The Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre Painful Pasts as a Catalyser

Survivor of the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, Sylvestre Sendacyeye, speaks in the Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre about the importance of genocide education. Photographed next to a powerful exhibition installation of clothing and other items from victims of the genocide.
Survivor of the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, Sylvestre Sendacyeye, speaks in the Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre about the importance of genocide education. Photographed next to a powerful exhibition installation of clothing and other items from victims of the genocide. | Photo (detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre

Based on their past experiences, South Africans tend to see all human rights violation through the prism of ‘white vs black’. The Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre remind that racism is beyond the colour line.

By Tali Nates

“It happened therefore it can happen again; this is the core of what we have to say. It can happen, and it can happen everywhere.” Auschwitz survivor and writer Primo Levi words of warning greet all visitors as they enter the newly opened Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre (JHGC). They are especially poignant in South Africa, a country which carries the heavy burden of the legacy of Apartheid. It raises the question of how to remember and teach about genocide in a country that still has to face its own difficult and painful past.

Primo Levi’s words at the entrance to the JHGC Primo Levi’s words at the entrance to the JHGC | Photo (detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center As the founder and director of the Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre (JHGC), I will offer a case study, exploring this one new museum and how it serves as a catalyser for promotion of active citizenship. The JHGC, explores the history of genocides in the 20th century with a focus on the case studies of the Holocaust and the 1994 Genocide in Rwanda. It explores the connections between genocide and contemporary human rights issues, urging visitors to understand the consequences of prejudice and hate speech so as to prevent the recurrence of mass atrocities and genocide in all its forms.

Against hate speech

As a centre of memory, education, dialogue and lessons for humanity, the JHGC focuses on human rights issues such as prejudice, racism, ‘othering’, antisemitism, homophobia and xenophobia. Conscious of the dangers of indifference, apathy and silence, the JHGC urges its visitors to be an active voice against instances of hate speech and related human rights violations in their own communities.

The core exhibition at the JHGC – one of the Holocaust themed spaces. The core exhibition at the JHGC – one of the Holocaust themed spaces. | Photo (detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Centre

 

The Centre’s non-linear core exhibition covers a number of themes including the 1904 Herero and Nama genocide in today’s Namibia, the 1915 Armenian Genocide, the history of Raphael Lemkin and the coining of the word ‘genocide’, with a number of different themes developed around the Holocaust and the Genocide in Rwanda as the two primary case studies. The exhibition ends in a reflection garden and a section dedicated to current challenges in South Africa, highlighting the scourge of Xenophobia and Afrophobia that has plagued the country since 2008.

Throughout the exhibition, history is presented as far as possible through the voices of witnesses: victims, perpetrators, resisters, rescuers, bystanders and others. Visitors are encouraged to engage with photographs, artefacts, drawings, and testimonies at their own pace and choice.

The core exhibition and the education programme focus on stories and artefacts of Holocaust and genocide survivors who settled in South Africa. The Centre created an extensive archive, collecting photographs, objects and documents.

Telling about people

The archive of artefacts from Europe and Rwanda was developed not only through donations and loans from families in South Africa but also through partnerships with organisations and institutions around the world. For example, a partnership with Father Patrick Desbois’ Paris based organisation, Yahad-in-Unum, allowed for very meaningful artefacts from the mass killing sites in the Ukraine to be displayed at the JHGC. Working with the National Commission for the Fight Against Genocide (CNLG) in Rwanda, allowed for moving artefacts of victims from the Catholic Churches of Nyamata and Ntarama to be on display as well. Victims’ clothes, shoes, notebooks and school books tell the story of thousands of men, women and children murdered in what they perceived to be a place of safety.

The core exhibition at the JHGC – one of the Genocide in Rwanda themed spaces. The core exhibition at the JHGC – one of the Genocide in Rwanda themed spaces. | Photo (detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center In addition to the artefacts, hours of testimonies by Holocaust and Rwandan survivors living in South Africa were recorded and 24 films were created especially for the exhibition and education programmes. The films focus on the voices of survivors, but also those of bystanders, resisters, rescuers and perpetrators. For many of the Rwandan survivors, when filmed, it was the first time they were able to tell their story, more than 20 years after the genocide.

Victims and perpetrators

Educational programmes look at the choices made by various role players and examine the range of actions of these players through historical examples. Mostly the focus is on bystander and upstander comparison with rescuer comparison with resister) behaviour. Learning about bystanders - people who witnessed atrocities but did not act or speak out – the educators often quote Primo Levi’s words: “In spite of the varied possibilities for information, most Germans didn’t know because they didn’t want to know. Because, indeed, they wanted not to know” (Levi, 1995). This rings especially true to South Africans who lived next to the prisons and torture chambers of the Apartheid regime but claimed not to know.

Holocaust survivor Irene Klass looking at her photograph as a young girl before the Second World War. Holocaust survivor Irene Klass looking at her photograph as a young girl before the Second World War. | Photo (detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center The year 2019 marks 25 years since the end of the apartheid regime and the transition of South Africa to democracy. This discriminatory past shapes to a large extent the country’s present and future where racism, hate speech, prejudice and abuse of power are still affecting society. Based on their past experiences, South Africans tend to see all human rights violation through the prism of ‘white vs black’. The JHGC, through both case studies of the Holocaust and the 1994 Genocide in Rwanda, remind visitors that racism is beyond the colour line. Throughout the exhibition and the educational programme the Centre makes implicit and explicit connections to South Africa’s own past and present human rights abuses. 

