Remembrance Politics The ambivalence of coming to terms with history

Racism – Marked by a new patriotism: the 2006 World Cup in Germany
Marked by a new patriotism: the 2006 World Cup in Germany | Photo (detail): Kay Nietfeld © picture alliance / dpa

By Anna Delius

The remembrance boom of the 1990s

Reunified Germany was a contradictory country. While schoolchildren learned about the “Third Reich” in all grades, neo-Nazi gangs in eastern and western Germany committed racist acts of violence and killed and injured numerous people. With the end of the Cold War, a historical view of “real-life” socialism in Germany developed, which was tagged by some as the “second dictatorship” and thus relativised National Socialism.

At the same time, there was a kind of remembrance boom, which was also manifested in Germany in the form of numerous memorial sites and commemorative initiatives. The Hollywood film Schindler’s List sent audience ratings in the cinema soaring. The privately initiated mobile exhibition Verbrechen der Wehrmacht (Crimes of the Nazi Army) was heavily frequented on the one hand, and vehemently rejected by sections of the German population on the other, because it did away with the myth of the “clean Wehrmacht” – an army which had apparently waged a “normal war” quite apart from the SS. With the new red-green coalition federal government, a new debate began about the compensation of forced labourers. Although the war had been over for 50 years, Germany had compensated almost no individuals. Therefore, in 2000 the Foundation “Erinnerung Verantwortung Zukunft” (Remembrance Responsibility Future) was set up, which today, after completing payments to those survivors who could still be traced, is dedicated to remembering the NS period.

A new patriotism

The great interest in the history of the Second World War continued into the 2000s. The displacement of the Germans and the bombing of German cities were addressed more and more in books, documentaries and talk shows. However, the 2006 World Cup in Germany with the popular slogan “Die Welt zu Gast bei Freunden” (A Time to Make Friends) was marked by a new patriotism. In view of the masses of flags in a sea of black, red and gold, it was welcomed by some with concern and by others with enthusiasm. During these years, the Germans, like other nations, wanted to wave their flag and be proud of their country.

The ambivalence of this period can perhaps best be seen in the fact that in the same social and political climate it was possible to start building the memorial for the murdered Jews of Europe in Berlin – a memorial that became an important symbol of the new capital.
 
  • Racism – The swearing in of conscripts from the National People’s Army of the GDR in the former fascist concentration camp of Buchenwald in 1978. © picture alliance /Dieter Demme/ZB
    The swearing in of conscripts from the National People’s Army of the GDR in the former fascist concentration camp of Buchenwald in 1978.
  • Racism – The former “SS Obersturmbannführer” Adolf Eichmann, who during the Nazi period was head of the department responsible for the systematic persecution and murder of Jews, on trial in Jerusalem in 1961. Eichmann was sentenced to death and executed in May 1962. © dpa archive/dpa
    The former “SS Obersturmbannführer” Adolf Eichmann, who during the Nazi period was head of the department responsible for the systematic persecution and murder of Jews, on trial in Jerusalem in 1961. Eichmann was sentenced to death and executed in May 1962.
  • Racism – The first Auschwitz trial in 1963 at Frankfurt’s City Council Hall: press photographers and cameramen take pictures of the accused. © picture alliance/Roland Witschel
    The first Auschwitz trial in 1963 at Frankfurt’s City Council Hall: press photographers and cameramen take pictures of the accused.
  • Racism – Participants in a demonstration against the opponents of the exhibition “Vernichtungskrieg, Verbrechen der Wehrmacht 1941 bis 1944” (War of Extermination, Crimes of the Nazi Army from 1941 to 1944) in Munich in 1997. © picture-alliance/Andreas Heddergott/Süddeutsche Zeitung Photo
    Participants in a demonstration against the opponents of the exhibition “Vernichtungskrieg, Verbrechen der Wehrmacht 1941 bis 1944” (War of Extermination, Crimes of the Nazi Army from 1941 to 1944) in Munich in 1997.
  • Racism – Football fans celebrating at a giant public screening during the 2006 World Cup in Germany. © picture-alliance/Kay Nietfeld/dpa
    Football fans celebrating at a giant public screening during the 2006 World Cup in Germany.
  • Racism – The monument to the murdered Jews of Europe by the architect Peter Eisenmann in Berlin. © picture alliance / Jochen Tack
    The monument to the murdered Jews of Europe by the architect Peter Eisenmann in Berlin.
More monuments to other groups of victims of National Socialism were gradually added, such as Sinti and Roma, homosexuals or the victims of the murderous “T4” campaign, in which the Nazis killed disabled and mentally ill children and adults. A monument to the Polish victims of the war and the German occupation has also been under discussion since 2018.

