Colonial Greed Ten things the North has always craved for from the South

The industrialized world has for centuries depended on exploiting the countries in the global south. The list of products from the south which have enriched the first world is long. A short history of colonial greed.

By Alejandro Gómez Dugand

The 18th century industrial revolution and European imperialism were two interdependent processes. Europe was finally in possession of the technology which guaranteed it power over its colonies. And it is precisely from there that the necessary raw materials and labour force came from, which kept the industrialization mechanisms going.

Colonialism not only extended international trade relations but also completely changed the southern part of our planet. Asia, Africa and America were substantially reinvented by European greed. Europe, ravaged by wars and epidemics, swooped into the “new worlds” which it subjugated for decades, bumped on to tasty food supplies, which apparently would never be used up. This dependence justified – and to date continues to justify– the ecological and human exploitation of extensive areas in the global south. A few of those things which originate from the south and which the north was always craving for are presented below.

  • Opium Painting: Opium addicts in the Chinese Empire, NN, PD
    Opium: In the 19th century China supplied the United Kingdom with silk, porcelain and tea. The British in turn exported opium from India to China. In the middle of the 19th Century, the consumption of opium as medicine and as a hallucinogen increased, leading to widespread health problems. The Chinese emperor prohibited its consumption and the British lost one of their most lucrative businesses. This gave rise to two wars, which cost China millions of lives and the loss of Hong Kong and brought about the complete downfall of the Chinese Empire in 1911.
  • Potatoes Painting: Vincent van Gogh: The potato eater”, 1885, Van Gogh museum, Amsterdam.
    Potatoes: The potato is one of Europe’s staple foods. The South America tuber, which came to Europe in the 16th century, is tied up to a difficult historical moment in the old world: The “great famine” in Ireland (1845-1849), triggered amongst other things by a disease which attacked the potato fields, caused millions of deaths as well as the migration of millions of Irishmen particularly to the USA.
  • Chocolate Painting: Philippe S. DuFour, “Treatise on coffee, tea and chocolate”, 1685.
    Chocolate: When this ceremonial Aztec drink, whose name means “bitter water” in the indigenous Nahuatl language, came to Europe on the conqueror’s ships, it fascinated both kings and ladies-in-waiting. For the Catholic Church on the other hand it was a cause for distress: they could not agree whether the drink could possibly be sinful. The difficult cocoa production which demanded hard manual labour was favourable to the slave trade in order to maintain the European seeds in America.
  • Maize Painting/Photo: Sam Fentress, 2005 – CC BY-SA 2.0.
    Maize: In Latin America, there are as many words for maize as there are recipes, in which it is used. In addition, the countries in the global north have found new ways of using this plant. Today maize is used to produce plastic, biomass fuel and artificial sweeteners. As a staple food in the pre-Columbian cultures maize is today one of the most frequently produced and most lucrative products in the “first world”. The US with a production of 350 million tons per year is the leading maize producer.
  • Cocaine Photo: Drug Enforcement Agency USA – PD.
    Cocaine: The fight against the trade in the alkaloid extraction from the cocoa plant has led to decades of mafia wars in countries such as Columbia and Mexico; it has influenced the agenda of international politics and fuelled the “fight against drugs” one of the most expensive and most futile conflicts for the northern half of the globe. For the producing countries in Latin America cocaine was a guarantee for death. Its legalization, for many the only solution, is a contentious topic today.
  • Diamonds Photo: unpolished diamond, South Africa. Photo: Rob Lavinsky, iRocks.com – CC-BY-SA-3.0.
    Diamonds: Diamonds have inspired spectacular robberies and charming films. But the hardest material ever to come out of nature was also the economic motor for constant wars in African countries such as Angola, Congo and Ivory Coast. Ever since the 2006 film in which Leonardo DiCaprio and Jennifer Connelly played the main roles, the concept of “blood diamonds” is on every one’s lips. But despite the human and political costs the legal and illegal trade continues to grow worldwide.
  • Human Beings Painting: Child slave in Zanzibar, Africa- Maritime Museum, London.
    Human Beings: The trade with human beings has existed since the beginning of time, it fuelled revolutions and wars in all corners of the world: from ancient Egypt and the slave ships of the Spanish conquistadors to the eunuchs from the Middle East, dwarfs and people with deformities, which were delivered as eccentric gifts to Kings in Europe to the sale of women as sex workers. There has not been a “product” in history that has been more exploited than the human being.
  • Rubber Picture: Caricature against Belgian rubber-colonialism in Congo, Punch magazine 1906
    Rubber: When the Scotsman John Dunlop reinvented the production of rubber in 1887, rubber which was produced from the milky juice of the South and Central American tree became a coveted raw material. Its boundless exploitation on American soil brought about one of the most violent industries for both men and nature. The Columbian novel “La Vorágine” (1924) by J.E. Rivera portrays the impacts of the “rubber fever”, it tells about the colonists, inhuman working conditions and the destruction of the Amazonian rain forest
  • Agar Picture: Culture dish with an E-Coli bacteria culture – PD.
    Agar: This gel-like substance, which originates from algae, is a revolutionary product in micro-biology. It was discovered in the 15th century after a Japanese man found that his algae soup from the previous day had changed into gel. Agar has since been used as a culinary ingredient and for producing plasticine. Its most important use is however in the production of culture dishes used to cultivate bacteria.
  • Uranium Picture: Uranium dice, part of the production of the first atomic bomb 1942, US Energy Ministry – PD
    Uranium: This radioactive metal, which is used in the military industry and as an energy source is abundantly available in Africa. Niger has one of the largest deposits of this metal – and is at the same time one of the poorest countries in the world. Many European nations, which offer assistance to countries like Niger, do so for a high price. For permission to extract uranium they rob these countries of one of the products which would bring about a decisive turnabout in their destiny.