The JHGC, through both case studies of the Holocaust and the 1994 Genocide in Rwanda, remind visitors that racism is beyond the colour line.

Since the history of apartheid is at time still difficult to deal with, learning about the history of the Holocaust and the 1994 Genocide in Rwanda, both removed in place and time from the South African experience, serve as an entry point and allow for a safer and more open discussion of local racism and other human rights challenges.

Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg Schmerzliche Vergangenheit als Katalysator

Sylvestre Sendacyeye, Überlebender des Völkermords in Ruanda 1994, spricht im Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg über die Bedeutung der Völkermord-Aufklärung. Fotografiert neben einer eindrucksvollen Ausstellungsinstallation mit Kleidung und anderen Gegenständen von Opfern des Völkermords.
Sylvestre Sendacyeye, Überlebender des Völkermords in Ruanda 1994, spricht im Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg über die Bedeutung der Völkermord-Aufklärung. Fotografiert neben einer eindrucksvollen Ausstellungsinstallation mit Kleidung und anderen Gegenständen von Opfern des Völkermords. | Foto (Detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre

Aufgrund ihrer historischen Erfahrungen neigen Südafrikaner*innen dazu, alle Menschenrechtsverletzungen aus dem Blickwinkel ‚Weiß gegen Schwarz‘ zu sehen. Das Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg erinnert daran, dass Rassismus über die Hautfarbe hinausgeht.

Von Tali Nates

„Es ist geschehen, und folglich kann es wieder geschehen: Darin liegt der Kern dessen, was wir zu sagen haben. Es kann geschehen, überall.“ Die warnenden Worte des Auschwitz-Überlebenden und Schriftstellers Primo Levi begrüßen die Besuchenden, die das neu eröffnete Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum in Johannesburg (Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocide Centre, JHGC) betreten. Worte, die in Südafrika, einem Land, das die schwere Last des Apartheid-Erbes mit sich trägt, besonders nachklingen und die Frage aufwerfen, wie ein Land, das sich noch immer seiner eigenen schwierigen und schmerzlichen Vergangenheit stellen muss, des Völkermords gedenkt und ihn vermittelt.

Primo Levis Worte am Eingang zum JHGC Primo Levis Worte am Eingang zum JHGC | Foto (Detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center Als Gründerin und Direktorin des Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrums in Johannesburg schildere ich hier, was dieses neue Museum bietet und wie es als Impulsgeber die aktive Staatsbürgerschaft fördert. Das JHGC untersucht die Geschichte von Genoziden im 20. Jahrhundert, mit Schwerpunkten auf dem Holocaust und dem Völkermord in Ruanda im Jahr 1994. Es zeigt Zusammenhänge zwischen Völkermord und aktuellen Menschenrechtsthemen auf und mahnt Besuchende, die Konsequenzen von Vorurteilen und Hassreden zu verstehen, um Verbrechen und Völkermord in jeder Form zu verhindern.

Gegen Hate Speech

Als Zentrum des Erinnerns, der Bildung, des Dialogs und der Lehren für die Menschheit konzentriert sich das JHGC auf Menschenrechtsthemen wie Vorurteile, Rassismus, ‚Othering‘, Antisemitismus, Homophobie und Fremdenhass. Wir sensibilisieren die Besuchenden für die Gefahren, die von Gleichgültigkeit, Apathie und Schweigen ausgehen und ermuntern sie, aktiv gegen Hassreden und damit verbundene Menschenrechtsverletzungen einzutreten.

Die Kernausstellung im JHGC - einer der Themenräume zum Holocaust. Die Kernausstellung im JHGC - einer der Themenräume zum Holocaust. | Foto (Detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Centre Die nicht-lineare Kernausstellung des Zentrums deckt eine Reihe von Themen ab, darunter: der Genozid an den Herero und Nama im heutigen Namibia im Jahr 1904, der Völkermord an den Armeniern von 1915, die Geschichte von Raphael Lemkin und die Prägung des Begriffs ‚Genozid‘, wobei einige Themen anhand des Holocaust und des Völkermords in Ruanda als den zwei zentralen Fallbeispielen erarbeitet wurden. Die Ausstellung endet mit einem Garten der Reflexion und einem Bereich, der sich mit aktuellen Herausforderungen in Südafrika beschäftigt und ein Schlaglicht auf das Unheil des Fremdenhasses und der Afrophobie wirft, die das Land seit 2008 plagen. Die Ausstellung präsentiert die Geschichte so weit wie möglich mithilfe der Stimmen von Zeuginnen und Zeugen: Opfern, Täter*innen, Untätigen, Mitläufer*innen und Widerstandleistenden. Die Besuchenden werden ermutigt, sich in ihrem eigenen Tempo und nach eigener Wahl mit Fotos, Objekten, Zeichnungen und Zeugnissen zu beschäftigen.