The story of a successful reappraisal has faltered

The way Germany dealt with its own past is and has always been ambivalent. Questions of who the perpetrators were and how people suffered were and are linked to the question of historical responsibility. An awareness that Germany and the Germans were guilty in a very special way during the National Socialist period did not come about until a few decades had passed and now takes more the form of an official state remembrance rather than a convinced belief on the part of German citizens. These days it is being discussed again and again and, especially in recent years, has been aggressively called into question by some sections of society – above all by the Alternative für Deutschland (AfD) (Alternative for Germany) party. In the meantime, the story of a “successful reappraisal” in Germany has started to falter and must be more critically scrutinised in 2020.

Erinnerungspolitik Die Ambivalenz der Aufarbeitung

Rassismus – Im Zeichen eines neuen Patriotismus: Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland
Im Zeichen eines neuen Patriotismus: Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland | Foto (Detail): Kay Nietfeld © picture alliance / dpa

Von Anna Delius

Erinnerungsboom der 1990er-Jahre

Das wiedervereinigte Deutschland war ein widersprüchliches Land. Während Schulkinder in allen Jahrgangsstufen über das „Dritte Reich“ lernten, verübten Neonazi-Banden in Ost- und Westdeutschland rassistisch motivierte Gewalttaten und töteten und verletzten zahlreiche Menschen. Mit dem Ende des Kalten Kriegs entwickelte sich ein historischer Blick auf den real existierenden Sozialismus in der DDR, der von einigen zur „zweiten Diktatur“ verkürzt wurde und somit den Nationalsozialismus relativierte.

Gleichzeitig gab es eine Art Erinnerungsboom, der sich in Deutschland auch in Form zahlreicher Gedenkstätten und Gedenkinitiativen zeigte. Im Kino sprengte der Hollywood-Film Schindlers Liste die Zuschauer*innenquoten. Die privat initiierte Wanderausstellung Verbrechen der Wehrmacht wurde einerseits stark besucht, andererseits vehement von Teilen der deutschen Bevölkerung abgelehnt, da sie mit dem Mythos der „sauberen Wehrmacht“ aufräumte, die scheinbar unbehelligt von der SS einen „normalen Krieg“ geführt hatte. Mit der neuen rot-grünen Bundesregierung begann auch eine neue Debatte um die Entschädigung von Zwangsarbeiter*innen. Obwohl der Krieg bereits mehr als 50 Jahre zurück lag, hatte Deutschland nahezu keine individuellen Entschädigungen geleistet. Daher wurde im Jahr 2000 eigens die Stiftung „Erinnerung Verantwortung Zukunft“ eingerichtet, die sich heute, nach Abschluss der Zahlungen an diejenigen Überlebenden, die man noch erreichen konnte, der Erinnerung an den Nationalsozialismus widmet.

Ein neuer Patriotismus

In den 2000er-Jahren setzte sich das große Interesse an der Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkrieges weiter fort. Die Vertreibung der Deutschen sowie die Bombardierung deutscher Städte wurden vermehrt in Büchern, Dokumentationen und Talkshows thematisiert. Die Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland mit dem beliebten Slogan „Die Welt zu Gast bei Freunden“ stand dann jedoch ganz im Zeichen eines neuen Patriotismus. Angesichts der Fahnenmeere in Schwarz-Rot-Gold wurde er von einigen mit Sorge, von anderen mit Begeisterung aufgenommen. In diesen Jahren wollten die Deutschen so wie andere Nationen Fahnen schwenken und stolz auf ihr Land sein.

