Art as a Medium of Urban Transformation Processes Exploring New Horizons

Latitude – Acquisition of urban space: Muraleando is symbolised by the murals throughout the neighbourhood.
Acquisition of urban space: “Muraleando” is symbolised by the murals throughout the neighbourhood. | Photo (detail): © Natalie Göltenboth

At the latest since Raul Castro initiated reform plans in 2011, Cuban society has been seeking out a path between socialist ideals and a free market economy. A look by Natalie Göltenboth at the community projects “Muraleando” and “ArteCorte” in Havana reveals the potential that can be unleashed by art and collective solidarity in this context.

By Natalie Göltenboth

If you wanted to express Cuba’s current situation in a metaphor, the river crossing puzzle would be the obvious choice: a farmer wants to cross the river in a boat, bringing with him a goat, a cabbage and a wolf – however the boat only has space to carry one other item as well as himself. The farmer has to plan exactly which combinations are possible so that one passenger doesn’t eat another. On the African continent they know a version of this puzzle with a cheetah, chicken and rice, in Cuba you might read it like this: If the situation in the figurative “boat” before the fall of the Berlin Wall and the subsequent collapse of the Socialist bloc at the beginning of the 1990s was as crystal clear as the “navigation channel” of the Castro regime, then the passage of that rocking boat to the new shores of a transformed Cuban economy and society are far more complex now. What combinations of socialist ideals and free market economy can be found during this transit, and how can the core constants of economy, culture and social interaction in this boat be carried intact to the opposite shore without one element falling victim to another?  Cuban politicians and economists have been working hard to develop appropriate solution strategies for the Cuban river crossing problem since Raul Castro’s reform plans in 2011 at the latest. From the perspective of western societies, this struggle tends to be dismissed as a magical-sounding concept: opening – and linked with it the vision of a better life in Cuba, for all Cubans. The fact that this also causes a divide to open up within Cuban society, which had previously been relatively homogeneous, is something that’s often simply forgotten in the Western opening discourse.

The hour of the individual and of collective action

Into a thrilling scenario of proud small-business owners – taxi drivers, nail studio proprietors and artisans with access to currency, diligent workers and professors paid a pittance by the state, people resigned to their fate as they sit in rocking chairs and swat flies, tourists with buying power – a new character now enters the Cuban stage: the visionary. He or she stands at the centre of a merry-go-round of circling questions about the future and rolls out a plan in which the farmer, goat, cabbage and wolf arrive safely on the other bank. The means he or she uses are art, community spirit and entrepreneurship. It’s the hour of the individual, his motivation, the scope of his authority – and the hour of collective action instead of endless waiting. The magic word of the moment is empoderamiento (empowerment).

I drive down the Avenida 10 de Octubre in an old Buick – it’s a road that extends infinitely, linking the centre of Havana with the Lawton-Luyanó district on the outskirts. To the right and left lies Old Havana: the dust from the traffic, the façades of magnificent neoclassical buildings towering into the sky, although they are often roofless and bleached by the sun. Under the ramshackle balconies and columns, laundry is drying and there are people playing dominos, but above all they are improvising:  “no es fácil” – “Things aren’t easy” is a frequently heard mantra – repeated by everyone who feels overwhelmed by the new developments.  

