"Museum Conversations" 2019 in Windhoek It’s About the People

Talking about the museum of tomorrow
Talking about the museum of tomorrow | © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia

The African cultural infrastructure is presently at a turning point. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, highlights the positive and mutual interest in the urgent questions of postcolonial museum work in his keynote address at the opening of the final international Museum Conversations conference in Windhoek.

By Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut

The South African painter Ernest Mancoba, who died in 2002, said during a conversation, “Despite our science, with everything we think we know, we do not know the future, we do not know tomorrow. But artists and poets, these people who do not just think mathematically, could bring us closer to the future.”

Connecting the past and the future

Thinking about the world of tomorrow is a central part of the Goethe-Institut’s commitment to international cultural cooperation. In projects and initiatives, global topics of the future are identified and formulated with partners. These learning communities thrive on the multitude of perspectives, on views and counterviews, on dialogue across national borders and language barriers. We believe in the power of culture, but we also know that culture is not peace making as such, but must open up, have mutual appreciation and seek understanding.

Museums are suited for enabling this cultural dialogue in and with society, for connecting the past and the future, for acting as educational and learning places, communicating across generations and fulfilling social functions. However, their character must always take specific account of their social and historical environment and they must be independent in their work. Only then are they part of society and credible.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, during his keynote address in Namibia Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, during his keynote address in Namibia | © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia

Future plans for Africa must be created in Africa

At a very early stage, the Goethe-Institut and its partners around the world carried out major projects on questions about the museum of the future and its role in society, in South America with the Museum Episodes, in Southeast Asia and the Pacific with Transitioning Museums in Southeast Asia and in India with Museum of the Future. Africa belongs in this big context. In addition, the institute organised international conferences in Germany, which also addressed the role of museums in connection with restitution due to colonial history. All of these activities were shaped by the extended perspective of treating the past not as a closed chapter, but as an historic obligation for the future. This also applies to the political and economic asymmetries and injustices that continue to exist from the colonial era.

Future plans for Africa must be created in Africa. With 47 countries, more than 650 million inhabitants and more than 1,000 languages, sub-Saharan Africa is a very heterogeneous region, but at the same time it is a culturally rich region due to its diversity. The Goethe-Institut has an intensive network and is presently working in eleven institutes as well as in other different manifestations. For the Goethe-Institut it’s a fortunate circumstance to be able to work so closely in this network with African colleagues, scientists and artists. For example, we were able to organise local and regional meetings in seven different locations – in Kigali, Windhoek, Ouagadougou, Kinshasa, Accra, Dar es Salaam and Lagos – in advance of this final conference of the Museum Conversations 2019. They were dominated by the voices of Africa, also increasingly in the context of global issues and an overarching conceptual discourse on museum work in Africa. Although there had already been an exchange of views in the past on issues of museums related to Pan-Africanism, Négritude and pre-colonial reality, as well as the bilateral relations between African and European museums, this project has a particular approach and yield. For one thing, due to its intensive regional forerun, the complex questions of the topic could be well focused and thus used for the final conference. For another, the networking of the African and European discussion on questions of restitution and the significance of cultural heritage allows the latest state of the debates to be consolidated for the first time so that proposed solutions can also be elaborated. Overall, the approach was suitable for expanding the circle of participants and thus understanding the cooperation across borders as an opportunity.

  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.
  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.
  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.
  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.
  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.
  • Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations  in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Impressions from the final conference of the Museum Conversations in Windhoek.

Challenges of globalisation, modernisation and digitisation

These regional museum networks with independent expertise and our main conference are so important right now because African cultural infrastructure is at a turning point. This is especially true for museums.