Kolonialistische Habgier Zehn Dinge, die der Norden immer vom Süden begehrte

Die industrialisierte Welt ist seit Jahrhunderten von der Ausbeutung der Länder des globalen Südens abhängig. Die Liste der Produkte aus dem Süden, die die erste Welt bereichert haben, ist lang. Eine kurze Geschichte kolonialistischer Habgier.

Von Alejandro Gómez Dugand

Die industrielle Revolution des 18. Jahrhunderts und der europäische Imperialismus waren zwei voneinander abhängige Prozesse: Europa befand sich endlich im Besitz der Technologie, die ihm die Herrschaft über seine Kolonien sicherte. Und von ebendort kamen die notwendigen Rohstoffe und Arbeitskräfte, um die Mechanismen der Industrialisierung am Laufen zu halten.

Der Kolonialismus weitete nicht nur die internationalen Handelsbeziehungen aus, sondern veränderte außerdem grundlegend den südlichen Teil der Landkarte unseres Planeten. Asien, Afrika und Amerika wurden weitgehend durch die Habgier der Europäer neu erfunden. Europa, heimgesucht von Kriegen und Epidemien, stieß in den „neuen Welten“, die es jahrzehntelang unterwarf, auf schmackhafte Lebensmittelvorräte, die scheinbar niemals aufgebraucht werden würden. Diese Abhängigkeit rechtfertigte – und rechtfertigt bis heute – die ökologische und menschliche Ausbeutung ausgedehnter Gebiete im globalen Süden. Im Folgenden werden einige jener Dinge vorgestellt, die aus dem Süden stammen und auf die der Norden immer gierig war.