At the junction with Calle Aguilera a sign proclaims: “Bienvenido al Proyecto Comunitario Muraleando!” – Welcome to the Muraleando Community Project!
Colour is the first thing you notice: the little houses have been spruced up with vibrant artworks and fresh coats of paint. The crossroads in the neighbourhood are marked with collages made from street junk. But Muraleando is symbolised by the murals dominating the entire area around an old restored water tank – the heart of the project. It wasn’t until 2011 that Muraleando first managed to acquire a space of its own. In a collaborative effort they emptied the mud out of the huge tank and turned it into a gallery, in which the artists of Muraleando sell their works today. A patchwork architecture of new buildings has sprung up around “El Tanque”, where they hold workshops for children, young people and the elderly. There’s a ceramics kiln, art studios, tuition in theatre, percussion and dance, a video workshop and a sewing room.
  • Latitude – Ernesto teaches young protégés © Natalie Göltenboth
    Ernesto, percussion maestro of “Muraleando”, teaches his young protégés – whose greatest desire is often to have an instrument of their own.
  • Latitude – Art workshops in “Muraleando” are free and everyone is very enthusiastic to attend. © Natalie Göltenboth
    Art workshops in “Muraleando” are free and everyone is very enthusiastic to attend.
  • Latitude – Artwork on a building in “Muraleando” © Natalie Göltenboth
    Artwork on a building in “Muraleando” – the unmistakable style of artist Victor Mora, shown here painting a ship that will later be mounted on the roof.
  • Latitude – Artists and residents of the neighbourhood admire their “creation” – the “Muraleando”  community project is a collaborative venture that was started in 2011. © Natalie Göltenboth
    Artists and residents of the neighbourhood admire their “creation” – the “Muraleando” community project is a collaborative venture that was started in 2011.
  • Latitude – Papito’s hair salon is also an art museum: an art collection entitled “To the last hair” features works by famous Cuban artists. © Natalie Göltenboth
    Papito’s hair salon is also an art museum: an art collection entitled “To the last hair” features works by famous Cuban artists.
  • Latitude – The author under a 50 year-old hairdryer hood in Papito’s salon “Museo de la Barbería”, Calle Aguiar, Old Havana. © Natalie Göltenboth
    The author under a 50 year-old hairdryer hood in Papito’s salon “Museo de la Barbería”, Calle Aguiar, Old Havana.
Manuel Baldrich Diaz, initiator of the project, is a visionary born out of necessity, as he says himself. He didn’t want to simply accept the rampant hopelessness in his neighbourhood. The project started in 2003 with art workshops for children, which were held on the street in the early days. Manuel activated his contacts to artists from Europe and Canada who were willing to support the project, which received the National Prize for Community Culture in 2016. Manolo’s recipe for success: a form of social enterprise through the means of art.

All the artists involved in the project can use the gallery space to sell their artworks, as long as at least one-third of the profits is put towards future development of the project. This includes the commitment to provide free art lessons for residents of the neighbourhood.  Cuban tourism agency Havanatur is supplying Muraleando with culture-loving tourists, and that guarantees sales in the gallery. A success story that’s reflected in the prospering rainbow neighbourhood and its active residents.

A new sparkle thanks to cultural values and social cooperation

Similar motivations were behind ArteCorte (cutting art) and Akokan, community projects also set up by visionaries who, faced with desolate conditions in their neighbourhoods, took it upon themselves to mobilise residents to make the most of resources and contacts and create a phenomenon that was new for Cuba: community projects that flourished yet were founded on social principles, taking over the urban space and changing it.

Fashioning a new Cuba in which economic growth goes hand-in-hand with cultural values and social cooperation – that’s the declared intention of Gilberto Valladares alias “Papito”, who has – thanks to his artistic hairdressing project – not only successfully brought a new sparkle to one of the most miserable streets in Habana Vieja (Old Havana), but also to the occupants of the Callejón de los Peluqueros (Barbers’ Alley), who run boutiques, small shops and restaurants. Some of the income goes towards Papito’s hairdressing school, where young people from difficult backgrounds receive free training that they will later be able to use to make a living. Papito himself cuts customers’ hair in a salon full of antiquated barber paraphernalia he has collected over the years, the Museo de la Barbería. Anyone getting a haircut here should expect some interesting conversation.

“A phenomenon that was new for Cuba: community projects that flourished yet were founded on social principles, taking over the urban space and changing it.”


Akokan, the newest of the projects, was founded in 2016 by archaeologist Michel Sanchez and his wife, who moved into the marginal neighbourhood of Los Pocitos in the south-west of the city and soon realised how much unexploited potential there was here. In cooperation with state-funded institutions they set up a community project, which like the others supports children and young people through workshops, but on top of that they have managed to persuade the locals to cultivate organic vegetables and medicinal herbs in a venture similar to Muraleando and ArteCorte in that it taps into a strong team spirit to reshape the urban space.  

All in all, these are successful and profitable future models for Cuba’s as yet unsolved river crossing puzzle. It should also be noted that in Cuba they have only just opened up to the free market economy and therefore the opportunity to generate income, which is made possible in the first place by social projects like this.
 

Literature

Natalie Göltenboth. 2019. “Muraleando: Artists as Social Entrepreneurs in the Cuban Transformation Process”, In: The Popular Economy in Urban Latin America. Informality, Materiality and Gender in Commerce; (Eds.) Eveline Dürr, Juliane Müller. N.Y.: Lexington Books.