  • A number of the existing museums in Africa were created by Europeans from an ethnological point of view. For example, the colonial powers established six museums in South Africa between 1825 and 1892, followed by two museums in Zimbabwe in 1900 and 1901, one each in Uganda in 1908, Kenya in 1909 and Mozambique in 1913. Experts from across generations, but in particular curators and a young, educated elite are now critically examining existing collections and their presentation in their countries. Rightly so! They were an expression of the prevailing ideology intended to scientifically legitimise unjust and unequal relations in times of colonialism. They served European hegemony. History doesn’t happen; it’s made. Therefore, it’s about a fundamental change of meaning of the museum in Africa that facilitates the recovery of African history.
  • A second group of museums was founded at the end of the colonial era directly on the independence of the states. National narratives for the formation of identities often played a role here. Both the first and the second category convey a closed topic and do not react to the social developments of today; they are fixed on the past. In order to position the museums with the questions of our time, more of a mobile, flexible and dialogue-capable type is needed.
  • At present, large-scale museum projects are being worked on in Ethiopia, Nigeria, Congo, or have been completed as in Rwanda, Chad or Tanzania. Some of the museums, such as the Museum of Black Civilisations in Dakar, are being founded with the support of foreign countries. Even where museum construction is funded from the outside, the museums work impressively independently. Intellectual colonialism has come to an end here. That must be the approach in the present, the central position of African experts in the exploration and presentation of their own culture.
  • And because the museum work in African countries is currently heavily influenced by the discussion about the return of cultural assets, the colonial and postcolonial issues between the former colonial powers and the countries of the objects’ origins must be negotiated together. The decolonisation of thought must be the stated goal. It’s about more than restitution of the objects; it’s about the loss of self-esteem through colonial rule and its consequences to this day. It’s not enough to simply return objects; it’s about the people. Notwithstanding this, stolen art is stolen art and must be declared accordingly. Arguments against legitimate returns due to inadequate institutional facilities should lead to strengthening African museums rather than cementing the Eurocentric view of the world.
  • Finally, it’s about the challenges of globalisation, modernisation and digitisation. It’s not about keeping a huge knowledge machine running; there must be an understandable instruction manual so that the museums as part of civil society do not complete themselves but so that their collections each find a continuation and depict their society and make it capable of discourse. Equal cultural participation is of social relevance.
The performance “Display Cases” during the Museum Conversations The performance “Display Cases” during the Museum Conversations | © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia

Opportunities for an effective new start

The African continent must find answers for itself and in a global context, not as a defensive recipient but as an offensive source of ideas. Africa not only has a future, it will also shape it decisively. In the present situation, I see opportunities for an effective new start in museum planning in Africa, on the one hand in the redesign of existing museums, and on the other in the redefinition of museum structures and tasks. While the European museum was strongly influenced by the Enlightenment, as a temple of art, as a mausoleum even, the African museum can be a child of emancipation; a place of dialogue, action and liveliness, a museum without walls, which includes the street and its people with their questions and their experiences – a social space that takes up specific cultural techniques and brings them to life. Thus, the museum not only can become an integral part of society, but at the same time be fruitful for the debates in Africa and beyond. It’s worth rethinking the canon.

You can read the complete article on The Latest at Goethe.

„Museumsgespräche“ 2019 in Windhoek Es geht um die Menschen

Die afrikanische kulturelle Infrastruktur steht derzeit vor einem Wendepunkt. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, hebt in seiner Keynote zum Auftakt der internationalen Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek das positive und gegenseitige Interesse an den drängenden Fragen der postkolonialen Museumsarbeit hervor.

Von Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts

Der südafrikanische Maler Ernest Mancoba, 2002 verstorben, sagte in einem Gespräch: „Trotz unserer Wissenschaft, mit allem, was wir glauben zu wissen, kennen wir die Zukunft nicht, kennen wir nicht das Morgen. Doch Künstler und Poeten, diese Leute, die nicht nur mathematisch denken, könnten uns die Zukunft näher bringen.“

Vergangenheit und Zukunft verbinden

Das Nachdenken über die Welt von morgen ist ein zentraler Teil des Engagements des Goethe-Instituts für internationale kulturelle Zusammenarbeit. In Projekten und Initiativen werden global Zukunftsthemen mit Partnern identifiziert und formuliert. Diese Lerngemeinschaften leben von der Vielzahl der Perspektiven, von Blick und Gegenblick, vom Austausch über Ländergrenzen und Sprachbarrieren hinweg. Wir glauben an die Kraft der Kultur, wir wissen aber auch, Kultur ist nicht per se friedensstiftend, sondern sie muss sich öffnen, eine gegenseitige Wertschätzung besitzen und Verständigung anstreben.

Museen sind geeignet, diesen kulturellen Dialog in und mit der Gesellschaft zu ermöglichen, Vergangenheit und Zukunft zu verbinden, als Bildungs- und Lernorte zu wirken, generationenübergreifend zu vermitteln und soziale Funktionen zu erfüllen. Ihre Prägung muss jedoch immer spezifisch das gesellschaftliche und historische Umfeld berücksichtigen und sie müssen unabhängig in ihrer inhaltlichen Arbeit sein. Nur dann sind sie Teil der Gesellschaft und glaubwürdig.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, während seiner Keynote Speech in Namibia Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, während seiner Keynote Speech in Namibia | © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia

Zukunftsentwürfe für Afrika müssen in Afrika entstehen

Das Goethe-Institut hat schon sehr früh mit seinen Partnern in der Welt große Projekte zu Fragen des Museums der Zukunft und seiner Rolle in der Gesellschaft durchgeführt, in Südamerika mit „Museale Episoden“, in Südostasien und dem Pazifik mit „Transitioning Museums in South East Asia“ und in Indien mit „Museum of the Future“. Afrika gehört in diesen großen Kontext. Außerdem organisierte das Institut internationale Konferenzen in Deutschland, die die Rolle der Museen auch im Zusammenhang mit der Restitution aufgrund der Kolonialgeschichte thematisierten. Alle Aktivitäten waren geprägt von der erweiterten Perspektive, Vergangenheit nicht als abgeschlossenes Kapitel zu behandeln, sondern als historische Verpflichtung für die Zukunft. Das betrifft auch die politischen und ökonomischen Asymmetrien und Ungerechtigkeiten, die aus der Kolonialzeit fortwirken.

Zukunftsentwürfe für Afrika müssen in Afrika entstehen. Mit insgesamt 47 Ländern, mehr als 650 Millionen Einwohnern und mehr als 1.000 Sprachen ist Subsahara-Afrika eine stark heterogene, zugleich aber durch seine Vielfalt auch eine kulturell reiche Region. Das Goethe-Institut verfügt über ein intensives Netz und arbeitet aktuell in elf Instituten sowie weiteren verschiedenen Präsenzformen. Für das Goethe-Institut ist es ein glücklicher Umstand, mit diesem Netz so eng mit den afrikanischen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern zusammenarbeiten zu können. So war es möglich im Vorfeld unserer jetzigen Schlusskonferenz „Museumsgespräche 2019“ an sieben verschiedenen Standorten lokale und regionale Treffen zu veranstalten: in Kigali, Windhoek, Ouagadougou, Kinshasa, Accra, Dar Es Salaam und Lagos. Sie standen ganz im Zeichen der Stimmen Afrikas, zunehmend auch im Kontext globaler Fragen und einem übergreifenden konzeptionellen Diskurs über Museumsarbeit in Afrika. Auch wenn es in der Vergangenheit bereits einen Meinungsaustausch über Ländergrenzen hinweg zu Museumsfragen im Zusammenhang mit  Panafrikanismus, Négritude und vorkolonialer Realität gab und auch bilaterale Beziehungen zwischen afrikanischen und europäischen Museen aufgebaut wurden, so hat dieses Projekt einen besonderen Ansatz und Ertrag. Durch seinen intensiven regionalen Vorlauf konnte das Thema in seinen Fragekomplexen zum einen gut fokussiert und damit konzentriert für die Schlusskonferenz genutzt werden. Zum anderen erlaubt die Vernetzung der afrikanischen und europäischen Diskussion zu Fragen der Restitution und der Bedeutung des kulturellen Erbes den aktuellen Stand der Debatten erstmals zu bündeln und damit auch Lösungsvorschläge zu erarbeiten. Insgesamt war die Vorgehensweise geeignet, den Kreis der Teilnehmer zu erweitern und damit die Zusammenarbeit über Ländergrenzen als Chance zu begreifen.

  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.
  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.
  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.
  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.
  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.
  • Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek. © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia
    Eindrücke von der Abschlusskonferenz der „Museumsgespräche“ in Windhoek.

Herausforderungen der Globalisierung, der Modernisierung und Digitalisierung

Diese regionalen Museums-Netzwerke mit einer eigenständigen Expertise und unsere Hauptkonferenz sind deshalb gerade jetzt so wichtig, weil die afrikanische kulturelle Infrastruktur vor einem Wendepunkt steht. Das gilt besonders für die Museen.