  • Opium Bild: Opiumsüchtige im kaiserlichen China, NN, PD
    Opium: Im 19. Jahrhundert belieferte China das Vereinigte Königreich mit Seide, Porzellan und Tee. Die Briten exportierten im Gegenzug Opium aus Indien nach China. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war der Konsum von Opium als Medizin und Halluzinogen gestiegen, was zu weit verbreiteten Gesundheitsproblemen führte. Der chinesische Kaiser verbot den Opiumkonsum, und den Briten ging eines ihrer einträglichsten Geschäfte verloren. Dies gab Anlass zu zwei Kriegen, die China Millionen von Menschenleben und den Verlust Hongkongs kosteten und das chinesische Kaiserreich 1911 vollends zu Fall brachten.
  • Kartoffeln Bild: Vincent van Gogh: „Die Kartoffelesser“, 1885, Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam.
    Kartoffeln: Die Kartoffel ist heute eines der Grundnahrungsmittel der Europäer. Die südamerikanische Knolle, die im 16. Jahrhundert nach Europa gebracht wurde, ist auch mit einem schwierigen historischen Augenblick in der alten Welt verknüpft: Die „Große Hungersnot“ in Irland (1845-1849), die unter anderem durch eine Krankheit ausgelöst wurde, welche die Kartoffelfelder befiel, brachte Irland den millionenfachen Tod genauso wie die Auswanderung von Millionen von Iren, vor allem in die USA.
  • Schokolade Bild: Philippe S. Dufour, „Abhandlung über Kaffee, Tee und Schokolade“, 1685.
    Schokolade: Als dieses zeremonielle aztekische Getränk, dessen Name in der indigenen Sprache Nahuatl „bitteres Wasser“ bedeutet, in den Schiffen der Eroberer nach Europa kam, faszinierte es die Könige und Hofdamen. Die katholischen Autoritäten brachte es dagegen in Bedrängnis: Sie konnten sich nicht einigen, ob das Getränk womöglich sündhaft sein könnte. Die schwierige Kakaoproduktion, die harte Handarbeit erfordert, begünstigte den Sklavenhandel, um die europäischen Aussaaten in Amerika aufrecht zu erhalten.
  • Mais Bild: Sam Fentress, 2005 – CC BY-SA 2.0
    Mais: In Lateinamerika gibt es so viele Wörter für den Mais wie Rezepte, in denen er Verwendung findet. Darüber hinaus haben die Länder des globalen Nordens neue Verwendungsarten für diese Pflanze gefunden. Heute dient der Mais zur Herstellung von Plastik, Biokraft- und Süßstoffen. Als Grundnahrungsmittel der präkolumbischen Kulturen ist der Mais heute eines der meistproduzierten und rentabelsten Produkte in der „ersten Welt“. Die USA sind mit 350 Millionen Tonnen pro Jahr heute der größte Maisproduzent.
  • Kokain Bild: Drug Enforcement Agency U.S.A. – PD.
    Kokain: Der Kampf gegen den Handel mit dem aus der Kokapflanze gewonnenen Alkaloid hat in Ländern wie Kolumbien und Mexiko zu jahrzehntelangen Mafiakriegen geführt, er hat die Agenda der internationalen Politik geprägt und war der Zündstoff des „Kriegs gegen die Drogen“, eines der kostspieligsten und nutzlosesten Konflikte für die Nordhälfte des Globus. Für die produzierenden Länder Lateinamerikas war Kokain die Garantie für den Tod. Seine Legalisierung, für viele die einzige Lösung, ist heute ein strittiges Thema.
  • Diamanten Bild: Ungeschliffener Diamant, Südafrika. Foto: Rob Lavinsky, iRocks.com – CC-BY-SA-3.0.
    Diamanten: Diamanten haben zu spektakulären Raubüberfällen und charmanten Filmen inspiriert. Aber das härteste Material, das die Natur hervorgebracht hat, war außerdem der wirtschaftliche Motor für ewige Kriege afrikanischer Länder wie Angola, Kongo und Elfenbeinküste. Seit einem Film 2006, in dem Leonardo DiCaprio und Jennifer Connelly die Hauptrollen spielten, ist der Begriff „Blutdiamanten“ in aller Munde. Doch trotz der menschlichen und politischen Kosten wächst der weltweite legale und illegale Handel weiter.
  • Menschen Bild: Kindersklave in Sansibar, Afrika – Maritime Museum, London.
    Menschen: Der Handel mit Menschen existiert seit Anbeginn der Zeit, er hat Revolutionen und Kriege in allen Erdenwinkeln angefacht: vom alten Ägypten und den Sklavenschiffen der spanischen Eroberer über die Eunuchen aus dem Mittleren Osten, Zwerge und Menschen mit Missbildungen, die sich als exzentrische Geschenke den Königen in Europa auslieferten, bis hin zum Verkauf von Frauen als Sexarbeiterinnen. Es hat in der Geschichte kein „Produkt“ gegeben, das mehr ausgebeutet wurde, als der Mensch.
  • Kautschuk Bild: Karikatur gegen belgischen Kautschuk-Kolonialismus in Kongo, Punch-Magazin 1906
    Kautschuk: Als der Schotte John Dunlop 1887 die Herstellung von Reifen neu erfand, wurde Kautschuk, der mit dem Milchsaft eines süd- und mittelamerikanischen Baums hergestellt wird, zu einem begehrten Rohstoff. Seine maßlose Ausbeutung auf amerikanischem Gebiet brachte eine der gewalttätigsten Industrien für Mensch und Natur hervor. Der kolumbianische Roman La Vorágine (1924) von J. E. Rivera porträtiert die Auswirkungen des „Kautschukfiebers“; er erzählt von den Kolonisten, unmenschlichen Arbeitsbedingungen und der Zerstörung des Amazonas-Regenwalds.
  • Agar Bild: Agarplatte mit Kultur des Bakteriums E. coli – PD.
    Agar: Diese gelatineartige Substanz, die aus Algen stammt, ist ein revolutionäres Produkt in der Mikrobiologie. Entdeckt wurde sie im 15. Jahrhundert, nachdem ein Japaner festgestellt hatte, dass sich seine Algensuppe vom Vortag in Gel verwandelt hatte. Agar wird seither als kulinarische Zutat und für die Herstellung von Plastilin verwendet. Der bedeutendere Nutzen fällt ihm jedoch bei der Produktion von Petrischalen zu, die zur Kultivierung von Bakterien eingesetzt werden.
  • Uranium Bild: Uranwürfel, Teil der Herstellung der ersten Atombombe 1942, US-Energieministerium - PD
    Uranium: Dieses radioaktive Metall, das in der Militärindustrie und als Energiequelle in Atomkraftwerken genutzt wird, ist in Afrika reichlich vorhanden. Niger verfügt über eines der größten Vorkommen dieses Metalls – und ist gleichzeitig eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt. Viele europäische Staaten, die Ländern wie dem Niger Hilfeleistungen bieten, tun dies zu einem hohen Preis: für die Erlaubnis, Uran abzubauen – womit sie diese Länder eines der Produkte berauben, die ihrem Schicksal den entscheidenden Umschwung bringen könnten.