Die Ambivalenz dieser Zeit zeigt sich vielleicht am besten darin, dass es in demselben gesellschaftlichen und politischen Klima möglich war, in Berlin mit dem Bau des Mahnmals für die ermordeten Juden Europas zu beginnen, das zu einem wichtigen Symbol der neuen Hauptstadt wurde. ­­
 
  • Rassismus – Vereidigung von Wehrpflichtigen der Nationalen Volksarmee der DDR im ehemaligen faschistischen Konzentrationslager Buchenwald 1978. © picture alliance /Dieter Demme/ZB
    Vereidigung von Wehrpflichtigen der Nationalen Volksarmee der DDR im ehemaligen faschistischen Konzentrationslager Buchenwald 1978.
  • Rassismus – Der ehemalige SS-Obersturmbannführer Adolf Eichmann, damaliger Leiter der Dienststelle, die für die systematische Verfolgung und Ermordung von Juden zuständig war, vor Gericht in Jerusalem 1961. Eichmann wurde zum Tode verurteilt und im Mai 1962 hingerichtet. © dpa archive/dpa
    Der ehemalige SS-Obersturmbannführer Adolf Eichmann, damaliger Leiter der Dienststelle, die für die systematische Verfolgung und Ermordung von Juden zuständig war, vor Gericht in Jerusalem 1961. Eichmann wurde zum Tode verurteilt und im Mai 1962 hingerichtet.
  • Rassismus – Der erste Auschwitzprozess 1963 in der Frankfurter Stadtverordnetenversammlung: Pressefotograf*innen und Kameraleute fotografieren und filmen die Angeklagten. © picture alliance/Roland Witschel
    Der erste Auschwitzprozess 1963 in der Frankfurter Stadtverordnetenversammlung: Pressefotograf*innen und Kameraleute fotografieren und filmen die Angeklagten.
  • Rassismus – Teilnehmende an einer Demonstration gegen die Gegner*innen der Ausstellung „Vernichtungskrieg, Verbrechen der Wehrmacht 1941 bis 1944“ in München 1997. © picture-alliance/Andreas Heddergott/Süddeutsche Zeitung Photo
    Teilnehmende an einer Demonstration gegen die Gegner*innen der Ausstellung „Vernichtungskrieg, Verbrechen der Wehrmacht 1941 bis 1944“ in München 1997.
  • Rassismus – Fußballfans feiern beim Public Viewing während der Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland. © picture-alliance/Kay Nietfeld/dpa
    Fußballfans feiern beim Public Viewing während der Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland.
  • Rassismus – Das Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas des Architekten Peter Eisenmann in Berlin. © picture alliance / Jochen Tack
    Das Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas des Architekten Peter Eisenmann in Berlin.
Nach und nach kamen weitere Denkmäler für andere Opfergruppen des Nationalsozialismus hinzu, etwa für Sinti und Roma, Homosexuelle oder die Opfer der mörderischen Aktion „T4“, bei der die Nazis behinderte und psychisch kranke Kinder und Erwachsene töteten. Seit 2018 wird ein Denkmal für die polnischen Opfer des Krieges und der deutschen Besatzung diskutiert.

Die Erzählung der gelungenen Aufarbeitung ist ins Wanken geraten

Der Umgang mit der eigenen Vergangenheit ist und war in Deutschland immer ambivalent. Fragen der Täterschaft und des eigenen Leids wurden und werden dabei mit der Frage der historischen Verantwortung verknüpft. Ein Bewusstsein dafür, dass Deutschland und die Deutschen sich während des Nationalsozialismus auf eine ganz besondere Art und Weise schuldig gemacht haben, setzte erst nach einigen Jahrzehnten ein und ist eher Gegenstand einer staatlichen Erinnerung als Überzeugung deutscher Bürger*innen. Es wird auch heute immer wieder neu diskutiert und wird insbesondere in den vergangenen Jahren von einigen Teilen der Gesellschaft aggressiv in Frage gestellt – allen voran der Partei Alternative für Deutschland (AfD). Mittlerweile ist die Erzählung von der „gelungenen Aufarbeitung“ in Deutschland stark ins Wanken geraten und muss im Jahr 2020 kritisch hinterfragt werden.