Die Kernausstellung und das Bildungsprogramm konzentrieren sich auf Geschichten und Objekte von Holocaust- und Genozid-Überlebenden, die sich in Südafrika niedergelassen haben. Das Zentrum verfügt über ein umfangreiches Archiv, das Fotos, Objekte und Dokumente sammelt.

Von den Menschen erzählen

Das Archiv mit Objekten aus Europa und Ruanda wurde nicht nur mithilfe von Spenden und Leihgaben von Familien in Südafrika, sondern auch durch Partnerschaften mit Organisationen und Institutionen in aller Welt aufgebaut. So machte es beispielsweise eine Partnerschaft mit der Pariser Organisation Yahad-in-Unum unter der Leitung von Pater Patrick Desbois möglich, sehr bedeutsame Objekte von Massenmord-Schauplätzen in der Ukraine im JHGC auszustellen. Ähnlich führte die Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalen Kommission für den Kampf gegen Völkermord (National Commission for the Fight Against Genocide, CNLG) in Ruanda dazu, dass bewegende Objekte von Opfern aus den katholischen Kirchen in Nyamata und Ntarama zu sehen sind. Kleidung, Schuhe, Notiz- und Schulbücher der Opfer erzählen die Geschichte von Tausenden Männern, Frauen und Kindern, die an einem Ort ermordet wurden, den sie für eine sichere Zuflucht hielten.

Die Kernausstellung im JHGC – einer der Themenräume zum Völkermord in Ruanda. Die Kernausstellung im JHGC – einer der Themenräume zum Völkermord in Ruanda. | Foto (Detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center Neben den Objekten wurden viele Stunden Ton- und Bildzeugnisse von Überlebenden des Holocaust und aus Ruanda aufgenommen und speziell für die Ausstellungs- und Bildungsprogramme 24 Filme erstellt. Die Filme konzentrieren sich auf die Stimmen von Überlebenden, aber auch von Außenstehenden, Verweigerer*innen, Retter*innen und Täter*innen. Für viele Überlebende aus Ruanda war dies das erste Mal, dass sie ihre Geschichte erzählen konnten, mehr als 20 Jahre nach dem Völkermord.
 

Opfer und Täter*innen

 
Die Bildungsprogramme analysieren die Entscheidungen verschiedener Akteure und untersuchen anhand historischer Beispiele die Bandbreite der Handlungen dieser Beteiligten. Der Fokus liegt hierbei hauptsächlich auf dem Verhalten von Außenstehenden und Verweigerer*innen im Vergleich  zu Retter*innen und Widerstandleistenden. Wenn die Museumspädagog*innen über Menschen sprechen, die Gräueltaten beobachteten, aber nichts dagegen taten oder sagten, zitieren sie häufig die Worte von Primo Levi: „Trotz der verschiedenen Informationsmöglichkeiten wussten die meisten Deutschen nichts, weil sie nichts wissen wollten. Weil sie in der Tat wollten, dass sie nichts wissen.“ Dies klingt insbesondere für Südafrikaner*innen vertraut, die neben den Gefängnissen und Folterkammern des Apartheidregimes lebten, aber behaupteten, nichts davon zu wissen.

Die Holocaust-Überlebende Irene Klass betrachtet ihr Foto als junges Mädchen vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die Holocaust-Überlebende Irene Klass betrachtet ihr Foto als junges Mädchen vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. | Foto (Detail): Anthea Pokroy © Johannesburg Holocaust & Genocid Center Im Jahr 2019 sind das Ende des Apartheidregimes und Südafrikas Übergang zur Demokratie 25 Jahre her. Diese Vergangenheit der Diskriminierung prägt in hohem Maße die Gegenwart und die Zukunft des Landes, in dem die Gesellschaft nach wie vor von Rassismus, Hassrede, Vorurteilen und Machtmissbrauch betroffen ist. Aufgrund ihrer historischen Erfahrungen neigen Südafrikaner*innen dazu, alle Menschenrechtsverletzungen aus dem Blickwinkel ‚Schwarz gegen Weiß‘ zu sehen. Das Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg erinnert Besuchende anhand der Fallstudien des Holocaust und des Genozids in Ruanda von 1994 daran, dass Rassismus über die Hautfarbe hinausgeht. Sowohl in der Ausstellung als auch im Bildungsprogramm stellt das Zentrum implizite wie explizite Zusammenhänge mit Südafrikas eigenen historischen und aktuellen Menschenrechtsverletzungen her. 

Das Holocaust- und Genozid-Zentrum Johannesburg erinnert Besuchende anhand der Fallstudien des Holocaust und des Genozids in Ruanda von 1994 daran, dass Rassismus über die Hautfarbe hinausgeht.


Da die Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte der Apartheid mitunter immer noch schwierig ist, dient das Studium der Geschichte des Holocaust und des Völkermords in Ruanda von 1994, die beide örtlich wie zeitlich von den südafrikanischen Erfahrungen entfernt sind, als Ausgangspunkt und ermöglicht eine risikolosere und offenere Diskussion über Rassismus und andere Herausforderungen für die Menschenrechte im eigenen Land.