Kunst als Medium urbaner Transformationsprozesse Auf zu neuen Ufern

Latitude – bemalte Mauern in Havanna
Aneignung des urbanen Raums: Wahrzeichen von „Muraleando“ sind die bemalten Mauern des Viertels. | Foto (Detail): © Natalie Göltenboth

Spätestens seit Raul Castros Reformkurs von 2011 sucht die kubanische Gesellschaft nach einem Weg zwischen sozialistischen Idealen und freier Marktwirtschaft. Welche Potenziale hierbei die Kunst und der kollektive Zusammenhalt in einem Stadtviertel freisetzen können, zeigt Natalie Göltenboth am Beispiel der Community‑Projekte „Muraleando“ und „ArteCorte“ in Havanna.

Von Natalie Göltenboth

Wollte man Kubas gegenwärtige Situation in einer Metapher ausdrücken, so böte sich das Flussüberquerungsrätsel an: Ein Bauer will mit Ziege, Kohlkopf und Wolf im Schlepptau den Fluss in einem Boot überqueren, das jedoch jeweils nur einen weiteren Passagier außer ihm selbst fassen kann. Der Bauer muss genau planen, welche Kombinationen möglich sind, damit nicht ein Passagier den anderen auffrisst. Das Rätsel ist im afrikanischen Raum mit Gepard, Huhn und Reis bekannt, in Kuba liest es sich in etwa so: Wenn vor dem Mauerfall  und dem darauf folgenden Zusammenbruch des sozialistischen Blocks zu Beginn der 1990er‑Jahre die Lage im „Boot“ so klar und eindeutig war wie das „Fahrwasser“ des Castro-Regimes, so ist die Überfahrt des schaukelnden Boots zu neuen Ufern einer transformierten kubanischen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nun deutlich komplexer. Welche Kombinationen zwischen sozialistischen Idealen und freier Marktwirtschaft lassen sich in diesem Übergang finden und wie können die zentralen Konstanten Ökonomie, Kultur und soziales Miteinander in diesem Boot wohlbehalten ans andere Ufer befördert werden, ohne dass ein Element dem anderen zum Opfer fällt? An der Entwicklung geeigneter Lösungsstrategien für die kubanische Flussüberquerungsaufgabe arbeiten sich kubanische Politiker*innen und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler*innen spätestens seit dem Reformkurs Raul Castros 2011 ab. Aus der Perspektive westlicher Gesellschaften wird dieses Ringen gerne in einen magisch anmutenden Begriff gebannt: Öffnung – und daran gekoppelt die Vorstellung von einem besseren Leben auf Kuba, für alle Kubaner*innen. Dass sich damit auch eine Schere innerhalb der ehemals relativ homogenen Gesellschaft Kubas öffnet, wird im westlichen Öffnungsdiskurs oft schlicht vergessen.

Die Stunde des Individuums und des kollektiven Handelns

In einem spannungsvollen Szenario stolzer Kleinunternehmer*innen – Taxifahrer*innen, Nagelstudiobesitzer*innen und Kunsthandwerkende – mit Zugang zu Devisen, von fleißigen Arbeiter*innen und Professor*innen mit staatlichen Hungerlöhnen, in ihren Schaukelstühlen Fliegen verscheuchenden Resignierten und kaufkräftigen Tourist*innen betritt nun eine neue Figur die kubanische Bühne: der Visionär oder die Visionärin. Der oder die Visionär*in stellt sich in den Mittelpunkt des Karussells kreisender Zukunftsfragen und entrollt einen Plan, in dem Bauer, Ziege, Kohlkopf und Wolf sicher ans andere Ufer kommen. Seine oder ihre Mittel: die Kunst, der Gemeinschaftssinn, der Unternehmer*innengeist. Es ist dies die Stunde des Individuums, seiner Motivation und seiner Handlungsmacht und die Stunde des kollektiven Handelns anstelle endlosen Wartens. Das magische Wort heißt nun: „empoderamiento – Empowerment“ (Selbstermächtigung).

