Controversial cultural artefacts Bought, stolen, gifted, swapped, loaned?

Human remains of the Moriori and Mâori will be covered with a cloth in a ceremonial ceremony on 18.05.2017 at the Übersee-Museum in Bremen.
Human remains of the Moriori and Mâori will be covered with a cloth in a ceremonial ceremony on 18.05.2017 at the Übersee-Museum in Bremen. | Photo (detail): Carmen Jaspersen © dpa

The restitution debate is creating quite an impact. And yes, it’s essential for it to be held – as publicly and passionately as possible. But giving back all artefacts in German museums dating from the colonial era is not the best path to take.

To reflect the diversity of the routes by which these now so prized artefacts entered collections in the Global North, it’s crucial to make a correspondingly multifaceted effort to reach out and successfully heal wounds that are still open today – ideally in cooperation with representatives of the origin societies. The Übersee-Museum (Overseas Museum) in Bremen is already treading this path, and endeavours are quite deliberately not just focused on Africa.

Close scrutiny of the recently published second edition of “Framework Principles for dealing with collections from colonial contexts”, to which I was able to contribute, leaves no room for doubt: artefacts for which the circumstances of appropriation do not seem ethically justifiable by today’s standards are to be returned. The same principle is recommended by the authors of the work published by the German Museum Federation for artefacts that were, and still are today, of special religious or cultural significance to members of their origin society. Limitation defence claims excluded. So far, so good.


But even a slightly closer inspection reveals all too clearly why this guidance cannot all be crammed into a slender 200-page volume. It’s important to bear many things in mind. The facts of the situation are not straightforward.  Huge challenges are faced by both German and European museums whose vaults harbour cultural collections from the Global South. How did the artefacts end up in those museums? Who bought, stole, gifted, swapped or even loaned them, when, where and with whom? Maybe they were even specially produced for museums? Examples from provenance research conducted at the Übersee-Museum show why questions like this are important – although regrettably the answers were not always comprehensively documented in the past for a variety of reasons.

Between two stools

For quite some time now, the museum has been critically examining its history and the origin of its collections within the scope of various projects. The latest brainchild of these endeavours is the new permanent exhibition “Spurensuche – Geschichte eines Museums” (Searching for Clues – the history of a museum), which can be seen from 26th October 2019. One of the themes: the colonial era. Three research assistants from the University of Hamburg have been working on a project since 2016 to investigate how almost 4000 artefacts from Cameroon, Tanzania and Namibia ended up on the shores of the Weser.

In 1909 for instance, the museum bought a collection from German South-West Africa, now known as Namibia. In the years prior to that, the German colonial power here waged a bitter war against Herero and Nama, which came to a tragic end with the first genocide of the 20th century. Gaining access to artefacts from these communities at that time – even though in this instance it just meant everyday objects –therefore proved extremely difficult. Evidence of this can be seen in correspondence between collectors and the museum. But one of these letters also shows that the efforts of the museum ultimately did result in success. In the letter it said that “an elderly man was identified who was an expert in the production of domestic items and weapons”. The assumption is that the man – Salomo Perekete – was the creator of many of the artefacts in the collection concerned. Was he forced to manufacture these objects? Was he paid for his work and if so, did he receive an appropriate rate? But his trail runs cold. Even intensive research in Namibia didn’t unearth any new information or even descendants. The only thing of his that we still have is his name.


Stories like this one show how complex the theme of restitution actually is. And yet in this case there was nothing like an official request or demand for the return of the artefacts concerned. To whom would or should they have returned them, or paid compensation? The great-grandchildren of Salomo Perekete or the state of Namibia? Are these even objects that should be given back?

Opening up, communicating and cooperating

Questions of restitution are not the only themes that should be relevant to us in this context. For instance digitisation of collections and central provision of verifiable data is urgently required. It is only by opening up the collections to an international public that transparency can be achieved. This plays a key role in allowing communication on an equal basis. It would facilitate the digital restitution so frequently demanded by the origin societies, but it would certainly also trigger demands for the return of physical items, the existence of which was previously not known about. The museums face a Herculean task in this respect. Extensive investment by the funding providers is needed – a kind of digital revolution in culture. Nothing more and nothing less. If digitisation continues to be possible using only available resources, then the next generation will still be calling for transparency.

It is only by opening up the collections to an international public that transparency can be achieved.

