zweifel Teil der afrikanischen Geografie und des afrikanischen Kontinents sind. Die Regierungen, Medien und transnationalen Organisationen des Westens, die vorwiegend von westlichen Vertreter*innen und Interessen gelenkt werden, haben diesem kulturellen Beharren auf einer ethnisch geprägten Identität von arabischer Seite stets „nachgegeben“. Vermutlich ist dies auch der Grund dafür, warum der Westen sein Dogma eines „Subsahara-Afrika“ nicht auf diese Länder oder auch auf den Sudan ausgeweitet hat, wo wechselnde arabische Minderheitenregime seit Januar 1956 fälschlicherweise postulierten, dass der Sudan zur Arabischen Welt „gehört”. In diesem Zusammenhang ist dem Westen mit Sicherheit bewusst, dass es ihm während all dieser Zeit nicht um wissenschaftliche Definitionen, sondern um pure Wortklauberei ging.
 
Offenbar lässt sich noch immer nicht vollständig und abschließend beschreiben, was die Nutzer*innen mit dem Begriff „Subsahara-Afrika“ meinen. Möglicherweise ist es nur eine freundliche Bezeichnung für alle Länder, die unterhalb der Sahara liegen, ganz gleich, wie weit sie von dieser Wüste entfernt sind? Gegenwärtig gibt es in Afrika 54 sogenannte souveräne Staaten. Wenn man davon ausgeht, dass die fünf arabischen Staaten Nordafrikas „oberhalb“ der Sahara liegen, befinden sich 49 Länder „unterhalb“ dieser Wüste. Letztere würden demzufolge alle fünf vorangehend genannten Länder einschließen, deren nördliche Grenzen innerhalb der südlichen Ausläufer der Wüste liegen (namentlich Mauretanien, Mali, Niger, Tschad und der Sudan), beispielsweise jedoch auch zentralafrikanische Staaten (die beiden Kongo-Staaten, Ruanda, Burundi und so weiter), obwohl sie 2.000 bis 2.500 Meilen entfernt sind, und sogar die Staaten des südlichen Afrika, die 3.000 bis 3.500 Meilen entfernt liegen! Tatsächlich werden all diese 49 Staaten mit Ausnahme des Sudan, der eindeutig „unterhalb“ der Sahara und innerhalb derselben Breitengrade wie Mali, Niger und Tschad (das heißt: zwischen 10 und 20 Grad nördlich des Äquators) liegt, von den Nutzer*innen der Bezeichnung „Subsahara-Afrika“ in eben diese Kategorie eingeordnet. Haben wir es hier mit den „Sub”-Staaten dieser Welt zu tun?

Ein neues Klassifikationsschema?

Mithilfe der folgenden kleinen Übung soll am Beispiel anderer Regionen dieser Welt gezeigt werden, wie absurd diese Klassifizierung ist, denn sie ist viel zu ungenau, um sich als allgemeingültige, alltägliche Bezeichnung zu eignen:
 
  • Australien würde „Sub-Great-Sandy-Australien“ heißen, nach den heißen Wüsten, die den Großteil West- und Mittelaustraliens bedecken.
  • Der Osten Russland östlich des Urals wäre das „Sub-Sibirische Asien“.
  • China, Japan und Indonesien fallen in die neue Kategorie „Sub-Gobi-Asien“.
  • Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Indien, Sri Lanka, Bangladesch, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Kambodscha und Vietnam werden zu „Sub-Himalaya-Asien”.
  • Ganz Europa wird zu „Sub-Arktis-Europa”.
  • Der Großteil Englands mit seinen Grafschaften in Mittel- und Südengland wird in „Sub-Penninen-Europa“ umbenannt.
  • Ost-/Südostfrankreich, Italien, Slowenien, Kroatien bilden das „Sub-Alpen-Europa“.
  • Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika werden der „amerikanische Sub-Arktis-Kontinent”.
  • Ganz Südamerika südlich des Amazonas wird zu „Sub-Amazonas-Südamerika“; Chile könnte „Sub-Atacama-Südamerika“ heißen.
  • Der Großteil der südlichen Insel Neuseelands wird in „Sub-Südliche-Alpen-Neuseeland“ umbenannt.
  • Mexiko, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica und Panama werden zu „Sub-Rocky-Nordamerika“.
  • Die gesamte Karibik heißt fortan „Sub-Appalachen-Amerika“. 

Eine rassistische geopolitische Handschrift

Letzten Endes ist „Subsahara-Afrika“ also kein gut gemeintes Konzept, sondern ein absonderlicher Nomenklatur-Code, mit dem die Nutzer*innen einen „souveränen” Staat – irgendwo in Afrika – unter afrikanischer Führung von einem Staat unter arabischer Führung unterscheiden wollen. Ihre Strategie haben sie selbst preisgegeben, indem sie den Sudan (ungeachtet seiner afrikanischen Bevölkerungsmehrheit und seiner geografischen Lage) nicht und Südafrika erst nach der Befreiung im Jahre 1994 in diese Kategorie aufgenommen haben! Um es noch deutlicher zu machen: Die Bezeichnung „Subsahara-Afrika“ wird verwendet, um in der allgemeinen Vorstellung den Eindruck zu verbreiten, dass die geografische Landmasse Afrikas scheinbar abnimmt und Afrika angeblich eine geostrategische „Bedeutungslosigkeit“ auf der Weltbühne bevorsteht.

Die Bezeichnung „Subsahara-Afrika“ trägt ohne Zweifel eine rassistische geopolitische Handschrift. Ihre Nutzer*innen wollen damit wieder und wieder das Bild einer trostlosen, trockenen und „hoffnungslosen“ Wüstenlandschaft vermitteln. Doch sie vergessen dabei, dass die überwältigende Mehrheit der eine Milliarde Afrikaner*innen nicht einmal in der Nähe der Sahara lebt und ihr Lebensalltag keineswegs von den extremen Belastungen geprägt ist, die mit diesem Dogma vermittelt werden sollen. Einer solchen anhaltenden und weit verbreiteten Verwendung des Begriffs „Subsahara-Afrika“ muss mit fundierten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen und entschlossenen Aufklärungskampagnen aus afrikanischer Perspektive begegnet werden. Anderenfalls werden seine Anhänger*innen eines Tages siegen und den Namen des Kontinents „Afrika“ im öffentlichen Gedächtnis und der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung durch „Subsahara-Afrika“ und den Namen der dort lebenden „Afrikaner*innen“ in „Subsahara-Afrikaner*innen“ oder, noch schlimmer, „Sub-Saharianer*innen“ ändern.
 
 
Dieser Essay ist die leicht aktualisierte Fassung eines Vortrags mit dem Titel „Was ist ‚Subsahara-Afrika‘“, den Professor Herbert Ekwe-Ekwe anlässlich der IDeoGRAMS Conference an der University of Leicester am 14. September 2007 hielt.