In einem alten Buick fahre ich die Avenida 10 de Octubre entlang, eine sich endlos hinziehende Straße, die das Zentrum Havannas mit dem außerhalb gelegenen Viertel Lawton‑Luyanó verbindet. Rechts und links das alte Havanna: der Staub der Wagen, in den Himmel aufragende Fassaden neoklassizistischer Prachtbauten, die jetzt aber oft ohne Dach unter der Sonne bleichen. Auf den zerfallenden Balkonen und unter den Säulen wird Wäsche getrocknet und Domino gespielt, vor allem aber improvisiert: „no es fácil“ – „Man hat‘s nicht leicht“ ist ein oft gehörtes Mantra – wiederholt von all denjenigen, die sich von den neuen Entwicklungen überfordert fühlen.  
An der Kreuzung zur Calle Aguilera verkündet ein Schild: „Bienvenido al Proyecto Comunitario Muraleando“ – Willkommen im Community‑Projekt Muraleando!
Farbe ist das Erste, was ins Auge fällt: Mit bunten Figuren und neuer Tünche wurden die  kleinen Wohnhäuser herausgeputzt. Aus dem Schrott der Straßen gefertigte Collagen markieren die Kreuzungen des Viertels. Das Wahrzeichen von Muraleando aber sind seine bemalten Mauern, die das ganze Viertel rund um einen alten restaurierten Wassertank dominieren – das Zentrum des Projekts. 2011 hatte sich Muraleando erstmalig eigene Räumlichkeiten erkämpft. Mit vereinten Kräften wurde der großen Tank von Schlamm geleert und daraus einen Galerieraum gemacht, in dem heute die Künstler*innen von Muraleando ihre Werke verkaufen. Rund um „El Tanque“ ist eine patchworkartige Architektur neuer Räume entstanden, in denen Workshops für Kinder, Jugendliche und Senior*innen stattfinden. Es gibt einen Keramikbrennofen, Malstudios, Unterricht in Theater, Percussion und Tanz, eine Videowerkstatt und eine Nähstube.
  • Latitude – Ernesto unterrichtet junge Schüler © Natalie Göltenboth
    Ernesto, Meister der Percussion von „Muraleando“, unterrichtet junge Schüler, deren größter Wunsch oftmals der Besitz eines eigenen Instruments ist.
  • Latitude – Kunstworkshops in „Muraleando“ © Natalie Göltenboth
    Kunstworkshops in „Muraleando“ sind gratis und werden mit großer Begeisterung besucht.
  • Latitude – Kunst am Bau in „Muraleando“ © Natalie Göltenboth
    Kunst am Bau in „Muraleando“ – unverkennbar ist der Stil des Künstlers Victor Mora, hier beim Bemalen eines Schiffs, das später auf dem Dach befestigt werden wird.
  • Latitude – Künstler*innen und Bewohner*innen des Viertels betrachten ihr „Werk“ – das seit 2011 gemeinsam errichtete Community-Projekt „Muraleando“ . © Natalie Göltenboth
    Künstler*innen und Bewohner*innen des Viertels betrachten ihr „Werk“ – das seit 2011 gemeinsam errichtete Community-Projekt „Muraleando“ .
  • Latitude – Papitos Friseursalon ist auch ein Kunstmuseum: Unter dem Motto „Das letzte Haar“ zieren Werke bekannter kubanischer Künstler*innen die Wände. © Natalie Göltenboth
    Papitos Friseursalon ist auch ein Kunstmuseum: Unter dem Motto „Das letzte Haar“ zieren Werke bekannter kubanischer Künstler*innen die Wände.
  • Latitude – Die Autorin unter einer 1950er Jahre Trockenhaube in Papitos Friseursalon „Museo de la Barbería“, Calle Aguiar, Habana Vieja. © Natalie Göltenboth
    Die Autorin unter einer 1950er Jahre Trockenhaube in Papitos Friseursalon „Museo de la Barbería“, Calle Aguiar, Habana Vieja.
Manuel Baldrich Diaz, Initiator des Projekts, ist ein aus der Not geborener Visionär, wie er selbst sagt. Die um sich greifende Perspektivlosigkeit in seinem Viertel wollte er nicht einfach so hinnehmen. 2003 startete das Projekt mit Kunstworkshops für Kinder, die zunächst auf der Straße stattfanden. Manuel aktivierte seine Kontakte zu Künstler*innen aus Europa und Kanada, die willig waren, das Projekt zu unterstützten, das 2016 mit dem staatlichen Preis für Community‑Projekte ausgezeichnet wurde. Manolos Erfolgsrezept: eine Form von Sozialunternehmertum mit den Mitteln der Kunst.