 

In the case of the Übersee Museum, the intention for the future – alongside digitisation and provenance research – is a collaborative approach. The plan: one of the permanent exhibitions needs a fundamental overhaul. Its theme is the region of Oceania, an island environment massively threatened by climate change. An area in which there was also a German colony from 1900 to 1919 – Deutsch-Samoa – and corresponding collections in the vaults. So the idea is that researchers from modern-day Samoa help to curate the revised exhibition, and in the process have sight of the artefacts in the collections. It will be exciting to pursue this debate with them and to see which themes they identify, or the significance they attach to the artefacts and which ones they pick out. Should a plea for restitution arise from their work, it’s vital that the museum faces up to it. This wouldn’t be new territory for the Übersee-Museum. Back in 2017 the museum hosted a handover ceremony in which human remains of the Moriori and Māori from their own collections were returned from the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen to New Zealand.

Umstrittene Kulturgüter Gekauft, geklaut, geschenkt, getauscht, geliehen?

Menschliche Überreste der Moriori und Mâori werden am 18.05.2017 im Übersee-Museum in Bremen in einer feierlichen Zeremonie mit einem Tuch bedeckt.
Menschliche Überreste der Moriori und Mâori werden am 18.05.2017 im Übersee-Museum in Bremen in einer feierlichen Zeremonie mit einem Tuch bedeckt. | Foto (Detail): Carmen Jaspersen © dpa

Die Restitutionsdebatte schlägt hohe Wellen. Und ja, sie muss geführt werden – gern auch öffentlich und leidenschaftlich. Doch eine Rückgabe aller kolonialzeitlichen Objekte aus deutschen Museen ist nicht der Königsweg.

Von Prof. Dr. Wiebke Ahrndt

So vielfältig die Pfade sind, auf denen diese derzeit viel beachteten Gegenstände in die Sammlungen des globalen Nordens gerieten, so facettenreich müssen auch die Anstrengungen sein, die es gilt zu unternehmen, um erfolgreiche Wege der Heilung bis heute offener Wunden zu beschreiten – am besten gemeinsam mit Vertreter*innen der Herkunftsgesellschaften. Das Übersee-Museum Bremen ist bereits unterwegs und schaut dabei ganz bewusst nicht allein auf Afrika.

Ein forschender Blick in die jüngst erschienene zweite Fassung des „Leitfadens zum Umgang mit Sammlungsgut aus kolonialen Kontexten“, an der auch ich mitwirken konnte, lässt keinen Zweifel: Geht es um Objekte, deren Erwerbungsumstände uns nach heutiger Auffassung als Unrecht erscheinen, ist deren Rückgabe geboten. Gleiches empfehlen die Autor*innen des vom Deutschen Museumsbund herausgegebenen Werkes für Objekte, die für Mitglieder ihrer Herkunftsgesellschaft von besonderer religiöser oder kultureller Bedeutung waren und dies auch heute sind. Verjährung ausgeschlossen. So weit, so gut.

Doch schon der zweite Blick offenbart nur allzu deutlich, warum dieser Leitfaden insgesamt nicht eben schlanke 200 Seiten umfasst. Viel gilt es zu bedenken. Einfach ist die Sachlage nicht. Sie stellt deutsche und europäische Museen, in deren Magazinen Kulturgut des globalen Südens lagert, vor große Herausforderungen. Auf welchem Weg gelangten die Objekte in die Häuser? Wer hat sie wann und wo von oder mit wem gekauft, geklaut, geschenkt, getauscht oder auch geliehen? Wurden sie vielleicht sogar eigens für Museen produziert? Beispiele aus der Provenienzforschung des Übersee-Museums zeigen, weshalb Fragen wie diese von Bedeutung sind – auch wenn Antworten darauf früher aus vielfältigen Gründen leider kaum lückenlos dokumentiert wurden.

Zwischen den Stühlen

Schon seit geraumer Zeit setzt sich das Haus im Rahmen verschiedener Projekte kritisch mit seiner Geschichte und mit dem Ursprung seiner Sammlungsbestände auseinander. Jüngstes Kind dieser Bestrebungen ist die neue Dauerausstellung „Spurensuche – Geschichte eines Museums“, die ab 26. Oktober 2019 zu sehen ist. Eines der Themen: die Kolonialzeit. Seit 2016 arbeiten drei wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen der Universität Hamburg daran, zu erforschen, wie fast 4.000 Objekte aus Kamerun, Tansania und Namibia an die Weser gelangten.