  • Eine Reihe der bestehenden Museen in Afrika sind europäische Schöpfungen aus ethnologischer Sicht. Die Kolonialmächte etablierten beispielsweise zwischen 1825 und 1892 sechs Museen in Südafrika, es folgten in den Jahren 1900 und 1901 zwei Museen in Zimbabwe, je eins in Uganda 1908, in Kenia 1909 und Mozambik 1913. Generationen übergreifend setzen sich Experten, aber besonders auch Kuratoren und eine junge Bildungselite inzwischen kritisch mit den vorhandenen Sammlungen und ihrer Präsentation in ihren Ländern auseinander. Zurecht! Sie waren Ausdruck der vorherrschenden Ideologie, die die ungerechten und ungleichen Beziehungen in Zeiten des Kolonialismus wissenschaftlich legitimieren sollten. Sie dienten der europäischen Vorherrschaft. Geschichte geschieht nicht, sie wird gemacht. Deshalb geht es um einen grundlegenden Bedeutungswandel des Museums in Afrika, der die Rückgewinnung der afrikanischen Geschichte ermöglicht.
  • Eine zweite Gruppe von Museen wurde im Zusammenhang mit dem Ende der Kolonialzeit unmittelbar mit der Unabhängigkeit der Staaten gegründet. Dabei spielten häufig nationale Narrative zur Bildung von Identitäten eine Rolle. Sowohl die erste als auch die zweite Kategorie vermitteln ein abgeschlossenes Thema und agieren nicht mit den gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen der heutigen Zeit, sie sind fixiert auf Vergangenheit. Um die Museen mit den Fragen unserer Zeit zu positionieren bedarf es eher eines mobilen, flexiblen und dialogfähigen Typus.
  • Zur Zeit entstehen große Museumsprojekte in Äthiopien, Nigeria, Kongo oder sind fertig gestellt, wie in Ruanda, im Tschad oder in Tansania. Einige der Museen werden mit der Unterstützung ausländischer Staaten gegründet, wie beispielsweise das Zivilisationsmuseum in Dakar. Auch dort, wo der Museumsbau fremd finanziert wird, arbeiten die Museen beeindruckend unabhängig. Der intellektuelle Kolonialismus hat hier ein Ende gefunden. Das muss die Herangehensweise in der Gegenwart sein, die zentrale Stellung der afrikanischen Experten bei der Erforschung und Präsentation ihrer eigenen Kultur.
  • Und weil die Museumsarbeit in afrikanischen Ländern aktuell stark durch die Diskussion um die Rückgabe von Kulturgütern bestimmt wird, müssen die kolonialen und postkolonialen Fragen zwischen den ehemaligen Kolonialmächten und den Ursprungsländern der Objekte gemeinsam verhandelt werden. Erklärtes Ziel muss die Dekolonisierung des Denkens sein. Es geht um mehr als um Restitution der Objekte, es geht um den Verlust des Selbstwertgefühls durch die Kolonialherrschaft und deren Folgen bis heute. Es genügt nicht, einfach Objekte zurückzugeben, es geht um die Menschen. Davon unbenommen: Raubkunst bleibt Raubkunst und muss entsprechend deklariert werden. Argumente gegen berechtigte Rückgaben wegen unzulänglicher Ausstattung der Institutionen sollten eher dazu führen, die afrikanischen Museen zu stärken als das eurozentrische Weltbild zu zementieren.
  • Schließlich geht es um die Herausforderungen der Globalisierung, der Modernisierung und Digitalisierung. Es geht nicht darum eine riesige Wissensmaschine in Gang zu halten, es muss eine verständliche Bedienungsanleitung geben, damit die Museen als Teil der Zivilgesellschaft sich nicht abschließen sondern ihre Sammlungen jeweils eine Fortsetzung finden und die Gesellschaft abbilden und diskursfähig machen. Von gesellschaftlicher Relevanz ist die gleichberechtigte kulturelle Teilhabe.
Die Performance „Display Cases“ während der „Museumsgespräche“ Die Performance „Display Cases“ während der „Museumsgespräche“ | © CreativeLab for Goethe-Institut Namibia

Chancen für einen wirkungsvollen Neubeginn

Der afrikanische Kontinent muss darauf Antworten für sich und im globalen Kontext finden, nicht als defensiver Empfänger, sondern als offensiver Ideengeber. Afrika hat nicht nur eine Zukunft, es wird sie auch maßgeblich gestalten. Ich sehe in der jetzigen Situation Chancen für einen wirkungsvollen Neubeginn in der Museumsplanung in Afrika, zum einen in der Neugestaltung bestehender Museen, zum anderen in der Neudefinition von Museumsstrukturen und -aufgaben. Während das europäische Museum stark durch die Aufklärung geprägt war, als ein Tempel der Kunst, auch als ein Mausoleum, kann das afrikanische Museum ein Kind der Emanzipation sein. Ein Ort des Dialogs, der Aktion und der Lebendigkeit, ein Museum ohne Mauern, das die Straße und ihre Menschen mit ihren Fragen, ihren Erfahrungen und ihren Erlebnissen einbezieht – ein sozialer Raum, der die spezifischen Kulturtechniken aufnimmt und zum Klingen bringt. So kann das Museum nicht nur ein integraler Teil der Gesellschaft werden sondern zugleich auch befruchtend sein für die Debatten in Afrika und darüber hinaus. Es lohnt sich, den Kanon neu zu überdenken.

Den vollständigen Artikel lesen Sie auf Goethe Aktuell.