Alle am Projekt beteiligten Künstler*innen können den Galerieraum zum Verkauf ihrer Werke nutzen, solange ein gutes Drittel des Erlöses dem weiteren Aufbau des Projekts dient. Damit einher geht die Verpflichtung zum unentgeltlichen Kunstunterricht für die Bewohner*innen des Viertels. Die kubanische Tourismusagentur Havanatur versorgt Muraleando mit kulturinteressierten Tourist*innen und garantiert damit die Verkäufe im Galerieraum. Eine Erfolgsgeschichte, die sich in dem prosperierenden farbigen Stadtviertel und seinen aktiven Bewohner*innen spiegelt.

Neuer Glanz durch kulturelle Werte und ein soziales Miteinander

Mit ähnlichen Motivationen starteten auch die Community-Projekte ArteCorte – Schnittkunst und Akokan, ebenfalls gegründet von Visionär*innen, die sich angesichts der desolaten Zustände in ihren Stadtvierteln aufgemacht haben, die Bewohner*innen zu mobilisieren, Ressourcen und Kontakte zu nutzen und ein für Kuba neues Phänomen zu kreieren: florierende und zugleich auf sozialen Grundsätzen aufbauende Community‑Projekte, die sich den urbanen Raum aneignen und ihn verändern.

Ein neues Kuba zu schaffen, in dem wirtschaftliches Wachstum mit kulturellen Werten und sozialem Miteinander Hand in Hand gehen, das ist das erklärte Ziel von Gilberto Valladares alias „Papito“, dem es mit seinem künstlerischen Friseurprojekt gelungen ist, nicht nur einer der elendsten Straßen Havannas, Viejas, zu neuem Glanz zu verhelfen, sondern auch ihren Bewohner*innen, die hier im Callejón de los Peluqueros (der Friseurgasse) Boutiquen, kleine Läden und Restaurants betreiben. Ein Teil der Einkünfte fließt in Papitos Friseurschule, in der Jugendliche aus schwierigen Verhältnissen eine kostenlose Ausbildung erhalten, mit der sie später ihr Auskommen haben werden. Papito selbst schneidet die Haare seiner Kund*innen in einem von ihm in jahrelanger Sammlertätigkeit zusammengetragenen Salon mit antiquarischen Friseurgerätschaften, dem „Museo de la Barbería“. Wer sich hier die Haare schneiden lässt, darf auf interessante Gespräche gefasst sein.

„Ein für Kuba neues Phänomen [...]: florierende und zugleich auf sozialen Grundsätzen aufbauende Community-Projekte, die sich den urbanen Raum aneignen und ihn verändern.“

Akokan, das jüngste der Projekte, wurde 2016 von dem Archäologen Michel Sanchez und seiner Frau gegründet, die einige Jahre zuvor in das marginale Stadtviertel Los Pocitos im Südwesten der Stadt gezogen waren und schnell erkannt hatten, welche Potenziale hier brach lagen. In Kooperation mit staatlichen Institutionen ist ein Community‑Projekt entstanden, das ebenfalls Kinder und Jugendliche durch Workshops fördert, darüber hinaus aber die Anwohner*innen für den ökologischen Anbau von Gemüse und Heilpflanzen gewinnen konnte und damit, wie auch Muraleando und ArteCorte, starke gemeinschaftsfördernde Kräfte entfaltet, die den urbanen Raum neu gestalten.  

Alles in allem gelungene und gewinnbringende Zukunftsmodelle für das noch immer zu bewältigende Rätsel der kubanischen Flussüberquerung. Bleibt noch anzumerken, dass es in Kuba gerade die Öffnung hin zur freien Marktwirtschaft ist und damit die Möglichkeit, Einnahmen zu generieren, die derartige Sozialprojekte erst möglich machen.
 

Literatur

Natalie Göltenboth. 2019. „Muraleando: Artists as Social Entrepreneurs in the Cuban Transformation Process”, In: The Popular Economy in Urban Latin America. Informality, Materiality and Gender in Commerce; (Hrsg.) Eveline Dürr, Juliane Müller. New York: Lexington Books.