Im Jahr 1909 etwa kaufte das Museum eine Sammlung aus Deutsch-Südwestafrika, heute Namibia. In den Jahren zuvor hatte die deutsche Kolonialmacht hier einen erbitterten Krieg gegen Herero und Nama geführt, der sein grausames Ende im ersten Völkermord des 20. Jahrhunderts fand. Zu jener Zeit an Objekte aus diesen Gesellschaften zu gelangen – selbst wenn es sich wie in diesem Fall lediglich um Alltagsgegenstände handelte –, war somit mehr als schwierig. Das belegen Briefwechsel zwischen Sammlern und Museum. Eines dieser Schreiben zeigt aber auch, dass das Bemühen des Hauses schließlich doch Erfolg zeitigte. Es „... hat sich aber ein älterer Mann gefunden, der sich aufs Verfertigen von Hausgeräten und Waffen versteht“, heißt es darin. Vermutlich ist also er – Salomo Perekete – der Urheber vieler Gegenstände aus der genannten Sammlung. Wurde er zur Herstellung der Objekte gezwungen? Wurde er für seine Arbeit bezahlt und wenn ja, in angemessener Weise? Doch seine Spur verliert sich. Selbst intensive Nachforschungen in Namibia führten nicht zu neuen Erkenntnissen oder gar Nachkommen. Einzig sein Name ist uns erhalten.

Geschichten wie diese zeigen, wie komplex das Thema Rückgabe tatsächlich ist. Dabei lag hier nicht etwa eine offizielle Anfrage oder Forderung zur Rückgabe der betreffenden Objekte vor. Wem hätte man sie auch zurückgeben, wen entschädigen wollen und sollen? Die Urenkel Salomo Pereketes oder den Staat Namibia? Sind dies überhaupt Objekte, die zurückgegeben werden sollten?

Vom Öffnen, Austauschen und Zusammenarbeiten

Fragen der Rückgabe sind nicht die einzigen Themen, die uns in diesem Zusammenhang bewegen sollten. So wäre die Digitalisierung der Sammlungsbestände und eine zentrale Bereitstellung nachvollziehbarer Daten dringend geboten. Nur durch die weltweite Öffnung der Sammlungen kann Transparenz hergestellt werden. Letztere ist ein wesentlicher Schlüssel für eine Kommunikation auf Augenhöhe. Die von Herkunftsgesellschaften oft geforderten digitalen Rückgaben würden so möglich, aber sicher auch Forderungen nach der Rückgabe realer Stücke, von deren Existenz vorher nichts bekannt war. Die Museen stehen hier vor einer Herkulesaufgabe. Umfangreiche Investitionen durch die Träger sind notwendig – eine Art digitaler Revolution in der Kultur. Nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Wenn die Digitalisierung weiter nur mit Bordmitteln geschehen kann, dann werden noch die nächsten Generationen nach Transparenz rufen.

„Nur durch die weltweite Öffnung der Sammlungen kann Transparenz hergestellt werden.“

Im Falle des Übersee-Museums sollen neben der Digitalisierung und der Provenienzforschung künftig auch Wege der Zusammenarbeit beschritten werden. Das Vorhaben: Eine der Dauerausstellungen bedarf grundlegender Überarbeitung. Sie thematisiert die Region Ozeanien, deren Inselwelt massiv durch den Klimawandel bedroht ist. Ein Gebiet, in dem es mit Deutsch-Samoa von 1900 bis 1919 ebenfalls eine deutsche Kolonie gab – und ergo entsprechendes Sammlungsgut in den Magazinen. Plan ist daher, dass Wissenschaftler*innen aus dem heutigen Samoa diese Ausstellung mit neu kuratieren und dazu die Sammlungsbestände des Museums sichten. Es wird spannend sein, den Diskurs mit ihnen zu führen und zu sehen, welche Themen sie setzen oder welche Bedeutung sie den Objekten beimessen und welche sie auswählen. Sollte aus ihrer Arbeit ein Rückgabegesuch erwachsen, gilt es, sich dem zu stellen. Für das Übersee-Museum wäre das kein Neuland. Schon im Jahr 2017 war das Haus Schauplatz einer Zeremonie zur Übergabe menschlicher Überreste von Moriori und Māori aus den eigenen Sammlungen, die von der Freien Hansestadt Bremen an Neuseeland zurückgegeben wurden.